Stats: 3,161,616 members, 7,847,574 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 09:10 PM

Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs (2159 Views)

Polish Choir Sings The Popular Yoruba Song "Ka Bi Osi O". Very Uplifting Song. / The Fifth Kingdom(of God) In The Bible Prophecy Of The Book "DANIEL 2" Is Islam! / Are Gays Demons In Human Form (2) (3) (4)

Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by naijamini(m): 2:49pm On May 22, 2010
For your hilarious relaxation at the end of a week of hard work the caucasians in this video sing at RCCG in almost "flawless" Yoruba. Enjoy it. They need more lessons with the dancing though - completely out of tune grin

On the Serious Side:
1. The effort those caucasians put into fulfilling their mission must have been incredible. You can tell by the joy & relish with which they performed it - no mind the dancing.
2. The singer's understanding of the first song (Ki lo le se, Olorun mi) is obviously different from the way many Nigerians understand this song. For the difference listen to her comment somewhere in the middle of the song where she says:

"He has a plan for you, NOW he wants YOU TO TAKE HOLD OF THAT PLAN". Big difference if you know what I mean.

To Nigerians one and all this is the role of God in your life to use an example:
1. If you are hungry God is not going to make food jump in your mouth - that is your responsibility.
2. If food is not on your table God is not going to put food on it - that too is your responsibility.
3. If you don't have money for food, God WILL NOT bring food to your house - that too is your responsibility
4. God will not go to the farm for you or go to work for you - your responsibility sir/ma
5. If you do plant casava or okra God has put plans in place for rain, but that plan is not fool proof and when it fails he expects you to irrigate
And so on and so forth.

[center][flash=450,350]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Of_sRHlCk-c&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xd0d0d0&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1[/flash][/center]

@Aisha2
This post was really about Nigerian politics (see the line highlighted below). All the other things are the means of conveying this message to the reader. I thought someone might miscontrue it for a real religious or entertainment post, but from the comments you can see that at least one person located the main message. I am not into providing entertainment per se.  The message is a serious one. Please don't move this one - I changed the title a little. Thanks.

What am I saying: God would not do for you what you can do for yourself, he rewards efforts, he pays attention to the individual condition, but is not partial. [size=14pt]He lets those that refuse to learn from their mistakes continue to suffer the consequences. I have heard that if someone else can do it on the planet it is unlikely that he will step in on your behalf. He doesnt't like it when people close their eyes to HOW and continue asking him to do it for them. He especially dislikes those who cooperate with or otherwise enable those who keep them down, while they shout for help.[/size]

The destiny of man is to populate and take care of the earth - the children are the God-appointed responsibility of the adults. How man does it is up to him and would determine whether he destroys himself in the process or not.

Don't wait for manna from heaven (in the thousand years of human history, such occurences can be counted on the fingers of one hand). Here is another one for you to enjoy.

[center][flash=450,350]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rLWrsfcMy0I&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xd0d0d0&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1[/flash][/center]
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by naijamini(m): 3:36pm On May 22, 2010
For those wondering Aisha2 moved the original here: https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-449688.0.html#msg6075339
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by EzeUche(m): 4:58pm On May 22, 2010
Shouldn't this be in the culture section?

I don't really care if an Oyibo can sing a Yoruba song.  undecided
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by naijamini(m): 5:56pm On May 22, 2010
No.

Duly noted. However, the message was not about Yoruba culture - but as expected you are fixated on the word "Yoruba". Now go find another place to set your tribal fire. cool
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by PapaBrowne(m): 6:46pm On May 22, 2010
EzeUche:

Naaa. . . it shouldn't!! I think. . . . although it might appear religious, it is actually a political topic since the entirety of the post mirrors to a large extent the reason why most Nigerians and indeed Africans still suffer poverty. I always say poverty is a mindset and the best tool to fix it is enlightenment.

To Nigerians one and all this is the role of God in your life to use an example:
1. If you are hungry God is not going to make food jump in your mouth - that is your responsibility.
2. If food is not on your table God is not going to put food on it - that too is your responsibility.
3. If you don't have money for food, God WILL NOT bring food to your house - that too is your responsibility
4. God will not go to the farm for you or go to work for you - your responsibility sir/ma
5. If you do plant casava or okra God has put plans in place for rain, but that plan is not fool proof and when it fails he expects you to irrigate
And so on and so forth.

True!!
I like this topic because it engages a philosophy that has so gained ground in Nigeria where people are wont to expect God to fix all our problems without us having any input whatsoever. It almost begs the question why we have a brain at all.
The philosophy prescribes that if we have bad government, we should do nothing and leave it in the hands of God.If we have no jobs, we should do nothing, but pray and wait for an answer.
God gave us a brain with extraordinary capacity so we can create solutions to existing problems.
The more problems a society has, the more opportunities within it.

Truth is, until we begin to take our destinies in our hands and impact our little spheres of influence, we would remain complainants and expectationists for decades to come and Nigeria as a society would be worse off with no escape for the teeming populace.

Nairaland for instance is a marvellous platform where ideas should flow freely and enhance creation of solutions to our existing problems, but naaaaaaaa. . . . . we would rather use it to complain about government and bash ourselves with silly tribal sentiments while we wait on God to solve our problems. He would, but only when we start fixing ourselves.
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by blacksta(m): 7:31pm On May 22, 2010
My God - Most Nigerians suffer from serious inferiority complex - What is the big deal with Non Nigerian signing in one's local dialect. I find the whole thing disgusting and wonder why a church will drag itself so low to amuse it followers instead of addressing real issues. Church is not a social club. I am sure many here can sing songs in french, chinese or other Non Nigerian languages.
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by EzeUche(m): 7:36pm On May 22, 2010
^^^^^^

Gbam!

Yoruba people getting excited because a white person is singing their song. SO what? We sing in English and you don't see English people getting excited. lol

Nigerians and their inferiority complex indeed.
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by PapaBrowne(m): 7:54pm On May 22, 2010
blacksta:

My God - Most Nigerians suffer from serious inferiority complex - What is the big deal with Non Nigerian signing in one's local dialect. I find the whole thing disgusting and wonder why a church will drag itself so low to amuse it followers instead of addressing real issues. Church is not a social club. I am sure many here can sing songs in french, chinese or other Non Nigerian languages.

Really?? I beg to differ and I wonder somewhat how it connotes inferiority complex!
French and Chinese are universal languages! Yoruba is not.
If a black man is caught singing in Icelandic especially when he hasn't lived in Iceland, it surely would amuse the Icelander.
Beyonce sang the Nigerian national anthem in Lagos and people were in tears. I was in a Femi Kuti concert in a Central European country and you should see how excited the crowd got anytime he identifies with their language!!
It's a natural thing! I don't see where inferiority complex comes in.

Asides, I don't think the post is so much about the video(I haven't watched it), but about Nigerians getting up to fix our problems!
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by Nobody: 7:58pm On May 22, 2010
naijamini:

For those wondering Aisha2 moved the original here: https://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-449688.0.html#msg6075339
please tell me what this has to do with with politics? I will move again and please do not it post here again.
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by naijamini(m): 11:17pm On May 22, 2010
blacksta:

You completely missed the message. I am not excited by it, but I admire the effort they put into it, that is not the same as being excited by it. The church members were certainly excited because they were probably not expecting it.

Focus on my message man!

Jesus said quote; "The kingdom of God is like leaven, which a woman took and hid in three large measures of flour, until the whole mass was fermented." This is no kingdom of God message and I am no Jesus, but the leaven being small inside the three large measures of flour is my message.
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by Zodiac61(m): 11:38pm On May 22, 2010
I fail to see the point of this post. A white woman singing in Yoruba - big bloody deal  undecided undecided undecided undecided
Are christians so desperate that they will seize on anything as proof of the existence of god?? What is so special about her singing in a Nigerian language that necessitates the title "role of god in human affairs."
Are we so dumb that we fail to realise that people learn languages and you do not need god to do so. 
I speak English and I am Yoruba (Praise the lord, god is great - Zodiac can speak English). And to top it all, I have a friend who does not believe in god - she speaks English, Spanish and German. Guess what, she is Yoruba too. I guess she will wow the fools who attend the Holy goat ghost night into thinking god is even greater than they think he is.
Stories and posts like this just show believers to be stu.pid and gullible.
I fear for Nigeria, so much in thrall to Adeboye and his ilk.  undecided undecided undecided cry cry cry cry
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by naijamini(m): 11:48pm On May 22, 2010
Please read above post.

The message is not about the singing really, it is about one of the fundamental problems that afflict Nigeria today - putting all the excuse for our indolence or, if you care, sometimes wickedness on God. The singing was a vehicle and the reason it was posted was that the woman provided the correct interpretation of the song, a point that many Nigerians miss!

We cannot be entirely sure of the nature of God - but you better believe that in whatever form there is a higher form of life somewhere in this universe. The way I see it we are like a self-conscious robot who is incapable of fully comprehending his origins, his environments and his destiny.

As for those claiming to represent God I have no idea whether they are truly his representatives, but some of their actions provide cause for doubt.

Zodiac61:

I fail to see the point of this post. A white woman singing in Yoruba - big bloody deal  undecided undecided undecided undecided
Are christians so desperate that they will seize on anything as proof of the existence of god?? What is so special about her singing in a Nigerian language that necessitates the title "role of god in human affairs."
Are we so dumb that we fail to realise that people learn languages and you do not need god to do so. 
I speak English and I am Yoruba (Praise the lord, god is great - Zodiac can speak English). And to top it all, I have a friend who does not believe in god - she speaks English, Spanish and German. Guess what, she is Yoruba too. I guess she will wow the fools who attend the Holy goat ghost night into thinking god is even greater than they think he is.
Stories and posts like this just show believers to be stu.pid and gullible.
I fear for Nigeria, so much in thrall to Adeboye and his ilk.  undecided undecided undecided cry cry cry cry
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by Zodiac61(m): 12:16am On May 23, 2010
naijamini:

We cannot be entirely sure of the nature of God - but you better believe that in whatever form there is a higher form of life somewhere in this universe. The way I see it we are like a self-conscious robot who is incapable of fully comprehending his origins, his environments and his destiny.
If you wish to wallow in your ignorance and lack of curiosity, fine, but please, speak for yourself. You may be god's robot, I am not.
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by Zodiac61(m): 2:55am On May 23, 2010
becomrich7:

the big deal is her Yoruba is flawless. If you did not see the video and just listen to the song. you would think , the singer was a yoruba
I detect racism here. She is white, therefore, should be incapable of speaking flawless Yoruba. Please, get real, there is nothing unusual about non natives speaking another language flawlessly. Quite a lot of Nigerians speak flawless English, you know. The natives do not consider it a big deal.
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by naijamini(m): 5:04am On May 23, 2010
Zodiac61:

If you wish to wallow in your ignorance and lack of curiosity, fine, but please, speak for yourself. You may be god's robot, I am not.

First, that was an analogy which applies only to the aspect in my statement. My statement has nothing to with God but our state of knowledge of past, self, environment and ultimate end.

Perhaps you already have the answers to the fundamental questions:

1. Why are we here?
2. What happens after death?
3. What is out there in the rest of the vast universe?

If so please share. Otherwise come down from your high horse - not necessarily fo believe in God but at least to acknowledge that since you don't have all the answers it is a possibility that there is someone out there with the answers.
Re: Caucasian Woman Sings Yoruba Song "flawlessly" - Role of God in Human Affairs by naijamini(m): 5:14am On May 23, 2010
Zodiac61:

I detect racism here. She is white, therefore, should be incapable of speaking flawless Yoruba. Please, get real, there is nothing unusual about non natives speaking another language flawlessly. Quite a lot of Nigerians speak flawless English, you know. The natives do not consider it a big deal.

You are adressing the wrong issue. It was a big deal to those in the church because these were not known Yoruba speakers. You can also tell that she put in great effort specifically for the songs - she said everything else in English. At the most basic level when non-natives breakout in another language the natives are usually delighted - everywhere on the globe.

One more thing, if you saw racism in those reactions then you don't know what the term implies!

Church Billboards Must Now Carry Pictures Of Pastor & Pastor Mrs?? / 5 Reasons Atheists Need A Separate Board (why Xtians Should Be Happy We Dont) / Reasons Why It Is Sinful For Pastors To Be Guarded By Armed Security

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58