Stats: 3,151,379 members, 7,812,108 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 08:23 AM

Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? (5233 Views)

Mike Bamiloye Has This For Nigerian Artistes Who Left Church For Secular Music / Lady Beaten And Injured In Taraba Church For Not Dressing Properly / Man Sent Out Of Lagos Church For Wearing This (Photo) (2) (3) (4)

Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Originakalokalo(m): 5:44am On Aug 25, 2019
Let's talk about spiritual babies.

Many Christians are spiritual babies after going to church for so many years.

Let's look at the characteristics of spiritual babies.

1. After so many years in church, they are still ignorant and are tossed to and fro by every wind of doctrine according to Ephesias 4:14.

Imagine a 20 year old adult still behaving like a baby? That's the condition of some people spiritually.

2. They are always learning, always going to church but not learning anything.

II Timothy 3:7 says that they are always learning, but never coming to the knowledge of the truth.

"always learning to learn nothing"

people are concern about a 25 years old man that is still crying unnecessarily like a child, Also, the spiritual world is taken by surprised at this spiritual babies.

They can be a deacon, pastor, elder, etc. It doesn't matter.

Anyone who has spent 5-20 years in the church and still keeping grudges for days, envying others, etc, is a spiritual baby.

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Originakalokalo(m): 5:52am On Aug 25, 2019
Let's look at another characteristics of a spiritual baby.

3. They are easily hurt like the physical babies.

A physical child would say..." Mummy My brother is looking at me......" and he begins to cry uncontrollably....

Many people who are supposed to be all grown in issues of God are still displaying this character.

For instance... " the pastor did not visit me"...." They don't have love in that church"...." The pastor does not recognize my effort"

The spiritual baby then decides to stop going to church because of these excuses above...even after spending years in the church?

Now, permit me to quote from I Corinthians 3:1-3.

1 Corinthians 3 (KJV)
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
¹ And I, brethren, could not speak unto you as unto spiritual, but as unto carnal, even as unto babes in Christ.

² I have fed you with milk, and not with meat: for hitherto ye were not able to bear it, neither yet now are ye able.

³ For ye are yet carnal: for whereas there is among you envying, and strife, and divisions, are ye not carnal, and walk as men?

You can see the characters of babies there?
Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Originakalokalo(m): 5:58am On Aug 25, 2019
Now, let's look at the characters of a spiritual man.

1. He is always growing up. He was a baby.....but not anymore. He is not ignorant of the word of God, he knows the truth and he is free as a result of this knowledge.

Babies cannot know the truth. You shall know the truth and it shall set you free.

2. They have fully functional spiritual eyes. They see into the spiritual world....they know their inheritance in Jesus. They know the length, depth and height of the love and power of God.

3. They esteem earthly things lightly. Jesus said that a man's life is not in the abundance of things he has. Its only spiritual men that believe this.

4. They are not easily distracted. Unlike babies who gives flimsy excuses and stop going to church.
Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Originakalokalo(m): 6:07am On Aug 25, 2019
Are you a spiritual baby even after spending so many years in church? like a 20 year old who is still crawling?

The spiritual world is pitiful of you.

There is danger in being a spiritual baby for too long....for babies are vulnerable. You don't have defence because you still practise things that rob you of your spiritual growth.

See this....

2 Peter 1 (KJV)
¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯
⁵ And beside this, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge;

⁶ And to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience godliness;

⁷ And to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity.

⁸ For if these things be in you, and abound, they make you that ye shall neither be barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

After you have given your life to Jesus for so long, and you have been in the church for this long,

You are expected to add to your faith GOODNESS.

and after a while you grow by adding Knowledge.

Then you add temperance to your life.....

Then you add patience......

Then you add godliness...

Then you become a spiritual man by being perfect in love.

This is spiritual growth.

How many of these do you now have after these long years in church?

If you have added nothing,

You are a spiritual baby.
Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by chiommy123(f): 6:07am On Aug 25, 2019
May God help us to become matured Christians not just in words but in deed too. The problem is carnality and selfishness, solution is the holy spirit.

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by ZoeyJ(f): 6:51am On Aug 25, 2019
most people go as a routine

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by nlPoster: 8:06am On Aug 25, 2019
The flesh is weak.

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by czarina(f): 9:36am On Aug 25, 2019
Me, I think I took the church matter too seriously one time, now I don't even want to go church anymore.

God help us all.

Check my profile. You need us to knead you smiley
Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by StrikeBack(m): 9:36am On Aug 25, 2019
Religion is not reflecting in our society

So what's the use

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by SultanOfAbia: 9:36am On Aug 25, 2019
Going to Church does not mean Serving God
Some people go to church to showcase Fashion
Some go to church to chase girls
Some go to church because they want to mingle
Some go to church just because its Sunday..duh
Some go to church because they were forced

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Elzakzaky: 9:39am On Aug 25, 2019
How e take concern you?

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by femi4: 9:40am On Aug 25, 2019
Spiritual maturity is about studying the scripture and applying it not going to Church for yrs

Its not how far...but how well

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Truefaith: 9:41am On Aug 25, 2019
Check this issue up with your Bible OPEN at
www.thetruechristianfaith.com
Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Isoduwa(m): 9:41am On Aug 25, 2019
The funny part is God don't see Nigerian as a country that's the problem �

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by geoworldedu: 9:42am On Aug 25, 2019
Do you mean church of Satan?

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Firstorderwizard(m): 9:45am On Aug 25, 2019
Isoduwa:
The funny part is God don't see Nigerian as a country that's the problem �

Rephrase please undecided
Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Isoduwa(m): 9:47am On Aug 25, 2019
Firstorderwizard:

Rephrase please undecided

You say wetin?

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Nobody: 9:51am On Aug 25, 2019

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Nobody: 10:04am On Aug 25, 2019
Is it all those that attend church regularly that grow?

If I may ask, what kind of growth are we talking about here?

Some one that just left church engage in verbal abuse with neighbor is that one growing? And people will say such person is a believer of Christ, many cases like that have made me believe that many churches are just for social gathering. The true teaching of Christ is not manifesting in their lives.

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Chibuzoc(m): 10:07am On Aug 25, 2019
We are all religious because we were born in a religious family.
You shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free.

Free yourself from religious bondage

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by joshjc(m): 10:15am On Aug 25, 2019
Going to church is not important,the most most important thing is how pure your heart is,love your neighbour and live a good life, don't be an hypocrite like most Nigeria Christians, they act as if they have no sin but they heart is filled with hatred and deceit

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by tstx(m): 10:19am On Aug 25, 2019
JUst Here to read LIES

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by shabachmore: 10:21am On Aug 25, 2019
There Is No Hell Fire Where Sinners Suffer In Eternity – Pope Francis

Continue reading at https://kogistatenews.com.ng/?p=489 | Kogi State News

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Mavrick2012: 10:39am On Aug 25, 2019
OP, that is not the main issue, if am hammering and giving fat tithe and offering, wetin concern me.
Abeg, make i go church come, Hanna , our church music assistant leader will be visiting today.
The grace of God covereth all our sins

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by BluntBoy(m): 10:49am On Aug 25, 2019
czarina:
Me, I think I took the church matter too seriously one time, now I don't even want to go church anymore.

God help us all.

Check my profile. You need us to knead you smiley

Good choice, in my opinion. However, provided that you study the Word and worship God in spirit and truth.

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by fortune1968: 10:49am On Aug 25, 2019
Unfortunately , Nigerian churches don't teach anything spiritual . Majority of them are hypocrites .A man doesn't need a church to grow in the spirit ; the core of man being spirit .The truth is already in you .It is left for everyone to abide by it .It is a truism that there is nowhere you come across the truth that you will not know it .To grow spiritually .just have a single and pure heart .Any evil will be conquered .

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by BluntBoy(m): 10:51am On Aug 25, 2019
joshjc:
Going to church is not important ,the most most important thing is our pure your heart is,love your neighbour and live a good life, don't be an hypocrite like most Nigeria Christians, they act as if they have no sin but they heart is filled with hatred and deceit

Excellent.

Going to church is merely a duty. It doesn't guarantee eternal life.
Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by adeniyi081(m): 10:57am On Aug 25, 2019
GOOD DAY MY BRETHREN, AM HAVING SOME BROILERS FOR SALE NOW UP TO 38 PIECES AND THEY ARE BIG FROM 2.1kg to 2.8kg, WE DO THE PROCESSING TOO, WE WILL DO THE FINISHING FOR YOU, AND IF YOU BUY FROM 5 PIECES YOU GET YOUR DISCOUNT, CALL ME NOW ON THIS NUMBER 08185121886 OR WHATSAPP ME THERE.
THANKS FOR YOUR PATRONAGE MAY ALLAH CONTINUE TO BLESS YOU ALL, PATRONIZR US NOW.
Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by boom99(m): 11:00am On Aug 25, 2019
Going to church has help my spiritual life no doubt ... it helped my early years largely. No sex, No alcohol, No smoking . Deeperlife try sha

Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by candidbabe(f): 11:01am On Aug 25, 2019
May God help me, for 3 months now I have not been to church .i think I need deliverance.
Re: Going To Church For Years: Are You Growing Spiritually? by Originakalokalo(m): 11:05am On Aug 25, 2019
It is dangerous to remain a spiritual baby for long.

Is there a change in your life? ever since you have been attending church services?

Jesus' Final Response To The Exaltation Of His Mother / 9 Months to the Rapture of the Sons of God (Rev. 12:5)! / What Did Jesus Do For A Living? What Was His Occupation?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 40