Stats: 3,161,444 members, 7,846,838 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 03:14 AM

Nigerian Presidential Election 2015: Buhari's "Non Growth" Theory - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Nigerian Presidential Election 2015: Buhari's "Non Growth" Theory (860 Views)

2015: Buhari Promises Igbo Youths One Million Jobs / 2015: Buhari, Gov Kwankwaso’s Supporters Clash / 2015: Buhari, Tinubu Meet In Kaduna. (2) (3) (4)

Nigerian Presidential Election 2015: Buhari's "Non Growth" Theory by Nobody: 4:17am On Dec 31, 2014
Nigerian Presidential Election 2015: Buhari's "Non Growth" Theory.

"Be The Change You Want to See" is an adage i grew up with as a young boy in Nigeria. Most of my contemporaries and I have imbibed this positive message in our adult lives. Today, many Nigerians my generation are making great impact in different endeavours of human life all over the world. We have top rate professors in North America, successful social and business entrepreneurs in England, senior professionals in different fields across Nigeria and all over the world. Self development is a key factor in achieving personal growth. A nation that wants to grow must invest in its own development to enable its citizens be able to contribute their utmost.

Many past Nigerian leaders who may not have had the skills to run the country in their time in government have also recognised the importance of continuous self development to "elevate" themselves. Gowon, on being thrown out in a coup promptly registered at Warwick University where he completed a Ph.D programme in Political Science. Obasanjo became very active as a statesman on the International scene as a key Member of the Eminent Persons Group, Transparency International and a host of other International organisations. Others like Babangida invested the wealth acquired one way or another in businesses creating jobs and contributing to the economy.

Looking at Buhari's CV, the man had acquired military diplomas in a range of related fields before he stole power in a military coup in 1983. However since 1985 - almost 30 years ago when he was displaced, I cannot find any evidence that he had done anything to self develop. There is no evidence that he has done any form of continuing education. He is not known on the international scene. He does not belong to any international body, he is never invited to take part in any international discourse as a former ruler. He is never a party to any ongoing debates or efforts on the African continent to tackle particular issues. He has not even done anything to improve the lot of his people. He does not have a foundation like Danjuma to support the underprivileged. He has not set up a charity to support for example the myriad of victims of Boko Haram. He does not have any businesses, has not developed any business ideas. His only occupation is to own cows - whose numbers have refused to grow in the past 30 years. He does not even attend meetings of the Council of State - which is the group of former leaders of Nigeria to deliberate on national matters.

"Be the change you want to see". I want Buhari's supporters to respectfully (and without insults or abuses) tell me how Buhari's "non growth" theory is going to help Nigeria to grow and develop. How is it possible for a man who does not believe in nor has practised any form of self growth and development understand what it takes to grow a nation? We know Jonathan is seriously deficient. We have the evidence, but if Buhari is being touted as the only alternative to Jonathan, how on earth is he going to make it work? No abuses.

Nigerian Presidential Election 2015
‪#‎choosingbetweenthedevilandthedeepbluesea‬

Re: Nigerian Presidential Election 2015: Buhari's "Non Growth" Theory by Moslaw: 4:29am On Dec 31, 2014
Sadly true
Re: Nigerian Presidential Election 2015: Buhari's "Non Growth" Theory by Beesluv: 4:49am On Dec 31, 2014
ok
Re: Nigerian Presidential Election 2015: Buhari's "Non Growth" Theory by Redoil: 4:58am On Dec 31, 2014
Very sad and their cyber minions want to force him on nigerian threatining to form parrarell govt if they loose.
Re: Nigerian Presidential Election 2015: Buhari's "Non Growth" Theory by tandoe: 5:12am On Dec 31, 2014
let baba come make I teach am AutoCAD
Re: Nigerian Presidential Election 2015: Buhari's "Non Growth" Theory by Gmajor(m): 6:00am On Dec 31, 2014
the worst part is that the e-rats have flung away their common sense. the want Buhari by all means; by hook or by crook n wont even bother to reason critical n evaluate issues with an open mind.
Nawa oh
Re: Nigerian Presidential Election 2015: Buhari's "Non Growth" Theory by ultraGM: 7:34am On Dec 31, 2014
You have a good write up here I credit you for a good reasoning and as well I want to believe that your writing is for a purpose etc.

Now to reply you, Leaderships success is not guarantee by the level of educational achievement (even though education is essential) . If Leadership success is by the level of ones education, we should not be seeing flaws in our democracy especially in this administration. GEJ is a PHD holder but it becomes difficult for him to make decision at crucial times (only to resort to committee that would take weeks to respond).

Education will tell you that stealing and corruption are different, but moral judgment will tell you otherwise.

Leadership success is viewed base on the vision of the Leader(s), what he wanted to achieve within stipulated time.

Buhari may not have PHD in anything but his vision is what matter most. His capabilities in handling corruption is what I admire most, 2011 I support neither of the two nor vote, but the way Corruption and non accountability by this administration, is what I dislike it for.

If am to ask you, will educational achievement help fight corruption or insurgent?

Educational achievement is for the leader's ego, but his vision is for his successful leading

Celebrating under-achievement is mediocracy Nigeria deserve more than what we are seeing, hence any government that has too much flaws should be discarded so their party can learn how to govern better

Gej's Campaign Strategies,christians Let's Not Be Decided:he's A Religious Halot / GEJ On Ogogoro: Says Buhari Can’t Remember His Phone Number / Lets Stop "VIOLENCE/TERORISM" And Not "CORRUPTION" Should Be Our Watch-words

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 20