Stats: 3,161,892 members, 7,848,599 topics. Date: Monday, 03 June 2024 at 07:02 AM

Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu - Politics (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu (26075 Views)

A Total Ban On The Use Of Ethnic Slurs On Nairaland / Sanwo-Olu Announces Total Ban Of Okada In 6 Local Government / Police Block Lagos-ibadan Expressway As Lock Down Order Takes Effect (photos) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by nedu666: 7:00pm On May 18, 2021
OPPPS:

Tell them my brother.
Rivers, Cross River,Akwa Ibom, Delta, Edo, Anambra, Imo,Enugu, Kano have over 15yrs banned the operation of Okada in the capital cities

There is okada in anambra except they don't ply expressways
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by Josbreed: 7:05pm On May 18, 2021
My little advice is that LASG should adopt the Jos style. The govt should map out major roads where okada is banned, and allow them to ply roads inside neighbourhoods so people will not not trek long distances.

Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by West2019(m): 7:16pm On May 18, 2021
dederocs:

Mind your business, the state legislature has a right to enact its own laws, for better security and development of Lagos.
if your brother is among those poor people you will not be here typing rubbish
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by West2019(m): 7:17pm On May 18, 2021
Banding okada is that the problem of Lagos State?
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by udomonday: 7:19pm On May 18, 2021
post=101819610:
This is not feasible till we atleast have 2000 First and Last Mile Buses (FLM) for a start.
We have sent LASG a letter to that effect already.
The common man comes first in the scheme of things.

A better Nigeria all around is all we want.

God bless Lagos State.
God bless Nigeria.

We Rise!
no be only first and last.it's the beginning and end. he is not the first person to ban okada and he will definitely not be the last.

Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by Ikology(m): 7:21pm On May 18, 2021
PataAlhajaKeji:
Good move by the Lagos state government.

Okadas are a stain to the metropolitan nature of the state.

Besides, na okada all these criminals dey use rob for most parts of Lagos.

Itesiwaju ipinlẹ Eko ...

What about Agberos? Are they accepted in Lagos metropolitan plan?
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by hush15: 7:25pm On May 18, 2021
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by GEEBITE: 7:28pm On May 18, 2021
Give jobs to those Nigeriens or people from other states? You want to get Lagos overburdened. .
Felabrity:
Impossible

There are over 100k families that depend on okada job as their source of income

Give them jobs modfuk

Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by Felabrity: 7:32pm On May 18, 2021
GEEBITE:
Give jobs to those Nigeriens or people from other states? You want to get Lagos overburdened. .
yes but you can't send them back

Ban their source of income and watch criminal activities skyrock
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by Olril18(m): 7:36pm On May 18, 2021
Ikology:

What about Agberos? Are they accepted in Lagos metropolitan plan?
I will like to see his answer on this
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by edoairways: 7:43pm On May 18, 2021
yashau:
Lagos is setting the pace, others are following smiley
Other states banned okada. It is rare to see motorcycle in Benin city
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by sniperr007(m): 7:46pm On May 18, 2021
Bola146:
lipsrsealed Lagos State indeed I just pity the poor masses that will suffer for this.

It will not happen joor..

Aboki will still operate freely in places like Apapa.
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by Kinematics: 7:48pm On May 18, 2021
yashau:

Setting the pace on what?
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by dvkot(m): 7:52pm On May 18, 2021
Okada are nusisance i agree but what about traffic? And what about inner streets with bad roads
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by Harbeeorlar(m): 7:56pm On May 18, 2021
Port Harcourt people are surviving so why not Lagosians? It always seems like that at first but with time everyone will get use to it.
FalseProphet1:
Can lagosians survive without okada?

Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by Fanuchi007: 8:30pm On May 18, 2021
U should be thinking of building multiple over head bridges and intra city railway system to reduce traffic congestion. how human being go continue to wake up by 3 am just to reach work b4 8:00am
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by nku5: 8:32pm On May 18, 2021
yashau:

Lagos will need at least 20,000 of these buses to cushion the impact of the okada ban
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by Tonnierichy(m): 9:15pm On May 18, 2021
yashau:
Following sluggishly
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by murmee: 9:18pm On May 18, 2021
post=101819622:

They will surely extend it, until adequate measures are taken for replacement.
We have sent LASG a letter to that effect already.
No time is too short for a good idea. Some of us think it should even be sooner. 2 months sounds like the Government is not serious. If the buses are ready, what are they waiting for!

Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by MrMaestro: 9:24pm On May 18, 2021
omonnakoda:
You might as well say Lagos is successful because of Facebook or because of Lionel Messi.

Your theory is just YOUR opinion nothing more
Wha resources exactly are being "funneled" to Lagos? Are they more than that being funneled to Rivers State, Delta State or Akwa Ibom?
Today the UK is returning money Ibori looted.
What does Delta State and Akwa Ibom State have to show for the billions received under Ibori and Akpabio?
In the last 30 years Name the FG projects that were completed in Lagos State
Educate yourself
https://www.nairaland.com/4144976/lagos-1898before-nigeria-not-oil/4

Long before the Nigerian Amalgamation in 1914

Lagos has ALWAYS been ahead of every other Nigerian city or town

Indeed the FG wanted to "kill" Lagos when they left in 1990/1991 abandoning infrastructure to rot. National Stadium, National Theatre, Federal Secretariat all abandoned to rats and snakes

In 1999 Lagos State had an internal generated revenue of 12 billion Naira a year and was in the doldrums. . Lagos is prosperous because of its location as the first seaport in Nigeria a position it has held for over 100 years.
In the last 20 years it has been transformed by visionary leadership
Lagos is NOT a net receiver of resources . It is a Net contributor
Just two items VAT and contributions from the Ports are more than what some entire regions contribute

Spare us this tired lamentation that Lagos is what it is at the expense of anyone. Lagos is being held back by Nigeria and not the other way round

Say it again and louder for those that won't hear. I will expand on this. Yorubaland is being held back by Nigeria. All these okada riders will now be going to Ogun, Osun, Oyo as if there aren't vast lands in the north they can't get okada business. These people can't develop one damn city in their own regions to attract their own ppl and prevent the further burden on Lagos. They all cram into Lagos like zombies. I don't blame Fashola for deporting some of them. Their leaders might as well be lifeless. I just hope this country disintegrates. It will be glorious to watch lazy governors get eaten alive when they're forced to all of a sudden do their jobs.
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by MrMaestro: 9:29pm On May 18, 2021
Felabrity:
yes but you can't send them back

Ban their source of income and watch criminal activities skyrock
This is why Lagos, and Southwest overall, needs to invest MASSIVELY in prisons. At some point all these criminals needs to be placed in prison. Just look at your response, no job go to crime. Instead of ppl to travel to another state with less competition and more opportunity for work, people will quickly resort to crime. There's a reason you don't see major crimes in major cities, they can arrest people and place them in prisons in the millions if they try nonsense. Lagos needs to do the same.
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by Richthekid: 9:42pm On May 18, 2021
Really
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by God2man2again(m): 10:07pm On May 18, 2021
Most Lagosians reside in the interior part of Lagos, it would be difficult for these buses to ply the route.

The idea is not suitable at this moment because it will make life difficult for Lagosians.
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by PIMPAR: 10:51pm On May 18, 2021
nedu666:

There is okada in anambra except they don't ply expressways
Where do you get Okada in AWKA, THE CAPITAL or do you get okada at Onitsha? Lying AGENT
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by PIMPAR: 10:57pm On May 18, 2021
Josbreed:
My little advice is that LASG should adopt the Jos style. The govt should map out major roads where okada is banned, and allow them to ply roads inside neighbourhoods so people will not not trek long distances.
That has been done on many occasions, but the stubborn Okada men floated the govt order. Only in Lagos you see Okada in their large numbers competing with cars on express roads/ high ways.
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by buckeyemedia: 11:01pm On May 18, 2021
udomonday:
no be only first and last.it's the beginning and end. he is not the first person to ban okada and he will definitely not be the last.
India will feel the okada ban, impossible, all a political gimmick by Tinubu & his party again, after they have finished supplying their new buses back to business again for okadas, Lagos State and okadas are intertwined forever.
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by buckeyemedia: 11:02pm On May 18, 2021
PIMPAR:

That has been done on many occasions, but the stubborn Okada men floated the govt order. Only in Lagos you see Okada in their large numbers competing with cars on express roads/ high ways.
Tell Tinubu to return the money for infrastructure.
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by banty: 11:25pm On May 18, 2021
yashau:

Oga, which pace? Upon all those shocked roads with high pressure vehicular traffic, I bow for una 6th organ o!
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by dederocs(m): 5:54am On May 19, 2021
West2019:
if your brother is among those poor people you will not be here typing rubbish
Life is not fair. Law is law, does not follow sentiments. Go your village, idiot...una don spoil una states, wan come spoil Lagos.
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by West2019(m): 7:28am On May 19, 2021
dederocs:

Life is not fair. Law is law, does not follow sentiments. Go your village, idiot...una don spoil una states, wan come spoil Lagos.
God punish ur generation to generations, is Lagos your stupid idoit Father home , can only you live in lag . What do you know about law . Animal
Re: Total Ban On Okada In Lagos Takes Effect In Two Months - Sanwo-Olu by dederocs(m): 7:56am On May 19, 2021
West2019:
God punish ur generation to generations, is Lagos your stupid idoit Father home , can only you live in lag . What do you know about law . Animal
Your father is a cow, village goat, Lagos is not for lazy heads like you...are you a Lagosian, born in Lagos. Thunder fire your papa.

Nigerian Refugees Reject Jonathan-Branded Relief Items / I Have Never Flown First-class In My Life” – Silverbird Boss Ben Murray Bruce / President Buhari Observes Eid-El-Kabir Prayers In Daura [PHOTOS]

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 38