Stats: 3,161,244 members, 7,846,149 topics. Date: Friday, 31 May 2024 at 11:15 AM

Seven Undeniable Ways GEJ Fought Corruption - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Seven Undeniable Ways GEJ Fought Corruption (787 Views)

We Fought Corruption Without Making Noise – jonathan / Jonathan Fought Corruption In More Civilized Way Than Buhari - Falana / GEJ Fought Corruption - Femi Falana On Channels TV (2) (3) (4)

Seven Undeniable Ways GEJ Fought Corruption by Natureboyraph(m): 11:27am On Jan 15, 2015
President Goodluck Jonathan has a special approach to fighting corruption. Some find it ineffective. But due to it Nigeria has ‘defeated’ 8 countries to become the 136th most transparent country in the world. Do you think Buhari can perform better, if elected? Full Details:- /p30DXZ-F0

Here are 7 things Goodluck Jonathan did to reduce corruption:

1. Corruption in the agricultural sector ended within 90 days

This issue was solved with a help of information technologies and a simple cell phone. The Federal Government provided an e-wallet installed phones to farmers. Now instead of getting supplies from the suppliers, the authorities pay the money directly on the farmers’ phones. The farmers buy the fertilizers themselves. Due to it N50 billion were blocked from fertilizer money thieves. Nigeria has saved more than N700 billion on food import due to success in the agricultural sector.

2. Peaceful and credible elections

President Jonathan has mentioned for several times that “electoral corruption is the mother of all corruptions”.

In 2010 governorship elections were acclaimed by both local and international observers to be free, fair and credible in 5 states: Edo state, Ondo state, Anambra state, Ekiti state, Osun state. It is important to mention that only one of these states has been ‘secured’ by the president’s party. The major opposition force (the APC) won in 2 states. The APGA and the LP won the other 2.

3. 60,000 “ghost” workers exposed

A new system for paying salaries, the IPPIS system, was implemented. Since 2012 it helped to discover more than 60,000 of ‘ghost’ workers. Every year these fake workers were stealing N160 billion.

4. Reforms in the import sectors

Reforms in the import sector allowed to block loopholes. Government removed taxes on economic boosting goods – goods that make the economy grow.

5. Stealing money from governmental contracts became harder

In 2007 the public procurement act was implemented. Between 2009-2013 it prevented N558 billion from getting to contract thieves. 180 contract-stealing companies were discovered and punished.

6. The most controversial bill in Nigeria’s history

The “Petroleum Industrial Bill (PIB)” was created in 2008. It is a bill that could block all the corruption loopholes in the petroleum sector of economy. At that time it was rejected. On 18th July 2012, President Jonathan resent the bill. Unfortunately, it has not passed the legislation processes since then.

7. EFCC developed

Between 2012 and 2014 427 cases were prosecuted by the EFCC. Fraud rates has fallen from N495 billion to N300 billion. Most of the cases were: Internet frauds, fee frauds and commercial cases.

Do you think Buhari can perform better, if elected?

Re: Seven Undeniable Ways GEJ Fought Corruption by ArchEnemy(m): 11:31am On Jan 15, 2015
Maybe we should give him a try tongue

Re: Seven Undeniable Ways GEJ Fought Corruption by kestolove95(m): 11:37am On Jan 15, 2015
My question is which technology is gej talking abt?
Re: Seven Undeniable Ways GEJ Fought Corruption by Natureboyraph(m): 11:58am On Jan 15, 2015
kestolove95:
Are you from this country at all??..........Even if you are not its right there the very first reason!!!!
Re: Seven Undeniable Ways GEJ Fought Corruption by kestolove95(m): 12:17pm On Jan 15, 2015
Natureboyraph:

Are you from this country at all??..........Even if you are not its right there the very first reason!!!!
young man tell me how technology can b use to fight corrptn dats d qstn am askin
Re: Seven Undeniable Ways GEJ Fought Corruption by jamace(m): 12:42pm On Jan 15, 2015
kestolove95:
Eyaa, he can not even comprehend issues due to blind hate. Abeg, read the thread again and erase your public mumu.
Re: Seven Undeniable Ways GEJ Fought Corruption by braivheart: 1:32pm On Jan 15, 2015
Enough of this plastic and cosmetics surgery to corruption
under jona. Explain this
Before yar'adua died subsidy was just 900 bill which was
really inflated. Your guy under 1 year it jumped to 2.3
trillion. How do you justify this. Kerosene wich I still byis
soLD for 145 per liter .but they still claim they are
subsidizing it and that it is sold for 50 naira this we all know
is a lie.
Looking at the so-called airport rremodeling. It is a total
scam.which have you been to recently .the value of money
paid is not reflected in the quality of what is on ground..tha
MM1 and MM2 they are below world standard in terms of
furnishings, aesthetic and facilities. The central AC system
breaks down often.
You talked about agriculture. I will say in terms of NPK for
farmers yes it is a little better than before ,but there is still
corruption.during the allocation period.
With the huge amount of money being claimed by the agric
mminister been spent on rice.we ought to be eating locally
made rice now. I bet you.. During this festive period how
many saw this rice. I can tell you authoritatively 97% of
Nigerians eat Thai rice.take the award of the CCTV system
in abuja.what is the status of it today?
Take the military for example with close to 5 trillion what
have we achieved
This was the same army which was without such funding
during the seirra Leone and Liberian crisis dealt with the rebels
whose skill and manpower were far more advance than that
of boko haram.
Now tell me is not corruption .
Credit to realnaija.
In addition can someone please tell these TANoids the secret of china's success in the fight against corruption?
THE DEATH SENTENCE upon conviction.

Why Agagu Boys Defected To APC In Ondo: The Obasanjo/tinubu Connections By Dayo / BUHARI: The Man That Can Restore Sanity To Nigeria. / Apc Presidential Rally In Jigawa

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 32