Stats: 3,161,949 members, 7,848,852 topics. Date: Monday, 03 June 2024 at 11:05 AM

The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. - Culture (13) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. (67153 Views)

‘Tom And Jerry’ Relationship Between Igbo And Yoruba ~ Azuka Onwuka / Igbos And Yorubas: A Cultural Comparison. / The Marvelous Culture Of The Igbos And Igboland (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) ... (22) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by PenSniper: 3:00pm On Jul 14, 2014
MidaxPhoenix: The hidden truth is that the igbos felt betrayed by the yorubas, the igbos have always seen the yorubas as the brothers across the niger but the civil war changed the course of thinking.

An average Igbo respects a yoruba for his intellectual prowess while the yorubas respect the igbos for entrepreneurial skills... a case of mutual respect and admiration and the igbos felt betrayed by the tribe they respect so much during the civil war..

The yorubas owe the Igbo an apology, and the igbos should learn to move on but our leaders profit from the discord, hence cannot facilitate a true reconciliation..

The two tribes complement each others,

What the igbos lack, the yorubas have in abundance and vice versa so we find it easy to co-habit.

We, yorubas are lazy, rely solely on intellectual skills as ingrained in our culture but the igbos believes in the sweat of hardwork..

The yorubas will say- I no fit do that work o! And the igbos will say - make we try am now.

Yoruba schools to become bureaucrat but the igbos schools to become refined businessmen..

During my nysc in enugu, I was privilege to teach tutorials in advanced calculus, real and numerical analysis in ESUT and IMT, the shout of ''Chike obi'' and awolowo rents the air as I give them the short cuts to solving questions.

Gba be theorem I call it...

All I can do is feel good when we finish lectures and my students give me business cards and telling me to come to their shops in ogbeite..

And igbos marvel at the yorubas mathematical skills....

Enters a store, Nna nyem this, 120, that 235, those 340.

Give him 1000 naira, Nna grabs calculator..

But the market woman in lagos selling wares, she will retort....305 ni change yin.

The igbos don't have time to calculate money, they make it in abundance and leave the yorubas to calculate.

The igbos control the economy, the yorubas regulate it..

Nigeria is truly blessed.

You and the op are of the same stuff - a uniting force. i hope it makes the necessary impact, but i doubt it.

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by sirwilly1(m): 3:02pm On Jul 14, 2014
Akinsz: But these germans suffered with kwashiorkwo
Are we talking here about what they passed through, or their stand at the end? Reason for once.
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by PenSniper: 3:05pm On Jul 14, 2014
Onlinebizexpert: ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
the guy above me too much......nice writeup
especially the change part grin
yoruba and igbo competing since the end of civil war

naija would have been better with these two tribes

YORUBA providing the spirituality,adminstration

IGBOS providing economy and strenght

what a country that would have been

funny enough there are moslems in yoruba and igboland but that yet does not affect the unity of these great entities
despite the betrayal the IGBOS feel about the YORUBAS, there is still alot to achieve as a united front

#LONG LIVE IGBO LAND
#LONG LIVE YORUBALAND

#LONG LIVE OHANEZE & ODUDUWA UNITED FRONT

#LONGLIVE NIGERIA minus OUR DESTRUCTIVE BRETHREN

NIGERIA OF MY DREAM
vvvvvvvvvvvv

That is the stark truth - a country made up of only the Igbo and the Yoruba will be almost unbeatable in the world. LORD, please do something and help us.
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Ngokafor(f): 3:10pm On Jul 14, 2014
devour129: I can bet you haven't eaten a proper meal today .bro go and eat cos a hungry man is an angry ,sad and pathetic man .after having that meal dust up your cv n go find a job.

....I dont think he has eaten as well cos he sounds like a hungry street urchin or an NURTW agbero..

...or better still a mechanic apprentice who has received thorough flogging from his master because of his inherent stupidity..

..@topic,a big shame to all you tribalist on this thread!

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Humblebloke(m): 3:20pm On Jul 14, 2014
Blockus:

I know right.

Imagine if I delved deeper into the evil that is the Yorubas, this thread would come alive. Those Westerners are fetish, wicked, two-faced, evil, malicious, back-stabbing, no-good, ....... Loading more negative adjectives to qualify the Yorubas..

U do need some proper orientation...

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Phikom(m): 3:23pm On Jul 14, 2014
Interesting piece...
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Onlinebizexpert(m): 3:26pm On Jul 14, 2014
PenSniper:

That is the stark truth - a country made up of only the Igbo and the Yoruba will be almost unbeatable in the world. LORD, please do something and help us.

well that is the truth
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by ElNur1: 3:30pm On Jul 14, 2014
ShirelleBaby: WHO IS WIN?brother,I give up!!

hahaha,,LMAO
person no fit do TYPO eror again ?
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Nobody: 3:33pm On Jul 14, 2014
PenSniper:

What kind of country can that be? A country of lions and goats. You must be very wicked and full of hate for Eboes

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Blockus: 3:39pm On Jul 14, 2014
Humblebloke:
U do need some proper orientation...

Meaning?! angry
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by orji63(m): 3:45pm On Jul 14, 2014
[color=#770077][/color]This is the kind of post that. We want at Nairaland.Very educative.I doff my hat for the author of this masterpiece.
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by filiks(m): 3:47pm On Jul 14, 2014
Ela59: you said it all. From my own perspectives, Ojukwu underestimate the power of number and experience. He was a freedom fighter but fought wrongly. I like him than any other leaders.

Truth!
He threw caution away and acted on impulse.
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Nobody: 3:48pm On Jul 14, 2014
filiks:

Truth!
He threw caution away and acted on impulse.
In other words he was foolish and wasted the lives of his people foolishly

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by expaboy(m): 3:51pm On Jul 14, 2014
BadBoy25: who has the time to read through all these Long Gibberish ? seeing the Long write up already made me lose interest . you guys need to learn to summarize your post, no one has time to waste .
what is the relationship between Igbo and Yoruba? is it bad or Good ? make it straightforward instead of composing a Novel . Time is Money .
like you ve achieved anything meaningful with your time
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Missy89(f): 3:56pm On Jul 14, 2014
Africans are obsessed with their tribes as if it matters. Comparing themselves to the Germans, French etc really? grin and always b1tching about irrelevant achievements that hasn't saved them from abject poverty and misery ravaging their continent

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by filiks(m): 3:59pm On Jul 14, 2014
iwonbaoko: In other words he was foolish and wasted the lives of his people foolishly

Son, take it outside, go and have that level of conversation with your fellow kids. Thank you.

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Humblebloke(m): 4:00pm On Jul 14, 2014
new2020:

Yoruba brain my foot....old statistics. That's the problem with yoruba people; always using old statistics. The Igbos have overtaken you guys. I'm from Cross River and we(other Nigerian tribes) know this. The Igbos lead in every educational excellence in this Country....NECO, WAEC, even simple COMMON ENTRANCE and highest amount of intellectuals in government. The Igbos intellectuals and technocrats run the government. Obasanjo a yoruba man wasn't stu$pid to surround himself with Igbo intellectuals. Yara'Adua wasn't stu$pid to surround himself with Igbo Intellectuals. Likewise Jonathan is not stu$pid to surround himself with Igbo intellectuals. Can you explain this? Yorubas are educated in mouth while Igbos are educated in deeds....you see them running things. We Cross Riverians and Akwa Ibomites love our Igbo brothers and sisters, and can't wait for a United Republic soon to happen.

U guys were nt seperated... dere's hardly any difference... U all share 1 thìng in common

'MYOPIC THINKING'

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Nobody: 4:03pm On Jul 14, 2014
filiks:

Son, take it outside, go and have that level of conversation with your fellow kids. Thank you.

That is the way I see it;"Ojukwu was foolishand wasted his peoples' lives foolishly" if you don't agree I respect that but calling me son or kid is a step too far. I don't think I directed any personal remarks at you. It is your father who is the kid not me so when you see him call him "kid"

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by filiks(m): 4:05pm On Jul 14, 2014
Missy89: Africans are obsessed with their tribes as if it matters. Comparing themselves to the Germans, French etc really? grin and always b1tching about irrelevant achievements that hasn't saved them from abject poverty and misery ravaging their continent

In the post I read, the author did not compare, but likened the tribes to Germany and France. I'm sure you can tell the difference.
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Sheenor: 4:08pm On Jul 14, 2014
hbpeze: all i no is that igbos survive anywere in this planet even on alien planet
Same as the yorubas brother. If am wrong then name a place on this earth whr you will not find yorubas includin alien planet yuh made mention. So wats your point

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Humblebloke(m): 4:12pm On Jul 14, 2014
Blockus:

Meaning?! angry
watever u were made 2 believe was *fake*

The igbos were responsible for everything... They started ìt

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Blockus: 4:14pm On Jul 14, 2014
Humblebloke:
watever u were made 2 believe was *fake*

The igbos were responsible for everything... They started ìt

You see why we hate Yoruba people. angry

You cant even accept responsibility for your actions. angry

Ifto say na beer palour we dey when you talk this thing, by now, you for dey find Chamist to treat you for 'head busting'. angry

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by filiks(m): 4:16pm On Jul 14, 2014
iwonbaoko:

That is the way I see it;"Ojukwu was foolishand wasted his peoples' lives foolishly" if you don't agree I respect that but calling me son or kid is a step too far. I don't think I directed any personal remarks at you. It is your father who is the kid not me so when you see him call him "kid"

Son, since I started raising kids, I've learnt to identify them by sight, words or actions, and to forgive them and direct them so they can become better people. So I forgive you, kid.

My father is long gone, I buried him so many years ago. He passed on after I graduated from the university. Get it? How old are you by the way?

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Sheenor: 4:17pm On Jul 14, 2014
checkdate: I Dont Understand.
you quote all this and typed that Eleyi ogidi gan oh
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by tochstorm(m): 4:28pm On Jul 14, 2014
nice read....... if you think Cinderella is a superb story.....
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by PenSniper: 4:29pm On Jul 14, 2014
iwonbaoko: What kind of country can that be? A country of lions and goats. You must be very wicked and full of hate for Eboes

And thank you for being so, so insultive. No qualms.
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Humblebloke(m): 4:30pm On Jul 14, 2014
Blockus:

You see why we hate Yoruba people. angry

You cant even accept responsibility for your actions. angry

Ifto say na beer palour we dey when you talk this thing, by now, you for dey find Chamist to treat you for 'head busting'. angry

*sighs* nawa o... Itz dat bad huh,i wud hav gladly enlightnd u on wat i meant buh its gonna b pure waste of time...nd u knw TIME IS MONEY

I can see d HATRED is inborn... Dere's notin i can say to u.

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Blockus: 4:34pm On Jul 14, 2014
Humblebloke:

*sighs* nawa o... Itz dat bad huh,i wud hav gladly enlightnd u on wat i meant buh its gonna b pure waste of time...nd u knw TIME IS MONEY

I can see d HATRED is inborn... Dere's notin i can say to u.

Heheheheee..

Enlighten me huh?! grin Good one.. How about you give it a shot. I will take off my sacarstic front and indulge you if you can put out enough solid points to warrant my indulgence.

And I have no hate in me. Why hate on something or someone for being something that is above their ability to change.

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by Feedmemore(f): 4:38pm On Jul 14, 2014
Love me my Yoruba brothers they the bomb, love me my Igbo brother, they Rock!

Life is too short to start hating on anyone, just cuz they 're from different ethnic group from mine. It is a total waste of intellect when bigotry overrides common sense.

Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by pitfol(m): 4:41pm On Jul 14, 2014
You can hate each other all you want...but the fact remains that we can't do without one another... You say we are lazy, yes, we say u re gullible, okay, yet we've become best of friends, families, neighbours... We can't even fight eachother and we ve been coexisting in peace... I call that LOVE... I'm yoruba, I love my igbo brothers nd girls... Let's come together and make Nigeria a greater nation... Forget what our fathers has done... Nd if u need an apology, who's gonna apologise to who? They re all dead and gone...but we re still here...
Re: The Tom And Jerry Relationship Between The Igbos And Yorubas. by AspDrone(m): 4:42pm On Jul 14, 2014
Na those of una wey grow for East and west go dey reason Hatred between the two tribe which is foolishness at its peak...as for we western and easterners wey grow up in the north they together like super glue..am a yoruba but my friends are mostly igbos,we join to much sotey my igbo friends dey fight dia fellow igbos for mysake and I do d same against my tribe if need be... I even attended dia church where them they speak just igbo and I feel at home...they dance to western music dan me sef,dey so love talking drum when played.its even better not to know of the stupid past of who betrayed who or not if it will temper with our love.better wake up lads

(1) (2) (3) ... (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) ... (22) (Reply)

First Appearance Of Ooni Of Ife And His New Wife Olori Naomi As She Minister(vid / Ooni Ogunwusi Builds New House 'Paraki White House' In Ife (Pics) / Yoruba Descendants In Brazil Cerebrate Obaluwaye Festival

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 51