Stats: 3,161,446 members, 7,846,852 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 04:04 AM

Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? - Family - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Family / Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? (1513 Views)

Kids Of Nowadays...[photo] / Are Kids Of Nowadays Growing Up Too Fast? / Thread For Wives And Kids Of Nigerian Soldiers In Troubled States (2) (3) (4)

Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? by soulfood(m): 10:44pm On Dec 26, 2009
Does anyone remember the glorious day of making kites with nylon bags, newspapers and brooms. Can you share your favorite kite experience. And why on earth are the kids of today not interested in such outdoor games? It was mad fun. I grew up in Ogba, Lagos state. I remember having to run backwards while releasing the kite in the air. And then we would make tails of nylon paper and watch our creation soar in the sky. Nowadays kids just watch cartoons and play PS.
Re: Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? by netotse(m): 10:52pm On Dec 26, 2009
u've got me nostalgic. . .

i'm sure the fact that all they do is play x-box or ps and watch MTV has somefink to do wiv it!
Re: Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? by mamagee3(f): 11:01pm On Dec 26, 2009
There are lots of problems we face
Kids are involved nowadays, so you don't expect them to be flying kites
Like idiots when their parents are suffering
. tongue
Re: Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? by netotse(m): 11:05pm On Dec 26, 2009
mama-gee:

There are lots of problems we face
Kids are involved nowadays, so you don't expect them to be flying kites
Like idiots when their parents are suffering
. tongue
r u saying they shldnt grow up cos they're parents r suffering? for us it was part of growing up.
Re: Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? by Nobody: 3:25am On Dec 27, 2009
oyibo kids still dey do am sha.

Nigerian kids- not sure.

flying kites isnt a luxury since you can make kites from ordinary plastic bags and broomsticks.

Think I used to do it when we lived somewhere with a lot of open space outside. Saw the hawks flying overhead too.
Re: Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? by H2O2: 3:28am On Dec 27, 2009
Haaaaaaa Kites.  Was just talking about that the other day.

Might make one later. I think I have a better understanding of aerodynamics now.
Re: Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? by iice(f): 5:10am On Dec 27, 2009
Hmmm reminds me of the Kite Runner. . .

Yeah i had a blast as a kid flying them. . .even painted mine cheesy
These days kids are more into video games and all that. . .
Re: Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? by finemocha(f): 6:47am On Dec 27, 2009
i doubt kids of now adays have the attention span to make a kite talk less of flying it.
Re: Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? by Sissy3(f): 7:58am On Dec 27, 2009
modern technology have eliminated those childhood plays. i mean how many kids would want to stay out building kites or build telephone with matchbox([size=2pt]aww memories[/size]) instead of relaxing in the couch and playing wii or xbox?
Re: Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? by Spain007(m): 9:28am On Nov 01, 2017
kite is old sch....todays children prefer android n smart phones .
Re: Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? by omobamatrix: 9:45am On Nov 01, 2017
the good old days when children explore different outdoor games. It was fun! Parents of nowadays would only find joy forcing their kids to read

Re: Why Don't Kids Of Today Fly Kites? by anoda(m): 2:46pm On Nov 01, 2017
oyibo kids still dey do am sha.

Nigerian kids- not sure.

flying kites isnt a luxury since you can make kites from ordinary plastic bags and broomsticks.

Think I used to do it when we lived somewhere with a lot of open space outside. Saw the hawks flying overhead too.

how do you expecting them to do it when, all thier life is school, imagin a child comin back from school @5:30PM, this is bad!!

Bundles Of Joy Day Care In Abuja / Urgent Advise Needed Please Please / Pls Help,,,,,matured Advice Pls

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 18