Stats: 3,158,297 members, 7,836,299 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 May 2024 at 03:48 AM

What Is Deliverance? - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / What Is Deliverance? (2970 Views)

Is Deliverance And Demonology Relevant To The Church? / SERMON Jotters:candidates Of Deep Deliverance. PMCH-APRIL,2015-D.K Olukoya / Church Confirms Jim Iyke’s Deliverance From Evil Spirits (2) (3) (4)

What Is Deliverance? by Jluvu: 1:24pm On Mar 03, 2013
The topic of deliverance is one most people don´t want to hear or talk about,some school of thought believed that Jesus had died for us and had taking away our sins and that we don´t need deliverance anymore,the truth is that; if you don´t believe in deliverance it will not change a thing rather it will be fueling demonic activities,it will not stop the devil from caging people.What then is Deliverance?
1. Deliverance is to kill satanic embargo.
2. Deliverance is to break evil curses and covenants.
3. Deliverance is to be victorious in one´s dream at all times.
4. Deliverance is to break evil yoke.
5. Deliverance is to posses one´s possession.
6. Deliverance is to capture back what the enemy has stolen from you.
7, Deliverance is to hunt down and destroy destructive habits.
8. Deliverance is destruction of satanic dream.
9. Deliverance is reversing satanic verdict and spell place upon one´s life.
10.Deliverance is rearranging one´s faulty foundation.
with time i will explain further and discuss the set of people that really needs deliverance.God bless you as you read this.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by ajufinz(m): 6:32pm On Mar 03, 2013
Thanks!
Good to Know, so how can deliverance be obtained?
Re: What Is Deliverance? by wordthots: 10:55pm On Mar 03, 2013
J luv u: The topic of deliverance is one most people don´t want to hear or talk about,some school of thought believed that Jesus had died for us and had taking away our sins and that we don´t need deliverance anymore,the truth is that; if you don´t believe in deliverance it will not change a thing rather it will be fueling demonic activities,it will not stop the devil from caging people.What then is Deliverance?
1. Deliverance is to kill satanic embargo.
2. Deliverance is to break evil curses and covenants.
3. Deliverance is to be victorious in one´s dream at all times.
4. Deliverance is to break evil yoke.
5. Deliverance is to posses one´s possession.
6. Deliverance is to capture back what the enemy has stolen from you.
7, Deliverance is to hunt down and destroy destructive habits.
8. Deliverance is destruction of satanic dream.
9. Deliverance is reversing satanic verdict and spell place upon one´s life.
10.Deliverance is rearranging one´s faulty foundation.
with time i will explain further and discuss the set of people that really needs deliverance.God bless you as you read this.

Sis are you speaking based on God’s word or based on traditions because last time I checked the believer has been delivered from most of these things, pls check out the following scriptures

1. Colossians 1:13- [The Father] has delivered and drawn us to Himself out of the control and the dominion of darkness and has transferred us into the kingdom of the Son of His love (AMP)

Col. 2:15- [God] disarmed the principalities and powers that were ranged against us and made a bold display and public example of them, in triumphing over them in Him and in it [the cross].

2.Galatians 3:13- Christ purchased our freedom [redeeming us] from the curse (doom) of the Law [and its condemnation] by [Himself] becoming a curse for us, for it is written [in the Scriptures], Cursed is everyone who hangs on a tree (is crucified)

Romans 8:30- For those whom He foreknew [of whom He was aware and loved beforehand], He also destined from the beginning [foreordaining them] to be molded into the image of His Son [and share inwardly His likeness], that He might become the firstborn among many brethren.

My dear we belong to God’s family now and there are no curses in that family lineage

3. 2Corinthians 2:14- But thanks be to God, Who in Christ always leads us in triumph [as trophies of Christ's victory] and through us spreads and makes evident the fragrance of the knowledge of God everywhere

You are victorious already with or without deliverance, you just need to walk in this consciousness of who you are in Christ Jesus.

4. Heb. 2:14- Since, therefore, [these His] children share in flesh and blood [in the physical nature of human beings], He [Himself] in a similar manner partook of the same [nature], that by [going through] death He might bring to nought and make of no effect him who had the power of death--that is, the devil—

5. 2pet.1:4- For His divine power has bestowed upon us all things that [are requisite and suited] to life and godliness, through the [full, personal] knowledge of Him Who called us by and to His own glory and excellence (virtue).

What possession again do you need?

6. John 10:10- The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows)

The day you got born again you were totally restored, there’s no more capturing my dear

7. John 8:32- And you will know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free

Galatians 5:16- But I say, walk and live [habitually] in the [Holy] Spirit [responsive to and controlled and guided by the Spirit]; then you will certainly not gratify the cravings and desires of the flesh (of human nature without God)

On this(habits) I agree that a believer might need “deliverance” but not through deliverance sessions but through God’s word by constant meditation. Just like Romans 12:2.

8 & 9. Eph. 2:6- And He raised us up together with Him and made us sit down together [giving us joint seating with Him] in the heavenly sphere [by virtue of our being] in Christ Jesus (the Messiah, the Anointed One).

Eph. 1:20-21- Which He exerted in Christ when He raised Him from the dead and seated Him at His [own] right hand in the heavenly [places], Far above all rule and authority and power and dominion and every name that is named [above every title that can be conferred], not only in this age and in this world, but also in the age and the world which are to come.

God put Christ far above ALL authority and power and we seated together with Christ, meaning we are also far above. My dear where you are there are no yokes, satanic bondages, satanic spells and also satanic dreams have no power over you if you know your rights as a believer in Christ.

Colossians 3:3- For [as far as this world is concerned] you have died, and your [new, real] life is hidden with Christ in God

10. 2Corinthians 5:17- Therefore if any person is [ingrafted] in Christ (the Messiah) he is a new creation (a new creature altogether); the old [previous moral and spiritual condition] has passed away. Behold, the fresh and new has come.

Colossians 1:13- [The Father] has delivered and drawn us to Himself out of the control and the dominion of darkness and has transferred us into the kingdom of the Son of His love (AMP)

There are no faulty foundations anymore, you have been recreated in Christ unto goodworks

Hope this is helpful….Pls do a study on Pauls epistles for more about who you are and what you have in Christ. Also, I will like to recommend a book Triumphant Church by Kenneth Hagin, it helped me a lot back then.

Godbless

Re: What Is Deliverance? by Goshen360(m): 3:57am On Mar 04, 2013
@wordthots, whatz up son (of God)! I can see you are doing very very well, being grounded in scriptures. The truth is, many Christians are very far from the RICHES and BLESSEDNESS of believers in the New Testament still married to the Old; hence, they must come up with stuffs like deliverance for Christians. I don't see any believer in the early church going for deliverance session. Many Pastors are fueling the error also knowing that's what sells and what the people want. Take a look at this,

2 Corinthians 3:7-11
Expanded Bible (EXB)

7 The ·law [or old system;  ministry] that brought death was ·written in words [ engraved with letters] on stone. It came with ·God’s glory [ glory], which made Moses’ face so ·bright [glorious] that the ·Israelites [ children of Israel] could not ·continue to look [gaze] at it. But that glory ·later disappeared [was fading; or was made ineffective (by the veil on his face)]. 8 So ·surely [ will not…?] the ·new way that brings [ ministry of] the Spirit has even more glory. 9 [ For] If the ·law that judged people guilty of sin [ ministry of condemnation] had glory, surely the ·new way that makes people right with God [ ministry of righteousness] has much greater glory. 10 For that which had glory [ the law] ·really loses its glory [ has no glory] when it is compared to the much greater glory [ the new way through the Spirit]. 11 [ For] If that which ·disappeared [faded; was made ineffective;  the law; v. 7] came with glory, then that which ·continues forever [remains; abides; the new way through the Spirit] has much greater glory.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by wordthots: 12:13pm On Mar 04, 2013
Goshen360: @wordthots, whatz up son (of God)! I can see you are doing very very well, being grounded in scriptures. The truth is, many Christians are very far from the RICHES and BLESSEDNESS of believers in the New Testament still married to the Old; hence, they must come up with stuffs like deliverance for Christians. I don't see any believer in the early church going for deliverance session. Many Pastors are fueling the error also knowing that's what sells and what the people want. Take a look at this,

2 Corinthians 3:7-11
Expanded Bible (EXB)

7 The ·law [or old system;  ministry] that brought death was ·written in words [ engraved with letters] on stone. It came with ·God’s glory [ glory], which made Moses’ face so ·bright [glorious] that the ·Israelites [ children of Israel] could not ·continue to look [gaze] at it. But that glory ·later disappeared [was fading; or was made ineffective (by the veil on his face)]. 8 So ·surely [ will not…?] the ·new way that brings [ ministry of] the Spirit has even more glory. 9 [ For] If the ·law that judged people guilty of sin [ ministry of condemnation] had glory, surely the ·new way that makes people right with God [ ministry of righteousness] has much greater glory. 10 For that which had glory [ the law] ·really loses its glory [ has no glory] when it is compared to the much greater glory [ the new way through the Spirit]. 11 [ For] If that which ·disappeared [faded; was made ineffective;  the law; v. 7] came with glory, then that which ·continues forever [remains; abides; the new way through the Spirit] has much greater glory.

Doing great bro... I believe at this point we rily need to push the word out there like than ever before.Enough of all this traditions! People need to come into the realities of our redemption and the realities. Of the new creation.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by Candour(m): 12:54pm On Mar 04, 2013
@Wordthots

Dear brother,Calvary greetings.i'm so much blessed by your answers proffered above.You know our African culture steeped in so much idolatry and superstition has been incorporated into the Christianity we practice today.That's why you hear some prayer points in church today and you have to check again if you're before a Sango priest or still in a church.

I remember when i was deep in this deliverance thing and had to take a tree branch and a big broom to a pastor to pray on to ward of demonic influences from my compound.i think back to that episode and wonder how could i have been so gullible with all my supposed excellent education?

we have to keep opening the bible to point out the riches of the God's Grace spread abroad when Christ shed his blood on Calvary.Through this alone will God's children conquer the fear of the Devil and demons that plague on every side.

God bless you richly
Re: What Is Deliverance? by Goshen360(m): 1:44pm On Mar 04, 2013
Candour:

That's why you hear some prayer points in church today and you have to check again if you're before a Sango priest or still in a church.

I remember when i was deep in this deliverance thing and had to take a tree branch and a big broom to a pastor to pray on to ward of demonic influences from my compound.i think back to that episode and wonder how could i have been so gullible with all my supposed excellent education?

grin grin grin @ the bold.

Do you know why I fight that deliverance stuffs for 'christians'? It's based on your second paragraph - I've also been once deceived doing deliverance for 'christians' and attaching a little thing that happens to demon and satan grin but it was because of tradition passed down to me from our church leaders then. My brother, when I sat myself down to study the word, one verse at a time. It's like a veil is taken away from my eyes. I began to see myself how God sees me and this blessedness and riches are only found IN CHRIST AND REVEALED IN THE EPISTLES. I love the word bro.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by Candour(m): 2:46pm On Mar 04, 2013
Goshen360:

grin grin grin @ the bold.

Do you know why I fight that deliverance stuffs for 'christians'? It's based on your second paragraph - I've also been once deceived doing deliverance for 'christians' and attaching a little thing that happens to demon and satan grin but it was because of tradition passed down to me from our church leaders then. My brother, when I sat myself down to study the word, one verse at a time. It's like a veil is taken away from my eyes. I began to see myself how God sees me and this blessedness and riches are only found IN CHRIST AND REVEALED IN THE EPISTLES. I love the word bro.

no be small thing o my brother grin
Re: What Is Deliverance? by Goshen360(m): 2:51pm On Mar 04, 2013
^^^ Yes bro. I hope to visit the churches I grew up as a young Christian and when I do, trust me - THEY WILL NEVER REMAIN THE SAME AGAIN....because I will impart unto them Spiritual gift, by the Grace of God given unto me. You know what I'm talking about na grin
Re: What Is Deliverance? by christemmbassey(m): 3:39pm On Mar 04, 2013
Goshen360: ^^^ Yes bro. I hope to visit the churches I grew up as a young Christian and when I do, trust me - THEY WILL NEVER REMAIN THE SAME AGAIN....because I will impart unto them Spiritual gift, by the Grace of God given unto me. You know what I'm talking about na grin
bros DELIVERANCE DE, especially for church goers. In short if u dont believe in this deliverance, u need deliverance.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by ichuka(m): 5:08pm On Mar 04, 2013
Romans8:19For the earnest expectation of the creature waiteth for the manifestation of the sons of God. 20For the creature was made subject to vanity, not willingly, but by reason of him who hath subjected the same in hope, 21Because the creature itself also shall be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God. 22For we know that the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain together until now. 23And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption, to wit, the redemption of our body.
Paul told the brethrem in Roman that the
Whole creation itself are still under bondage of corruption,even them(Paul and co.)awaits their full redemption.
And some Christains are still saying we don't need deliverance.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by christemmbassey(m): 5:16pm On Mar 04, 2013
i.chuka:
Romans8:19For the earnest expectation of the creature waiteth for the manifestation of the sons of God. 20For the creature was made subject to vanity, not willingly, but by reason of him who hath subjected the same in hope, 21Because the creature itself also shall be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God. 22For we know that the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain together until now. 23And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption, to wit, the redemption of our body.
Whole creation itself are still under bondage of corruption,even them(Paul and co.)awaits their full redemption.
prayer house stuffs, @bro Goshen with this quote, do u still stand by ur view that they dont need deliverance from ignorance?
Re: What Is Deliverance? by nlMediator: 5:31pm On Mar 04, 2013
[/b][quote author=Goshen360][b]@wordthots, whatz up son (of God)! I can see you are doing very very well, being grounded in scriptures. The truth is, many Christians are very far from the RICHES and BLESSEDNESS of believers in the New Testament still married to the Old; hence, they must come up with stuffs like deliverance for Christians. I don't see any believer in the early church going for deliverance session. Many Pastors are fueling the error also knowing that's what sells and what the people want. Take a look at this, ]

So the fact you don't see any christian going for deliverance in the early church is dispositive? I hope you apply it to all theological issues, but I know you do not.

The simple question I need an answer to is this: the gift of discerning of spirits in I Cor. 12, is it meant to apply only outside of the church? And please I'd appreciate answers from you and others from the Scriptures.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by Goshen360(m): 8:10pm On Mar 04, 2013
^^^ I think you will need to tell us first what you think the gift of discerning of spirits is discerning IN\AMONG BELIEVERS? To discern if a Christians is possessed or what?
Re: What Is Deliverance? by nlMediator: 11:34pm On Mar 04, 2013
OK. My understanding is that it is a gift of the Spirit of God that enables a christian to see spirits in operation. It can help you distinguish between the Spirit of God and false spirits. It includes ability to see the particular demons in operation in a person's life and over a given situation; at which point, they can readily be cast out.

BTW, regarding your earlier point about not seeing christians in the early church going for deliverance, I believe it is because the church had a consistent practice of casting demons out of people before salvation. Thus, the question of deliverance became moot.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by nlMediator: 11:40pm On Mar 04, 2013
wordthots:

Sis are you speaking based on God’s word or based on traditions because last time I checked the believer has been delivered from most of these things, pls check out the following scriptures

1. Colossians 1:13- [The Father] has delivered and drawn us to Himself out of the control and the dominion of darkness and has transferred us into the kingdom of the Son of His love (AMP)

Col. 2:15- [God] disarmed the principalities and powers that were ranged against us and made a bold display and public example of them, in triumphing over them in Him and in it [the cross].

2.Galatians 3:13- Christ purchased our freedom [redeeming us] from the curse (doom) of the Law [and its condemnation] by [Himself] becoming a curse for us, for it is written [in the Scriptures], Cursed is everyone who hangs on a tree (is crucified)

Romans 8:30- For those whom He foreknew [of whom He was aware and loved beforehand], He also destined from the beginning [foreordaining them] to be molded into the image of His Son [and share inwardly His likeness], that He might become the firstborn among many brethren.

My dear we belong to God’s family now and there are no curses in that family lineage

3. 2Corinthians 2:14- But thanks be to God, Who in Christ always leads us in triumph [as trophies of Christ's victory] and through us spreads and makes evident the fragrance of the knowledge of God everywhere

You are victorious already with or without deliverance, you just need to walk in this consciousness of who you are in Christ Jesus.

4. Heb. 2:14- Since, therefore, [these His] children share in flesh and blood [in the physical nature of human beings], He [Himself] in a similar manner partook of the same [nature], that by [going through] death He might bring to nought and make of no effect him who had the power of death--that is, the devil—

5. 2pet.1:4- For His divine power has bestowed upon us all things that [are requisite and suited] to life and godliness, through the [full, personal] knowledge of Him Who called us by and to His own glory and excellence (virtue).

What possession again do you need?

6. John 10:10- The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows)

The day you got born again you were totally restored, there’s no more capturing my dear

7. John 8:32- And you will know the Truth, and the Truth will set you free

Galatians 5:16- But I say, walk and live [habitually] in the [Holy] Spirit [responsive to and controlled and guided by the Spirit]; then you will certainly not gratify the cravings and desires of the flesh (of human nature without God)

On this(habits) I agree that a believer might need “deliverance” but not through deliverance sessions but through God’s word by constant meditation. Just like Romans 12:2.

8 & 9. Eph. 2:6- And He raised us up together with Him and made us sit down together [giving us joint seating with Him] in the heavenly sphere [by virtue of our being] in Christ Jesus (the Messiah, the Anointed One).

Eph. 1:20-21- Which He exerted in Christ when He raised Him from the dead and seated Him at His [own] right hand in the heavenly [places], Far above all rule and authority and power and dominion and every name that is named [above every title that can be conferred], not only in this age and in this world, but also in the age and the world which are to come.

God put Christ far above ALL authority and power and we seated together with Christ, meaning we are also far above. My dear where you are there are no yokes, satanic bondages, satanic spells and also satanic dreams have no power over you if you know your rights as a believer in Christ.

Colossians 3:3- For [as far as this world is concerned] you have died, and your [new, real] life is hidden with Christ in God

10. 2Corinthians 5:17- Therefore if any person is [ingrafted] in Christ (the Messiah) he is a new creation (a new creature altogether); the old [previous moral and spiritual condition] has passed away. Behold, the fresh and new has come.

Colossians 1:13- [The Father] has delivered and drawn us to Himself out of the control and the dominion of darkness and has transferred us into the kingdom of the Son of His love (AMP)

There are no faulty foundations anymore, you have been recreated in Christ unto goodworks

Hope this is helpful….Pls do a study on Pauls epistles for more about who you are and what you have in Christ. Also, I will like to recommend a book Triumphant Church by Kenneth Hagin, it helped me a lot back then.

Godbless

Kenneth Hagin taught a different thing from your position. He clearly believed that a christian can be oppressed, but not possessed.

I also think that you're misapplying the Scriptures you quoted. To make clearer, I have a simple question for you: Acts 10:38 says that Jesus went about healing those oppressed of the devil. So, we know that sickness can be an oppression of the devil. We also know that we have been redeemed from sickness. Now, do you believe a christian can be sick - caused directly or indirectly by the devil?
Re: What Is Deliverance? by Goshen360(m): 11:52pm On Mar 04, 2013
nlMediator: OK. My understanding is that it is a gift of the Spirit of God that enables a christian to see spirits in operation. It can help you distinguish between the Spirit of God and false spirits. It includes ability to see the particular demons in operation in a person's life and over a given situation; at which point, they can readily be cast out.

BTW, regarding your earlier point about not seeing christians in the early church going for deliverance, I believe it is because the church had a consistent practice of casting demons out of people before salvation. Thus, the question of deliverance became moot.

On the highlight in RED, who is this person? A Christian or just a church goer? If your definition is that, ...it enables a CHRISTIAN to see...Now, can one Christians be POSSESSED and another seeing devils in the other?

On the highlight in BLACK - Your second paragraph immediately answers the first highlight. If someone is delivered BEFORE salvation, tell me what deliverance such person constantly go for again. That's the whole point I've been making. It is those that are not saved yet and washed in the blood of Christ that needs deliverance. They don't keep going for deliverance AFTER the are saved and become Christians. Hence, you don't read such among the early church fathers.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by nlMediator: 1:46am On Mar 05, 2013
"Keep going for deliverance" and "going for deliverance" are 2 different things. The issue is whether a christian can ever at any point be demonized and therefore in need of deliverance. Do you think that's a possibility at all? You misunderstood the bolded portion. I was saying that demons were cast out of people often in the early church before they received Jesus into their lives. Today, we ask people to receive Jesus often without casting out the devils first. When such people receive Jesus, do the demons immediately disappear or should these new christians be prayed for to get the demons out of them? In addition, for christians that for whatever reason are not strong in the Lord, even though they have been saved for years, can demons attach themselves to those christians either through their weakness OR because of wrong associations or actions (engaging in sexual perversion, joining the occult, etc)? What I see some of you say is that people are constantly going for deliverance but that does not address the crucial question.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by nlMediator: 2:22am On Mar 05, 2013
Goshen360:

On the highlight in RED, who is this person? A Christian or just a church goer? If your definition is that, ...it enables a CHRISTIAN to see...Now, can one Christians be POSSESSED and another seeing devils in the other?

On the highlight in BLACK - Your second paragraph immediately answers the first highlight. If someone is delivered BEFORE salvation, tell me what deliverance such person constantly go for again. That's the whole point I've been making. It is those that are not saved yet and washed in the blood of Christ that needs deliverance. They don't keep going for deliverance AFTER the are saved and become Christians. Hence, you don't read such among the early church fathers.

On your questions about discerning of spirits, I'll recount this story by Kenneth Hagin. He went to preach - I believe it was in Oregon - in the late 1950s. A little while before that, Jesus had appeared to him to tell him that the gift of discerning of spirits would start manifesting in his ministry. So, while ministering in Oregon, one man came up for prayers. He recounted his problem. Hagin asked him if he was a christian. He said he was saved and had received the in-filling of the Holy Spirit. After praying for the man, Hagin asked him to go and sit down. He sat down on the front row. While Hagin was ministering to others, he looked in the man's direction and saw a monkey-like creature - an evil spirit - sitting or standing on the man's head with his hands in a vice-like fashion. Hagin called the man to come up again. He then commanded the evil spirit to leave. The evil spirit responded by saying that he guessed he'd have to leave if Hagin wants him to, but that he did not want to. Hagin insisted that the spirit leave. People in the church were listening to what Hagin was saying but were not seeing the spirit. The spirit left and the man felt free - physically. I think he had a kind of mental problem. Hagin said 14 years later when he saw the man, he was still free.

The point is that this man was not possessed in his spirit by the evil spirit. But he was harrassed, tormented and oppressed by this spirit. It took somebody operating in cooperation with the Holy Spirit to set him free. From what I'm hearing from you guys, this man is either not a christian or the story cannot be true. That's pretty convenient, if you ask me. Because a number of people doing God's work in the field can recount countless similar stories.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by christemmbassey(m): 10:50am On Mar 05, 2013
Boko haram that attacked police hquarters is not living there but succeeded because of security lapse. So a christian who lacks vigilance can only be oppressed (attacked) and not possesed. Now, how can a christian get rid of oppresion? By doing what Paul did, 'SHAKE IT OFF' Acts 28:1-5. The 'CHRISTIAN' CAN NEVER BE POSSESED WITH DEMONS because he has the Spirit of God inside which can not dwell side by side with demons AND DOES NOT NEED DELIVERANCE, but church goers DO. GOD BLESS.

Re: What Is Deliverance? by Yooguyz: 1:40pm On Mar 05, 2013
@Goshen your posts are bible based i love them! How has your day been?
Whats more disturbing is the doctrine these men teach some preach that hideous men are out there looking for people's destiny to 'steal' .destiny which claim is already pre-determined by God
Re: What Is Deliverance? by Yooguyz: 1:48pm On Mar 05, 2013
*playful mode activation* somebody help me i need deliverance!
Re: What Is Deliverance? by reveal: 3:52pm On Mar 05, 2013
Our Lord Jesus, told a story of what happens to a man whom evil spirit has been driven out in Mat 12:43, how the unclean spirit comes back to see the place vacant and gets 7 spirits more evil than him to occupy that man.This happened because the man the evil spirit met him empty.
A Christian is one who has accepted Jesus to come and live in him and be Lord over his life. He is not empty, so an evil spirit cannot come and dwell in him or oppress him in anyway, because Jesus who is stronger dwells in him(the christian). He is not a christian just because he attends church.
Many people in Nigeria are being deceived by so-called deliverance preachers, because the have not truly received the gospel that saves. You shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free. Christians do not need deliverance, they need to be taught the word of God. That is what Paul did when he noticed unwholesome attitude in the Corinthians and Galatians, he did not organise deliverance sessions for them

Re: What Is Deliverance? by Goshen360(m): 4:01pm On Mar 05, 2013
i.chuka:

My God, how did I missed this post OMG! Brother i.chuka, what is this? You mean at your level of bible study, you don't understand that scripture you quoted? I can't believe that. Well, I do not say that to discredit you but I said that because I expected more from you, reading from most of your post.

First, lemme advice you. If KJV is too difficult for you in 'some' cases, please, kindly or always read along KJV other translations to better under what a particular KJV verse is saying. I realize many problem in today's interpretation of scripture are from KJV English. That being said, let's go to the context and I will quote KJV and parallel with another translations so we can understand what KJV was saying in those verses.

King James Bible (Cambridge Ed.)
For the earnest expectation of the creature waiteth for the manifestation of the sons of God. For the creature was made subject to vanity, not willingly, but by reason of him who hath subjected the same in hope, Because the creature itself also shall be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God. For we know that the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain together until now. And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption, to wit, the redemption of our body.

New Living Translation (©2007)
For all creation is waiting eagerly for that future day when God will reveal who his children really are. Against its will, all creation was subjected to God's curse. But with eager hope, the creation looks forward to the day when it will join God's children in glorious freedom from death and decay. For we know that all creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. And we believers also groan, even though we have the Holy Spirit within us as a foretaste of future glory, for we long for our bodies to be released from sin and suffering. We, too, wait with eager hope for the day when God will give us our full rights as his adopted children, including the new bodies he has promised us.

Expanded Bible (EXB)
19 ·Everything God made [ The creation] is waiting with ·excitement [eager expectation] for ·God to show his children’s glory completely [the revelation of the children/sons of God]. 20 ·Everything God made [ For the creation] was ·changed to become useless [subjected to futility/meaninglessness; Gen. 3; Eccl. 1:2], not by its own wish but because God ·wanted [ subjected] it ·and because all along there was this hope [yet with the hope…]: 21 that ·everything God made [the creation itself] would be set free from ·ruin [inevitable decay; L the slavery of decay] to have the ·freedom and glory [or glorious freedom] that belong to God’s children. 22 We know that ·everything God made [all creation] has been ·waiting until now in pain, like a woman ready to give birth [ groaning with labor pains until now]. 23 Not only the world, but we also ·have been waiting with pain inside us [ groan within ourselves]. We have the Spirit as the ·first part of God’s promise [ firstfruits;  as the first crops confirmed the future harvest, so the Spirit’s presence confirms believers’ final salvation]. So we are [eagerly] waiting for ·God to finish making us his own children [ our adoption], which means ·our bodies will be made free [ the redemption of our bodies].

Romans 8:19-23

What then is the "the bondage of corruption that we SHALL be (future tense) DELIVERED FROM?" in this context. See, I don't explain scriptures with my own words but I explain\interpret scriptures with scriptures. The bondage of corruption is OUR CORRUPTIBLE or CORRUPTED BODY (because it says, everything God made was changed to become useless) in the fact that we, whether Christians or not are still living in this earthly bodies and flesh. How do we know this, the immediate context of verse 23 in the last phrase says, "the redemption of our body". This is the same revelation in 1 Corinthians 15:53-54 Please read it in ALL available translations.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by Goshen360(m): 4:15pm On Mar 05, 2013
nlMediator: "Keep going for deliverance" and "going for deliverance" are 2 different things. The issue is whether a christian can ever at any point be demonized and therefore in need of deliverance. Do you think that's a possibility at all? You misunderstood the bolded portion. I was saying that demons were cast out of people often in the early church before they received Jesus into their lives. Today, we ask people to receive Jesus often without casting out the devils first. When such people receive Jesus, do the demons immediately disappear or should these new christians be prayed for to get the demons out of them? In addition, for christians that for whatever reason are not strong in the Lord, even though they have been saved for years, can demons attach themselves to those christians either through their weakness OR because of wrong associations or actions (engaging in sexual perversion, joining the occult, etc)? What I see some of you say is that people are constantly going for deliverance but that does not address the crucial question.

There's difference between operating under flesh - allowing your flesh to control you and such person falling into perversion etc. That is as a result of not dying to self. It is different from being possessed of devils. I have never seen a Christians in scriptures that have the anointing of the Spirit of God still being possessed of demons. 3,000 were saved on Pentecost, Peter didn't conduct deliverance for them before they gave their lives to Christ according to you.

My point is, those who need deliverance from demon possession or whatever have not truly come to Christ. When they do, Christ lives in them BY THE HOLY SPIRIT. It is okay to conduct deliverance for whoever needs it PRIOR to accepting Christ. One the process of salvation is completed in a person, the Holy Spirit takes over such life and the body becomes the temple of the Holy Spirit and we know, darkness and light cannot exist at the same time. I'm for deliverance for unbelievers, NOT for believers or Christians - It's an insult to the finished work of Christ and the blood that speaks better things.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by Goshen360(m): 4:26pm On Mar 05, 2013
nlMediator:

On your questions about discerning of spirits, I'll recount this story by Kenneth Hagin. He went to preach - I believe it was in Oregon - in the late 1950s. A little while before that, Jesus had appeared to him to tell him that the gift of discerning of spirits would start manifesting in his ministry. So, while ministering in Oregon, one man came up for prayers. He recounted his problem. Hagin asked him if he was a christian. He said he was saved and had received the in-filling of the Holy Spirit. After praying for the man, Hagin asked him to go and sit down. He sat down on the front row. While Hagin was ministering to others, he looked in the man's direction and saw a monkey-like creature - an evil spirit - sitting or standing on the man's head with his hands in a vice-like fashion. Hagin called the man to come up again. He then commanded the evil spirit to leave. The evil spirit responded by saying that he guessed he'd have to leave if Hagin wants him to, but that he did not want to. Hagin insisted that the spirit leave. People in the church were listening to what Hagin was saying but were not seeing the spirit. The spirit left and the man felt free - physically. I think he had a kind of mental problem. Hagin said 14 years later when he saw the man, he was still free.

The point is that this man was not possessed in his spirit by the evil spirit. But he was harrassed, tormented and oppressed by this spirit. It took somebody operating in cooperation with the Holy Spirit to set him free. From what I'm hearing from you guys, this man is either not a christian or the story cannot be true. That's pretty convenient, if you ask me. Because a number of people doing God's work in the field can recount countless similar stories.

Well, I cannot verify this story but I can verify scriptures. The clear point in this story is the man was harrassed, tormented and oppressed NOT POSSESSED. To be harrassed, tormented and oppressed are EXTERNAL while to be possessed is INTERNAL. Like the story says, he saw the demon OUTSIDE the man's body not INSIDE the man. My point is very clear, NO DEMONS CAN LIVE INSIDE A CHRISTIAN AT THE PERFECT GIFT OF SALVATION.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by Goshen360(m): 4:34pm On Mar 05, 2013
Yooguyz: @Goshen your posts are bible based i love them! How has your day been?
Whats more disturbing is the doctrine these men teach some preach that hideous men are out there looking for people's destiny to 'steal' .destiny which claim is already pre-determined by God

Thank you my brother. That's the trick used against weak Christians. Christians who don't know their left from right - telling them one baba in the village is stealing their success and destiny. I know the riches and blessedness of believers IN CHRIST and that's what I teach Christians.

GOD'S WORD® Translation (©1995)
and God has made you complete in Christ. Christ is in charge of every ruler and authority.

And ye are complete in him, which is the head of all principality and power:

Colossians 2:10
Re: What Is Deliverance? by christemmbassey(m): 4:47pm On Mar 05, 2013
Goshen360:

There's difference between operating under flesh - allowing your flesh to control you and such person falling into perversion etc. That is as a result of not dying to self. It is different from being possessed of devils. I have never seen a Christians in scriptures that have the anointing of the Spirit of God still being possessed of demons. 3,000 were saved on Pentecost, Peter didn't conduct deliverance for them before they gave their lives to Christ according to you.

My point is, those who need deliverance from demon possession or whatever have not truly come to Christ. When they do, Christ lives in them BY THE HOLY SPIRIT. It is okay to conduct deliverance for whoever needs it PRIOR to accepting Christ. One the process of salvation is completed in a person, the Holy Spirit takes over such life and the body becomes the temple of the Holy Spirit and we know, darkness and light cannot exist at the same time. I'm for deliverance for unbelievers, NOT for believers or Christians - It's an insult to the finished work of Christ and the blood that speaks better things.
to add to the above, deliverance is what happen when a man gives his life to Christ, during this process there is exchange of the the 'inherent life' the Adamic life(soochay, not sure of the spelling) is replaced by Christ' life(ZOE) so demons cant dwell there. Bible says as many of you as been baptized into Christ, has put on Christ, another place says, "when Christ who is our life shall appear.....,
Re: What Is Deliverance? by nlMediator: 6:08pm On Mar 05, 2013
I'm sorry to say, but some of you are adding unnecessary confusion to the issue. Nobody is arguing with you that the Holy Spirit lives in the spirit of the christian. Therefore, a christian cannot be possessed - that is, have an evil spirit living in his spirit. The question is whether there are other operations of evil spirits, short of possession, in the life of a christian for which he would need deliverance. What I see is dancing around the issue and erecting straw men. Simply answer the question: Can an evil spirit temporarily reside in the body or soul of a christian and cause him calamities, ailments, and other problems? If Yes, can such a christian be delivered from such hold of darkness? Please note that my question is not about the works of the flesh. So, don't distract us with that.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by ichuka(m): 6:11pm On Mar 05, 2013
Goshen360:

My God, how did I missed this post OMG! Brother i.chuka, what is this? You mean at your level of bible study, you don't understand that scripture you quoted? I can't believe that. Well, I do not say that to discredit you but I said that because I expected more from you, reading from most of your post.

First, lemme advice you. If KJV is too difficult for you in 'some' cases, please, kindly or always read along KJV other translations to better under what a particular KJV verse is saying. I realize many problem in today's interpretation of scripture are from KJV English. That being said, let's go to the context and I will quote KJV and parallel with another translations so we can understand what KJV was saying in those verses.

For the earnest expectation of the creature waiteth for the manifestation of the sons of God. For the creature was made subject to vanity, not willingly, but by reason of him who hath subjected the same in hope, Because the creature itself also shall be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God. For we know that the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain together until now. And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption, to wit, the redemption of our body.

New Living Translation (©2007)
For all creation is waiting eagerly for that future day when God will reveal who his children really are. Against its will, all creation was subjected to God's curse. But with eager hope, the creation looks forward to the day when it will join God's children in glorious freedom from death and decay. For we know that all creation has been groaning as in the pains of childbirth right up to the present time. And we believers also groan, even though we have the Holy Spirit within us as a foretaste of future glory, for we long for our bodies to be released from sin and suffering. We, too, wait with eager hope for the day when God will give us our full rights as his adopted children, including the new bodies he has promised us.

Expanded Bible (EXB)
19 ·Everything God made [ The creation] is waiting with ·excitement [eager expectation] for ·God to show his children’s glory completely [the revelation of the children/sons of God]. 20 ·Everything God made [ For the creation] was ·changed to become useless [subjected to futility/meaninglessness; Gen. 3; Eccl. 1:2], not by its own wish but because God ·wanted [ subjected] it ·and because all along there was this hope [yet with the hope…]: 21 that ·everything God made [the creation itself] would be set free from ·ruin [inevitable decay; L the slavery of decay] to have the ·freedom and glory [or glorious freedom] that belong to God’s children. 22 We know that ·everything God made [all creation] has been ·waiting until now in pain, like a woman ready to give birth [ groaning with labor pains until now]. 23 Not only the world, but we also ·have been waiting with pain inside us [ groan within ourselves]. We have the Spirit as the ·first part of God’s promise [ firstfruits;  as the first crops confirmed the future harvest, so the Spirit’s presence confirms believers’ final salvation]. So we are [eagerly] waiting for ·God to finish making us his own children [ our adoption], which means ·our bodies will be made free [ the redemption of our bodies].

Romans 8:19-23

What then is the "the bondage of corruption that we SHALL be (future tense) DELIVERED FROM?" in this context. See, I don't explain scriptures with my own words but I explain\interpret scriptures with scriptures. The bondage of corruption is OUR CORRUPTIBLE or CORRUPTED BODY (because it says, everything God made was changed to become useless) in the fact that we, whether Christians or not are still living in this earthly bodies and flesh. How do we know this, the immediate context of verse 23 in the last phrase says, "the redemption of our body". This is the same revelation in 1 Corinthians 15:53-54 Please read it in ALL available translations.
Bro,so after all these many many scriptural quotes and interpretations,you are still saying a Christain don't need deliverance or what is actually your point here?
If Someone is cured(delivered and is now a Christain) from malaria/typhoid fever(demons) is he(a Christain) now completely free from future sickness?
Bro,christains no dey fall sick?
As it is physically,it,s also applicable spiritually.
Expect you are saying that a Christain don't take drugs(which is a kind of deliverance)
Re: What Is Deliverance? by nlMediator: 6:14pm On Mar 05, 2013
Goshen360:

Well, I cannot verify this story but I can verify scriptures. The clear point in this story is the man was harrassed, tormented and oppressed NOT POSSESSED. To be harrassed, tormented and oppressed are EXTERNAL while to be possessed is INTERNAL. Like the story says, he saw the demon OUTSIDE the man's body not INSIDE the man. My point is very clear, NO DEMONS CAN LIVE INSIDE A CHRISTIAN AT THE PERFECT GIFT OF SALVATION.

In other words, you accept that the man here needed deliverance? Because that's the only logical conclusion from your answer. So, why the argument that the christian does not need deliverance? Or you think deliverance from oppression is not deliverance and that deliverance can only be used in the case of possession?

I understand you cannot verify the story. That's why I told you there are many more like that. I'd be interested in hearing of your own experiences from the field - seeing demons operating in people's lives and telling them they are mere church goers or that they should just 'shake it off' like Paul.
Re: What Is Deliverance? by Goshen360(m): 6:28pm On Mar 05, 2013
i.chuka:

Bro,so after all these many many scriptural quotes and interpretations,you are still saying a Christain don't need deliverance or what is actually your point here?
If Someone is cured(delivered and is now a Christain) from malaria/typhoid fever(demons) is he(a Christain) now completely free from future sickness?
Bro,christains no dey fall sick?
As it is physically,it,s also applicable spiritually.
Expect you are saying that a Christain don't take drugs(which is a kind of deliverance)

God! Is it you saying this? Are you implying ALL sickness is caused by demons or devils IN A CHRISTIAN? So if I have headache, it is demon or devil making me have headache? If a Christian have typhoid, is that caused by the devil or demons? As matter of fact, what is the difference between falling sick and being possessed by demons? And what is the Christian being delivered FROM?

waiting from an answer please

House On The Rock To Host 9th Edition Of The Experience Lagos / Does Juju Really Work? / Solomon: Was King Solomon Really A Wise Man Or A Foolish Man?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 157