Stats: 3,162,452 members, 7,850,576 topics. Date: Wednesday, 05 June 2024 at 04:31 AM

One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan (496 Views)

Suspected Herdsmen Kidnap 3 Police Inspectors In Delta, Steal AK47 Rifles / Bandits Kidnap 3 Travellers In Ekiti After Gun Battle With Soldiers / Kwara APC Governorship Candidate Visits Party Members Who Sustained Injuries As (2) (3) (4)

One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by Honbright(m): 9:13am On May 14
Kidnappers struck again on the Ibadan-Ijebu Ode Road on Sunday evening, killing a driver following sporadic shooting, while three occupants of a car were abducted and four passengers sustained gunshot injuries.

The incident occurred at about 6:00 p.m. at Longe village, not too far from Cocoa Research Institute of Nigerian (CRIN) at Idi Ayunre in Ibadan, Oyo State.

Information gathered had it that the kidnappers, who had laid ambush, came out and started shooting sporadically when they sighted an approaching vehicle.

The kidnappers’ shot hit an unregistered ash-coloured Toyota Corolla car, a Toyota Sienna with registration number Lagos KSF 387 YE and a Mazda 6 car with registration number Lagos AKD 08 JB — leading to the death of the Mazda car’s driver, gunshot injuries to two female and two male occupants in the Sienna bus and abduction of three males in the Toyota Corolla car.

The driver of the Mazda car, later identified as Abiodun Emmanuel Omotoye, and that of Sienna bus, were said to have made spirited efforts to escape from the kidnappers’ attack, causing their being shot at.

The owner of the Mazda car, however, survived the attack as he came out of the car unscathed, though visibly shaken, a credible source who craved anonymity told Newsman.

The kidnappers, who must have assumed the occupants were dead, with the speed it swerved off the road into the bush and the distance it went, ignored the Mazda car and went with the two victims, it was said.

One of the female passengers in the Sienna vehicle was said to have sustained bullet injury in her chest region, while the other woman was shot in the arm.

A man in the bus also sustained gunshot in the arm, while the second man sustained injuries from the shattered glass of the vehicle.

The Sienna driver, who escaped the gunshots, reportedly drove them to the hospital inside CRIN, but it was learnt that the doctors there said that they could not handle the injuries, thereby referring them to another hospital.

This newspaper learnt that the injured victims were eventually taken to a private hospital (name withheld) where they have been receiving medical attention.

Much later, when the shootings were no longer heard and the atmosphere had regained calmness, residents around the village alerted the police.

The alert brought police operatives from Idi Ayunre Division, led by the divisional police officer, and those of Operation Burst to the scene, from where they discovered the dead body of the Mazda car driver strapped to his seat in the bush.

Bullet holes were found in the windscreen directly facing the driver, the door on the driver’s side and the one at his back.

Though initially, blood was not seen around the car, when the car was brought out from the bush and the body of the killed driver retrieved, it started gushing from his side where bullets hit him.

After scanning the nearby bush, the police saw the Toyota Corolla car with bullet holes in its bonnet and no one inside. The vehicle was taken to the police station.

NOTE:
YOU can join our WhatsApp, Telegram for the news updates you need by sending your name & location to WhatsApp No. @ /+2348111142174

The abducted men, whose names were given simply as Gbenga, Segun and Emma, were said to have been coming from Olunde on their way to a yet-to-be-ascertained destination when they ran into the kidnappers.

It was learnt that the families of the victims had been contacted, with a demand for N35 million as ransom.

When contacted, the Police Public Relations Officer (PPRO) in Oyo State, Adewale Osifeso, said investigation is ongoing while update will be provided accordingly.

READ MORE... https://voiceairmedia.com/2024/05/14/tragedy-as-driver-killed-7-in-danger-as-gunmen-storm-ibadan-ijebu-road/

Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by Malroux: 9:14am On May 14
Ibadan again?

Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by ForValour: 9:14am On May 14
RIP. Government need to do something about this killings otherwise make guns acquisition legal. I need a personal gun.
Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by lastmessenger: 9:22am On May 14
Of what importance is holding power when you can't use it to protect your people?

The president is Yoruba
Chief of army staff is Yoruba
Inspector general of police is Yoruba
Comptroller of custom is Yoruba
Yet Yoruba land is not safe.

Obas were kidnapped by herdsmen and killed like fowl.students were kidnapped and ransom paid before their release. Yoruba's were forced to sign agreement with herdsmen yet you have power

Why did you now fight to have power when you can't use it to protect yourself?
Cowardly people
Spits

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by slivertongue: 10:04am On May 14
it's getting out of hand
Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by fuckingAyaya(m): 10:09am On May 14
Where are the cows?

Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by Zooposki(f): 10:15am On May 14
Abeg, make them leave South West for us o. We no wan hear for future say the only place you can see a South Westerner is in the museum, or the archives of a library.

Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by Sharpsharp00123: 10:26am On May 14
fuckingAyaya:
Where are the cows?
I ask u again

Where are d cows?

The earlier d better we realize there are also criminals among us, so na Fulani dey do everything?

It is only a fool that will believe his tribe doesn’t have criminals but only Fulani commits crime

If that is the case y is it that no b only fulanis dey prison?

Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by Godfullsam(m): 10:30am On May 14
lastmessenger:
Of what importance is holding power when you can use it to protect your people?

The president is Yoruba

Obas were kidnapped by herdsmen and killed like fowl.students were kidnapped and ransom paid before their release. Yoruba's were forced to sign agreement with herdsmen yet you have power

Cowardly people
Spits

You think balablu took over power because he wants to protect the interest of certain people?

He took over for his own personal interest.
Perhaps you need to find out the meaning of EMILOKAN .

Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by Godfullsam(m): 10:32am On May 14
fuckingAyaya:
Where are the cows?

Stop this old senseless chorus pls.

Must everybody know that you are senseless?

Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by Adaisback(f): 11:44am On May 14
Didn't they sign out their forest to herdsmen or is it entered into agreement with them? Oya na, the chicken have come home to roost
Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by chiagozien(m): 1:32pm On May 14
Amotekum terrorists at work
Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by Melagros(m): 1:52pm On May 14
COMRADES, it is like kidnapping is gradually gaining grounds in the westside
Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by DMerciful(m): 2:52pm On May 14
The country is too big for incompetent Tinubu.
lastmessenger:
Of what importance is holding power when you can't use it to protect your people?

The president is Yoruba

Cowardly people
Spits

Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by vanbonattel: 3:06pm On May 14
Always in Ibadan
Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by strangest(m): 3:17pm On May 14
Godfullsam:

Stop this old senseless chorus pls.

Must everybody know that you are senseless?

Where are the cows? TINUBU and hate against Igbos didn't start today... Enjoy Una stupidity of supporting a druggie

Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by Mrexcell(m): 4:06pm On May 14
So tinibu couldn't even provide security for his own people?
Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by Yujin(m): 4:39pm On May 14
This is no news. Next!

Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by KwuoteYourFada: 4:42pm On May 14
Mrexcell:
So tinibu couldn't even provide security for his own people?

As if Buhari did

all politicians are same jare

ifun obi sef undecided
Re: One Killed, 4 Sustain Injuries As Gunmen Kidnap 3 In Ibadan by Ogonimilitant(m): 4:51pm On May 14
Lagos Ibadan press will never report this news.
Dying in silence. I pity the waste Side

Same People Who Support The Genocide Of Palestinians Are Now Begging Nigerian Ar / Court Decision On Constitutional Amendment Unsettles 2011 Polls / The Story Of The Creative Jobseeker