Stats: 3,164,194 members, 7,856,791 topics. Date: Tuesday, 11 June 2024 at 07:18 AM

Humanitarians Needed! - Career - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / Humanitarians Needed! (741 Views)

(2) (3) (4)

Humanitarians Needed! by Kattylone(f): 9:01pm On May 20, 2013
I'm a 22yrold female, and it hurts to find that only 1 out of 30 nigerian youth who wants to sincerely serve this country..
I was once a volunteer in the VSOICS youth program, where I met pple living on #100 a day in this Naija naa o! Shortly after I was fortunate enof tho work for an NGO in Kwara state, we worked in the Ghettos(by ghetto I mean very poor communities) some schools had 5 teachers including the head master+arabic teacher, and every year they had graduants barely able to form a sentence. Within 6months, I had seen enof to make me stop buying chocolates and give to the needy instead, I've stopped throwing waste all around the streets, I keep it in my bag until I get home.(even tho the streets are still messed up)
WE ARE NIGERIA! WE ARE THE GOVERNMENT,
Every little voluntary act counts!
Change starts from us..
And the Youths, let's make a better bed for our kids to lay on, let's help every needy, every OVC(orphans and vulnerable children ). Let's change this country step by step..

Re: Humanitarians Needed! by Kattylone(f): 9:14pm On May 20, 2013
There are SBMC(school based management committees)being set up all over the country, you can join that of a school nearby or be an Alumni member.. Its all to keep the school systems in check. Really sorry to say this but we all know SOME civil servants are quite lazy and they won't leave their offices to inspect shiiit, but you can,you can check the teachers, are they coming to school? Or lazying around? while strolling down the block, while driving to work. Yeah, you don't care? You kids attend standard private schools? How bout your cleaner's kids? Your mechanic's kid?
Remember if they don't get quality education and Morals, they'll grow up to be bad, they'll hunt you, they'll worsen this country..

Re: Humanitarians Needed! by talura(f): 6:49am On Jun 04, 2013
Nice work u're doing dear. This is a really sensitive issue wish I could get more information on how I could volunteer services. There's really no avenue where such is welcome here in Nigeria and these schools won't even let u pass their gates.
Re: Humanitarians Needed! by talura(f): 6:53am On Jun 04, 2013
Nice work u're doing dear. This is a really sensitive issue wish I could get more information on how I could volunteer services. There's really no avenue where such is welcome here in Nigeria and these schools won't even let u pass their gates. I mean how does one join these school based management committees ?
Re: Humanitarians Needed! by Kattylone(f): 8:11pm On Jun 05, 2013
Of course there are Avenues.. Its because you haven't asked.. Pls try to find out in a public school around u.

Engineer In Training Certficate / ASUU Strike Have Been Called Off Today: Fresh Available Jobs | Huge Money / Mentally Strong People: The 13 Thingsthey Avoid!

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 15