Stats: 3,162,010 members, 7,849,074 topics. Date: Monday, 03 June 2024 at 02:13 PM

Foulplay At S.A Genreral Elections - Foreign Affairs - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / Foulplay At S.A Genreral Elections (772 Views)

Israel To Bomb Iran After US Elections!!! / Senegal Elections: Macky Sall Leads Over Incombent Abdoulaye WADE / US Elections 2008 Results: Obama vs Mccain (2) (3) (4)

Foulplay At S.A Genreral Elections by dominique(f): 11:24am On Apr 22, 2009
Marked ballot papers: Arrest delays voting
22 April 2009, 09:54
Related Articles

* Voting officer wounded in shooting
    * Soweto votes in the cold
    * Excitement ahead of Mbeki vote
    * Marked ballots: presiding officer arrested
    * 'They forced me to swap DA T-shirt for ANC's'

A female presiding officer was arrested at Ulundi, in KwaZulu-Natal, on Wednesday after marked ballot papers were found at a polling station.

Director Phindile Radebe said ballot boxes and ballot papers were being transported from Ekhombe to Nkandla on Tuesday night.

When the delivery arrived in Nkandla at 8pm, two ballot boxes were missing.

On Wednesday morning at 7.30am, party agents at Ulundi reported that a person was in possession of completed ballot papers and in the process of putting them into the ballot boxes.

"We are investigating charges in terms of the Electoral Act as well as fraud and uttering," said Radebe.

Provincial safety and security MEC Bheki Cele waited for the presiding officer implicated in the crime at the police station in Ulundi.

Earlier, the ANC said the two boxes containing 100 marked ballot papers were found at 19B South Hall in Ulundi.

In addition, IEC officials at the Ulundi polling station said an envelope which was supposed to contain 53 special votes had been found with 104 votes inside.

Another batch of ballot papers found had been marked in the IFP's favour, the officials said.

The ANC has expressed shock at the finds.

Voting at the affected polling station was delayed.

IEC regional supervisor Xolani Ngcobo said the deputy presiding officer would take charge at the polling station, which was being monitored by a number of international election observers. - Sapa

[url]http://www.thestar.co.za/?fSectionId=3268&fArticleId=nw

[/url]
Re: Foulplay At S.A Genreral Elections by ElRazur: 11:29am On Apr 22, 2009
And? Do you have an opinion or just copy and paste is what you are doing

You know people have brains and can actually find these news sources themselves if needed.
Re: Foulplay At S.A Genreral Elections by dominique(f): 12:00pm On Apr 22, 2009
so "squekay clean" SA fit get mago mago politics. guess they're more like us than RSA thinks cheesy.

ElRazur:

And? Do you have an opinion or just copy and paste is what you are doing

You know people have brains and can actually find these news sources themselves if needed.
i was trying to post a follow up comment but the internet connection here is really messy.
Re: Foulplay At S.A Genreral Elections by ElRazur: 12:05pm On Apr 22, 2009
dominique:

so "squekay clean" SA fit get mago mago politics. guess they're more like us than RSA thinks cheesy.

Politics are not exactly free and fair, even in the most advance of all nations. There was a recent ballot box fiddling in the UK here and an investigation had to be called. With SA, I am not surprised it is a 3rd world so it should be expected.

dominique:

i was trying to post a follow up comment but the internet connection here is really messy.

Fair enough. smiley
Re: Foulplay At S.A Genreral Elections by IFELEKE(m): 12:56pm On Apr 22, 2009
The article might be another smear tactic by their white dominated media.
@Poster,
Don't assume it's true until you verify the authenticity yourself.
Re: Foulplay At S.A Genreral Elections by morpheus24: 4:34pm On Apr 22, 2009
IFELEKE:

@Poster,

Oyinbo man wicked no be small.
Re: Foulplay At S.A Genreral Elections by dominique(f): 5:51pm On Apr 22, 2009

Politics are not exactly free and fair, even in the most advance of all nations. There was a recent ballot box fiddling in the UK here and an investigation had to be called. With SA, I am not surprised it is a 3rd world so it should be expected.

S.A is supposed to be the "role model" country other African countries should aspire to be. so in a way, i was expecting top notch free and fair elections just like the one they had in Ghana.

IFELEKE:

will try and do that later.
Re: Foulplay At S.A Genreral Elections by AKO1(m): 8:06pm On Apr 22, 2009
The stories are true. They were in all news headlines this evening including SABC, the national broadcaster. What I find interesting is that OBJ part of the monitoring team, someone who has betrayed the system 3 times in a row. He even followed Zuma to vote today, apparently Zuma may be learning a lesson or two tongue
Re: Foulplay At S.A Genreral Elections by Kobojunkie: 9:41pm On Apr 22, 2009
IFELEKE:

@Poster,

Yes, the “western-controlled” media is reason why some Nigerians living in SA fear the country may become the next Zimbabwe if the leaders do not step up.
Re: Foulplay At S.A Genreral Elections by preselect(m): 10:18pm On Apr 22, 2009
finally south-africa goes the way of the rest of the continent.

another evidence of the black man's inability to build a nation

In Pursuit Of Bristol Palin And Her Momma / Soldier Finds 1m Euros Off Lorry / Two Yemeni Girls In Poland, Sharing Their Thoughts On The Revolution

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 19