Stats: 3,162,070 members, 7,849,333 topics. Date: Monday, 03 June 2024 at 06:50 PM

Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks (5000 Views)

Ondo 2020: Unity Forum, Groups Give Oke N22.5m / Igbo Youths Will No Longer Be Sacrificed For The North - Ohanaeze Tells Army / 9th Senate:Give Ndigbo Senate President, Yoruba Community Tells Buhari, APC (2) (3) (4)

Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by Gentle99(m): 12:25am On Jun 07, 2017
A coalition of Northern groups , including the Arewa Youth Consultative Forum , on Tuesday, gave all Igbos resident in the 19 states of the North a three - month ultimatum to quit or be forced out after the expiration of the October 1 , 2017 deadline.
“We are also telling our brothers (northerners) out there in the South- East to get prepared to come back home, ” the National President , AYCF , Yerima Shettima, said at a press conference in Kaduna .

The ultimatum followed a successful sit-at- home order enforced by the Nnamdi Kanu - led Indigenous People of Biafra on May 30 , 2017 which the five South- East states complied with .
The ultimatum was handed down at a well attended press conference held at the Arewa House, Kaduna , on Tuesday .
The text of the press conference signed by Nastura Ashir Sharif (Arewa Citizens Action for Change ); Alhaji Shettima Yerima (Arewa Youth Consultative Forum ); Aminu Adam (Arewa Youth Development Foundation ); Alfred Solomon, (Arewa Students Forum ); Abdul - Azeez Suleiman (Northern Emancipation Network), as well as Joshua Viashman, who signed on behalf of the Northern Youth Vanguard.
The National President of the Northern Emancipation Network, Abdul - Azeez Suleiman, who read the text of the press conference , noted that the Igbo had become a threat to national unity , .
He noted that the action of the North was necessitated by the persistence for the actualisation of Biafra by the Igbo, saying this had led to the impediment of other people ’s rights in the South- East by ‘ the Indigenous People of Biafra and its overt and covert sponsors ’.
Suleiman said, “With the effective date of this declaration, which is today, Tuesday , June 6 , 2017, all Igbo currently residing in any part of northern Nigeria are, hereby , served notice to relocate within three months and all northerners residing in the South- East are advised likewise .
“All northern civil societies and pressure groups are, by this declaration , mandated to mobilise for sustained, coordinated campaigns at their respective state Government Houses, state Houses of Assembly , local government council secretariats and traditional palaces .
“Our first major move shall be to reclaim, assume and assert sole ownership and control of these landed resources currently owned, rented or in any way enjoyed by the … Igbo in any part of northern Nigeria . ”
Suleiman warned that the failure of the Igbo to heed the relocation order, the group would mobilise the people of region against them (Igbo).
During the question and answer session, the National President of the Arewa Youth Consultative Forum , Alhaji Yerima Shettima, warned that their threat must not be taken with levity by the Federal Government .
When asked whether the Arewa Consultative Forum , Northern Elders Forum and other bodies in the region were contacted , Shettima said they did not need the permission of the elders because according to him, ‘they are part of the decadence in the North ’.
“Never again shall we allow any group , (northern) elders to take us back . The ACF was part of the decadence of the region ,” he added.
Reacting to the development, the Ohanaeze Ndigbo, the apex socio- political body of the Igbo, demanded ‘urgent action ’ from the country ’s security agencies.
Ohanaeze also urged the Igbo in the North to be ‘vigilant ’ while going about their activities.
The Deputy Publicity Secretary of the Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Mr . Chuks Ibegbu, who spoke with one of our correspondents in Enugu, said the security agencies, particularly, the Department of State Services and the police , should take immediate steps to forestall any plan to launch attacks against the Igbo in the North .
“The DSS, the police and other security agencies should take note of the statement by the Arewa Youth Consultative Forum and the other Northern groups for issuing this threat against the Igbo.
“It should not be seen as an empty threat ; urgent action is needed to foil the plan to attack the Igbo in the North . It happened in the past and we don ’ t want it to happen again.
“In fact, Yerima Shettima should be arrested by the DSS immediately . We are watching to see what the DSS would do in this situation .
“Shettima’ s statement is treasonable ; he is inciting one section of the country against another section and we know from experience that this sort of thing could lead to a civil war . His utterances could destroy this country . ”
Copyright PUNCH.
All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website , may not be reproduced, published , broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH .

http://punchng.com/biafra-groups-give-ndigbo-three-month-ultimatum-to-leave-north/

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by Ogalanyachieze: 12:29am On Jun 07, 2017
Where is ohaneze kicking? Pls respect them and remove ohaneze

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by uyiekpenn(m): 12:34am On Jun 07, 2017
I thought you guys wanted Biafra? I don't get it. One minute you guys are screaming Biafra another minute you guys are saying something else. Every Igbo man or woman should be happy the North is ready to let you guys go by telling you to leave their region in peace and not in pieces. I'll be very happy if the Igbos can be allowed to leave. I'll personally vote in your favour if a referendum is conducted. It is obvious we are not ONE. I don't see the need why we should continue deceiving each other.

24 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by adadike281(f): 12:36am On Jun 07, 2017
come back home my people, it won't be easy but with brotherly help and love, you will be back on your feet. Igbos at home and diaspora, get ready to help our returnees and put northerners to shame.

17 Likes

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by Ikenna0b: 12:42am On Jun 07, 2017
Ohaneze stop thinking about your Godamn pockets for once and LISTEN TO the youths.

Infact just stop calling yourself an Igbo group. Only IPOB, MASSOB should speak from henceforth.

17 Likes

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by quiverfull(m): 12:45am On Jun 07, 2017
IPOB is a political renegotiation tool. Their recent actions may just explode in their faces. And they just might get what they want.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by uyiekpenn(m): 12:53am On Jun 07, 2017
quiverfull:
IPOB is a political renegotiation tool. Their recent actions may just explode in their faces. And they just might get what they want.
it would soon explode once the 3 months expire and nothing is done to quench this tension. We might have another case of abandoned properties.

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by EasternWind: 1:01am On Jun 07, 2017
Which kain yeye press release be this

This is just empty

From which meeting did the ohaneze deputy secretary gather the position of the igbos in response to the threat?

This is more of a gossip or personal opinion than an organization press briefing

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by Nobody: 1:03am On Jun 07, 2017
This is why history should have been taught in schools. So we won't make the same mistakes our fathers made.

50 YEARS after this way and we can't still call ourselves one. Naija which way??

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by AntiIPOOP(m): 1:04am On Jun 07, 2017
adadike281:
come back home my people, it won't be easy but with brotherly help and love, you will be back on your feet. Igbos at home and diaspora, get ready to help our returnees and put northerners to shame.
haha can south yeast accommodate more than 7 million ibos?

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by cjrane: 1:07am On Jun 07, 2017
Ndigbo should please leave the north.

Likewise, Hausa/Fulani element must be tracked down and forced to leave every inch of SE and SS.

BTW, they should know we will not tolerate them selling Cows, Goats or tomatoes or onions in our territory.

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by ayzTIGER: 1:16am On Jun 07, 2017
Its time Ohaneze start saying things as it is. The truth is Nigerian security cant do shiit, they'd rather partake than save the situation. Bloodas in the North wise up never fall for nothing this time around..

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by Nobody: 1:49am On Jun 07, 2017
If Shetima 's statement is treasonable, what do we call ipob' s numerous statements in the last 2 yrs or so?.. Those who live in a glass house shouldn't throw stones..

Ohaneze dey use style beg grin

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by iLiquidator: 1:58am On Jun 07, 2017
uyiekpenn:
it would soon explode once the 3 months expire and nothing is done to quench this tension. We might have another case of abandoned properties.
All these fake news you people spread ehn, diaris God

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by Nobody: 2:04am On Jun 07, 2017
cjrane:

Likewise, Hausa/Fulani element must be tracked down and forced to leave every inch of SE and SS.

BTW, they should know we will not tolerate them selling Cows, Goats or tomatoes or onions in our territory.
Attache..... Leave SS out of this...Face your trouble biko... Na una shit. . Na una must pack am ooo. Attache by force angry

16 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by obyrich(m): 2:52am On Jun 07, 2017
akthedream:

Attache..... Leave SS out of this...Face your trouble biko... Na una shit. . Na una must pack am ooo. Attache by force angry
When they start killing 'igbos' in the north, make sure you wear 'South South' branded shirts to differentiate you from the Igbos there.

18 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by OVI75(m): 5:58am On Jun 07, 2017
Mynd44 is peeping,e be like Say this threat Sweet Amm..
Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by HiddenShadow: 6:12am On Jun 07, 2017
Ohaneze don't need to kick

Amnesty International will advice the UN to conduct referendum for Biafrans

October 1st is too far

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by KahlDrogo(m): 6:26am On Jun 07, 2017
“It should not be seen as an empty threat ; urgent action is needed to foil the plan to attack the Igbo in the North . It happened in the past and we don ’ t want it to happen again.
Stupid man. It happened in the past and it is about to happen again, all thanks to Nnamdi Kanu and his propagation of hate.

Several times we tried to warn you people to get over Jonathan's loss but you chose to adamantly hold on to the past even as his immediate constituency had moved on. Your kith and kin wake up every morning with one thing in mind, to insult the president and name animals after him, insult Islam, insult northerners, and be the greatest cheerleaders of folks like ffk whose only occupation today is insulting them as well.

If I were you, I'd start mobilising to have my kith and kin moved out of the zone before the expiration of that ultimatum. You people have reduced yourselves to the poster children of everything anti Nigeria progress as we speak, and yet expect accommodation in the same place with people you love to hate.

I do not feel sorry for you and doubt I ever will. Come what may, you brought this upon yourselves by failing to tell your people to observe some level of restraint in their conduct, therefore tacitly endorsing and encouraging their actions.

13 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by KahlDrogo(m): 6:29am On Jun 07, 2017
cjrane:

Fixed. Stop attaching yourselves by force.

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by Nobody: 6:32am On Jun 07, 2017
Gentle99:
A coalition of Northern groups , including the Arewa Youth Consultative Forum , on Tuesday, gave all Igbos resident in the 19 states of the North a three - month ultimatum to quit or be forced out after the expiration of the October 1 , 2017 deadline.
“We are also telling our brothers (northerners) out there in the South- East to get prepared to come back home, ” the National President , AYCF , Yerima Shettima, said at a press conference in Kaduna .

The ultimatum followed a successful sit-at- home order enforced by the Nnamdi Kanu - led Indigenous People of Biafra on May 30 , 2017 which the five South- East states complied with .
The ultimatum was handed down at a well attended press conference held at the Arewa House, Kaduna , on Tuesday .
The text of the press conference signed by Nastura Ashir Sharif (Arewa Citizens Action for Change ); Alhaji Shettima Yerima (Arewa Youth Consultative Forum ); Aminu Adam (Arewa Youth Development Foundation ); Alfred Solomon, (Arewa Students Forum ); Abdul - Azeez Suleiman (Northern Emancipation Network), as well as Joshua Viashman, who signed on behalf of the Northern Youth Vanguard.
The National President of the Northern Emancipation Network, Abdul - Azeez Suleiman, who read the text of the press conference , noted that the Igbo had become a threat to national unity , .
He noted that the action of the North was necessitated by the persistence for the actualisation of Biafra by the Igbo, saying this had led to the impediment of other people ’s rights in the South- East by ‘ the Indigenous People of Biafra and its overt and covert sponsors ’.
Suleiman said, “With the effective date of this declaration, which is today, Tuesday , June 6 , 2017, all Igbo currently residing in any part of northern Nigeria are, hereby , served notice to relocate within three months and all northerners residing in the South- East are advised likewise .
“All northern civil societies and pressure groups are, by this declaration , mandated to mobilise for sustained, coordinated campaigns at their respective state Government Houses, state Houses of Assembly , local government council secretariats and traditional palaces .
“Our first major move shall be to reclaim, assume and assert sole ownership and control of these landed resources currently owned, rented or in any way enjoyed by the … Igbo in any part of northern Nigeria . ”
Suleiman warned that the failure of the Igbo to heed the relocation order, the group would mobilise the people of region against them (Igbo).
During the question and answer session, the National President of the Arewa Youth Consultative Forum , Alhaji Yerima Shettima, warned that their threat must not be taken with levity by the Federal Government .
When asked whether the Arewa Consultative Forum , Northern Elders Forum and other bodies in the region were contacted , Shettima said they did not need the permission of the elders because according to him, ‘they are part of the decadence in the North ’.
“Never again shall we allow any group , (northern) elders to take us back . The ACF was part of the decadence of the region ,” he added.
Reacting to the development, the Ohanaeze Ndigbo, the apex socio- political body of the Igbo, demanded ‘urgent action ’ from the country ’s security agencies.
Ohanaeze also urged the Igbo in the North to be ‘vigilant ’ while going about their activities.
The Deputy Publicity Secretary of the Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Mr . Chuks Ibegbu, who spoke with one of our correspondents in Enugu, said the security agencies, particularly, the Department of State Services and the police , should take immediate steps to forestall any plan to launch attacks against the Igbo in the North .
“The DSS, the police and other security agencies should take note of the statement by the Arewa Youth Consultative Forum and the other Northern groups for issuing this threat against the Igbo.
“In fact, Yerima Shettima should be arrested by the DSS immediately . We are watching to see what the DSS would do in this situation .
“Shettima’ s statement is treasonable ; he is inciting one section of the country against another section and we know from experience that this sort of thing could lead to a civil war . His utterances could destroy this country . ”
Copyright PUNCH.
All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website , may not be reproduced, published , broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH .

http://punchng.com/biafra-groups-give-ndigbo-three-month-ultimatum-to-leave-north/
Rubbish! We in the South West must not succumb to this sort of bigotry and crap. If the North and S/E wants to slug it out this time around then good and fine. But we s/westerners must remain neutral in this. Pls put your nairaland bants aside We Yorubas need to stand for diversity fairness and love. I have made too many lifelong friends from the East plus my prospective babe is from the east. I would certainly not see them being torn away from the S/W. Lailai

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by adadike281(f): 6:34am On Jun 07, 2017
AntiIPOOP:
haha can south yeast accommodate more than 7 million ibos?
yes!

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by bakynes(m): 6:37am On Jun 07, 2017
obyrich:
When they start killing 'igbos' in the north, make sure you wear 'South South' branded shirts to differentiate you from the Igbos there.
Most SS indigenes don't live in the core North( NW & NE) in large numbers, they rather go to Lagos or Abuja. It is you Igbos that are in huge numbers in the core North.

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by Kingsley1000(m): 6:42am On Jun 07, 2017
they should send igbos packing we want biafra

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by Nobody: 6:46am On Jun 07, 2017
akthedream:

SE states are useless and unproductive.. This is why they attach SE to SS by force. Look at their iGR.. Davido is richer than all the 5 unproductive eastern states combined.

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by kollynxofodile(m): 6:47am On Jun 07, 2017
Ohaneze should be commending them.

You see, Igbos have been more Nigeria than another group.

We build and develope other places.

We told them to look home but some of them never listens.

Now they see.

Dispose of those Goddamn properties and heard home.

BIAFRA the land of the Rising Sun.

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by Gourdoinc(m): 6:47am On Jun 07, 2017
adadike281:
it's now I believe the igbos are the fools of the earth. when u concentrate common traders in the south east who would they sell to? themselves? with the hate displayed who will have the strength to want to see igbo land as the new Dubai. the suffering will be so much that without any war, kwashiokor is coming. get ready. Ndi iberibe. Ndi onuku without senses. ndi-igbo ifele mme gbuo unu. I will be an igbo man in diapora laughing at the way you will all kill yourself with hate or die from hunger.

go to OSHA and see boys hustling, full grown men selling gala and we want others to come home and work in which industries, sell in the over crowded main market to whom exactly, since we aren't even manufacturers but tradesmen, we will import from heaven and cheap prices since the Nigerians surrounding us won't be wise enough to issue a blockade or harsh trade relations.

Ndi igbo are fools and it's good the north is finally sending them away. let them prove this idiocy. we will forever loose all relevance in this nation.

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by Nobody: 6:48am On Jun 07, 2017
Statsocial:

Rubbish! We in the South West must not succumb to this sort of bigotry and crap. If the North and S/E wants to slug it out this time around then good and fine. But we s/westerners must remain neutral in this. Pls put your nairaland bants aside We Yorubas need to stand for diversity fairness and love. I have made too many lifelong friends from the East plus my prospective babe is from the east. I would certainly not see them being torn away from the S/W. Lailai
You can go with her to biafraaaud...We will not because of your selfish interest trade south west interest for biafraaauf

Re: Groups Give Ndigbo Three Months To Leave North, Ohanaeze Kicks by sinistermind(m): 6:48am On Jun 07, 2017
These statements are very incitive. Why are they angry at the success of the sit at home order? The Igbos werent violent, so why the threat?

Governor Ugwuanyi Wins Leadership Governor Of The Year 2018 / Reno Omokri Reacts To Dangote's 96th Ranking In The BBI World Richest People / See 3 Reasons Why SW Is Most At Risk Of Fulani Herdsmen/bandits Invasion

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 54