Stats: 3,161,457 members, 7,846,901 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 06:53 AM

Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment (2541 Views)

No Allowance For Officials On Foreign Medical Treatment – FG / Crazy Desire For Foreign Medical Treatment By Nigerian Political Leaders / Fg, Scrap Foreign Medical Treatment ! (2) (3) (4)

Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by kaygee1234: 1:30pm On Mar 09, 2009
[size=13pt][center]MELTDOWN: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment[/center][/size]

With the biting global economic recession, governor Babatunde Fashola of Lagos state, has ordered the immediate suspension of all medical treatment and scholarships abroad, in order to cut down on government expenditure.

At a news conference, yesterday, the Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr. Opeyemi Bamidele, stated that all foreign medical treatment for public servants and others, except in cases where treatment is not available locally, have been suspended. Also suspended are all new foreign scholarships.

“The Executive Council has directed the suspension of frills, such as gifts, T-shirts, fez caps and other sundry public relations items, as well as non-essential international and local travels, while those considered essential must be approved by the governor. However, the running costs of ministries, departments and agencies are to be maintained at current levels,” he stated.

Bamidele added that the state government would not cut down on its 101,000 workforce or reduce their salaries. “In order to ensure that government continues to fulfill all its responsibilities that cannot be compromised, the State Executive Council has directed that all ministries, departments and agencies look inwardly and cut down as much as possible on avoidable and non-critical expenditure,” he added.

The commissioner stated that Nigeria could not be isolated from the global economic recession that has led to the collapse of several financial institutions and loss of millions of jobs across the world. Bamidele said, Fashola, through his foresight, has helped to cushion the impact of the economic crisis on the state, when, in the 2008 and 2009 budgets, the state limited its dependence on the Federation Account to less than 25 per cent of its financial outlay, while at least 75 per cent of its revenue was and is still internally generated.

“In the 2009 budget, for instance, the ratio of capital to recurrent expenditure is 61 per cent to 39 per cent, an indication that the fundamentals of the Lagos state economy are strong,” he said. He said the state government was determined to continue to maintain poverty alleviation programmes as well as ongoing massive construction and rehabilitation of infrastructure.

“Our administration will continue, despite the economic recession, to provide succour for economically vulnerable members of the society through our free education and free healthcare programmes, free legal assistance to the poor and the provision of micro-finance to enable indigent persons establish small-scale businesses,” he stated.

http://thepmnews.com/2009/03/06/meltdown-fashola-bans-foreign-medical-treatment
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by tpia: 2:28pm On Mar 09, 2009
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by BigB11(m): 3:15pm On Mar 09, 2009
This is my guy, absolutely way to go.

This latest development will force these folks to improve our educational and medical standards. In-fact, it should be part of our constitution. All government officials should utilize our educational and medical resources at home. Their immediate families must attend Nigerian public schools.
No more flying abroad for headache.

Does it make any sense for Nigerian minister of education to ship his children away from Nigeria to study in abroad?
If governors, ministers and others are allowed to continue to fly abroad for medical check up or headache, our poor medical standard will remain poor till the end of time.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by debosky(m): 3:19pm On Mar 09, 2009
Big B1:

This latest development will force these folks to improve our educational and medical standards. In-fact, it should be part of our constitution. All government officials should utilize our educational and medical resources at home. Their immediate families must attend Nigerian public schools.

Does it make any sense for Nigerian minister of education to ship his children away from Nigeria to study in abroad?
If governors, ministers and others are allowed to continue to fly abroad for medical check up or headache, our poor medical standard will remain poor till the end of time.

I wonder if IBB did that when he was in power. Did he not send his kids abroad and spend our resources on treating himself abroad?
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by BigB11(m): 3:25pm On Mar 09, 2009
So, because IBB did not follow this policy, we shouldn't implement it?
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by Pataki: 3:28pm On Mar 09, 2009
Big B1:

Classical hypocritical posts. Kindly state how your mentor IBB never faulted in all what you have written here? undecided

@ Topic,
There are two sides to a coin. In one hand, it sounds pretty reasonable and cost-saving in these times of global economic meltdown, but then again, it hinders development when you suspend scholarship to brilliant students.

A question I have is: Is it a BAN or a SUSPENSION? Furthmore, what is the time duration to this ban or rather suspension? undecided
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by BigB11(m): 3:29pm On Mar 09, 2009
I honestly think IBB syndrome has blocked the thinking mechanism of some of us.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by BigB11(m): 3:32pm On Mar 09, 2009
Classical hypocritical posts. Kindly state how your mentor IBB never faulted in all what you have written here?

Could you sleep without thinking about IBB?
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by debosky(m): 3:34pm On Mar 09, 2009
Big B1:

So, because IBB did not follow this policy, we shouldn't implement it?
That post was addressed at YOUR hypocrisy - touting IBB as the best leader when he was the most corrupt.

You have no right to castigate ANY government official because your uncle/dad/benefactor IBB did much worse than any of them can ever dream of doing. How can a thief who stole 1,000,000 be condemning someone who stole 10?

@ topic

Fashola will do well to continue the implementation and cutting out other sources of wastage in government.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by Pataki: 3:40pm On Mar 09, 2009
Big B1:

Could sleep without thinking about IBB?

Not when a username such as yours still exists and your hypocrisy to lick-up anything IBB as the best in Nigeria is still lingering around this forum. I will constantly remind you where IBB failed, and people like Fashola are doing it right.

Stay in your deluded and hypocritical posting.

Big B1:

I honestly think IBB syndrome has blocked the thinking mechanism of some of us.
Oh you know your problem, right? Good. Seek help.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by BigB11(m): 3:43pm On Mar 09, 2009
That post was addressed at YOUR hypocrisy - touting IBB as the best leader when he was the most corrupt.
Typical Nigerian mentality: "quick to judge others"
FYI:I have never described IBB as the best leader.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by BigB11(m): 3:46pm On Mar 09, 2009
Not when a username such as yours still exists and your hypocrisy to lick-up anything IBB as the best in Nigeria is still lingering around this forum. I will constantly remind you where IBB failed, and people like Fashola are doing it right.

Stay in your deluded and hypocritical posting.

You are right on point, thanks for the reminder.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by Kobojunkie: 3:52pm On Mar 09, 2009
I can’t even believe that the trips abroad and all where funded by government in the first place, amazing!! shocked This is definitely where we need a complete ban. This explains a lot!
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by debosky(m): 3:53pm On Mar 09, 2009
Big B1:

Typical Nigerian mentality: "quick to judge others"
FYI:I have never described IBB as the best leader.

Like the true son of your father, you have resorted to IBB-esque lying.

IBB still the most competent leader/ politician this country has ever produced. Real politicians understand what IBB is able to bring to the table on a regular.
IBB has been gone for more than 10 years, and what have they done for you lately, Nigerians? I hope it wouldn't take us too long to realize and understand that all Nigerian politicians and future politicians are crooks, who do not have job description.

IBB not a saint, but at this point, I find it very difficult to identify another entity that has the stamina, brain and skill to quickly elevate Nigeria from the dust
. Yes, some have brain, but no stamina; while others have skill, but no brain.
Politics and corruption are twin brothers that are very much in-love. Enough is enough, the game must be stopped; corruption isn't going anywhere, but if we are lucky enough to elect an entity that has the capability to reduce corruption in all areas and produce effectively and efficiently, I think Nigeria will be OK.

I guess being the most competent is not the same as being the best.

Two faced liar - I don't need 100 years before I see how much IBB wrecked Nigeria. Even if you are benefiting from the proceeds of his stealing, it doesn't mean the rest of us are.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by BigB11(m): 3:57pm On Mar 09, 2009
This topic says "Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment" @Debosky: you do not know me; please don't waste your time, you can not and will not change how I see IBB.
Let us focus on this topic.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by BigB11(m): 3:58pm On Mar 09, 2009
Fashola has shown us that he clearly understands why he was elected and pretty much determined to elevate and bring Lagos state back on the map.
I hope he continues to demonstrate this type of great work for the rest of his 4 yrs term.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by osisi2(f): 4:02pm On Mar 09, 2009
Why can't we get rid of Yaradua and declare this young man our president?
He's currently the only politician with a thinking brain.
God bless Fashola a million fold and punish all the thieving ones a million fold.
I know he's ruffling feathers.
May God protect him and his household.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by Kobojunkie: 4:14pm On Mar 09, 2009
**osisi:

God bless Fashola a million fold and punish all the thieving ones a million fold.
May God protect him and his household.

Why didn't this young man ban this before now? I am shocked to discover that all the trips abroad for health and school has been on our own dime and not necessarily embezzled money. This has always been legal? I wonder if this applies in other states and why? I mean why should government workers have access to better schools and healthcare while the people are left with the worst to deal with? This is merely a suspension, according to the article and not a complete ban which, in my opinion, would be more appropriate.
Just last year Yar adua was busy signing to get law makers higher pay, now we hear he is considering cutting their pay just because of the global crisis.

I think this discovery explains why those in government have made little effort to improve healthcare and education in that country. They practically have little reason to see to it that healthcare and education are given a priority treatment.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by Nobody: 4:15pm On Mar 09, 2009
Finally someone is thinking. Wish Fashola was the one at the helms of affairs in Aso Rock

Compare this policy with FGN's policy of decrease in staff cost.

FGN's salary reduction would ultimately result in decrease local consumption, while Fashola's policy would result in reduced capital flight out of the country and might even encourage local spending. Which is exactly what we shd be doing currently.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by BigB11(m): 4:20pm On Mar 09, 2009
May God protect him and his household

I think Fashola should continue to develop, he has the potential to be even greater. But we must also never rush into making a lizard a king.
Let us allow time to tell.

Furthermore, leading Lagos State is not the same as leading Nigeria as a country.

I've advocated for banning foreign medical treatment/ studying in abroad for many years; and it is very nice to see the beginning of the implementation.
Now, executing guilty corrupt government officials will be next on the list.

For now, Fashola has my support.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by Uche2nna(m): 4:28pm On Mar 09, 2009
Big B1:

I think Fashola should continue to develop, he has the potential to be even greater. But we must also never rush into making a lizard a king.

I've advocated for banning foreign medical treatment/ studying in abroad for many years; and it is very nice to see the beginning of the implementation.

I agree with the banning of foreign medical treatment. That would only spur those mofo's to think twice about stealing money meant for the medical field.

About the scholarship thingy, I am not so sure. Cant fathom how scholarships can be bad especially if it is given to promising students.

Big B1:

Furthermore, leading Lagos State is not the same as leading Nigeria as a country.

True dat.

But if any state can claim to be a representative of Nigeria, it got to be Lagos. Fashola is on the right path.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by BigB11(m): 4:46pm On Mar 09, 2009
About the scholarship thingy, I am not so sure. Cant fathom how scholarships can be bad especially if it is given to promising students.

I will support the scholarship as long as it's being given to the poor, and not to those folks that already have more than 25m dollars in their foreign bank account.

Every top government officials should be forced to send their children to attend Nigerian Public schools. If this policy is implemented, I can assure you that standard of education in Nigerian will rapidly advance in less than 2 years.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by Pataki: 4:51pm On Mar 09, 2009
Uche2nna:

Exactly my line of thought.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by debosky(m): 5:15pm On Mar 09, 2009
What concerns me is this - 'except in cases where treatment is not available locally'

Why would [b]ANY [/b]medical condition that could be remedied locally require foreign treatment in the first place?

Anyways, the directive to cut down on frivolous trips is a good ones - we all know how governors have extensive entourages, all receiving estacode and sundry expenses borne by government.

All wastage must be cut out and focus placed on service delivery.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by Fhemmmy: 5:42pm On Mar 09, 2009
Finally someone is sane in Nigeria, i am really digging this guy oh.
By the time few top officials die in Nigerian hospital, there will be emergency to overhaul our medical system.
I think this is needed on the national level too.
Fashola, more kerosine to your elbow jare.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by agabaI23(m): 5:52pm On Mar 09, 2009
Scholarship abroad hmmm!

Fashiola you are doing well.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by mustafar1: 6:27pm On Mar 09, 2009
the idiots might just come up with new 'illnesses' as their reasons. the scholarships are not for undergrad students. its for those 'study leaves' directors, perm secs, DG's and the likes go on every now and then. u know those 6 month courses, yeah those ones.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by agabaI23(m): 8:27pm On Mar 09, 2009
must_a_far:

the idiots might just come up with new 'illnesses' as their reasons. the scholarships are not for undergrad students. its for those 'study leaves' directors, perm secs, DG's and the likes go on every now and then. u know those 6 month courses, yeah those ones.
That one na jamboree. if na that jamboree scholarship

Kudos again Fashiola fashi them jare
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by Hauwa1: 8:31pm On Mar 09, 2009
i think there is nothing wrong for those who have the money. they should fix all the hosp (teaching hosp, state hosp and mil hosp  cheesy) mil hosp should have state of the art equipment not those rusting things they got there. i went to WR hosp in SS oh my God!! kiss the retired mil pple in nig should be getting the best care for their service lipsrsealed

then nobody is going to bother if they are going abroad to get med care, afterall oyinbos go to brazil for kitten waxing and yansh supplements.
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by DisGuy: 8:41pm On Mar 09, 2009
*Hauwa*:

i think there is nothing wrong for those who have the money. they should fix all the hosp (teaching hosp, state hosp and mil hosp  cheesy) mil hosp should have state of the art equipment not those rusting things they got there. i went to WR hosp in SS oh my God!! kiss the retired mil pple in nig should be getting the best care for their service lipsrsealed

then nobody is going to bother if they are going abroad to get med care, afterall oyinbos go to brazil for kitten waxing and yansh supplements.

they go with their own money as part of the 'entitled' holidays unlike ours that go any time they like with taxpayers money!
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by Fhemmmy: 8:46pm On Mar 09, 2009
*Hauwa*:

Here is the difference, if they keep going to abroad to take care of themselves at the expense of other citizens that has no such opportunity, please, tell me what they medical facilities in Nigeria will be fixed.
the oyinbos you talking about have access to medical attentions unlike we do in Nigeria, so please, let us compare mango to mango and not to apple
Re: Meltdown: Fashola Bans Foreign Medical Treatment by RichyBlacK(m): 8:57pm On Mar 09, 2009
Uche2nna:

I agree with the banning of foreign medical treatment. That would only spur those mofo's to think twice about stealing money meant for the medical field.

Unfortunately, they are never given to promising students. If those scholarships meant for undergrad studies are given to promising students, there would be a transparent selection process based on merit for the target demographic. However, the reality is that those pot-bellied goons waste the scholarships on hoards of dullards who go abroad, switch courses to easy liberal studies programs (how can those empty skulls cope with more challenging programs?), party year-round and flush tons of wad down the toilet and come back to Nigeria with empty heads and too much gragra. Pathetic lowlifes!

Veetee’s $12m Ofada Rice Factory Raises Hope – Fg / Freedom Of Information Bill Passed, Sent To President For Approval! / Mike Adenuga Was The First Naija To Order Emgncy Plane To Transfer Ojukwu To Uk

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 65