Stats: 3,152,533 members, 7,816,301 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 09:09 AM

80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo (4010 Views)

Tree Branch On A Fuel Queue In Kaduna (Photos) / Fuel Scarcity: The Long Queue In Abuja (pictured) / Fashola, Wife And Son In A Long Queue In A Polling Unit (2) (3) (4)

80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by aloyemeka1: 10:35pm On Oct 11, 2011
[size=14pt]80-year-old pensioner dies on verification queue[/size]
By Sunday Aborisade

<Pic Removed>
Tuesday, 11 Oct 2011

Tragedy struck in Akure, the Ondo State capital on Monday when an 80-year-old man, Mr. Olusa Ayodele, slumped and died while waiting for his turn to be screened at the ongoing verification of Federal Government pensioners.

PUNCH METRO learnt that the octogenarian, who retired in 1984 from the Federal Ministry of Agriculture, was taken to the venue of the screening by his 30-year-old son, Mr. Deji Ayodele.

It was gathered that no sooner had the man and his son arrived in Akure from their home town, Akunnu-Akoko, than he started feeling uncomfortable and vomitting.

His son was said to have alerted the officials in charge of the exercise to his father’s unstable condition but no step was taken to save the situation.

Deji told our correspondent that his father was suffering from malaria and had been taking drugs in the last five days.

“My father was sick and this made it difficult for him to walk. I have to carry him on my back to this place. When he started vomiting, I shouted for help but there were no medical personnel on ground to offer first aid treatment,” he said.

Our correspondent, who arrived at the scene around 11.30am, reported that the corpse was lying on the bare floor for about two hours before the attention of the state government was drawn to it.

http://www.punchng.com/Articl.aspx?theartic=Art201110114305078
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by ezeagu(m): 11:06pm On Oct 11, 2011
At least, a full life.
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by dempeople(m): 12:43am On Oct 12, 2011
embarassed sad

A highly disturbing picture especially with the nonchalant body language of those people around the corpse there. It seems it's become sort of an expected occurrence with the elderly when such exercises spring up. 

The reality of present day Nigeria - a far drastic departure from the promises and expectations of the country in their heydays.
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by Kobojunkie: 1:15am On Oct 12, 2011
God rest his soul.
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by Nobody: 11:41am On Oct 12, 2011
Ths PDP government is heartless!!

Instead of paying people who have worked hard for the country their pensions they are sent on this wicked wild goose chase, having to queue for hours at their advanced age for no reason and after all that they are still not paid.

We need to get our country back from this bunch of criminals and gangsters that we call our government.

Otherwise , one day it could be you or I dying on a verification queue sad
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by freecocoa(f): 1:50pm On Oct 12, 2011
May his soul RIP.
I wonder why they can't just pay pensioners their entitlement without suffering them first,now how much is the money sef that people should stand endless hours in the sun without achieving anything.
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by atasteve: 1:53pm On Oct 12, 2011
This is not good May his soul rest in peace.
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by POTUT(m): 1:53pm On Oct 12, 2011
Posted by: GenBuhari
Insert Quote
Ths PDP government is heartless!!

Instead of paying people who have worked hard for the country their pensions they are sent on this wicked wild goose chase, having to queue for hours at their advanced age for no reason and after all that they are still not paid.

We need to get our country back from this bunch of criminals and gangsters that we call our government.

Otherwise , one day it could be you or I dying on a verification queue  

I still marvel and reel in disbelief when people hang their complaints on existence of the PDP government. I think it shows lack of depth in understanding the problems we are facing as a nation.

It is NOT the PDP government that is the problem, but the inherent ineptitude, wickedness and malaise that the black man carries in his DNA.

How many of our politicians have changed parties since 1999 and how many times have they done that? Have you heard ANY party rejecting the application for membership of any politician? Bring ACN or CPC to power today and all the so-called PDP will swing like a heavy pendulum bob, carrying with them the same age-old malaise virus they have developed since birth, just like they brought it into PDP and effectively grew larger than the original founders (who are statesmen in all respects and have today quit the political scene in disgust)

The solution we need goes beyond the parties we see today, it goes beyond the system of things we have today and it surely goes beyond the sham constitution we operate today.

If we continue to hang on to this PDP bad-name tactics, we will never garner the momentum for revolutionary change.
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by dhtml1(m): 1:56pm On Oct 12, 2011
God bless his soul. Someone said that if someone dies above 70 yrs, no matter the cause, it is a natural death 'cause if he were younger. . .
Bleep that. I hope they pay the money to his children at the very least.
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by Nobody: 1:57pm On Oct 12, 2011
Lmao
So it's not a PDP problem but a black man problem?

Tried and trusted. PDP has been in power for since the inception of democracy. First, you blame them.
Then you blame the opposition.
Then you blame the people
Wait, all black, lol

[flash=200,200]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YH5HAg7RTKk[/flash]
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by Baawaa(m): 2:02pm On Oct 12, 2011
When things will be perfected in this nation?
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by stepo707: 2:09pm On Oct 12, 2011
Thats Sad cry sad
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by mikron(m): 2:22pm On Oct 12, 2011
so sad. Here in abuja the retired old soldiers go tru worse & harsh conditions just to collect their entitlements. There are similar cases of deaths like what happened to this man. These men live under a bridge close to the pension pay office in wuse zone 4 Abuja. They cook with peak milk containers. Sleep under the harsh weather of abuja. To cap it all they now beg in the streets of abuja for money and in the restaurants for food. It is that bad. And these men are peoples fathers. So so sad.
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by Siga: 2:31pm On Oct 12, 2011
This is insane and disturbing, every time the Nigeria Gov changes the company that does these screenings, why? Just because they want to steal money, give their partners/sponsors money through screening contracts. The worst part of the whole nonsense is that, they end up not paying these pensioners, its said, These leaders and oppressors forget say one day be one day, wey we go sleep and never wake up, none of these kobo go follow una ooo
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by meanman404: 2:45pm On Oct 12, 2011
What a pity- Which way Nigerians cos we can't continue like this na. Abi na lie ngbo pipu?
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by Kx: 2:56pm On Oct 12, 2011
Too bad.
Am sure the people responsible for this will never ever retire
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by MMM2(m): 2:59pm On Oct 12, 2011
r i p
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by koolJ1(f): 3:22pm On Oct 12, 2011
Not suprising,but sad.very sad
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by kemisuga(f): 3:33pm On Oct 12, 2011
RIP Baba! lipsrsealed
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by shevalync: 3:34pm On Oct 12, 2011
sad cry
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by dinah777: 3:42pm On Oct 12, 2011
Dat is really sad,i thought pension reform act was suppose to take care of this issue,FG wats going on
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by Igosun: 4:49pm On Oct 12, 2011
Oh mine! this kind of news is very disturbing anyway RIP baba.
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by MAKABBEY(m): 7:37pm On Oct 12, 2011
A tragic scenario in deed, if we read d news well, we will notice dat d man died in proverty, i mean chronic one. For his child to back him to the place in this 2011, dat show dat d man and his family life depends on the money. I can prove that ondo state govt is responsible for the death of the man.
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by femmy2010(m): 7:56pm On Oct 12, 2011
My Dad and 300 others were retired from NSPMC in 1990/1991,he held the post of an assistant manager as at the time of his forced retirement.
They went to court to challenge this premature retirement and that their dues should be dully paid to them but they still remain in court till this day in year 2011 with no end in sight and all he gets from a government company he served for 23years is the same N1.900 per month he has been getting since 90/91 as pension.
There exist very many others like this out there,many a times i do not blame people that embezzle public funds cos Nigeria is wicked(But on a deeper thought,corruption is bad)

God help 9ja sha.
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by Nobody: 9:00pm On Oct 12, 2011
!
Re: 80-year-old Pensioner Dies On Verification Queue In Ondo by cynthiafred67(f): 9:53am On Oct 13, 2011
This is so sad may his soul rest in peace

Why Do Some Africans See Merit Based Appointments As Proof of "Domination"? / Photo: Lamido Sanusi’s 53 Years Old Rolls Royce / Photo: Describe What This Woman Is Saying In Her Mind About The Husband