Stats: 3,157,957 members, 7,835,187 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 May 2024 at 06:48 AM

Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply (22019 Views)

Current Epileptic Power Supply, How Is The Situation In Your Area? / State With Most Epileptic Power Supply / Am On Tour To Understand Causes Of Nigeria’s Epileptic Power Supply: Fashola (2) (3) (4)

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by Sijo01(f): 4:21pm On Feb 01, 2015
I weep cry for our power sector
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by Lisaint(m): 4:21pm On Feb 01, 2015
meforyou1:
Brilliant article. Light in lagos is hell, courtesy of the master forger tinubu.
Where's the light tinubu and fashola promised after stealing billions of naira of tax payers money to build a failed independent power project?
APC is evil. Their members are thieves. Their leaders are certificateless semi iliiterates.

Bros u get fault upstairs ohh
shey na APC/Tinubu get Electricity?

incase u dnt knw Electricity is d Constitutional duty of d Fg to d citizens of Nigeria...

Next tym if u dnt hav sumtin reasonable to say u cn jxt click next or write 'Cool'

instead of fooling ursef here

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by LRNZH(m): 4:22pm On Feb 01, 2015
rozayx5:
all the usernames escaping from the Press banning thread will surface here in 1 2 3 grin grin grin

Compare GMB's mature handling of that BBC hardtalk interview to any of GEJ's public performance if shame no gree catch you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4AxrrvAel6M

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by blacknp(m): 4:25pm On Feb 01, 2015
meforyou1:
Brilliant article. Light in lagos is hell, courtesy of the master forger tinubu.
Where's the light tinubu and fashola promised after stealing billions of naira of tax payers money to build a failed independent power project?
APC is evil. Their members are thieves. Their leaders are certificateless semi iliiterates.
MuMuDey stop showing your ignorance, what does electricity have to do with tinubu and fashola it is on the exclusive list of the federal goverment and if you want to bring in states that have developed their own independent energy lagos comes tops, number one,numero uno, you never hear about the electricity projects oando is carrying out in lagos followed by rivers mention one pdp state that has light,with all the gas in the south south no light for delta state. Not saying there's'electricity in lagos but most parts of nigeria aren't any better but i'd'rather be back in Lagos then been in delta state. Warri no dey carry last.

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by ITbomb(m): 4:25pm On Feb 01, 2015
To solve years of neglect and decadence is not easy but Goodluck is trying so far
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by sholay2011(m): 4:26pm On Feb 01, 2015
Well-written article that gives a vivid description of the average Naija situation and expands on the multiplier effects of epileptic power supply.

Thumbs up to Chimamanda.

*Checks again*

How many Nigerians read 'The New York Times' though?
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by rozayx5(m): 4:28pm On Feb 01, 2015
LRNZH:

Compare GMB's mature handling of that BBC hardtalk interview to any of GEJ's public performance if shame no gree catch you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4AxrrvAel6M

oga lrnzh (abbreviation of olodo in sawhili) stop beaTING AROUND THE BUSH grin grin grin grin
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by otigbagba: 4:28pm On Feb 01, 2015
HouseOfBalloons:

www.nytimes.com/2015/02/01/opinion/sunday/lights-out-in-nigeria.html
my generator has been on since last year. .and yet one blind Retrogressive poo will come here to defend this Pdp government. .In Nigeria we see darkness but call it light...and yet we expect to have light.Transformation agenda my foot..

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by Jpanama3: 4:29pm On Feb 01, 2015
two men filled with mysterious knowledge come to minister to it with potions and filters
...... The spirit of Achebe dwells in you.....

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by Ray360: 4:29pm On Feb 01, 2015
Power supply in my area is zero. it's high time the president addressed this epileptic power-supply ig at all he would remain in power for another four years.
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by Ray360: 4:30pm On Feb 01, 2015
Power supply in my area is zero. it's high time the president addressed this epileptic power-supply if at all he would remain in power for another four years.
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by otigbagba: 4:31pm On Feb 01, 2015
bukjam:
Great article but then Miss Adichie has a way of making things look bigger than they are. She wrote about the extreme and made it look like the norm but its normal in writing though.

I agree the country has lost a lot due to the irregular and epileptic power supply though. I'm sure people will fully comprehend what they've been losing out on when they finally get to av power supply regularly. This annoying thing doesn't just affect us financially.. It affects us in every aspect even mentally or emotionally.

Btw, does Chimamanda write for any local newpaper or magazine? Or its only abroad that she sells the country short. Its all about the money and international recognition, yeah?
...sells d country short..Nigerians suffering and smiling.

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by Myluv1: 4:33pm On Feb 01, 2015
An enjoyable read. However, hope she is aware of the ongoing developments in the power sector... Watch here
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MFiKD1Yhmtw

See more--> https://www.nairaland.com/2120249/gejs-achievements-aganga-iweala-nebo
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by popcykaylah(m): 4:36pm On Feb 01, 2015
Wittylens:

The issue o power failure didn't start with GEJ Administration. it has been there for long.
Our Past Presidents (Both literates and Illiterates) Were not able to solve this problem.

Next time , Think Before you vomit rubbish all in the name of seeking attention.
I agree with you but that big lip and big nosed clueless being said in April 2011 that 4 years is enough for anyone to sort electricity that if he can't sort it then he can't do anything if given another term which he won't contest for..Jonathan being lying since birth..

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by adconline(m): 4:39pm On Feb 01, 2015
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by Nobody: 4:40pm On Feb 01, 2015
sexyseun:
By the way, thats a brilliant article by our very own Chimamanda Adichie... When i grow up, i will like to be like you

when you grow up?
As at 30 you never grow..na when you go grow up tongue
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by ednut1(m): 4:41pm On Feb 01, 2015
if light is fixed. who will buy generator from uk,china nd japan? who will buy diesel and petrol imported by d elite wit d subsidy scam money also. nigeria has been sold by its leaders. shikena.

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by Champele(m): 4:45pm On Feb 01, 2015
APC e-rats,thats how you know them,'click like if bla bla bla. Lagosians money working.
cramjones:
If you think the cluelessness of this man motivated Chimamanda to write this article click like!

-CramJones

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by nkemdi89(f): 4:50pm On Feb 01, 2015
The lady is right about it despite the fact she barelyy resides in the country, have been saying up nepa since the day I was born till now. Not only the epilleptic supply that's only the issue what of the outrageous bill being sent every month? Our power sector will continue to suffer this setback because some people are feeding fat on it, the major marketers of alternative supply will even continue to sabotage the effort of government in boosting the power sector because a steady power will put them out of the market. So many SMes crumbled daily due to the cost of power supply, those who manage to survive makes little profit .
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by bukjam: 4:51pm On Feb 01, 2015
otigbagba:
...sells d country short..Nigerians suffering and smiling.

Yeah. "Sells the country short". undecided
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by otigbagba: 4:53pm On Feb 01, 2015
bukjam:

Yeah. "Sells the country short". undecided
...u will prefer her to say d opposite. .everything is fine ...we have 24hrs steady power bla bla bla.why we can never have a change..we like and embrace lies.

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by Dmentor(f): 4:56pm On Feb 01, 2015
Beautiful article for Nigerian people. But why on NYTimes? Washing our dirty linen in public? Is that a solution?
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by Nobody: 4:58pm On Feb 01, 2015
What a beautiful article!

The constructive and humorous way this lady writes, makes her such a genius she is. grin cheesy
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by bukjam: 5:00pm On Feb 01, 2015
otigbagba:
...u will prefer her to say d opposite. .everything is fine ...we have 24hrs steady power bla bla bla.why we can never have a change..we like and embrace lies.

You know what "sell the country short" means, yeah? Let me help you, I mean power supply is bad but generally, its def not as bad as she painted it to be.. Hence the "she painted the extreme as the norm."
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by Nobody: 5:05pm On Feb 01, 2015
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by gratiaeo(m): 5:06pm On Feb 01, 2015
Nice article. I don't know whether to blame our leaders or witches and wizards on our epileptic power supply. The thing don de 2 much
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by LRNZH(m): 5:07pm On Feb 01, 2015
bukjam:

You know what "sell the country short" means, yeah? Let me help you, I mean power supply is bad but generally, its def not as bad as she painted it to be.. Hence the "she painted the extreme as the norm."

It is not as bad as she painted it ......heh?
Are you in Nigeria at all?

Pls just shut up. Biko nu.

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by yommys01(m): 5:07pm On Feb 01, 2015
meforyou1:
Some of you are just outright sick and dumb. Does Apc/Tinubu/Fashola control power supply in the country or something? You dumbness deserves an award.

Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by toolovely(m): 5:09pm On Feb 01, 2015
my area de get light steady....bad as e bad, ur sure of 18hrs light steady....as i dey talk now since 1pm saturday till now, d light never blink...
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by matrix4(m): 5:09pm On Feb 01, 2015
Masterpiece!
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by toolovely(m): 5:09pm On Feb 01, 2015
my area for surulere de get light steady....bad as e bad, ur sure of 18hrs light steady....as i dey talk now since 1pm saturday till now, d light never blink...
Re: Chimamanda Adichie's NYTimes Article On Nigeria's Epileptic Power Supply by Bibol(f): 5:11pm On Feb 01, 2015
She has her way with words and is highly talented

VP Elect Osinbajo Hosts A Special 'Thank You Dinner' In Lagos(Photos) / Setting The Record Straight On PDP Chairman Ali Modu Sheriff / Court Stops Abia CJ, Others From Swearing In Ogah Till July 18

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35