Stats: 3,160,603 members, 7,843,929 topics. Date: Wednesday, 29 May 2024 at 12:53 PM

TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN - Career - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN (25216 Views)

Top Black CEOs At Global Corporations And Lessons From Their Careers / Top 20 Nigerian CEOs And The Courses They Studied In School / America’s Top 13 Ceos And The Courses They Studied In School (photos) (2) (3) (4)

TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by dearie(m): 4:32am On Nov 18, 2015
The Central Bank of Nigeria on Tuesday said it could have removed the chief executive officers and executive management teams of banks that recently violated the Federal Government’s directive on the Treasury Single Account.

The CBN said it chose rather to impose heavy monetary fines on the affected banks because the removal of their CEOs and directors could lead to a major systemic crisis in the financial services sector and the economy in general.

The Deputy Governor, Corporate Services, CBN, Mr. Bayo Adelabu, made the disclosure during the annual business forum of the Bank Directors’ Association of Nigeria in Lagos.

The CBN had a few weeks ago imposed over N8bn fines on First Bank of Nigeria Limited, United Bank for Africa Plc and Skye Bank Plc for failing to adhere to the TSA directive.

The banks were found to have concealed several billions of naira belonging to the Federal Government, especially funds belonging to the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation.

It imposed a penalty of N1.877bn on First Bank; UBA was fined N2.942bn; while Skye Bank was fined N4bn.

Adelabu said the CBN chose to impose the heavy monetary fines on the banks because it knew that the lenders’ directors would ask questions from the CEOs as to the gravity of the offences committed.

According to him, the central bank now has zero tolerance for rendition of false returns and will not in any way condone such an act.

The CBN deputy governor told the bank directors present at the meeting that they should seek to know the reason why the central bank imposed the heavy fines on the banks that violated the TSA directive.

While First Bank reportedly concealed N37.548bn belonging to the NNPC, UBA was alleged to have concealed N58.843bn of NNPC funds; Skye Bank was alleged to have concealed N40bn.

Adelabu said, “I know that the huge penalty that the CBN has levied on a couple of banks has been a source of concern and subject of discussion. Bank directors need to take interest in this. Nothing stops you from securing a date or appointment with the CBN governor or the Committee of Governors and ask: why this huge penalty?

“All we were used to were the recommendations by the Bank and Other Financial Institutions Act’s N2m fine and all that. This fines has become a chicken change to the banks; all they will say is: let us break the law and we will pay them N2m later on. We are now in the era of zero tolerance.

“Some of the offences committed actually warrant the CEOs being removed; not only the CEOs, but the CFOs, the treasurers, even the entire executive management; but we know the systemic implication of this on the industry at this crucial time in our economy.

“This is why some of them were even converted to financial penalties and we know that the boards will ask questions: why have you incurred these billions as penalties? What is the gravity of the offences you committed? The boards can then decide in their own business that you are not fit to head this bank.

“We know the implication of the regulator sacking an MD; it has a systemic impact. So, when we imposed the penalties, the directors ought to find out the nature of the offences committed by the banks. There is no amount of penalty that is too much for a bank that renders false returns. Why that? So, this is to ensure that the TSA policy has come to stay just as the BVN has come to stay.”

Adelabu, who represented the CBN governor, Godwin Emefiele, had earlier read the governor’s speech to the bank directors present at the forum.

He also said that series of circulars from the CBN were meant to stabilise the economy and the currency, adding that the Bank Verification Number project was good for the country.

“We are in a very difficult situation in this country. Whether we like it or not, we have become poorer than we used to be. I never believe we were rich anyway. Our external reserves are a bit lower than $30bn. We have to protect it. The BVN and other circulars will help in this regard,” he added.

Earlier, the President, BDAN, Dr. Sonny Kuku, had advised the members to build good relationship with their organisations’ internal and external stakeholders.

Speakers at the event included a former CEO of Guaranty Trust Bank Plc, Mr. Fola Adeola, and a management consultant, Mr. Adedotun Sulaiman.

Kuku said the theme of this year’s BDAN forum was apt in view of the recent challenges being faced by many banks and other financial institutions.

http://naijabankers.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1902

Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by menix(m): 4:43am On Nov 18, 2015
End time CBN

Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by Adesiji77: 4:49pm On Nov 18, 2015
It is not too late... angry

Cc lalasticlala
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by dearie(m): 4:56pm On Nov 18, 2015
Adesiji77:
It is not too late... angry

Cc lalasticlala

Hilarious...you don't want a run on any bank now. They may not survive it.
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by Adesiji77: 4:57pm On Nov 18, 2015
dearie:

That was a sarcasm... cheesy
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by jejemanito: 5:14pm On Nov 18, 2015
menix:
End time CBN
You're an End Time FTC tongue

Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by siraj1402(m): 5:14pm On Nov 18, 2015
Pity them.They never know it wasn't Jonathan administration any longer

25 Likes 2 Shares

Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by 20bc(m): 5:14pm On Nov 18, 2015
They can fine them for all I care, all I know is that they should not touch my money oh.....touch not my money and do my acct no mini-mini wna-wna

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by disloman(m): 5:14pm On Nov 18, 2015
Fine is okay.
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by palladin: 5:14pm On Nov 18, 2015
And I would have supported you.
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by allanphash7(m): 5:14pm On Nov 18, 2015
Sack Peter Amangbo
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by bettercreature(m): 5:15pm On Nov 18, 2015
dearie:

END TIME comment

Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by jejemanito: 5:15pm On Nov 18, 2015
This country is a joke. Just imgine
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by Beehshorp(m): 5:15pm On Nov 18, 2015
This administration keeps sacking without creating more jobs...

BTW

Op u av a female moniker but ur sex shows male...huh
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by armadeo(m): 5:16pm On Nov 18, 2015
We don hear.

You could have but you didn't. What's the point of this story then.

Nearly doesn't kill a bird.
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by investnotspend: 5:16pm On Nov 18, 2015
L
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by Dottore: 5:17pm On Nov 18, 2015
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by deadZONE: 5:17pm On Nov 18, 2015
Total rubbish!!!!!
our Economy is worth peanuts
thanks to the blockhead in power!.

Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by rawtouch: 5:18pm On Nov 18, 2015
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by Pogite: 5:18pm On Nov 18, 2015
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by dadido(m): 5:19pm On Nov 18, 2015
ok
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by misterchris(m): 5:19pm On Nov 18, 2015
Bark'n'Bite.
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by datola: 5:20pm On Nov 18, 2015
Season of sanctions, fines! I think it's going to pay off in the long run.
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by ednut1(m): 5:20pm On Nov 18, 2015
kwaruption. the banks have been using the money to buy bonds and tbills at 15%-13% from the real owners. Thanks to TSA this fraud is over tongue

Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by OCTAVO: 5:21pm On Nov 18, 2015
Hmmmmmmmm
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by simplemach(m): 5:21pm On Nov 18, 2015
ok
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by LaconicINC: 5:21pm On Nov 18, 2015
the days of impunity are over!

Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by Dannyset(m): 5:23pm On Nov 18, 2015
Hmmm
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by Nobody: 5:25pm On Nov 18, 2015
Buhari
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by Cybertext(m): 5:25pm On Nov 18, 2015
Government of Sackistocracy (whatever that means)
Re: TSA: We Could’ve Sacked Bank Ceos, Says CBN by pat077: 5:25pm On Nov 18, 2015
we are in d era of fines.

Meet Ekene Obayi, Herdswoman From Enugu Who Is A Graduate Of UNN (Video) / Should I Go Back To School Or Continue Working? / Which Is Best, Architecture Or Civil Engineering