Stats: 3,161,447 members, 7,846,861 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 04:33 AM

Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu (5767 Views)

Ikpeazu Doesn't Eat Foreign Rice / The Cement Roads Being Built By Ikpeazu In Aba. / Lagos Commences Power Generation From Organic Wastes (2) (3) (4)

Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Nobody: 2:34am On Jul 13, 2013
UMUAHIA— ABIA State government, yesterday, alleged that some Port-Harcourt-based companies owned by expatriates were dumping industrial wastes in Aba.

Deputy General Manager, Abia State Environmental Protection Agency, ASEPA, Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu, who made the allegation, said the unidentified companies connived with lorry drivers to lift the wastes and dump illegally in Aba. He said one suspect, a truck conductor, has been arrested and his truck impounded.

Ikpeazu said the suspect allegedly dumped 90 tonnes of suspected toxic wastes generated in Port Harcourt in the commercial city, adding that the industrial wastes would be sent to Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike, for laboratory analysis to determine the toxic level.

Noting that the suspect had been handed over to the police for further interrogation, he said: “We are now sure that there are some fifth columnists that generate wastes in their states and dump them in Abia State. We believe that had been the practice and that is why we have been having problems cleaning up Aba.”

He said two other trucks had earlier discharged 60 tonnes of wastes on Coca-Cola Bus Stop also in Aba and escaped, stressing that ASEPA became worried when it discovered that its daily projection on the number of trucks needed to evacuate wastes on Port Harcourt Road in Aba was no longer enough.

Ikpeazu attributed this to the sudden emergence of what he called alien wastes, stressing: “To our greatest surprise on Monday morning ,we discovered that 37 trucks would be needed to evacuate the wastes on Port Harcourt Road, hence we started thinking that there must be something fishy.”

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2013/07/how-ph-based-firms-dump-wastes-in-aba-ikpeazu-2/#sthash.bze7VxOJ.dpuf
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Nobody: 10:39am On Jul 13, 2013
1st shaa.Btw.. Is Aba a dustbin or what... End time o

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Nobody: 10:42am On Jul 13, 2013
Put ur house in order. If ur environment is clean and secured nobody will come and dump waste there.

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Ibangap(m): 10:43am On Jul 13, 2013
Ofcourse, when u make ur house a dump site, strangers will definitely dump shiit in it.

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Dprinzcolection: 10:44am On Jul 13, 2013
This is condemnable act if confirmed to be true

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by omusiliyu(m): 10:47am On Jul 13, 2013
That sounds crazy... With a huge land mass in Rivers state and also their large Niger River basin they stil trespass to another state to dump refuse there(Toxic compound)... The company involve must be punish.

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Sealeddeal(m): 10:47am On Jul 13, 2013
PDPwayoo: Put ur house in order. If ur environment is clean and secured nobody will come and dump waste there.
how do you mean? How else will they put their house in order if not by the effort and attention they are giving to clean Aba? Why must PH city's refuse be dumped in Aba? I do not support that.its a condemnable act.

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Symphony007: 10:53am On Jul 13, 2013
If aba was'nt famous for it's flirt, firms in it's superior neighbour city won't dump things there. Lagos is the commercial superpower of the west but you don't see companies in lagos dumping waste in ibadan, because they protect their city and it is not know for flirt.

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by fitzmayowa: 10:53am On Jul 13, 2013
Hmmm

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Alishachris: 11:02am On Jul 13, 2013
Aba is already a dumbsite
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Nobody: 11:03am On Jul 13, 2013
Sealeddeal: how do you mean? How else will they put their house in order if not by the effort and attention they are giving to clean Aba? Why must PH city's refuse be dumped in Aba? I do not support that.its a condemnable act.

My broda, no company in Manchester, New York,Johannesburg,Hongkong,Singapore or any good city will dump waste freely. Naija cities r very dirty.
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Zonacom(m): 11:07am On Jul 13, 2013
Industries in nig have this habit of improper waste disposal wherever they are located. Some dump their refuse in the open, others in rivers. The environmental problems generated by this act is just too bad. No wonder we have problems of flood and gully erosions.
Like in developed countries, every state govt should make sure that any industry being sited in their domain must have an acceptable waste disposal mechanism. And where they default, they should be made to pay stiff penalties.
That Aba is not a clean city is'nt enough reason for any industry whether in Abia or outside to dump its wastes in the city.

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by zuma4k(m): 11:16am On Jul 13, 2013
Just imagine that
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by knightsamsong(m): 11:20am On Jul 13, 2013
aba is d dirtiest city in nigeria...u can't even breathe clean air...

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Kingspin(m): 11:33am On Jul 13, 2013
This happend because River state feels there is no government in abia state.Even the roads and street are as dirty as the waste brought-in.Good as una don discover one of ur problem.
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by IGBOSON1: 11:38am On Jul 13, 2013
They have a governor that's been in power for 6 years now, yet Aba is still nothing to get excited about.....all you hear is grammar, and all you read is dogo turenchi!
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Truckpusher(m): 11:44am On Jul 13, 2013
It might interest you guys to know that most of these companies and firms are owned by the Igbos that are into some kind of partnership with foreigners(local content policy) and they connive with the locals in Aba to dump these dirts and toxic waste.

Is there anyone in this country that doesn't know that the SE businessmen though not all, can do anything even to their own people to remain in business ? angry

TO MY IGBO FRIENDS ,NO OFFENSE JUST SPEAKING THE TRUTH THE WAY IT IS,BUT IF YOU'RE NOT HAPPY WITH ME GO HUG TRANSFORMER. grin

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Standing5(m): 12:02pm On Jul 13, 2013
Aba - a industrial dumping ground or industrial city?
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Afam4eva(m): 12:07pm On Jul 13, 2013
Truckpusher: It might interest you guys to know that most of these companies and firms are owned by the Igbos that are into some kind of partnership with foreigners(local content policy) and they connive with the locals in Aba to dump these dirts and toxic waste.

Is there anyone in this country that doesn't know that the SE businessmen though not all, can do anything even to their own people to remain in business ? angry

TO MY IGBO FRIENDS ,NO OFFENSE JUST SPEAKING THE TRUTH THE WAY IT IS,BUT IF YOU'RE NOT HAPPY WITH ME GO HUG TRANSFORMER. grin
I don't understand the thought process of some of you. Did anyone specify the ethnicity of the people dumping refuse in Aba? Whether it is Igbos, Ijaws or Ogonis that are doing it, it's wrong and the culprits have to be brought to book.

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by collynzo2(m): 12:14pm On Jul 13, 2013
Aba as a whole is a dumpsite, you can't blame them. My skin crawls while driving through Aba alone, I can't imagine spending a night there. Like I always say, Aba is a disgrace to Igbo people.
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by donigspain(m): 12:27pm On Jul 13, 2013
The quantity of waste generated in Aba on daily basis is quite alarming. I was opportuned to carry out a research with enough data on waste generation in Aba. To be frank, ASEPA is one of the most effective state run Environmental Protection Agency in the country. They are really working hard. If they fail to evacuate waste for just 3 days, every body living in Aba will run away. They need more trucks and receptors as well as good roads because their trucks mostly breakdown enroute designated dumpsites due to bad roads. The neighbouring states (Rivers and Cross River) are fond of sneaking in at night to dump refuse along major highways. Cross River (Calabar) is notorious for smuggling in their Efik and Ibibio mad people into Aba at night. They load them in trucks and dump them at Osisioma junction almost every month.
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by qualified(f): 12:29pm On Jul 13, 2013
Without sounding harsh to Aba, i don't blame the companies. If d city is neat, no one can even imagine such heinous act.
Btw, d governor n his Nl PROs were bragging abt how they wil recycle all d waste in Aba into products, i guess those PH companies heard n contributed to d project. That governor is a clown!
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Hillaco: 12:32pm On Jul 13, 2013
let police allowed the man to go, cos the govt as fall to do his job,therefore turnning Aba to dustbin
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Afam4eva(m): 12:32pm On Jul 13, 2013
qualified: Without sounding harsh to Aba, i don't blame the companies. If d city is neat, no one can even imagine such heinous act.
Btw, d governor n his Nl PROs were bragging abt how they wil recycle all d waste in Aba into products, i guess those PH companies heard n contributed to d project. That governor is a clown!
Whether Aba is the dirtiest city in the world should not be the issue. The issue is that people from other states don't have the right to dump trash in Aba. Aba's dirt has to be generated in Aba and not from outside.
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by qualified(f): 12:34pm On Jul 13, 2013
donigspain: The quantity of waste generated in Aba on daily basis is quite alarming. I was opportuned to carry out a research with enough data on waste generation in Aba. To be frank, ASEPA is one of the most effective state run Environmental Protection Agency in the country. They are really working hard. If they fail to evacuate waste for just 3 days, every body living in Aba will run away. They need more trucks and receptors as well as good roads because their trucks mostly breakdown enroute designated dumpsites due to bad roads. The neighbouring states (Rivers and Cross River) are fond of sneaking in at night to dump refuse along major highways. Cross River (Calabar) is notorious for smuggling in their Efik and Ibibio mad people into Aba at night. They load them in trucks and dump them at Osisioma junction almost every month.
story! Hope u are not making excuses for that incompetent governor? Is Aba bigger than other cities in Nigeria, why is it d dirtiest?
If other cities dump their waste there, it still shows one thing - incompetence
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by collynzo2(m): 12:36pm On Jul 13, 2013
donigspain: The quantity of waste generated in Aba on daily basis is quite alarming. I was opportuned to carry out a research with enough data on waste generation in Aba. To be frank, ASEPA is one of the most effective state run Environmental Protection Agency in the country. They are really working hard. If they fail to evacuate waste for just 3 days, every body living in Aba will run away. They need more trucks and receptors as well as good roads because their trucks mostly breakdown enroute designated dumpsites due to bad roads. The neighbouring states (Rivers and Cross River) are fond of sneaking in at night to dump refuse along major highways. Cross River (Calabar) is notorious for smuggling in their Efik and Ibibio mad people into Aba at night. They load them in trucks and dump them at Osisioma junction almost every month.
Story story...how many other cities have you done research to find out the quantity of wastes they generate. They should take a cue from port harcourt. In PH people are only allowed to dump refuse at designated spots between 6pm and 6am, and they must be properly tied in black refuse bags. By 6am the wastes have been evacuated and you wouldn't even recognize that place as a dump site. Any one who flouts the law faces severe punishment, such a policy should be implemented in Aba.

Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by qualified(f): 12:37pm On Jul 13, 2013
Afam4eva:
Whether Aba is the dirtiest city in the world should not be the issue. The issue is that people from other states don't have the right to dump trash in Aba. Aba's dirt has to be generated in Aba and not from outside.
it proves d town has no government n their neighbours know that and are cashing into it.
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by donigspain(m): 12:40pm On Jul 13, 2013
qualified:
story! Hope u are not making excuses for that incompetent governor? Is Aba bigger than other cities in Nigeria, why is it d dirtiest?
If other cities dump their waste there, it still shows one thing - incompetence
Go get a medicated glass and reread my post again. Don't you see where I wrote that the need more trucks, receptors and good roads? Abi na ASEPA go rehabilitate the messed up roads ni? Try and read with a less biased mind. T.A Orji is not working... YES!
Is ASEPA working? YEEEESSS.
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by mindtricks: 12:41pm On Jul 13, 2013
Ehen? Hasnt it been said over and over again that slum village Aba is naija's number waste littered city? Kudos to the Abia state govt keeping Aba as dirty as it is.
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by Afam4eva(m): 12:41pm On Jul 13, 2013
qualified:
it proves d town has no government n their neighbours know that and are cashing into it.
I agree with you but does that make what their neighbors are doing good?
Re: Port-Harcourt-based Firms Dump Wastes In Aba — Ikpeazu by donigspain(m): 12:53pm On Jul 13, 2013
collynzo2:
Story story...how many other cities have you done research to find out the quantity of wastes they generate. They should take a cue from port harcourt. In PH people are only allowed to dump refuse at designated spots between 6pm and 6am, and they must be properly tied in black refuse bags. By 6am the wastes have been evacuated and you wouldn't even recognize that place as a dump site. Any one who flouts the law faces severe punishment, such a policy should be implemented in Aba.
Why MODIFY your earlier post?
Why try to compare Aba with PH? Do they serve the same settlement function? Do they attract the same kind (educational) of immigrants? And what makes you think ASEPA hasn't adopted same waste collection and disposal approach? For the records, that approach has been in existence in Aba since. The 6am-6pm has been on for more than 4 years now while the 'nylon bagging' was relaunched last year.

Breaking News!!! Massive Explosion In Umuahia / South West Of Nigeria A Question You Need To Think Of. / FG Plans Additional $2.8bn Foreign Loan To Finance 2018 Budget - This Day

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 43