Stats: 3,158,673 members, 7,837,483 topics. Date: Thursday, 23 May 2024 at 04:33 AM

My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes - Food - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes (5926 Views)

IJEOMA'S SEAFOOD - Tasty Sand Free Oron Crayfish In Jumbo Bags / IJEOMA'S SEAFOOD-Oron Crayfish With 10 Free Pieces of Catfish / How To Make Seafood Okra (photos) (2) (3) (4)

My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 1:46pm On Feb 19, 2018
So a few weeks ago, a lady called me as usual to order for seafood. She asked what kinds of seafood I had and I gave her my list including prawns, calamari, lobsters et al. The only problem was that she didn't quite know what exactly she could make with this, and I believe a lot of Nigerians have this same challenge.

We love seafood, yes, but oya what do we cook it withor how do we even make? In fact, beyond prawns, people don't even know what to use other seafood like calamari and lobsters for. In that light I will be sharing 7 of my favorite seafood delicacies and their recipes. Stay glued and please share yours too.

Meanwhile don't forget to call me or send me a whatsapp chat via 09091772274 if you need seafood wink

Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 1:58pm On Feb 19, 2018
Let's start with the most popular - Seafood Okra grin grin

Stewed Seafood Okra recipe is basically a Nigerian Okra soup dish. It is a fusion of Okra, Seafood and spicy pepper sauce. You will love love this meal, trust me!

I'll share steps below

Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 2:00pm On Feb 19, 2018
Ingredients

-30-40 pieces of Okra

-1 big piece Fish of your choice( I’m using Tilapia)

-6-8 Crab Claws or 4 Medium Crabs

-3 Cups Mixed Seafood

-1 Cooking Spoon Palm Oil

-2-3 Cups Meat/Seafood Stock (Seafood stock ideally but we can break the rule on this occasion) <grin

-1 Red Bell Pepper ( Tatashe)

-3 Scotch Bonnet (Atarodo)

-1 Big Onion

-2-3 pieces Stockfish

-3 Heaped Tablespoons Ground Crayfish

-2 Tablespoon Locust Beans (Iru)

-1 Maggi Crayfish or other Bouillon Cube of your choice

-Soup Seasoning of your choice ( I’m using Aromat seasoning)

-1 Tablespoon Garlic Powder

-Salt to taste

Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 2:01pm On Feb 19, 2018
Preparation:

Firstly, properly scrub and clean the crab claws if you’re using any as the shells harbour all sorts of dirt. I scrubbed mine with a little kitchen brush. also, remember to devien your prawns and clean them up. Then, marinate all the seafood and fish. To marinate the crab claws, crack the shells in one of two places, this is so the marinade can penetrate into the meat…
Then mix some seasoning with salt and garlic powder, rub the seafood with this and chuck in the fridge overnight. Do the same with the fish but mix with a little bit of olive oil as well, and toss in the fridge overnight… This is quite necessary if you’re cooking Tilapia, Tilapia is quite a bland and almost naturally tasteless.
Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 2:01pm On Feb 19, 2018
cook, blend the Tatashe, 2 Rodo and 1/2 of the Onion till smooth and set aside.

Wash the Okra thoroughly, blend or grate 1/4 of the Okra roughly and chop the rest a bit chunky (Blend the entire Okra roughly if you don’t fancy chewy Okra soup) also chop 1 Atarodo and set aside…

Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 2:02pm On Feb 19, 2018
Get a big size pot, set on a hob on medium heat, add the chopped onions, sauté till fragrant. Then add the locust beans and 1 tablespoon crayfish, sauté for a minute

Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 2:03pm On Feb 19, 2018
Next, add the blended pepper, Maggi crayfish and fry for 10-12 minutes…

Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 2:04pm On Feb 19, 2018
Get another pot, add 3 cups of water, chopped onions, add salt, garlic powder and your other seasoning, bring to a rolling boil , throw in the Stockfish and cook for 5 minutes or until the Stockfish become slightly tender, by then it would have released some flavour into the stock. Taste your stock as it needs to be well seasoned, if you haven’t got chicken or beef stock available, you’ll be using the stock later.

Nothing beats the flavour of stockfish in soups…

Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 2:07pm On Feb 19, 2018
When it’s tender, add the crab claws and cook for 7 minutes. After 7 minutes, add the rest of the seafood and crayfish, cook for 5 minutes.

Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 2:09pm On Feb 19, 2018
boiling here, I took the pot off the heat to take the photo as the steam was interfering with the picture quality…
After 3 minutes, pour the cooked seafood into a colander and set the stock aside.

When the pepper has fried and oil has settled on the top as pictured below:

Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 5:23pm On Feb 20, 2018
You like?
Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Omololu2121: 4:18am On Feb 21, 2018
Speak2klein:
You like?
sure I do,but I no sabi cook angry
Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by JustCryptos: 3:38pm On Feb 21, 2018
Speak2klein:
You like?
Oga you loss your phone?
Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by mrjubril(m): 9:52pm On Sep 02, 2018
Nice one
Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 9:35am On May 12, 2020
Do you guys know Ukang?

Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Torie8(f): 11:47am On May 12, 2020
Speak2klein:
Do you guys know Ukang?
I don't know Ukang
Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 7:33pm On May 13, 2020
It's an Oron dish. Oron is a tribe in Akwa Ibom State. It is made as scent leaf stew.
Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Speak2klein: 5:29pm On May 23, 2020
DO you have a seafood recipe, please share.. I need to do some food discovery wink
Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Parmzhelp: 2:02am On May 28, 2020
Nice
Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Achievers0611: 10:32am On Jun 13, 2022
Achievers Seafood

We deal with all kind of oven dried fish, wholesale and retail. You can follow us on Fb….Arch_seafood
Ig….. Arch_seafood
You can contact us on

09066592243, 07033884039

Re: My 7 Favorite Nigerian Seafood Recipes by Achievers0611: 1:15pm On Jul 05, 2022
Achievers Seafood

We deal with all kind of oven dried fish, wholesale and retail.

Asa Fish
Sea white catfish
Pond catfish
Kpala fish
Snail
Ogbono
Crayfish
Powder crafish
Prawn
Powder prawn
Iru
Egusi seed
Red chillin pepper
Pepper soup spice
Palm oil

You can follow us on Fb….Arch_seafood
Ig….. Arch_seafood

09066592243, 07033884039

Cake Decor:how To Make Fondant Icing. / I Hate Beans / Making Of Peanuts For Marketing

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 21