Stats: 3,151,323 members, 7,811,953 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 01:28 AM

Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 - Culture - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 (957 Views)

Ooni Presents Crown To Oba Sharafadeen Babalola In Kwara / Ayan De First-Mr Culture Performs For King Charles III For The 3rd Time / Meet Two Sisters Married To Oba Ewuare Of Benin (Photos) (2) (3) (4)

Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by samuk: 1:35pm On Aug 06, 2023
AN ADDRESS PRESENTED BY HIS ROYAL HIGHNESS
OSEMENE III, THE OBI OF ISSELES AND TRADITIONAL
HEAD OF EZECHIMA CLAN
TO
OMO N'OBA N'EDO UKU AKPOLOKPOLO,
THE OBA OF BENIN,
OMO N'OBA, OBA EREDIAUWA.

ON THE OCCASION OF HIS ROYAL VISIT TO ISSELE-UKU
ON THE 15TH DAY OF MARCH, 1982.

YOUR ROYAL HIGHNESS, UKU AKPOLOKPOLO
THE OBA OF BENIN,
MY LORDS, SPIRITUAL AND TEMPORAL, RESPECTED NATURAL RULERS,
CHIEFS,SERVICE CHIEFS, DISTINGUISHED LADIES AND GENTLEMEN.

OBA GHATO OKPERE, ISE

isi Eze Ise! Nenu, Ise!

I, on behalf of myself, Chiefs, Issele Community and the Ezechima Clan, have the greatest joy to welcome you to this history town of Issele-Uku which, right from the 13th century, has had connection and deep-rooted association with Benin. In fact, Esigie, in giving the Royal Bronze Mask to Obi Oligbo on enthronement at Benin City in the early 16th century, re-emp that Issele was on the Eastern extremities of the Benin monarch This was testified to by His Royal Highness, Uku Akpolokpolo Akenzua II, of blessed memory on 11th February, 1976, Nigerian observer, front page, No. 2452, Monday, November 1976, to quote the OBA, "The bronze mask was given out by Esigie to Obi Oligbo of Issele to symbolize his position as the
authentic representative in the eastern extremities of Benin Empire.
He continued, "The Bronze mask is the face of Oba Esigie while the Festac Ivory mask, still in London, is the face of Queen Mother, Idia N'IYe'Esigie of Benin.

Your royal visit to us today is not the first time that a Benin Monarch has stepped on Issele soil.

a. Oba Ohen, in 1334, before his coronation, passed through Ukwunzu to Issele-Uku, travelling to Benin for his enthronement.
b. In the early 151h century, OBA Ewuare stayed at Issele-Uku for a short time. He was allowed to remain as common man, he was made a traditional chief as the Akogun of Issele-Uku, during the reign of Eze Ise of Issele-Uku.

c. When the Bisi asked the Oba Oguola to put to death his only brother, Adomo, before he could ascend the throne, Oba Oguola dispatched his brother Ogie Uwadiae to Issele-Uku. Adomo lived his life at Ogbeofu Quarters.

d. Before the reign of Obi Egbuna in 1840, all Issele Obis were schooled in the art of native administration in the Oba's palace and crowned there before they ascended the throne of Issele. The practice changed in 1840 when the Oba of Benin started to send his personal representatives to the coronation of all Obis at Issele-Uku. During the coronation of the reigning Obi Osemene III, Oba Akenzua II sent his chiefs, led by the Arala of Benin, Chief Osula. to represent him and perform some traditional rites at the ceremony.
e. During the campaign for the creation of Mid-West region. (Now Bendel State). Oba Akenzua II visited Issele-Uku twice to enlighten the people.
f. In 1962. when the then Western Regional Government voted £48,000 for Issele-Uku's water supply, Mr. Mark Uzoka of Onicha-Ugbo. the then Commissioner for Midwest Affairs, decided to install a master plan for water supply for the whole area. A water supply fund was launched at Issele-Uku, under the able leadership of Mr. Mark Uzoka himself. The Oba of Benin. Akenzua II sent his chiefs to the launching and made a personal donation of £100.

Your royal visit to Issele-Uku today has yet added another feather to this long established link. We are indeed very grateful to you and we assure you of our love and continued association with Benin monarchy, whatever may be the pattern and direction of political weather which, for all intents and purposes, are fundamentally artificial.

Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by samuk: 1:42pm On Aug 06, 2023
The Founding Of Issele-Uku

Issele-Uku was originally called "Isi-Ile Uku" (meaning another provincial kingdom of Benin) and was founded by the Binis… the headship of prince Uwadiei, the second son of Oba Ehemil…. brother of Oba Ewedo in about 1230 A.D. The name "Isi-Ile … means belonging to Uku Akpolokpolo, Oba of Benin.
When Oba Ewedo founded the new outpost of Isi-Ile Uku, his main objective was to check the influx of people from across the river Niger and to establish Edo presence in the area. Oba Ewedo crown Ogie Uwadiei and sent him to rule Isi-Ile (Issele-Uku) in the company of Benin warriors from Ogbe, Ehaekpen, Idumu Inneh N’Ibiwe, Udumuigun and Udumuiken from Uselu, Ogbe-Eribo and Ugboka. The quarters they occupied still exist at Issele-Uku this day and are known as Ogbe-Ofu, Ishiekpe, Idumunei, Idumuzu (iron casters), Ogbeidibo and Edemoka.

Ogie Uwadiei gave birth to Ogie Ohania, Ohania gave birth to Osamala, Osamala died without a son and so there was a interregnum. Eze Ise, a Benin prince took over, he was the father of the Eze Ikhimi-Ezechima, Ezechima gave birth to princess Obior, a woman, prince Onicha and prince Oligbo who became Obi oligbo at the death of Ezechima because the senior brother Onicha had died while Ezechima was still on the throne of Issele!. The death of Onicha, while his father was still alive, was regarded as an abomination and he was buried in the bad bush at Issele-Uku which we call Onicha Ofia. When Eze Chima died at a very grand old age his surviving children Princess Obior, Prince Oligbo and the eldest son of Onicha, prince Ohaeze, struggled for the right to the throne of Issele. When it could not be settled at Issele-Uku, the case was taken to Oba Esigie, the reiging Oba of Benin, for final adjudication. Princess Obior, although the senior, was disqualified by the Oba on the ground that it was unheard of, for a woman to ascend to the throne in the Benin Empire. Prince Ohaeze was disqualified on the ground that his father, Onicha, had died prematurely and, therefore lost the right to the throne.

Prince Oligbo was approved for the throne being the only surviving direct son of Ezechima. He was called Ovbi-Ise (meaning the direct son of Ise). That was what gave rise to the title of our kings now known as "Obi".

The verdict of Oba Esigie marked a turning point in the history of this area for it led to the migration of Ezechima's children from Issele-Uku, without which the clan might not have come into being. Two things emanated from this situation. The first is the position of Issele-Uku, as the Head and origin of the clan and the second is the position of the incumbent of the seat of the Obi of Issele. If Onicha had lived to bury his father Ezechima, he would have taken over his throne at Issele-Uku and the question of migration by his children would not have arisen. Because this did happen, Oligbo became king. The position of Issele-Uku has remained unchanged for over eight centuries.
The decision of Oba Esigie was not taken kindly to by Ohaeze and princess Obior. They felt they would not live in the same town with the Obi Oligbo any longer. On their return from Benin, princess Obior and her husband, Ukpali, left Issele-Uku and finally settled at a place now known as Obior while Ohaeze left Issele-Uku and settled at Onicha-Olona. Ohaeze later continued his flight and went across the Niger to found Onicha Ohaeze now Onitsha in Anambra State. He left one of his wives who was in labour at Ezi, with his royal escort, Ifite and some of his other followers. On giving birth to a son, he named him Ezi Uzo, now Ezi town. At the death of Ohaeze at Onicha-Mili (Onitsha on the Niger) his junior son, Allah (now called Alori) became very powerful and his senior brother Agba. Agba later fled Onicha-mili and came back to Onicha-Olona and later to Issele-Uku. He finally settled down at the grandfather's farmland and called it Onicha-Ugbo (Onicha on the farm). This is how Onicha-Ugbo derived its name. One of the followers of Ohaeze who settled down at Onicha-Olona is called Ikelike. Ikelike later left some of his children at Onicha-Olona and went to settle at Ogwashi-Uku. His quarter at Ogwashi-Uku is known as Ikelike till this day.

Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by samuk: 1:44pm On Aug 06, 2023
The Following Are the Ezechima Towns
1. ISSELE-UKU - Was founded at about 1230 A.D by Uwadiei, second son of Oba Ehemihen of Benin. It was foun by the Oba Ewedo to check the incursion of stranger elements the Benin Empire.
2. ONICIIA-OLONA — Was founded by Ohaeze in tile 16th cen after his flight from Issele-Uku.
3. EZI-UZOR — Was founded by IFITE, son of Ohaeze grandson of Ezechima).
4.ONICHA-UGBO — Was founded by prince Agba, eldest son of Ohaeze (and great grandson of Ezechima).
5.OBIOR — Was founded by princess Obior and her husband, Ukpali.
6. ONICHA-UKU — Was founded by immigrants from Onicha-Olona.
7. ISSELE-AZAGBA — Was founded by immigrants from Issele-Uku.
8. ISSELE-MKPITIME — Was founded by Ogbeowele, Ogbeofu and Idurnuinei quarters from Issele-Uku.
9. OBOMKPA — Was founded by prince Anagba, junior brother of Ezechima.
10. ONICHA-MILT—Was founded by Oha-Eze

THE ROLE OF ISSELE-UKU AS THE HEAD OF EZECHIMA CLAN

1. The Ezechima Native Court: This was built at Issele-Uku in 1906 by the British Government a few years after they had assumed full control of the administration of Nigeria. Government built native courts in the headquarters of clans. All the towns of Ezechima had always attended the native court at Issele-Uku and in fact, regarded it as their court. The Obi of Issele was the president of the native court.
2. Ezechima Hall: This was built in 1953 at Issele-Uku, with contribution from all the nine towns that make up Ezechima clan.
3. The 1896 Treaty: This was treaty of cession signed by Obi Egbune of Isseles, on behalf of himself and his people of Ezechima clan to maintain peace and cordial relations with Royal Niger Company.

Obi Odiwe of Asaba trekked to Issele-Uku to interpret and sign as a witness. A photocopy which was brought from the Museum in London by the Obi of Isseles in 1965 is attached.
4. Peace Treaty of 1912: The Obi of Isseles, Osemene I signed peace treaty with the British Government after Ekumeku war, was signed on behalf of himself, Ezechima people and the entire Niger Ibos. The British Museum, London, has the copy of this treaty.
I want to make it clear to Your Royal Highness, that Issele has love for all not only for Ezechima towns but the entire people of Nigeria living in our midst. We have always thought also that all Ezechima towns and other areas love us.
With the formation of District Authorities in 1981, people starteded to question the propriety of Issele-Uku to the headship of Ezechima clan. It is disheartening that in spite of the amicable settlement the Bendel State Government, in halting the attempt of removal headship of the clan, from Issele-Uku to another place, some have continued to exploit the pages of newspaper to write insinuating and tendentious statements which do not make for pleasant reading. We would like you to think, Your Royal Highness, that this situation is not strange to you. Issele-Uku is not just claiming the headship of Ezechima now. It is and has always been the Headship from the days of Oba Ewedo in the 13th century that is 752 years ago.
It is unfortunate that traditional rulers of one Ezechima family and descent, should allow themselves to be bought with money in order to enable one of us, lay abominable claim, in 1982, to the headship of Ezechima which this town Issele-Uku has been exercising for past eight centuries.
It is time we stopped using politicians and money to buy position which are essentially traditional. Politicians come and go but traditions remain as a full embodiment of our spiritual essence and existence. Headship of traditional institutions is also not estabestablished in pages of newspapers or in the mounting of signatures
to deceive the public. This is significantly puerile. Headship of clan is embodied in the genealogy and genesis of a people just as I have enumerated above. It cannot be established through open antagonism, nocturnal meetings, gang up, lobbying or the cajoling of long cherished Head into submission and to abdicate his position.
I am advising everyone in the presence of our respected Benin Monarch, the father of the Edo's, the father of our origins, and to whom we all own the traditional homage to think of how we can forge a united front and maintain peaceful co-existence with one another. Distasteful meetings aimed at ganging-up to destroy the image of a Head who did not stay there by himself but by natural design, will only create unnecessary bitterness which we all cannot be proud of.

The Stabillizing Role of the Oba of Benin

Your Royal Highness is not the Oba of the Edo's but I say with confidence, that you play the role of the traditional supervisor of Bendel State. The recent increase in the stipend paid to natural rulers is a credit to you in your capacity as the Adviser to the Government on Traditional Matters. In the ensuing years, you will have a vital role to play in fathering diverse political forms, and supplying the necessary equilibrium for natural co-existence and co-operation among the diverse ethnic groups that make up our communities. You are the embodiment of the total tradition of Bendel State and with the galaxy of eminent and seasoned Chiefs and traditionalists all around you, you will be able to cope squarely with the challenges of modern times, it is my hope and that of my people that your visit today is a sign of greater things to come.
We are proud of you and it is our prayer that you will continue to champion our cause at all times. In these days, when some politicians would tent to flout traditional authority, your position remolding situations will serve as the last hope of our people in the preservation of our culture. No nation can exist without its culture and our culture stands as a lasting testimony of our pride and identity as a people. Once again, I thank you for coming to this part of Bendel State while we wish you peaceful, prosperous and prodigious reign.

OBA GHATO OKPERE! ISE!
Your Royal Highness, Omo N'Oba, N'edo, Uku Akpolokpolo, Oba of Benin, Respected Natural Rulers, My Lords Spiritual and Temporal, Chiefs, Service Chiefs, Distinguished Ladies and Gentlemen, thank you for listening to this Address.
ROYAL PALACE, . (SGD) HRH, OSEMENE III
ISSELE-UKU. OBI OF ISSELES AND
15th of MARCH, 1982. TRADITIONAL HEAD OF
EZECHIMA CLAN.

Republished by Imasuen Amowie Izoduwa

Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by Stephen0mozzy: 2:14pm On Aug 06, 2023
History is Beautiful... .African Traditional history free from the manipulative influence of the Colonial intrusion is always a joy to read.

Long live the beautiful heritage of our diverse cultures.
Personally, Oba gha to'kpere, Ise!!! 😊

Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by AreaFada2: 2:20pm On Aug 06, 2023
Very good piece.

We we need to cherish more is what unites us.
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by spearman(m): 2:48pm On Aug 06, 2023
Know-it- all Ibos insist on teaching you your own history from the perspective of OSU Bisfrauud land grab.
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by 90dbest: 6:36pm On Aug 06, 2023
Revisionist at work.
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by mr1759: 11:08am On Aug 09, 2023
I thought this people where Igbos,

This ideas of dominating any you go, am sure that is how they igbosnise this people

In other words their true identity has been misdirected
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by RedboneSmith(m): 2:01pm On Aug 09, 2023
mr1759:

This ideas of dominating any you go, am sure that is how they igbosnise this people

I have often read on this platform that Ìgbò people did not leave their homeland before colonialism came and opened their eyes. Explain to me how these people who were not leaving their lands and who never 'open eye' were able to dominate and Igbonise descendants of empire builders in the centuries before colonialism.

Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by mr1759: 3:18pm On Aug 09, 2023
RedboneSmith:

I have often read on this platform that Ìgbò people did not leave their homeland before colonialism came and opened their eyes. Explain to me how these people who were not leaving their lands and who never 'open eye' were able to dominate and Igbonise descendants of empire builders in the centuries before colonialism.

The people of iseluku, kwuale, Agbor etc where very nice people who share ancestory of Benin kingdom they where never Igbo they call them Ika, these people with fertille land open their hands to people from across the river Niger the igbos looking for fertile lands to farm cos they where hungry, many Igbo came and never returned some igbos where slave trade victims abandoned in Agbor and asaba environ who could not locate their way back home according to Reno omokri that was how they igbosnise delta north

Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by Dancebreaker: 11:41am On Aug 10, 2023
mr1759:

The people of iseluku, kwuale, Agbor etc where very nice people who share ancestory of Benin kingdom they where never Igbo they call them Ika, these people with fertille land open their hands to people from across the river Niger the igbos looking for fertile lands to farm cos they where hungry, many Igbo came and never returned some igbos where slave trade victims abandoned in Agbor and asaba environ who could not locate their way back home according to Reno omokri that was how they igbosnise delta north

Asaba even more so. Even though people like to see Asaba as probably the most Igbo leaning Anioma clan today, by mid-19th century, Asaba was documented as an Edo town with Igbo people increasingly coming from across the Niger. It was already predicted in one such writing by a well-known Yoruba historian that Igbo would soon dominate the population of Asaba. He was right as we can see today.

Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by RedboneSmith(m): 3:01pm On Aug 10, 2023
mr1759:

Reno Omokri is your source? Lol. Dey play.

Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by RedboneSmith(m): 3:03pm On Aug 10, 2023
Dancebreaker:

Asaba even more so. Even though people like to see Asaba as probably the most Igbo leaning Anioma clan today, by mid-19th century, Asaba was documented as an Edo town with Igbo people increasingly coming from across the Niger. It was already predicted in one such writing by a well-known Yoruba historian that Igbo would soon dominate the population of Asaba. He was right as we can see today.

Source for this? I feel I have seen the material you've misrepresented here, but I want to be sure.
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by Dancebreaker: 5:18pm On Aug 10, 2023
RedboneSmith:

Source for this? I feel I have seen the material you've represented here, but I want to be sure.

It has been shared on some of those Benin v Yoruba threads where you typically jump into the middle. Since several years now.

You should have seen it by now.
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by RedboneSmith(m): 7:05pm On Aug 10, 2023
Dancebreaker:

It has been shared on some of those Benin v Yoruba threads where you typically jump into the middle. Since several years now.

You should have seen it by now.

POC, I don't jump into Benin v Yoruba threads, because there's nothing there that is of any immediate concern to me. I comment on Benin v Anioma threads where I feel the relation between Benin and the people of Anioma has been misrepresented.

Anyway, if it's the same [misrepresented] screenshot that I have seen that you're talking about, no wahala. I thought there may have been a different one.
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by samuk: 8:23pm On Aug 10, 2023
The difference between original Asabans and their Ibo immigrants as explained by Ajayi Crowder who visited Asaba in 1875.

Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by RedboneSmith(m): 8:59pm On Aug 10, 2023
👆 Is this supposed to be the documentation where Asaba was found to still be an Edo town by the mid-19th century?

If it is, then the way some of you understand the written word is bizzare. Na wa.

Edo words are still contained in Asaba dialect till tomorrow and Edo titles and institutions are still there. That has not changed. There is no large-scale Ìgbò migration into Asaba in the 19th century. The ethnic element in Asaba was predominantly Ìgbò way before the 19th century. The Edo/Igala element in Asaba is a superstructure that was laid over a substructure that was and is discernably Igbo.

If there's a document where a 19th century visitor witnessed an Asaba that was explicitly Edo, you people are yet to provide it.

19th century visitors like Adolphe Burdo and Co who documented ethnographic details about Asaba and its environs, provided linguistic and cultural information that shows Asaba was Igboid, albeit with a veneer of Igala and Edo inputs.

The first Igbo dictionary compiled by French missionaries in the late 19th century was actually largely based on the Asaba dialect. So much for a town that was 'Edo'.

Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by Sizwezi: 10:34pm On Aug 10, 2023
https://www.nairaland.com/7759085/eze-chima-never-benin-man#124337310 🚶🏿‍♂️🚶🏿‍♂️🚶🏿‍♂️🚶🏿‍♂️
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by KenechukwuEdu: 6:56am On Aug 11, 2023
LOL

I like how the names magically turned from Edo to Igbo. You guys play too much on this site. You guys think history started in the 16th century. You speak jargons in well scripted English and think you are speaking the truth. Isi-Ile- kill you there

Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by KenechukwuEdu: 7:01am On Aug 11, 2023
samuk:
The difference between original Asabans and their Ibo immigrants as explained by Ajayi Crowder who visited Asaba in 1875.

Arrant nonsense
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by KenechukwuEdu: 7:03am On Aug 11, 2023
Dancebreaker:

So you feel there were no boats to cross the River Niger before 19th century. Asaba has always been an Igbo town. Don’t say nonsense
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by Dancebreaker: 12:16pm On Aug 11, 2023
KenechukwuEdu:

So you feel there were no boats to cross the River Niger before 19th century. Asaba has always been an Igbo town. Don’t say nonsense

Why do some of you Igbo guys move straight to insult? Is that why some Yoruba guys say you wake elders up in the morning with a slide tackle?

Go and argue with the historian who wrote it in the 19th century. The person who experienced and documented it. shocked shocked
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by Dancebreaker: 12:18pm On Aug 11, 2023
samuk:

Nor mind the guy. Just ignore him. Truth dey pepper dem for body.
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by samuk: 8:37pm On Aug 11, 2023
Dancebreaker:

Nor mind the guy. Just ignore him. Truth dey pepper dem for body.

Thank you.
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by valirex: 8:10am On Sep 19, 2023
My brother, long time... smiley More power to your elbow
Re: Issele-uku, The Address By Obi Osemene III To Oba Erediauwa 15th March 1982 by Edeyoung: 11:54am On Dec 11, 2023
samuk:

I find this document come here, I know you're the expert when it comes to the ibo culture

Please Translate! / Ndigbo How Come? / Yoruba Art For Sale...

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 63