Stats: 3,163,461 members, 7,854,020 topics. Date: Saturday, 08 June 2024 at 09:38 AM

Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) - Science/Technology - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) (1801 Views)

Python Killed By A 20-Year-Old Boy In Abia State (photos) / Inventors Who Were Killed By Their Own Inventions / Hidden Cameras Capture Forest Elephant's Activity In South-west Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by Qbaba(m): 5:53am On Oct 12, 2013
An adult male elephant was Friday mowed down by a train in West Bengal’s Darjeeling district, a forest official said.
The incident comes a day after a jumbo with its head chopped off was found also in the same district.
The incident happened in Mongpong, located on the fringe of Mahananda Wildlife Sanctuary, when the Siliguri-Alipurduar Express hit the jumbo.
“The incident happened Friday morning. There is a need to further restrict the speed limit of the trains on the Siliguri-Alipurduar stretch. We are discussing on lowering the speed limit to below 25 km,” said Chief Wildlife Warden N.C.Bahuguna.
Since 2004, when the tracks on the 163-km long Siliguri-Alipurduar route were converted to broad gauge, speeding trains have mowed nearly 40 elephants.
Following the spate of mowing down incidents, in 2010 the speed of the trains was been restricted to 50 km.
The railway lines on the stretch pass through five forests-Buxa, Jaldapara, Gorumara, Chapramari and Mahananda.

Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by Tolexander: 6:24am On Oct 12, 2013
Obe de

Since 2004, when the tracks
on the 163-km long Siliguri-
Alipurduar route were
converted to broad gauge,
speeding trains have mowed
nearly 40 elephants.
Following the spate of mowing
down incidents, in 2010 the
speed of the trains was been
restricted to 50 km.
these people very value their elephants o.
If na for here, we will increase the speed to kill more elephants!

Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by nerodenero: 6:29am On Oct 12, 2013
Tolexander: Obe de
Na real 'jumbo'.If na 9ja,the authority go only know when the meat go don finish.I hail my country.'No dulling' is the slogan.
Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by Ismahill(m): 6:46am On Oct 12, 2013
RIP
Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by Emmyk(m): 6:59am On Oct 12, 2013
I thought it's in Nigeria undecided
Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by obi4eze(m): 7:03am On Oct 12, 2013
Ismahill: RIP

Sorry sir but are you saying RIP to the dead elephant?
Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by gbadexy(m): 7:16am On Oct 12, 2013
Doesn't appear so to ♍ƺ.
Did the train later moved over the elephant without derailing? If it had been found beside the track it would have been different.
It probably died from a different cause on the rail track.

Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by fr3do(m): 7:35am On Oct 12, 2013
gbadexy: Doesn't appear so to ♍ƺ.
Did the train later mover over the elephant without derailing? If it had been found beside the track it would have been different.

U dey reason
Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by naptu2: 7:46am On Oct 12, 2013
Tolexander: Obe de

these people very value their elephants o.
If na for here, we will increase the speed to kill more elephants!

A herd of elephants launched "revenge attacks" on a village earlier this year, after a train killed an elephant near the village.
Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by dridowu: 8:02am On Oct 12, 2013
Poor elephant
Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by ayobase(m): 8:07am On Oct 12, 2013
I don't think a train killed that still-on-the-railway elephant. How must have the train moved on?

That is still a whole elephant, thought they should be picking the pieces from different lattitude and longitude by now, and the people on the train suffering from injuries and shocks!

Maybe the train na evil spirit sha, or photo is shopped!

Meanwhile, despite all the bad news;ASUU strike, Boko Haram,Light Issue & other Government wahala.I hav a good news 4 you .It's my pleasure 2 inform u dat MANGO is out.

Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by hopilo: 8:15am On Oct 12, 2013
Emmyk: I thought it's in Nigeria undecided

If it was cow then na Naija. After all plane hit cow for airport.
Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by naptu2: 8:26am On Oct 12, 2013
[size=14pt]Elephants take revenge on village after herd member is struck by train[/size]

The Sideshow - Friday, August 9, 2013

It’s said that elephants never forget. Apparently it's especially true when a herd suffers a loss.

Last week near the village of Matari in eastern India, a train struck and killed an elephant — an accident that is unfortunately commonplace in that region.

The response by the herd is more surprising.

About 15 elephants appear to be mourning the loss of one of their own and have returned to the site of the incident, the Times of India said. The elephants have refused to move the last several days, causing train disruptions.

The elephants also appear to be grieving in a more destructive way: They've damaged surrounding houses and even demolished part of a schoolhouse.

Efforts to disperse the elephants using firecrackers have been unsuccessful. The elephants have persisted in their vigil.

"Elephants often try to return to the site of such accidents as they believe that their mate has only been injured and could be rescued by them,” wildlife activist D S Srivastava told the Times of India. “Even when an elephant dies a natural death, their friends cover the body with bushes and small tree branches."

According to Srivastava, the herd’s bond means the elephants will continue to try to return to place where their fellow herd member died, again and again.

http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/sideshow/elephants-take-revenge-on-village-after-herd-member-is-struck-by-train--210026298.html

Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by Brimmie(m): 9:03am On Oct 12, 2013
Did the train later mover over the elephant without derailing? If it had been found beside the track it would have been different.

BRAVO!
Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by Tolexander: 9:19am On Oct 12, 2013
you no know anything!

The train hit the elephant, reversed and bolted for the driver not to be lynched.
Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by AbuMikey(m): 9:22am On Oct 12, 2013

Tolexander: you no know anything!

The train hit the elephant, reversed and bolted for the driver not to be lynched.

shockedshockedshockedshocked gringringrin

Oga, I fear who nor fear You!! grin

Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by HezronLorraine(m): 12:36pm On Oct 12, 2013
Meanwhile, despite all the bad news;ASUU strike, Boko Haram,Light Issue & other Government wahala.I hav a good news 4 you .It's my pleasure 2 inform u dat MANGO is out.
Ope Oh.it's good to hear of some good news once in a while.*off to the market* smiley

Re: Adult Male Elephant Killed By Train. (picture) by homesteady(m): 7:05pm On Oct 12, 2013

TWRP 2.8.7.0 Material Design For TECNO H6 / How To Get 9mobile Double Data Bonus When You Subscribe / 55'inch UHD 4k Royal Smart TV

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 21