Stats: 3,152,882 members, 7,817,594 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 03:13 PM

When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals (2991 Views)

Peller: 'TB Joshua, Oyakhilome Use Charms To Perform Miracles' / Imagine You Own This Ride And Your Pastor Asked You To Sow A Seed With It / Pastor And Native Doctor Confess To Killing People, Paraded With Their Rituals (2) (3) (4)

When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by tobechi74: 6:21am On Dec 17, 2012
Last month, a friend told me how a pastor he had met for financial breakthrough prayed for him and asked him to undergo 7 days prayer and fasting .on d last day, he should dig a hole in front of his house,say I HANDOVER ALL MY FINANCIAL PROBLEM TO THIS COCONUT AND BREAK THE COCONUT BY THROWING IT IN THE HOLE.

Though i adviced him not to do it,he insisted. He said it workd for him his buisnes has improved ever since.

Just last week, my aunt told me how a pastor told her she was living with a devil. She was to mix olive oil with salt and sand.pray over it and pour d mixture at d entrance of her house by 12 mid night.

She did. D next day, the new housemaid startd complainin of stomach ache after steping her leg on the spot.

To me, al dis isnt biblical, but d fact dat it works got me tinking. If a pastor ask me to perform a ritual, is it right? Wil u do it?

Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by ijawkid(m): 9:03am On Dec 17, 2012
tobechi74: Last month, a friend told me how a pastor he had met for financial breakthrough prayed for him and asked him to undergo 7 days prayer and fasting .on d last day, he should dig a hole in front of his house,say I HANDOVER ALL MY FINANCIAL PROBLEM TO THIS COCONUT AND BREAK THE COCONUT BY THROWING IT IN THE HOLE.

Though i adviced him not to do it,he insisted. He said it workd for him his buisnes has improved ever since.

Just last week, my aunt told me how a pastor told her she was living with a devil. She was to mix olive oil with salt and sand.pray over it and pour d mixture at d entrance of her house by 12 mid night.

She did. D next day, the new housemaid startd complainin of stomach ache after steping her leg on the spot.

To me, al dis isnt biblical, but d fact dat it works got me tinking. If a pastor ask me to perform a ritual, is it right? Wil u do it?

Lol...ofcus they aint biblical....people have forgotten so quickly that we are to worship God in spirit and truth...........
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by Todaynatoday: 9:28am On Dec 17, 2012
Pastorlawo @ work. Wait...........what proof do you have that it actually worked? (apart from what you heard from them)
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by Nobody: 9:45am On Dec 17, 2012
ijawkid:

Lol...ofcus they aint biblical....people have forgotten so quickly that we are to worship God in spirit and truth...........

What does it mean to worship God in 'SPIRIT and TRUTH'
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by ijawkid(m): 10:48am On Dec 17, 2012
musKeeto:
What does it mean to worship God in 'SPIRIT and TRUTH'

You sure you wanna know??.....

Emulating the way Jesus worshipped the Father sure tells us how to worship God in spirit and truth......
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by OmoAlata(f): 11:32am On Dec 17, 2012
Reminds me of when I used to attend Cele. A prophet will tell us to go and wash in the sea; or rub our head with egg and smash it on the ground; or rub our body with fish and throw it back in the sea (this was a live fish by the way); or go into the bush at midnight, or a crossroad at night. God have mercy shocked
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by Nobody: 12:36pm On Dec 17, 2012
Omo Alata: Reminds me of when I used to attend Cele. A prophet will tell us to go and wash in the sea; or rub our head with egg and smash it on the ground; or rub our body with fish and throw it back in the sea (this was a live fish by the way); or go into the bush at midnight, or a crossroad at night. God have mercy shocked
Lols.. And uve moved on to Mountain of fire and miracles, abi?
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by mumumugu(m): 1:57pm On Dec 17, 2012
Pastors are always right. They dont err.if a pastor say u should put ur hand in fire, do it. . It is christ that speaks through him. Lol
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by Goshen360(m): 3:18pm On Dec 17, 2012
I'm going to use this thread as a reference when I teach on the next NON-Apostolic practices in the body of Christ. This is a great thread. We (New Testament) Christians must understand our wealth (I don't mean money now) in Christ. Every believer that study the book of Ephesians will understand how blessed he or she is in Christ Jesus. All these non-apostolic practices must be fought to stand still in the body of Christ.
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by CrazyMan(m): 4:34pm On Dec 17, 2012
mumumugu: Pastors are always right. They dont err.if a pastor say u should put ur hand in fire, do it. . It is christ that speaks through him. Lol
You're so right my brother may God bless you for this statement.

I don't know why the op is ranting...a deep look at the scriptures shows that prophets of old including Jesus did similar things.

Below we can see prophet Elisha in action with Naaman.

[b] 2kings 5:9-14. So Naaman came with his horses and with his chariot, and stood at the door of the house of Elisha.

10 And Elisha sent a messenger unto him, saying, Go and wash in Jordan seven times, and thy flesh shall come again to thee, and thou shalt be clean.

11 But Naaman was wroth, and went away, and said, Behold, I thought, He will surely come out to me, and stand, and call on the name of the Lord his God, and strike his hand over the place, and recover the leper.

12 Are not Abana and Pharpar, rivers of Damascus, better than all the waters of Israel? may I not wash in them, and be clean? So he turned and went away in a rage.

13 And his servants came near, and spake unto him, and said, My father, if the prophet had bid thee do some great thing, wouldest thou not have done it? how much rather then, when he saith to thee, Wash, and be clean?

14 Then went he down, and dipped himself seven times in Jordan, according to the saying of the man of God: and his flesh came again like unto the flesh of a little child, and he was clean.
[/b]

Jesus did the same below.

John 9:1-7.  And as Jesus passed by, he saw a man which was blind from his birth.

2 And his disciples asked him, saying, Master, who did sin, this man, or his parents, that he was born blind?

3 Jesus answered, Neither hath this man sinned, nor his parents: but that the works of God should be made manifest in him.

4 I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work.

5 As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.

6 When he had thus spoken, he spat on the ground, and made clay of the spittle, and he anointed the eyes of the blind man with the clay,

7 And said unto him, Go, wash in the pool of Siloam, (which is by interpretation, Sent.) He went his way therefore, and washed, and came seeing.

If you ask me...the case of Elish and Naaman was about obedience...verse 13 of the first passage proofs my point.

God tests us from time to tim to see how far we are willing to obey his voice regardless of how ridiculous it might sound.

The second passage was Jesus mixing the earth with his saliva and curing a blind of his blindness.

Normally in our days if a pastor does such, we would liken him to a herbalist...how ignorant we are.

Let's tackle that John 9 verse by verse...from verse 6

Verse 6 says... When he had thus spoken, he spat on the ground, and made clay of the spittle, and he anointed the eyes of the blind man with the clay,

He spat on the ground. The intention of Christ was, to restore sight to the blind man, but he commences the operation in a way which appears to be highly absurd; for, by anointing his eyes with clay, he in some respects doubles the blindness Who would not have thought either that he was mocking the wretched man, or that he was practicing senseless and absurd fooleries?

How ignorant they are...the clay composed of dust is the figure of christ, cos the dust denotes the earthly nature of his flesh...

The spittle which came from his mouth, denotes the Divine essence of the Word.

They are symbolic...

Verse 7...  And said unto him, Go, wash in the pool of Siloam, (which is by interpretation, Sent.) He went his way therefore, and washed, and came seeing.

Unquestionably, there was not, either in the clay, or in the water of Siloam, any power or fitness for curing the eyes; but Christ freely made use of those outward symbols, on various occasions, for adorning his miracles, either to accustom believers to the use of signs, or to show that all things were at his disposal, or to testify that every one of the creatures has as much power as he chooses to give them.

If you observe the first passage I posted, you'll notice that Elisha also made a similar statement.

Now the term "Wash" doesn't mean we should take a bath in the bar beach or the river niger...christ is simply telling us to cleanse ourselves from spiritual filth, such as lies, immorality, deceit...etc. In that way, it would be much easier for us to benefit from his abundant blessing.

Today's preachers are just following christ's footsteps, so I won't condemn them.
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by Goshen360(m): 5:23pm On Dec 17, 2012
^^^ If such is symbolic, what then is the reality, fulfillment and substance in the New Testament
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by CrazyMan(m): 6:27pm On Dec 17, 2012
Goshen360: ^^^ If such is symbolic, what then is the reality in the new testament
Reality...I'm surprised that you're asking this question.

Are you not aware that Paul's aprons were healing people...that's the reality.

Acts 19:11-12.  And God wrought special miracles by the hands of Paul: 12 So that from his body were brought unto the sick handkerchiefs or aprons, and the diseases departed from them, and the evil spirits went out of them.

The aprons which were used to clean his flesh ...the flesh is symbolic because its synonymous to Christ's healing with the clay...

The clay and the flesh are the same.
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by Goshen360(m): 7:11pm On Dec 17, 2012
^^^ But it wasn't Paul that gave the people handkerchief and aprons right
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by CrazyMan(m): 7:35pm On Dec 17, 2012
Goshen360: ^^^ But it wasn't Paul that gave the people handkerchief and aprons right
What's your point?
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by Goshen360(m): 7:38pm On Dec 17, 2012
CrazyMan:
What's your point?

#SmilesOnMyFace....bro.... cool
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by CrazyMan(m): 7:40pm On Dec 17, 2012
Goshen360:
#SmilesOnMyFace....bro.... cool
You know I've always referred to you as buzugee's reincarnation...I know I'm not wrong. grin

Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by Goshen360(m): 7:51pm On Dec 17, 2012
CrazyMan:
You know I've always referred to you as buzugee's reincarnation...I know I'm not wrong. grin

shocked shocked shocked........ grin

You're wrong bro! Back to the kweshion....Did Apostle Paul gave handkerchief and aprons to the folks
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by CrazyMan(m): 7:56pm On Dec 17, 2012
Goshen360: shocked shocked shocked........ grin

You're wrong bro! Back to the kweshion....Did Apostle Paul gave handkerchief and aprons to the folks
Why not read the passage I posted...therein lies the answers you're looking for.

Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by Goshen360(m): 7:58pm On Dec 17, 2012
^^^ I got the answer there but I'm just asking.....Was it Apostle Paul who gave the handkerchief or the people touched the body of Apostle Paul as an act of faith? What was it
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by CrazyMan(m): 8:10pm On Dec 17, 2012
Goshen360: ^^^ I got the answer there but I'm just asking.....Was it Apostle Paul who gave the handkerchief or the people touched the body of Apostle Paul as an act of faith? What was it
The handkerchief's that were touched by him were taken to the sick...its obvious that Apostle Paul wasn't the one selling out the miracle handkerchiefs. The people believed that as long as it has greased the skin of Apostle Paul, its capable of healing them...they on the other hand touched it and were healed.
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by Goshen360(m): 8:16pm On Dec 17, 2012
^^^ Great and right on point! You can now sleep well with peace of mind...... grin. Thank you.
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by CrazyMan(m): 8:18pm On Dec 17, 2012
Goshen360: ^^^ Great and right on point! You can now sleep well with peace of mind...... grin. Thank you.
You're welcomed undecided grin
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by bigcasava1(m): 4:15am On Oct 29, 2021
ijawkid:

You sure you wanna know??.....

Emulating the way Jesus worshipped the Father sure tells us how to worship God in spirit and truth......

so explain to me Jesus using dust on the ground after spiting on it, he use it to heal the blind man.
Re: When Your Pastor Ask You To Perform Rituals by Kobojunkie: 5:27am On Nov 02, 2021
bigcasava1:
so explain to me Jesus using dust on the ground after spiting on it, he use it to heal the blind man.
Jesus Christ said those who follow Him are those who do as He asks/commands - not those who emulate him. - John 15 vs 14 undecided

So it would for instance be ritualistic and against Jesus Christ to spit in mud just as Jesus Christ did simply because He did it. undecided

Taking Alcohol - Is It A Sin? / Christians Would You Kill For Your God? / Prayer Points For June 2016 RCCG Holy Ghost Service. Victorious Praise.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58