Stats: 3,151,294 members, 7,811,883 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 10:12 PM

20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities - Education (9) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities (69063 Views)

Two Nigerian Universities Break Into Africa's Top 10 / Uk Universities Continue Strike As More Universities Join (photos) / N5000 For Sex With Students Of FGGC Langtang Plateau: Security Guards Connection (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by favorfavor: 2:05am On Aug 23, 2020
congrats guys we are proud of u all
Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by Kubernetes: 3:36am On Aug 23, 2020
Pimpmaride:
All about west and east...

We are really marginalising the north ooo.. It's unfair grin

But the truth is, there are brilliant northerners ooo. You wunt know this except u go there and see for ursef mm

Very brilliant but dey ain't expose to the outer world

You mostly see them studying in Saudi, Dubai, Malaysia etc.
Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by isoh(m): 6:31am On Aug 23, 2020
This is impressive.

Don't let JAMB frustrate you again this year, enroll for JUPEB Now and smile to 200L in any Nigerian University

Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by 9gerian: 6:39am On Aug 23, 2020
Thanks for helping to compile this list of political collaborations since independence. It appears that Nigeria’s political history starts from 2015 for most Igbos.

This is because it makes absolutely no sense for Igbos to accuse Yorubas of playing 2nd fiddle to Fulanis seeing that their forerunners did so repeatedly in the past without much thought for the future. What has changed?

scholes0:

I already kind of knew from the start that your main grouse with the news is not that this achievement isn't newsworthy, but rather the composition of the achievers.

But back to your fallacious post, if you are a real student of history then you would have known that for most of Nigeria's existence starting from the first republic- Yorubas have always been in the opposition, while the Igbos and Hausa-Fulanis have always been bed partners. But the good thing is that you can't hide the truth, especially when It is glaring. Let's look at the timeline of those who have ruled Nigeria since independence

1960-1963 — Azikiwe/Balewa
1963-1966 — Azikiwe/Balewa
1967-1979 — Civil war/ Military Rule
1979-1983 — Shagari/Ekwueme
1983-1999 — Military Rule
1999-2007 — Obasanjo/Atiku
2007-2010 — Yar'Adua/Jonathan
2010-2015 — Jonathan/Sambo
2015-Date — Buhari/Osinbajo

Now look at the list and tell me when this "Yorubas playing second fiddle to the Fulanis" fable became a thing among you people? Azikiwe in fact neglected Awolowo's handshake across the Niger and instead chose to go play second fiddle as a ceremonial president to prime minister Balewa who had the real power. He also frustrated Chief Awolowo's plan to include the secession clause in the constitution.

On the issue of Southern Unity, did you know that Chief Awolowo picked an Igbo running mate. Yet, the Igbo voted en masse for Shagari, an illiterate Northerner to spite Awolowo and the Yoruba. In fact, the Igbo wanted Abacha to continue ruling, matter of fact, the [Youth Earnestly Ask for Abacha (YEAA)] campaign was led by an Igbo man, by the name Daniel Kanu. They even voted against Abiola who had wide acceptance across the board in Nigeria, including huge swathes of the North, and instead chose to support Tofa the Northern candidate whose collabo partner was an Igbo vice by the name Sylvester Ugoh who also happened to be the defunct governor of the central Bank of Biafra (shame). Abiola won in only 1 out of the then 4 Eastern states

—The Igbo had no problem with collaborating with the North when they supported Atiku and Peter Obi or in all previous occasions. They only have issues with Northern collaboration when they aren't the bedmates and someone else is doing the 'collaborating' lipsrsealed

Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by 9gerian: 6:41am On Aug 23, 2020
Absolutely true! cheesy

chidooh1:
If na buhari arrange am now 98% go be malam.
Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by fujirice: 9:31am On Aug 23, 2020
See how posh the environment is.
Nna, if they teach me 1 + 1 in this environment, I will never forget it in my lifetime.
If you attend this kind of school and still remain dull, just forget it as there’s no redemption for you grin grin

Meanwhile what is happening on the first page? How did this beautiful thread turn to a tribal-dick-measuring-fiesta? This is why it’s so easy for politicians to use us anyhow they like and dispose us after, like a sanitary pad!

Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by obaaderemi: 9:57am On Aug 23, 2020
Gabkosh:
Leave him, he is from OSU clan fro the sad beast region. He's only displaying the trait of his father.
You dis people sha! Haba.
Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by obaaderemi: 9:59am On Aug 23, 2020
AkwaIbomMan:
do you even know the meaning of "derogatory"?
How come your brothers even bear it as firstnames and surnames[/s]
Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by HomerTimpson: 1:08pm On Aug 23, 2020
YorubaHero12:
See my omoluabi guys making waves everywhere they go.

God bless you Mr Dayo (Principal) for your giant stride in making sure minorities also have the opportunity of getting admitted to the prestigious Oxbridge universities in such huge numbers.

Last year was 41 students while this year it increased to 51 admissions into Oxbridge institutions.

I won’t stop without saying YORUBAAFONJA LAGBA!
better like this
Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by MrDDM: 2:44pm On Aug 23, 2020
scholes0:

I already kind of knew from the start that your main grouse with the news is not that this achievement isn't newsworthy, but rather the composition of the achievers.

But back to your fallacious post, if you are a real student of history then you would have known that for most of Nigeria's existence starting from the first republic- Yorubas have always been in the opposition, while the Igbos and Hausa-Fulanis have always been bed partners. But the good thing is that you can't hide the truth, especially when It is glaring. Let's look at the timeline of those who have ruled Nigeria since independence

1960-1963 — Azikiwe/Balewa
1963-1966 — Azikiwe/Balewa
1967-1979 — Civil war/ Military Rule
1979-1983 — Shagari/Ekwueme
1983-1999 — Military Rule
1999-2007 — Obasanjo/Atiku
2007-2010 — Yar'Adua/Jonathan
2010-2015 — Jonathan/Sambo
2015-Date — Buhari/Osinbajo

Now look at the list and tell me when this "Yorubas playing second fiddle to the Fulanis" fable became a thing among you people? Azikiwe in fact neglected Awolowo's handshake across the Niger and instead chose to go play second fiddle as a ceremonial president to prime minister Balewa who had the real power. He also frustrated Chief Awolowo's plan to include the secession clause in the constitution.

On the issue of Southern Unity, did you know that Chief Awolowo picked an Igbo running mate. Yet, the Igbo voted en masse for Shagari, an illiterate Northerner to spite Awolowo and the Yoruba. In fact, the Igbo wanted Abacha to continue ruling, matter of fact, the [Youth Earnestly Ask for Abacha (YEAA)] campaign was led by an Igbo man, by the name Daniel Kanu. They even voted against Abiola who had wide acceptance across the board in Nigeria, including huge swathes of the North, and instead chose to support Tofa the Northern candidate whose collabo partner was an Igbo vice by the name Sylvester Ugoh who also happened to be the defunct governor of the central Bank of Biafra (shame). Abiola won in only 1 out of the then 4 Eastern states

—The Igbo had no problem with collaborating with the North when they supported Atiku and Peter Obi or in all previous occasions. They only have issues with Northern collaboration when they aren't the bedmates and someone else is doing the 'collaborating' lipsrsealed
you are very stupid for calling Shehu Shagari illiterate.. Dan shegiya, Shagari was ahead of your entire generation
Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by obaaderemi: 5:12pm On Aug 24, 2020
ODVanguard:

Well, I see it a bit differently. For as long as Nigeria remains the way it currently is structurally, Yorubas must continue to have a strong stake in Nigeria mainstream politics. And for that reason alliances with other regions will be inevitable. We are not operating a regional structure whereby each region has the quasi-independence to drive its own socio-politico-economic policies. A hostile FG/central government can render state efforts futile under Nigeria's current structure therefore our political elite must always play smart politics, at least until a more (truly) federal structure replaces the current one. No geopolitical zone can go it alone (as it were during regionalism) under the current structure. So we should accommodate different strategic approaches to power politics in yorubaland, to be safe. Let those agitating for a more federal structure (restructuring) and outright regional independence continue to do so, while those with the political savvy should also ensure that Yorubas continue to have a seat at the decision-making table in Abuja should also keep doing so - - (in order to make sure we don't get shortchanged). That'll be a win-win for the race. Practicing wholesale political isolationism under the current structure will not work in our favour.
I understand you perfectly. Well, people who believe in looking inward concerning the progress of Yorubaland should do so with intensity, especially in terms of our industries, healthcare delivery, sanitation and education. People who believe it is necessary to have a seat at the decision- making round table should also continue. But at the end of the day, we stand to gain more if we are careful enough not to be carried away by crumbs thrown at us by the northerners( whether we take it or leave it, crumbs is what it has always been). We have all we need to harmonize our advantages and forge a more united Yoruba front especially in terms of agriculture and other industries, education and infrastructure. It is just sickening in my own opinion when Yorubas (and Igbos too) feel comfortable with playing second fiddle to northerners who are the real basket case of Nigeria! The last time around, both presidential candidates from the north had Yoruba and Igbo running mates both. Imagine!

Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by NairaHercules(m): 9:20pm On Oct 16, 2020

Yoruba land will be great.. We have a lot of potentials

Nigeria is using tiger battery, that why things are not working fine

Kudos to those students from the almighty sophisticated west and efficient east...

Our prayers will be answered

Front page

What do you mean by “sophisticated west”?
Re: 20 Nigerian Students Of Brampton Manor Academy Break Into Best UK Universities by masterflowx(m): 12:10pm On Oct 18, 2020
Sydney1995:
Guy just shut ur mouth u know nobody from ICL or Durham

Enjoy your ban. Next don't call people f**l again on this platform ok.

(1) (2) (3) ... (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

List Of JAMB Cut-Off Marks For All Universities, Polytechnics, Colleges / U.I Student Who Channeled Sango While Contesting For Mr U.I, Gets Burnt / History: When Black Men Ruled The World

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 39