Stats: 3,154,490 members, 7,823,153 topics. Date: Friday, 10 May 2024 at 04:40 AM

Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife - Culture - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife (6340 Views)

Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque: The Last Igbo Minstrels / Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python / Son Of "Oliver De Coque" Thrills Guests At Anambra Cultural Carnival In Finland (2) (3) (4)

Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by Nobody: 5:59pm On Sep 18, 2019
Thinking:Chief Osita Osadebe and Oliver De coque who is the king of Igbo Highlife

When you look at the two, there music's have different pattern and rhythm but still wondering who can be regarded as the king of Igbo Highlife.

There biography in a bit

Chief Stephen Osita Osadebe AkA ( Osadebe, The Doctor of Hypertension)

March 1936 – May 11, 2007),[1] often referred to as just Osadebe, a Nigerian highlife musician from Atani. His career spanned over 40 years, and he is one of the best known Igbo highlife musicians. His best-known hit was the 1984 single "Osondi Owendi" (Igbo: One man's meat is another man's poison.), which established him as a leader in the highlife genre and was one of Nigeria's most popular records ever.

Osadebe was born in March 1936 in Igbo town of Atani in Southeastern Nigeria. He came from a line of singers and dancers in Igboland. His genre, Highlife, encompassed Igbo and traditional musical elements. Along with this, calypso, samba, bolero, rumba, jazz and waltz were also present in Osadebe's musical style. It was in his high school years in Onitsha, a major commercial city near Atani, that Osadebe grew interested in music.

Osadebe started his career singing at nightclubs in Lagos in the southwestern region of Nigeria. He had been a part of The Empire Rhythm Orchestra, led by E. C. Arinze in which he had learned much of his music skills. A prolific composer, Osadebe released his first album in 1958, and went on to write over 500 songs; half of which were released commercially. After stints with the Stephen Amache Band the Central Dance Band, in around 1964 Osadebe struck out as a bandleader with his group the Sound Makers.

His last album was Kedu America

He died at the age of 71

Chief (Dr) Oliver De Coque

Nigerian guitarist King (Dr.) Chief Oliver de Coque (born Oliver Sunday Akanite) is one of Africa's most prolific recording artists. Since releasing his debut album Messiah Messiah in 1977, Coque has recorded no fewer than 73 albums in his homeland. His dance-inspiring "Ogene" style of Nigerian high life, which blends modern high life and traditional Igbo music, has produced such hits as "Biri Ka Mbiri," "Ana Enwe," "Naukwa Mmwanwu," and "Identity," which remained on Radio Nigeria 2's Top Ten throughout most of 1981.

Playing music since the age of 11, Coque was taught to play the guitar by Piccolo, a Zairean guitarist living in Nigeria. Serving an apprenticeship with juju stars Sunny Agaga and Jacob Oluwale, he was a star by his late teens. Attracting international attention with a London performance in 1973, he played on Prince Nico Mbarga's album Sweet Mother four years later. Coque is often backed by his brother Eugene's Igede International Band.

He died at the age of 61.

Your opinion on this.....

1 Share

Re: Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by edo3(m): 6:02pm On Sep 18, 2019
I go for morocco,, I don't think i get d spelling ryt sha or sir warrior..
Re: Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by Nobody: 6:08pm On Sep 18, 2019
edo3:
I go for morocco,, I don't think i get d spelling ryt sha or sir warrior..

Haaa...

How can you compare Morocco to these ones..

Morocco joined later when these ones were already leading.
Re: Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by edo3(m): 6:14pm On Sep 18, 2019
MelesZenawi:

Haaa...

How can you compare Morocco to these ones..

Morocco joined later when these ones were already leading.
I know bro,, na dt him voice dey trip me

Re: Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by PEPPERified: 6:15pm On Sep 18, 2019
I think Oliver de Coque's instrumentals are more harmonic, but Osadebe's lyrics are deeper and way better.

Generally, lyrically speaking I think Morroco Maduka is out of this world! He is second to none.

Re: Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by Nobody: 6:19pm On Sep 18, 2019
edo3:
I know bro,, na dt him voice dey trip me

Ubanese....

Rhythm errm this one ife ndigbo not na ekwu...Emeka maduka..

Another...mgbe na eje akwukwo.

His tracks and voice is superb......nice voice..

But the Lords are lords.... grin

Re: Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by edo3(m): 6:25pm On Sep 18, 2019
MelesZenawi:

Ubanese....
Rhythm errm this one ife ndigbo not na ekwu...Emeka maduka..

Another...mgbe na eje akwukwo.
His tracks and voice is superb......nice voice..
But the Lords are lords.... grin
infact u the true son of ur father

Re: Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by Nobody: 6:26pm On Sep 18, 2019
PEPPERified:
I think Oliver de Coque's instrumentals are more harmonic, but Osadebe's lyrics are deeper and way better.

Generally, lyrically speaking I think Morroco Maduka is out of this world! He is second to none.

For Osadebe I will kind of agree.

Most times if you don't listen attentively you won't hear what he is saying...

For instance earlier in this music Ogasi amaka I used to think that what he was saying was Okwu m gwara Igbo, Ikachie nti jebenu thinking it was general igbo advise

Only to discover it was okwu m gwara I gboo ikachie nti jebenu

Sometimes hard though.

Re: Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by PEPPERified: 9:29pm On Sep 18, 2019
I also really like how Morroco Maduka interplays Igbo and English, and even Hausa sometimes like in his song ije enu siri ike

[b]nwayi diya nwere ego
e juo ya kedu ka odi ife o ga sigi by I love my darling,... mgbe ego ga gwu ndi... Hausa ji wey si
kudi ya so mata ta zo, kudi ya kare mata ta gudu[b]

Re: Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by nams77: 8:36am On Sep 21, 2019
Don't know if i have heard morocco but between oliver and osadebe, i give it to the latter
Re: Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by MetaPhysical: 1:19am On Sep 23, 2019
Zenawi I am dissapointed in you. C'mon!...you know better. How do you expect me to judge between the two, from their pictures?

These are musicians. Post two music files from each so we can listen and judge. grin
Re: Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by NORSYK(m): 10:00pm On Nov 12, 2019
To me Ultimate Dr. Sir. Warrior is the king of Highlife music
Re: Chief Osita Osadebe And Oliver De Coque Who Is The King Of Igbo Highlife by Nobody: 7:15am On Nov 13, 2019
MetaPhysical:
Zenawi I am dissapointed in you. C'mon!...you know better. How do you expect me to judge between the two, from their pictures?

These are musicians. Post two music files from each so we can listen and judge. grin

Type their name and Google will give you their albums to download.

Igbo Uturu Cultural Carnival / The Name Benin Was Not Gotten From Ife But Itsekiri / The Whiteman And Emergence Of New Societies In Igboland.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 20