Stats: 3,162,302 members, 7,850,077 topics. Date: Tuesday, 04 June 2024 at 01:59 PM

Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads (3674 Views)

EFCC Rejects Uche Secondus Offer To Refund 23 Luxury Cars,Insists On N310m / Entitlements Of Former Heads Of State And Presidents / Buy 6 Million Email Contacts Belonging To Rich South Africans (2) (3) (4)

Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by riyenews(m): 10:16pm On Aug 28, 2009
riyenews@.com

It can only happen in Nigeria! According to a story published in a national newspaper on Thursday August 20, 2009, with the headline; UNAD Part time Programmes Donate Six Cars, the Part Time Programmes Unit of the University of Ado Ekiti in collaboration with students, donated six Toyota Camry sedans for Deans of some selected faculties. The Vice Chancellor attended the handover ceremony where, according to the report, he commended the gesture and vowed to “encourage” other units to emulate the Part time Unit. The report added that the students pledged to extend the bonanza to other units of the university. Where else but Nigeria?

Those who are wondering why the standard of education is plummeting in the country should look no further. If these actors, in what can be described as a triple x rated tragicomedy, were politicians one would have ignored the report as another “rub my back I rub your back” shenanigan of politicians which is a global phenomenon. In the United States of America, this kind of behaviour is known as pay for play. Recall Rod Blagojevich, the impeached governor of Illinois, who was trying to sell the US Senate seat vacated by Barak Obama after he was elected as the 44th president of the US.

It is not clear if the cars were “tear nylon or tokunbo”, which is really immaterial, but the whole sordid episode must stick in the craw of any patriotic Nigerian! What is also perplexing is that the Vice Chancellor has promised to encourage other units to emulate the Part Time Unit. How does he intend to do that? Has he paused to consider the propriety of the donation?

The donation is highly improper and validates the widespread belief that academic qualifications can be bought at a price from Nigerian universities. In the past such “deals” were made between lecturers and students behind closed doors. Money or sex would be negotiated and the student will pass with flying colours only to become a liability to society in future. But for these obviously well to do part time students, that arrangement is passé. This is what the late Fela Anikulapo Kuti called “oju koroju stealing” Why bother with discretion? Why not do it openly so that there would be no ambiguity of the intention? Does anyone doubt that these “donor students” will pass their examinations with flying colours? Where is the National Universities Commission (NUC) and when you really need it? The decay in our educational system is now endemic. HELP!
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by AjaraEwuro: 10:33pm On Aug 28, 2009
Part time students are workers who has the where withal to make money to buy the units.
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by Outstrip(f): 12:33am On Aug 29, 2009
AjaraEwuro:

Part time students are workers who has the where withal to make money to buy the units.

Your point is?
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by showbobo(m): 12:41am On Aug 29, 2009
Pour water for ground make you fit match wet soil grin cheesy grin cheesy
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by D1KeleVra(m): 12:49am On Aug 29, 2009
Bribery jo! cheesy
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by aaidel(m): 1:01am On Aug 29, 2009
@ aja thats not the point the point is their giving lecturers gift is bound to make the lecturers favor them
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by aaidel(m): 1:03am On Aug 29, 2009
@ aja thats not the point the point is their giving lecturers gift is bound to make the lecturers favor them
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by Donvilo(m): 5:00am On Aug 29, 2009
Gosh! That's a lot of money! shocked
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by sjeezy8: 5:04am On Aug 29, 2009
deez monkeys are not helpin themselves
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by babaegun(m): 6:08am On Aug 29, 2009
@topic
Can you imagine? Very soon full time students will start donating Okada and bicycle for lecturers.
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by Jakumo(m): 6:19am On Aug 29, 2009
This thoughtful gesture of sharing the proceeds of their internet 419 fraud careers with university lecturers, whose cooperation is so vital for the allocation of automatic passing grades to those who have difficulty spelling their own names, showcases the foresight and rare generosity of the student-philanthropists. Praise the Lord !
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by MUZBO(m): 6:25am On Aug 29, 2009
Em. . . is it the spider face camry or the pencil light types? Doesn't matter sef. The funny thing is that these guys may not have equipments in the lab or even an A.C unit in class but if you ask they'd answer by saying; se na A.C go pass me?
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by Chicent(m): 7:11am On Aug 29, 2009
Na waoh o.we neva here anytin, d next wil b 'D full time students got chopper 4 dier v.c, Lol. We 9ja dey go sef
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by pchima: 7:36am On Aug 29, 2009
should have thought of that when i was in school grin
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by ndelta1(m): 7:39am On Aug 29, 2009
Outstrip:

Your point is?

the point is that the PT Students are people in positions, politicians and buz men and women , who has the money to buy GP, Certificate, without the fear of God, even the regular student do, they pay in kind and cash, the ladies pay with their body while the guys pay with money or arrange girls for the lecturer, student in this situation sees  the born again Lecturers as their enemies
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by slap1(m): 8:36am On Aug 29, 2009
Wouldn't it be more reasonable if they bought books worth the price of one Camry for their naked libraries? Someone said 'sell off your shoes and buy books to cover the unclothedness of ur brain'. The gift sure is not genuine and d beneficiaries shud do well to reject it (not very easy,though). We all know the students will NEVER fail any paper henceforth. Naija is simply the land of oddities.
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by slap1(m): 8:36am On Aug 29, 2009
Wouldn't it be more reasonable if they bought books worth the price of one Camry for their naked libraries? Someone said 'sell off your shoes and buy books to cover the unclothedness of ur brain'. The gift sure is not genuine and d beneficiaries shud do well to reject it (not very easy,though). We all know the students will NEVER fail any paper henceforth. Naija is simply the land of oddities.
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by fyneguy: 8:48am On Aug 29, 2009
pchima:

should have thought of that when i was in school grin

May be you wouldnt have graduated with a 3rd class. grin
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by Olong(m): 8:50am On Aug 29, 2009
Y'al re makn a mountain autta a miniature moth hill!its no big deal 4 bizness students to buy cars 4 dia lecturers.moreso,it was not covertly done but at d ful glare of d public.assuming they want to influenc dia results as u guys sugges,they'l simply mak dia donatns to d lecturers in privacy,shikinah!i luv d gestur jareh!
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by GALANTRICH(m): 8:56am On Aug 29, 2009
NO BIG DEAL JO,HOW MANY STUDENTS DEM BE?EVEN GERMANY PROFFESORS DEY COLLECT SOMETHING TO AWARD Phd,So wats the big deal?
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by otokx(m): 9:39am On Aug 29, 2009
It is no more news that most part time students bribe their way through; the best graduating student of a university i know is always a part time student no thanks to corruption.
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by lucian2: 9:56am On Aug 29, 2009
poster, you seem to be one of those who don,t want teachers to get their reward here on earth . I will ensure you are never appointed the minister of Education in NAIJA. Don't you know there is blessing in giving and besides those guys were not compelled to do what they did. It was out of thei.r own volition
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by GeorgeD1(m): 10:34am On Aug 29, 2009
most part time students are already well to do and don't strictly need those dumb
certificates in the first place. So, whether they buy cars for lecturers to pass their
exams may not really be a big deal grin
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by oraclefemi(m): 11:37am On Aug 29, 2009
I am a UNADITE and id say thats a total waste of money when we need more lecture halls, the deans are well paid already, come see unadites fighting for hall space during exams !!
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by Nobody: 11:43am On Aug 29, 2009
no be big deal jare. . . shebi na their money
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by fuke(m): 12:12pm On Aug 29, 2009
EFCC  should impound those cars immediately and invite the lecturers for questioning.

It is gross abuse of office. You cannot sit at judgement in your own case. The situation is
                            similar to a judge taking a gift from an accused arranged in his court. It is improper. Like i
                            hear somebody says its their money. If it is their money nko . they should use it to bribe lecturers ?

This is the university  whose graduates Ekiti state goovernment says are unemployable and
                           some people were kicking. UNAD is rotten and Prof Dipo Kolawole should brace up and do something
                           positive and not to enco urage other students to emulate the part time students.
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by desgiezd(m): 12:21pm On Aug 29, 2009
oraclefemi:

I am a UNADITE and id say thats a total waste of money when we need more lecture halls,  the  deans are well paid already, come see unadites fighting for hall space during exams !!

While some have disappointingly spoken in favour of these students and their gesture without taking a look at the implication on the lecturers' conscience and the overall effect on the society that these students would serve upon graduation, it is noteworthy to note what a student of that same school said above, wouldn't it have been more dignified and more beneficial to the society had the students provided the school with additional lecture halls?

More disappointing is the unqualified approval of the VC who undoubtedly would be expecting his own largesse in due course.

Any wonder why the quality of education in Nigeria would continue to dip?
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by oluagness(m): 1:18pm On Aug 29, 2009
They give what they have in other to get what they want abi? My fear is that the full time dean may indirectly demand same from their students.
Wait a bit; can somebody with little money afford to be a part time student?
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by oge4real(f): 4:22pm On Aug 29, 2009
Naija- land of interesting happenings.
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by Beaf: 4:31pm On Aug 29, 2009
Students donate cars to their lecturers? Na wa o!

When will they start paying their salaries too, afterall ASUU is on strike, abi?
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by GeorgeD1(m): 5:02pm On Aug 29, 2009
and who says they're not already paying their salaries? what do you think
all those money extorted from students in the name of hand outs is for?
alms giving or what? grin
Re: Incredible! Students Buy 6 Luxury Cars For Faculty Heads by ichommy(m): 6:44pm On Aug 29, 2009
wonders oooo

CBN Lambasts Telecom Operators For Poor Services / Bloodshed Will Occur In Nigeria On January 25--prophet Okafor Predicts / Ihedioha's Moves - My New Speaker?...God forbid

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35