Stats: 3,154,512 members, 7,823,197 topics. Date: Friday, 10 May 2024 at 06:31 AM

My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome - Gaming - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Gaming / My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome (5314 Views)

Biggest Regret With Soso Games Of Lagos / Get Your PS4 Digital Games And PS Plus At A Very Cheap Price / PS4 Owners Dilemma With Data Sucking Updates Of Games And Patches (2) (3) (4)

My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by JeromeBlack: 5:22am On Jun 20, 2018
In Nigeria, very few businesses understand customer care. It is very unfortunate to see many good businesses ruined by poor customer care. And yes, this story I am about to tell is a tale of poor customer care.

Soso Games is a physical and online retail store for videogames and accessories. They usually have okay prices and their delivery is fast if you live in an area close to their physical store in Ikeja. I helped a friend who live around Ikeja to order a game and it came the very next day.

My own problems with this Videogame store started 2 months ago when I ordered a game from this videogame store. I ordered Pro Evolution Soccer 2018 from their online store on Konga. However, it was a different game I received from them the next day- FIFA 2018. To those that know their football games, this is quite an insult- it is like asking for Messi and receiving Ronaldo. Or worse, it is like asking for Chelsea Jersey and receiving Manchester United jersey.

The issue now was to call for them to make a correction with the delivery. I made the call to the store and the staff that answered sounded apologetic but never said the word "sorry". Worse off, I had to keep calling to know when the replacement delivery will arrive as I had work and needed to plan ahead to be available to receive the replacement. Every time I called, the same staff acted as if I was an annoyance. The staff never called me. I had to be the one calling and spending my own credit until they confirmed that the replacement delivery would arrive within the following 2 days (from when I made the call).

The replacement delivery arrived two days later and I was able to exchange the FIFA game for the PES game I originally ordered. But my troubles didnt end there........

Two months later, I wanted to buy a particular videogame called Killzone Shadowfall (aka called Killzone 4). This game came out in 2014. I checked Soso games' website and they had it in stock. I was around Ikeja at the time and so, I felt it would be quicker to buy the game physically from their store in Ogba. There would be no need to wait a day or two for the delivery.

So, I drove down to their store in Ogba. There were two young men as staff in the store but they said that they couldn't sell anything to me as they had a boss that is in charge of the sales. The boss was in the mosque (it was a friday) and so, I had to wait for him. I agreed to wait on the condition that they let me play FIFA on their PS4 in store to kill time. I waited and played FIFA for almost 30 minutes before the boss arrived.

When the boss arrived, he offered no apology for the time i had to wait (I did not take it to heart because I felt that he was worshipping his God). When I then asked for the videogame (Killzone 4), the boss quickly said that the videogame had not been released! I calmly told him that the game was out- which he still disagreed with. I then had to laugh and tell him that the game came out in 2014. He then checked his computer and then saw that it was out. He then tried to claim that i did not pronounce the name of the game right. I told him that I pronounced it right.

It gets worse. He then says that the game is not in stock. I then asked why would they then claim that it is in stock on their website. He didnt answer me. I then told him that this is how his store also delivered the wrong game to me two months ago. His reply was "I can't remember, we have many customers". Note that he didn't say "sorry" after hearing that my order was mixed up.

Not wanting my fuel that I had wasted driving to the store to be in vain, I decided to at least buy a shooter or shooting game (referred to as FPS or First Person Shooter). I asked the guy which first person shooters they have because I was willing to buy any good one. He tells me to check the site (remember that we just established that the site lies about which games they have in stock). I then told him that I would like to see his physical inventory to make up my mind. I wanted to see the games that they held in stock physically. He said that he cannot show me the stock that I have to tell the name of the game that I want to buy. It was at this point that I could take no more and told him that I would buy a game from Jumia or Konga from another retailer. He then quickly ran to his back room to bring some games they had in stock for me to select from.

I bought Call Of Duty WW2 for 17 thousand Naira (the game was actually 16.5k but he told me 17k). I did not have cash and they did not have a POS machine. I asked if they did transfer and yes, they did. I got their account and transferred. I asked the guy to be checking for alert so that I could go once the transfer has been confirmed from my end. The guy was not even checking. I had to constantly remind him until it was confirmed.

It is safe to say that I will not buy anything from SOSO Games again. They have a good business model but an awful customer care. Very unprofessional staff. How can a company that sells videogames have sales staff that know nothing about videogames? The also have no respect for customers. I don't know why Nigerian businesses never train their employees on how to treat customers. This is how Nigerian businesses lose money because I will go back to my old ways of buying games from abroad. I hope other people do not buy stuff from Soso Games so that they will learn.

cc Cao, Lalasticlala

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Thegamingorca(m): 6:32am On Jun 20, 2018
JeromeBlack:
In Nigeria, very few businesses understand customer care. It is very unfortunate to see many good businesses ruined by poor customer care. And yes, this story I am about to tell is a tale of poor customer care.

Soso Games is a physical and online retail store for videogames and accessories. They usually have okay prices and their delivery is fast if you live in an area close to their physical store in Ikeja. I helped a friend who live around Ikeja to order a game and it came the very next day.

My own problems with this Videogame store started 2 months ago when I ordered a game from this videogame store. I ordered Pro Evolution Soccer 2018 from their online store on Konga. However, it was a different game I received from them the next day- FIFA 2018. To those that know their football games, this is quite an insult- it is like asking for Messi and receiving Ronaldo. Or worse, it is like asking for Chelsea Jersey and receiving Manchester United jersey.

The issue now was to call for them to make a correction with the delivery. I made the call to the store and the staff that answered sounded apologetic but never said the word "sorry". Worse off, I had to keep calling to know when the replacement delivery will arrive as I had work and needed to plan ahead to be available to receive the replacement. Every time I called, the same staff acted as if I was an annoyance. The staff never called me. I had to be the one calling and spending my own credit until they confirmed that the replacement delivery would arrive within the following 2 days (from when I made the call).

The replacement delivery arrived two days later and I was able to exchange the FIFA game for the PES game I originally ordered. But my troubles didnt end there........

Two months later, I wanted to buy a particular videogame called Killzone Shadowfall (aka called Killzone 4). This game came out in 2014. I checked Soso games' website and they had it in stock. I was around Ikeja at the time and so, I felt it would be quicker to buy the game physically from their store in Ogba. There would be no need to wait a day or two for the delivery.

So, I drove down to their store in Ogba. There were two young men as staff in the store but they said that they couldn't sell anything to me as they had a boss that is in charge of the sales. The boss was in the mosque (it was a friday) and so, I had to wait for him. I agreed to wait on the condition that they let me play FIFA on their PS4 in store to kill time. I waited and played FIFA for almost 30 minutes before the boss arrived.

When the boss arrived, he offered no apology for the time i had to wait (I did not take it to heart because I felt that he was worshipping his God). When I then asked for the videogame (Killzone 4), the boss quickly said that the videogame had not been released! I calmly told him that the game was out- which he still disagreed with. I then had to laugh and tell him that the game came out in 2014. He then checked his computer and then saw that it was out. He then tried to claim that i did not pronounce the name of the game right. I told him that I pronounced it right.

It gets worse. He then says that the game is not in stock. I then asked why would they then claim that it is in stock on their website. He didnt answer me. I then told him that this is how his store also delivered the wrong game to me two months ago. His reply was "I can't remember, we have many customers". Note that he didn't say "sorry" after hearing that my order was mixed up.

Not wanting my fuel that I had wasted driving to the store to be in vain, I decided to at least buy a shooter or shooting game (referred to as FPS or First Person Shooter). I asked the guy which first person shooters they have because I was willing to buy any good one. He tells me to check the site (remember that we just established that the site lies about which games they have in stock). I then told him that I would like to see his physical inventory to make up my mind. I wanted to see the games that they held in stock physically. He said that he cannot show me the stock that I have to tell the name of the game that I want to buy. It was at this point that I could take no more and told him that I would buy a game from Jumia or Konga from another retailer. He then quickly ran to his back room to bring some games they had in stock for me to select from.

I bought Call Of Duty WW2 for 17 thousand Naira (the game was actually 16.5k but he told me 17k). I did not have cash and they did not have a POS machine. I asked if they did transfer and yes, they did. I got their account and transferred. I asked the guy to be checking for alert so that I could go once the transfer has been confirmed from my end. The guy was not even checking. I had to constantly remind him until it was confirmed.

It is safe to say that I will not buy anything from SOSO Games again. They have a good business model but an awful customer care. Very unprofessional staff. How can a company that sells videogames have sales staff that know nothing about videogames? The also have no respect for customers. I don't know why Nigerian businesses never train their employees on how to treat customers. This is how Nigerian businesses lose money because I will go back to my old ways of buying games from abroad. I hope other people do not buy stuff from Soso Games so that they will learn.

cc Cao, Lalasticlala

Yes
Dey don't know about games but have made millions from it. I bought half of my game collection from them. And dey delivered well.

Back then I used to order from them but I've come to realise eons ago that it's far cheaper to order from amazon directly . When I even ordered dey only collect my money at the pickup here in kano. I fell in love with their trust in me as a distanced gamer to pay up after doorstep delivery here in kano and i ordered most of my games from them as a result. The last I ordered sef was nier automata.

Not that I have any agreement with you on where you stand for customer service. Me I don't blame them actually. Cos not everyone is a gamer(even you sef never play better games since nah kill zone you dey trip for of 5yrs duration). There are ppl who can vouch for them being the best game retailers in naija, myself included. So forget that ish that you need to be pampered and told sorry to every once in a while.

Still on the game knowledge issue. I noticed he was trying to sell uc4 to me back in 2016 . And was really hinting on interesting grin I, being an rpg fan just laughed and said what other games do you have. grin I also remember advicing billyamin and rahoof2 (ceos of sosogames) to order goty editions of the witcher 3 and did so without hesitation. Though, I'm pretty sure it didn't sell well for them here. Cos when I subsequently made another request on complete edition of dark souls 3. grin the guy was like there is no fire fades edition of ds3 that I should just buy the plain dlc less vanilla own. He did similarly too b4 I was forced to order hzd complete edition from amazon.
It's possible they also had bad experiences with Nigerians like you so I won't blame them for poor hospitable care. This is lagos after all.

I still love them and recommend anyone to them anytime any day.

Concerning their website, they dont know how to update and remove some games that's why it's like that. You sef that is looking for Killzone Shadowfall. You can't find a good new cd in naija again oh. You will have to order on amazon like the rest of us.
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Thegamingorca(m): 6:54am On Jun 20, 2018
Not just me sha other good ppl of this forum can vouch for them during their trying times.

Cc steevy, tzizu, tobianthony, rezy15, charlesbro, ogongogames, sholzbankz, lalatohbadt, hamzeeto and innumerable offline gamers I've interacted with outside Nairaland.

In fact your write up has gayish vibes in it. angry

Sosogames is the best retailer in naija. You can't take it from them. Stop calling Cao like she's at your beck and call or has ever dealt with sosogames b4 angry

As for elastic lala. Im sure he thinks ps4 is maybe another specie of python.

Then again I can't imagine why dey won't let you into their warehouse. When you asked initially. Maybe you gave the vibe of not being interested on buying anything. But came to laugh at their poor knowledge base.
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by JeromeBlack: 10:03am On Jun 20, 2018
Thegamingorca:

Yes
Dey don't know about games but have made millions from it. I bought half of my game collection from them. And dey delivered well.

Back then I used to order from them but I've come to realise eons ago that it's far cheaper to order from amazon directly . When I even ordered dey only collect my money at the pickup here in kano. I fell in love with their trust in me as a distanced gamer to pay up after doorstep delivery here in kano and i ordered most of my games from them as a result. The last I ordered sef was nier automata.

Not that I have any agreement with you on where you stand for customer service. Me I don't blame them actually. Cos not everyone is a gamer(even you sef never play better games since nah kill zone you dey trip for of 5yrs duration). There are ppl who can vouch for them being the best game retailers in naija, myself included. So forget that ish that you need to be pampered and told sorry to every once in a while.

Still on the game knowledge issue. I noticed he was trying to sell uc4 to me back in 2016 . And was really hinting on interesting grin I, being an rpg fan just laughed and said what other games do you have. grin I also remember advicing billyamin and rahoof2 (ceos of sosogames) to order goty editions of the witcher 3 and did so without hesitation. Though, I'm pretty sure it didn't sell well for them here. Cos when I subsequently made another request on complete edition of dark souls 3. grin the guy was like there is no fire fades edition of ds3 that I should just buy the plain dlc less vanilla own. He did similarly too b4 I was forced to order hzd complete edition from amazon.
It's possible they also had bad experiences with Nigerians like you so I won't blame them for poor hospitable care. This is lagos after all.

I still love them and recommend anyone to them anytime any day.

Concerning their website, they dont know how to update and remove some games that's why it's like that. You sef that is looking for Killzone Shadowfall. You can't find a good new cd in naija again oh. You will have to order on amazon like the rest of us.

First, I must thank you for your contribution to the issue.

I agree that their business model is solid (I even stated that in the op) however, I cannot feel positive about being disrespected over mistakes of the company that aren't my fault. I run my own business as well. It is not hard to train people to be professional in dealing with customers and other issues.

Concerning the issue of Killzone 4, I do not understand this backwards mentality of Nigeria. Must a customer buy new games only? Can't a customer have personal reasons for buying a game- personal reasons that do not concern the seller? I want to buy killzone 4 because I have played the sequels and I want to complete the series.

Again, thanks for your input

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by JeromeBlack: 10:28am On Jun 20, 2018
Thegamingorca:
Not just me sha other good ppl of this forum can vouch for them during their trying times.

Cc steevy, tzizu, tobianthony, rezy15, charlesbro, ogongogames, sholzbankz, lalatohbadt, hamzeeto and innumerable offline gamers I've interacted with outside Nairaland.

Sosogames is the best retailer in naija. You can't take it from them. Stop calling Cao like she's at your beck and call or has ever dealt with sosogames b4 angry

Then again I can't imagine why dey won't let you into their warehouse. When you asked initially. Maybe you gave the vibe of not being interested on buying anything. But came to laugh at their poor knowledge base.

I am truly surprised. This one that you are commenting twice and accusing me of being gay, are you sure that you are not an agent of So-so Games?

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by LZAA: 3:11pm On Jun 20, 2018
JeromeBlack:

cc Cao, Lalasticlala

Wow
This is deep ooo

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by JeromeBlack: 8:28pm On Jun 20, 2018
LZAA:

Wow
This is deep ooo

very deep

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by nelsonebby(m): 7:42am On Jun 21, 2018
JeromeBlack:

very deep
Forgive them. I visit their store too anytime I want to buy games
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by JeromeBlack: 8:22am On Jun 21, 2018
nelsonebby:

Forgive them. I visit their store too anytime I want to buy games

No problem. I will never buy from them again.

I can't force anyone to join me.

If you feel that they are good to you, then it is your right to buy as you please.

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Dokidoki: 10:11am On Jun 21, 2018
I have bought games from so-so all d way from adoekiti and I get delivery same day.
I usually order via WhatsApp chat because the website takes time.
Personally their customer care has okay,there was a day that my ordered game delivery was delayed for a day ,he called to apologize.
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by LZAA: 10:39am On Jun 21, 2018
JeromeBlack:

No problem. I will never buy from them again.

I can't force anyone to join me.

If you feel that they are good to you, then it is your right to buy as you please.
Bro biko forgive em
Them don use dia social media pips hia dy beg u
U know say gamers(serious) no too full naija and the market is in its infacy
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by JeromeBlack: 11:01am On Jun 21, 2018
LZAA:

Bro biko forgive em
Them don use dia social media pips hia dy beg u
U know say gamers(serious) no too full naija and the market is in its infacy

I don hear. cheesy

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Thegamingorca(m): 11:32am On Jun 21, 2018
JeromeBlack:

I don hear. cheesy

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by JeromeBlack: 12:11pm On Jun 21, 2018
Thegamingorca:

Wassap?
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by sod09(m): 12:30pm On Jun 24, 2018
JeromeBlack:

Wassap?
bros I'm surprised at what you said about so so games. It's may be a bad day for them or probably manner of approach,but I can assure you they are nice and honest.
They delivered my console to me at my office before the agreed time,I also almost had a ish with them one time which they handled very well
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by wman(m): 5:54pm On Jun 24, 2018
Learning from this.

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by crafteck(m): 6:45am On Jun 25, 2018
The problem is that u were expecting international standard from a local store that put up a face of a standard business. For the bros that said they've made millions from video games, this is Nigerian, no much money in cd sales, installers, hackers and jumia make the money, also people that sell used games as brand new by changing the case and carton as brand new via jumia are making the killing

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by frubben(m): 8:58am On Jun 28, 2018
JeromeBlack:

I am truly surprised. This one that you are commenting twice and accusing me of being gay, are you sure that you are not an agent of So-so Games?
I can bet my ass that he is one of there agent

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Thegamingorca(m): 2:37pm On Jun 28, 2018
frubben:
I can bet my ass that he is one of there agent

What will I do with your ass.

Stop being gay

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Nobody: 9:07am On Jun 29, 2018
Feel bad you man, people don't understand customer service is very important. You might be on top doesn't mean you'll forget the people that put you there "the customers".
Poster, instead of giving amazon sellers money, please buy the one in Nigeria, no matter how little it is, if everyone buys from amazon, what will the retailers here eat.

Warm regards
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Thegamingorca(m): 9:09am On Jun 29, 2018
jimihendrix:
Feel bad you man, people don't understand customer service is very important. You might be on top doesn't mean you'll forget the people that put you there "the customers".
Poster, instead of giving amazon sellers money, please buy the one in Nigeria, no matter how little it is, if everyone buys from amazon, what will the retailers here eat.

Warm regards

angry you want us to buy fake ps4 discs

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Nobody: 3:38pm On Jun 29, 2018
Thegamingorca:

Only in Nigeria do you see a customer complain about a retailer service and others bully him or her

What is wrong with you? You must be a sososgames staff hiding behind a second account

He made a legit complaint so if you have nothing to say go away

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Nobody: 3:39pm On Jun 29, 2018
jimihendrix:

Warm regards

Been hearing about this buying from Amazon directly and I am seriously considering it

Please help me list the pros and cons if you don't mind ?
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by steevy(m): 3:45pm On Jun 29, 2018
Hahahahahahaha, he is not o. I know the idiot. Na my guy. Please forgive him.

Lordlestat:

Only in Nigeria do you see a customer complain about a retailer service and others bully him or her

What is wrong with you? You must be a sososgames staff hiding behind a second account

Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Thegamingorca(m): 10:18pm On Jun 29, 2018
Lordlestat:

Uncle I did not bully him oh.

You need to get your cataracts fixed fa.
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Thegamingorca(m): 10:20pm On Jun 29, 2018
steevy:
Hahahahahahaha, he is not o. I know the idiot. Na my guy. Please forgive him.

Steevy, you be fool oh.

You and who be guyz grin

Give me that sow for 10k

Wetin carry our personal relationship come here.

Allow me make I enter this old fool. He has been begging for my attention since with all hin monikers. The nigga na salty fool grin
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Thegamingorca(m): 10:22pm On Jun 29, 2018
Lordlestat:

Been hearing about this buying from Amazon directly and I am seriously considering it

Please help me list the pros and cons if you don't mind ?

And old fool like lestat hasn't ordered from amazon b4 grin

Gamer indeed
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Nobody: 10:34pm On Jun 29, 2018
Thegamingorca:

And old fool like lestat hasn't ordered from amazon b4 grin

Gamer indeed

Nah men at least not here in nigeria
And yes gamer indeed I am the most prolific in Nigeria ask around my collection is unparalleled

Don't doubt that son grin
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Thegamingorca(m): 10:40pm On Jun 29, 2018
Lordlestat:

Nah men at least not here in nigeria
And yes gamer indeed I am the most prolific in Nigeria ask around my collection is unparalleled

Don't doubt that son grin

Imaginary collection. Nigga doesn't even game to start with.

There is a thin line btw this fool and bolajiflowshow.

Except bolaji is actually a gamer.
You aint
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Nobody: 11:54pm On Jun 29, 2018
Thegamingorca:

You aint

Hahahaa

Little do you know
Re: My Experience At Soso Games And The Nigerian "Customer Care" Syndrome by Nobody: 12:04am On Jun 30, 2018
Thegamingorca:

You aint

Stop using insultive words
If you can't type like a normal sane individual don't quote me again ..
If gaming has twisted your senses get them right

Calm the hell down gaming Isnt a career, I own every single game you could. Dream to have console and disc but yet I haven't had time to finish up to 10 games but that doesn't mean I should talk like my brains are all.mush

Don't quote me.again if you can't conduct yourself accordingly

ISSUES And SOLUTIONS To PES 2017 / Android Ppsspp Emulator Users Should Please Come In.... / Difference Between Xbox,xbox 360 And Ps3

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 148