Stats: 3,162,138 members, 7,849,562 topics. Date: Tuesday, 04 June 2024 at 01:06 AM

Classical Music Is Better Than Rap - Music/Radio (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Music/Radio / Classical Music Is Better Than Rap (12825 Views)

Poll: Classical Music vs Rap: which do you prefer?

Classical Music: 50% (29 votes)
Rap Music: 49% (28 votes)
This poll has ended

Thread For Opera/classical Music Lovers / Nigerian Music Is Better Than America's / Enya's Music Is Satanic? (2) (3) (4)

Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by BlackMamba(m): 3:44am On Feb 06, 2007
Should I like music because of it's sophisticated taste (whatever that means)
Good music is just good music to me.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by JosBoy4Lif(m): 3:45am On Feb 06, 2007
I like whatever is pleasent to my ears.
I do not conform to one genre alone
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by sharetroll(m): 4:20am On Feb 06, 2007
Heck, even soca better than rap. . . . .
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGnPvEyv9fY
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by WesleyanA(f): 4:51am On Feb 06, 2007
I dislike them both.
classical music ------> b-o-r-i-n-g
most american rap music ------> trash

frech, euro rap aren't bad.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by gbadex1(m): 7:26am On Feb 06, 2007
@ sharetroll:

see the reason why this topic is just another dumbass topic?? 'cause people like you don't have anything tangible to say and create dumb threads to gain attention. . .
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by Eurphoria(f): 10:36am On Feb 06, 2007
this is why i said my2cents got it so right on page one

Definition of music (from my JS3 class ) - the organization of sound that is pleasant to the ear.

Definition of music 2 (from my personal experience ) - one manz meat is another manz poison.

Asking which is better is like comparing apples and oranges. Now if you said, Beethoven is better than Bach, or Gangsta rap is better than plain old rap, I would engage in the discussion

and still i have not heard how the two differ, or which is better and i am with you Naijafan here

naijafan:

this thread should've been closed two minutes after it was started.
mozart doing a song with nas, very likely.
bach with eminem - god! that song will be off the hinges!

y'all stop hatin' unnecessarily and get something betr to talk about.

p.s. anyone noticed that those diehard fans of classical music in here talk trash about rap while those standing by rap talk good about classical music. if a music causes hate, then i'd rather not listen to it grin

Gbade still we can't see this so called classical music types and we have not seen the comparisons for those who claim to know the genre grin
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by grafikdon: 11:48am On Feb 06, 2007
I HAD a friend with a frightening prejudice towards any music that smells like hip hop and he listens to some heavy metal with the most demeaning lyrics. It was really hard to resist punching him in the face with such a sheer exhibition of hypocrisy. Every second he'd tell you "Oh I just listen to classical, yeah, classical. . . oh I am talking about real classical. . . we are talking about , real classical here" So I got so curious and asked him the 'classical' he was huffing about and he started to mention stuff from Elton John and Wes Life. . . sure I listen to those stuff but I seriously believed he was drinking Izal. 'Classical' is apparently the most misused term in music, MOST MISUSED . . . if we go by the books, all these music we lump into 'classical' are not even anywhere close.

Like some of ya have pointed out, people need to listen to whatever appeals to them without fear. . . be proud of ya music. I heard Bush was caught nodding his head and rapping "Go Shurty Iz ya Birthday" of course he said a big fat "TUFIAKWA!" when he was approached by the press. One day one day, we will catch him with his hand in the cookie jar. . . I mean, with a
Ja Rule bootleg CD.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by gbadex1(m): 12:50pm On Feb 06, 2007
Lol @ grafikdon.

@ Eurphoria:

what it do, baby boo? Yeah, in the long run, them prejudiced asswipes don't have anything tangible to say. Just a lot of trash-talking that amounts to nothing in the end.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by naijafan(m): 1:48pm On Feb 06, 2007
and this is to sharetroll who says rappin' requires zero talent.

what do you understand by this line:

like damaged clocks in the refuse, you's a waste of time

I really dont want to start an argument with you but your response to this post'll determine.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by sharetroll(m): 1:53pm On Feb 06, 2007
Eurphoria:

this is why i said my2cents got it so right on page one

and still i have not heard how the two differ, or which is better and i am with you Naijafan here

Classical music and rap "music" caters to polar opposites of the spectrum. Classical music was written for kings and queens and emperors and czars as well as the elite public people. Rap caters to the people on the streets. Classical music so much better b/c  rap isn't able to express the wide range of emotions classical can.

Eurphoria:

Gbade still we can't see this so called classical music types and we have not seen the comparisons for those who claim to know the genre grin

What? Are you serious?
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by Eurphoria(f): 1:56pm On Feb 06, 2007
lol , sshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh silence allllllllll, let the last man hear the penny drop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! grin

Gbade later baby smiley
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by sharetroll(m): 1:57pm On Feb 06, 2007
gbade. x:

what it do, baby boo? Yeah, in the long run, them prejudiced asswipes don't have anything tangible to say. Just a lot of trash-talking that amounts to nothing in the end.

Real mature of you. . . .Childish namecalling. . . . . .I'll just let this one slide for the time being, "internet gangsta", I doubt you could even say the very same thing in front of my face. . . .You're just showing an act of cowardice, nothing more.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by sharetroll(m): 2:04pm On Feb 06, 2007
naijafan:

and this is to sharetroll who says rappin' requires zero talent.

what do you understand by this line:

like damaged clocks in the refuse, you's a waste of time

I really don't want to start an argument with you but your response to this post'll determine.

Rap require 0 talent because freestyling is easy. . . .

You, it be like this. You want some, well here I come. Coming at you with a freak soderin gun. I ain't got to waste my time tellin ya what be what. AllI have to do is shake my big old butt.

See, didn't take me more than 30 seconds. . . .
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by Eurphoria(f): 2:06pm On Feb 06, 2007
the more he talks the louder the echo!!
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by sharetroll(m): 2:11pm On Feb 06, 2007
Eurphoria:

the more he talks the louder the echo!!

Oh well, you can't veil your inadequacies forever.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by Eurphoria(f): 2:20pm On Feb 06, 2007
ahaha too right! still mr expert on clasical you still not given us much to go on have you, you later went on to blame your age and you are being underestimated lmao. still nothing so far in way of insight or info on clasical music, i have said atleast go and google and paste it here, shhhh ''i'll keep mum wont tell a soul'' . You are always over the top with your threads. I just read one https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-38595.0.html#msg868544 where you were saying your fav sarnies and it read like you found it on the net some where or you trying too hard to impress. Listen just be yourself lmao be real  grin. you trying too hard baby , now reeks of BS
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by sharetroll(m): 2:31pm On Feb 06, 2007
Eurphoria:

ahaha too right! still mr expert on clasical you still not given us much to go on have you, you later went on to blame your age and you are being underestimated lmao. still nothing so far in way of insight or info on clasical music, i have said atleast go and google and paste it here, shhhh ''i'll keep mum wont tell a soul'' . You are always over the top with your threads. I just read one https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-38595.0.html#msg868544 where you were saying your fav sarnies and it read like you found it on the net some where or you trying too hard to impress. Listen just be yourself lmao be real  grin. you trying too hard baby , now reeks of BS

Really? Link, please?
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by Eurphoria(f): 2:32pm On Feb 06, 2007
lol i'll leave it to you the expert at BS bye grin
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by sharetroll(m): 2:34pm On Feb 06, 2007
Eurphoria:

lol i'll leave it to you the expert at BS bye grin

You presence is not needed here

You may go now.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by naijafan(m): 3:01pm On Feb 06, 2007
sharetroll:

You, it be like this. You want some, well here I come. Coming at you with a freak soderin gun. I ain't got to waste my time tellin ya what be what. AllI have to do is shake my big old butt.

yea right. you just prove to me that you dont knw what it takes to do real hip hop.

like damaged clocks in the refuse, you's a waste of[i] time[/i] - gbade.x (battle with shishi)
Explanation: clocks tell time. refuse can also be known as waste.

some other lines to get your lil brain busy.
get off my manliness or i'ma Bleep you up - naijafan (the unfinished chronicles)
Literal meaning: get off my privates, or i'll end up havin' sex wit you
Actual meaning: stop being interested in my business, or i'll deal wit you

jesus saves but ludacris withdraws - ludacris (rap city freestlye)
there is a popular saying that jesus saves, luda then put it in the bank context.

im sumthn like a virgin cow because i don't Bleep wit no bull - shishi (battle with gbade.x)
am i supposed to explain that? well, bull can also be said to be a short form for bullsh*t.

do you listen to talib kweli, eminem, some songs of nas, etc. then you'll realize that altho we have a lot of unitelligent rappers out there, that dont mean real hip hop doesnt require some brain work.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by texazzpete(m): 4:21pm On Feb 06, 2007
@Sharetroll
there's an easy way to tell if rap needs no talent; get a microphone, a tape recorder and make some beats (or download pre-made ones) and rap. I mean it, just for kicks.
Think you can easily replicate what's out there? think again.

There's a whole lot of different ideas out there about what kind of music is best. I lov erap music, but i don't mind listening to Enya once in a while, and i absolutely love Disney soundtracks. Not everyone who loves rap music is a gangster.
Like someone said here, one man's meat is another man's poison. Different strokes for different folks. I expect any educated person to know this.

On the flip side, i have a problem with the attitude of many people on nairaland like yourself. You start a topic, ending your intro post with the word 'Discuss' then you show no desire to listen to any conflicting views, instead trying to force your strong anti-rap views on others.
many of your betters have spoken against rap music, proclaiming it unpleasing to the ear. The same allegation is usually directed against Rock/Metal. However, what no one else does is to accuse rap music of being a zero-talent shebang. How myopic can you get?

sharetroll:

and any ape can belt out a few lovey-dovey words and claim to be giving out classical music. next time you want to prove a point, record something with a beat and upload an mp3 file so we can listen to you. alternatively, you can upload a youtube video.

Stop being an attention seeker and keep your taste in music to yourself!
What next? Boradway vs Hollywood? Opera vs Rock?
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by gbadex1(m): 7:31pm On Feb 06, 2007
Hahahahahahahahahaha!!!

Lol @ texazzpete, you hit the nail on the head! Lame-ass dude called sharetroll is truly pathetic. Creating dumbass topics just to gain attention. . . yo, why don't i see u often on them other boards, only the Technology section??

@ Eurphoria:

what it is, ma?

@ naijafan:

lol, keep it pimpin', pimpin'. I don't need ta waste ma time educating this dude. Dude's absolutely ignorant.

@ sharetroll:

dude, u might as well be standing in front of me and i'd tell you as it is: you are a prejudiced asswipe who is totally ignorant and doesn't know jack about Hiphop and i bet, also ignorant of Classic music.

I can also bet it, you started this dumb topic and mentioned Classical music just to make yourself look "sophisticated" and important.

Keep loving yourself abnormally. There's a diagnosis for your medical condition. It's called A.E.S.A.K (Auto Erotic Self Ass kissing)
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by naijafan(m): 7:36pm On Feb 06, 2007
@texazzpete

i'ma use gbade.x's words. Right on point.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by Christino(m): 8:06pm On Feb 06, 2007
I'm highly disappointed this thread is still on, is the dude bringing the Circus to Nairaland?

Glad you studied stuffs bout Classical, hope you go into it soonest. when you get broke, ask Alicia keys what she did with her study of classical Piano grin

And don't forget her[b] collabo with NAs, the Warrior Song[/b].

Like Eminem said: Limp Bizkit, NObody listen to Techno, but I won't say nobody listen to classical shocked

On my deathbed I had loads of those classical tracks, isht man, those songs take you straight to heaven, then one beautiful morning, i pushed those songs aside and reverted to my main man Tupac Shakur with "Life Goes On!" I ain't seen no classical track coming close to that!

And by the way Sharetroll,
Tell me, is RAP just about rhyming? then that's some acapella you are talking of, because 99.9% of RAP comes with a soundtrack and you can't tell me those soundtracks came from heaven, some of them, even originally classical like 'See you when you get there by COolio", see we need some quality classical tracks from your peeps so we can make platinum music sampling on those grin

And then to make it worse, my lil knowledge of classical, its just about sequencing and varying keys and tones and i can easily write a program (like 4 lines of code) and give you something that can match if not surpass all o' what Mozart did in his lifetime. Scattering the keyboard and playing pranks on Violin and you have the right to tell me Nas' I Can was not a masterpiece? (the soundtrack of course was classical sef)! You better wake up, Classical is DEAD!!! Hip hop's taking over, the earlier you realize the better for you else, you end up with elephants, snakes and apes in the circus!!! tongue

Telling me Bull ish RAP requires zero creativity then what the heck is classical without INSTRUMENTALS! shocked Ask Timbaland, Dre, P.Diddy and R.Kelly how they do it. OLODO!!!

Hope you also dress like Ludwig Van. . . grin grin grin
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by Eurphoria(f): 8:23pm On Feb 06, 2007
lol lmao nuff said .

tex,naijafan, christino, gbade --------ouch!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by sharetroll(m): 8:32pm On Feb 06, 2007
Eurphoria:

lol lmao nuff said .

tex,naijafan, christino, gbade --------ouch!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah, my feelings are truly hurt on a messageboard, LOL

You guys should stop getting all butt-hurt, when one gives his/her opinion. I took CLASSICAL ARTS last semester at the U. Never claimed to be a "connasieur". You guys should cease to spew nonsence.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by gbadex1(m): 8:40pm On Feb 06, 2007
you are the one spewing nonsense, dumbass clown.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by WesleyanA(f): 8:42pm On Feb 06, 2007
posh, sophisticated, wealthy people listen to classical music so therefore it must be the best genre? <----- are you implying this, sharetroll. undecided

that's really shallow in my opinion.
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by sharetroll(m): 8:44pm On Feb 06, 2007
gbade. x:

Summary of my posts:

- Classical music better than rap (MY OPINION)

- Rap doesn't require any real talent (MY OPINION)

- You can't group all rap in the same category (mainstream) (MY OPINION)

- Some genres I considered better than rap.

Never said rap was bad. . . . . .

problem?
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by sharetroll(m): 8:48pm On Feb 06, 2007
gbade. x:

OK, Internet "gangsta".
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by sharetroll(m): 8:50pm On Feb 06, 2007
Like most of you, I enjoy all genres of music (except bluegrass). I even posted my interests in Kanye West (apparently overlooked).
Re: Classical Music Is Better Than Rap by sharetroll(m): 8:58pm On Feb 06, 2007
So tell me, Who is really OWNING who?

10 Ways To Create A Nigerian Hit Song / "Commando" - Wizkid X Mut4y X Ceeza Milli (Video) / Checkout Zinoleesky Complete Biography

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 66