Stats: 3,161,579 members, 7,847,446 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 05:36 PM

Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. (1183 Views)

How NLC And TUC Betrayed #occupynigeria: An Insider Account / #occupynigeria: Lagos Protest At Gani Fawehinmi Park, Ojota. / #occupynigeria Protest Goes Cyber. Govt Officials Private Numbers Released (2) (3) (4)

Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 10:09pm On Jan 06, 2012
The ill thought "occupynigeria" over subsidy removal will fail because;

1.The petrol subsidy removal is a government policy to enhance and guide decisions to achieve a rational outcome, and any unfortunate person that take law into his hand could be arrested or shot without any reservation.

2. I expect nigerians to storm the street/protest on corruption, institutional decay, security, poor leadership and intergrity of office holders, but in this case it's none of the above.

3. We are protesting for the wrong reason(s) or better put 'foolish activism'.

4. The caption "occupynigeria" is a copywrite, we can do better if we define our own form of aggitation/uprising.

I'm glad this government has been the most critised and perceived as the most controversial, such government always make progress and pushes changes through.

We should all consider the fact that this government is taking the bull by the horn to rectify the nonsense done by past governments that wasted money on subsidising consumption because they were afraid of changes.

The time for awuf run bele is over else Nigeria will remain backward economically and that will spur aggitation for disintegration.

Do u all know that diesel vehicle are more economical and durable than petrol?, there are more diesel vehicles on european roads than petrol too.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by femzy(m): 10:39pm On Jan 06, 2012
I hope all the above jargons don't survive to the frontpage
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 11:16am On Jan 11, 2012
femzy:

Dude,
U should thank God the decision to remove subsidy is coming sooner than later, sensible economy subsidise production and not consumption, We all envy Europe and America, did u think they got there by subsidizing consumption?, it's a waste.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by Demdem(m): 11:18am On Jan 11, 2012
femzy:

i hope so too
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by Nobody: 11:21am On Jan 11, 2012
fools are just springing up every minute. @Op stop being foolish. ediot! angry
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 11:26am On Jan 11, 2012
diluminati:

fools are just springing up every minute. @Op stop being foolish. ediot! angry

U can call me whatever u like, but get this into your head, I live and work in a first class economy, they did'nt get there by subsidising consumption and I want the same for Nigeria.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by VoodooDoll(m): 11:36am On Jan 11, 2012
Pray tell, which first class economy do you live in that does not have "social welfare", a fully working public mass transit system and a responsive and responsible government.

I do believe you are a stooge, I may be wrong but it is my belief.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by blacksta(m): 11:43am On Jan 11, 2012
omanzo02:

Dude,
U should thank God the decision to remove subsidy is coming sooner than later, sensible economy subsidise production and not consumption, We all envy Europe and America, did u think they got there by subsidizing consumption?, it's a waste.

Oloshi - U don prove say u no get brain

Are you aware that there is agric subsidy in Amercia and Europe. You think they can compete with farms in africa and asia without subsidy. The Uk government pays roughly 5 billion pounds yearly to subsidy rail and bus transport network.

Your first class environment must be rubbish.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by umechuma: 11:45am On Jan 11, 2012
Occupynigeria will obviously fail
Most of the protesters and supporters of fuel subsidy are among the corruption system in Nigeria and will do whatever they can for the status-qua to remain.
The Govt was prepared and ready for the protest which may not last up to 2 weeks and if observe very the protest is already loosing steam.
Lazy and parasite people are the ones protesting .
Occupynigeria will obviously fail.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by Beaf: 11:47am On Jan 11, 2012
So having a social welfare programe and subsidising agriculture is the same as subsidising consumption to some people on NL? shocked shocked shocked
When will Nigerians stop disgracing the country? When will this itk end? embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed

Social welfare and agriculture are productive resources of the economy.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 11:47am On Jan 11, 2012
VoodooDoll:

Pray tell, which first class economy do you live in that does not have "social welfare", a fully working public mass transit system and a responsive and responsible government.

Dude,
Yes, western europe where I am have excellent working public mass transit, I think Nigeria could take a cue from country like Turkey that operate excellent private/individual mass transit as obtainable in Nigeria, with affordable prices and dependable.

The problem with Nigeria is the quick fix , copy and paste syndroom, we should learn how to develope and innovating what we have.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by blacksta(m): 11:53am On Jan 11, 2012
Beaf:

So having a social welfare programe and subsidising agriculture is the same as subsidising consumption to some people on NL? shocked shocked shocked
When will Nigerians stop disgracing the country? When will this itk end? embarassed embarassed embarassed embarassed

Social welfare and agriculture are productive resources of the economy.
Your government does not provide enough electricity, water, health care, transportation and many others. if you look out this way in the Nigerian context - private electricity generation powers the economy - from the small roadside tailor to the ice block seller -
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 11:53am On Jan 11, 2012
blacksta:

Oloshi - U don prove say u no get brain

Are you aware that there is agric subsidy in Amercia and Europe. You think they can compete with farms in africa and asia without subsidy. The Uk government pays roughly 5 billion pounds yearly to subsidy rail and bus transport network.

Your first class environment must be rubbish.

You just rubbished yourself with your comment, european governments subsidise the farmers that produced crops/rear animals and not the prices in the supermarkets for the consumers, the subsidy for the farmers lowers the price they sells to the supermarkets, do u know how many workers that subsidy will employ to produce those crops?

Animals rearer protested in brussel recently asking for increase in price for their cow milk and pig meat because the supermarkets increased their prices due to inflation, is that consumption?
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by Xmind1: 11:59am On Jan 11, 2012
Occupy Nigeria my foot. How many of those protesters can define subsidy? Do they even know what they are protesting for. Do they understand? I expect labour and civil society to put in intelligent debate on fuel subsidy and give reasons why it should not be removed. Not just going about and giving hoodlums the opportunity to destroy.Most of the guys on the street are there for political reasons. Most of them are CPC and ACN guys that just want Jonathan out. Let's be patriotic my people and stop following the crowd.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by Beaf: 12:08pm On Jan 11, 2012
blacksta:

Your government does not provide enough electricity, water, health care, transportation and many others. if you look out this way in the Nigerian context - private electricity generation powers the economy - from the small roadside tailor to the ice block seller -

Of course, to you bigots, everything is GEJ's fault, he caused all problems and created the satan in your backyard. Rubbish.
Nigeria has been a failed state since 2006, I guess GEJ arranged that too. I wonder how you think you sound when saying such things.

The argument above does not make social welfare or agriculture consumptive parts of the economy, so your points are still off on a tangent. More than anything, your post shows why the occupy jamboree is a failure.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by blacksta(m): 12:14pm On Jan 11, 2012
omanzo02:

You just rubbished yourself with your comment, european governments subsidise the farmers that produced crops/rear animals and not the prices in the supermarkets for the consumers, the subsidy for the farmers lowers the price they sells to the supermarkets, do u know how many workers that subsidy will employ to produce those crops?

Animals rearer protested in brussel recently asking for increase in price their milk because the supermarkets increased their price due to inflation, is that consumption?

Same principle with subsidy on petrol  - to lower price and relative to the standard of living  - We have all the seen the 100% increase in cost of everything with wages remaining stagant.  We should be careful not to compare western economics to what we have in Nigeria.   In the Nigerian context everything revolves round oil at this point in time.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 12:22pm On Jan 11, 2012
Beaf:

Of course, to you bigots, everything is GEJ's fault, he caused all problems and created the satan in your backyard. Rubbish.
Nigeria has been a failed state since 2006, I guess GEJ arranged that too. I wonder how you think you sound when saying such things.

The argument above does not make social welfare or agriculture consumptive parts of the economy, so your points are still off on a tangent. More than anything, your post shows why the occupy jamboree is a failure.

Fact is, we need more of such policies that we get the citizens to be more inventive in thinking and cutting their coat according to their size, an average nigerian believe government is suppose to provide him with riches without working for it, its does not happen anywhere.

last year most european countries started with eco-subsidy for whoever that buy a new generation vehicle and give the old one back to the scrap yard, everyone rushed to buy new vehicle,  all in the name of increasing the the dwindling production of modern vehicle to boost employment and save the vehicle industry from bankruptcy. And as well improved the Co2 pollution from vehicles.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 12:33pm On Jan 11, 2012
blacksta:

Same principle with subsidy on petrol  - to lower price and relative to the standard of living  - We have all the seen the 100% increase in cost of everything with wages remaining stagant.  We should be careful not to compare western economics to what we have in Nigeria.   In the Nigerian context everything revolves round oil at this point in time.
Dude,
Only the importers and smugglers of petrol benefit from petrol subsidy, it does not add up at all, u are only concern with buying cheap petrol and not to grow the economy, aint u still stagnant?, Antwerp has one of the biggest petrol refinary and petrol chemical industries in europe, yet they don't havea single oil well, do u know how many people that earn a living from it?, I expect other policies to come on stream to mandate oil companies to built refinaries in Nigeria, that is how we could benefit from our oil. China have the biggest iron ore reserve in the whole world yet company find it difficult to buy iron ore from china unless they site their company in china to have easy access the raw material, u get the joke in?

Even statistic shows that saudi arabia is groaning under their subsidy too.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by obi58: 1:18pm On Jan 11, 2012
@ poster wht u have cleverly omitted in all ur arguments is that all these developed economies u wnt us to benchmark have all the infrastructure in place and a social net i.e. Welfare benefits to cushion d effects of some of thier capitalistic economic policies which u r advocating naija to swallow hook line and sinker without taking into cognisance the economic peculiarites of the nigeiran economy. How do u wnt a cointry struggling under a very high cost of living and cost of production burden to be jumpstarted by a more than 100% increase in dat single commidity that will cause a similar increase in everything else.

Yes subsidy removal is not bad in itself. But should u invrease d harship on d masses u cannot provide any social welfare for or create jobs for because u pulicly have admitted u cannot police our borders to eliminate or reduce smuggling to the barest minimum? why not give these neighbouring countries incentives to come and build refineries here to increase our locally produced content and thus generate income from cross border export by direct supervision?, dont u think that cost of governance here is far far higher than in most of the developed countries u have cited and funding such is unsustainable and irresponsible? Cant allowances for public holders and their aides be drastically cut to realise mire funds to get us out of the mess? Should wasteful public spending not be the major focus of government with clear policies and actions taken as against the empty promises so far?

Guy lets not put the cart before the horse. This burden should not keep being passed to the masses.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 1:20pm On Jan 11, 2012
By this time next week every protester are already in hungry mode. grin grin grin grin grin, they will switch to pro removal to earn salary  grin grin grin
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by Remii(m): 1:35pm On Jan 11, 2012
omanzo02:

By this time next week every protester are already in hungry mode. grin grin grin grin grin, they will switch to pro removal to earn salary  grin grin grin

I don't see any reason for anyone to rejoice at failure of this struggle even you don't support them. If they achieve some of their aims, especially less corrupt govt, we would all be better for it.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 2:02pm On Jan 11, 2012
obi58:

@ poster wht u have cleverly omitted in all your arguments is that all these developed economies u wnt us to benchmark have all the infrastructure in place and a social net i.e. Welfare benefits to cushion d effects of some of thier capitalistic economic policies which u r advocating naija to swallow hook line and sinker without taking into cognisance the economic peculiarites of the nigeiran economy. How do u wnt a cointry struggling under a very high cost of living and cost of production burden to be jumpstarted by a more than 100% increase in dat single commidity that will cause a similar increase in everything else.

Yes subsidy removal is not bad in itself. But should u invrease d harship on d masses u cannot provide any social welfare for or create jobs for because u pulicly have admitted u cannot police our borders to eliminate or reduce smuggling to the barest minimum? why not give these neighbouring countries incentives to come and build refineries here to increase our locally produced content and thus generate income from cross border export by direct supervision?, dont u think that cost of governance here is far far higher than in most of the developed countries u have cited and funding such is unsustainable and irresponsible? Cant allowances for public holders and their aides be drastically cut to realise mire funds to get us out of the mess? Should wasteful public spending not be the major focus of government with clear policies and actions taken as against the empty promises so far?

Guy lets not put the cart before the horse. This burden should not keep being passed to the masses.
Yes, we are all aware availability of infrastructure is a problem in nigeria and the recent government has made that a priority, we just need to keep them on their toes and remind them what to do, and subsidy removal is an avenue to get more funds to sink into infrastructures, so if we hope to get somewhere sooner we have to make some radical decision to get radical result infrastructural-wise.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 2:07pm On Jan 11, 2012
Remii:

I don't see any reason for anyone to rejoice at failure of this struggle even you don't support them. If they achieve some of their aims, especially less corrupt govt, we would all be better for it.
Nobody is rejoicing, just that NLC/TUC or whatever are going about it foolishly, they should be thinking about how to keep the government on their toes on utilisation of the subsidy money in improving the infrastructure and well being of the citizens than encouraging subsidizing consumption, it's plain stupidity.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by VoodooDoll(m): 2:47pm On Jan 11, 2012
omanzo02:

Dude,
Yes, western europe where I am have excellent working public mass transit, I think Nigeria could take a cue from country like Turkey that operate excellent private/individual mass transit as obtainable in Nigeria, with affordable prices and dependable.

The problem with Nigeria is the quick fix , copy and paste syndroom, we should learn how to develope and innovating what we have.

You have not answered my question. Which country do you live in that does not have a social security system. Turkey which you mentioned has unemployment insurance.

You then go on to contradict yourself. We should not copy and paste then why did you talk about where you live and Nigeria emulating such.

Like I said, you are a stooge.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by blacksta(m): 3:00pm On Jan 11, 2012
It is unlikely that the protest will fail, what is very likely is a compromise by the government.  Without a compromise , this government will become a sitting duck, just like in the days of IBB and Abacha after masses revolt  It is in  the best interest of this government if it wants to to achieve anything or any of its transformation agenda it much show to be listening government.  Nobody is saying subsidy must continue , but its implementation must be sincere and conducted in a condusive environment. 

In the nigerian context subsidy is like crack and nigerians are addictied to it. Winning Nigeria off the crack without incentives wont work
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 10:38pm On Jan 11, 2012
blacksta:

It is unlikely that the protest will fail, what is very likely is a compromise by the government. Without a compromise , this government will become a sitting duck, just like in the days of IBB and Abacha after masses revolt It is in the best interest of this government if it wants to to achieve anything or any of its transformation agenda it much show to be listening government. Nobody is saying subsidy must continue , but its implementation must be sincere and conducted in a condusive environment.

In the nigerian context subsidy is like crack and nigerians are addictied to it. Winning Nigeria off the crack without incentives wont work

The crack we are high on made the country stagnant for decades, accept changes my friend.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 2:50pm On Jan 18, 2012
I was right afterall, NLC/TUC called off the strike and #occupynigeria# with their fooolish activism collapse and are  being hunted by soldiers about town, lol. grin grin
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by Mogidi: 3:19pm On Jan 18, 2012
VoodooDoll:

a fully working public mass transit system
Dude didn't know that it would cost money for the above. No attempt at explaining where the money would come from to build this "social welfare". 
Probably the "silliest" post I read today.

NB
Am still reading other silly post so don't think you've won yet.

Enjoy!!!
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by Calamama: 3:45pm On Jan 18, 2012
The ill thought "occupynigeria" over subsidy removal will fail because;

1.The petrol subsidy removal is a government policy to enhance and guide decisions to achieve a rational outcome, and any unfortunate person that take law into his hand could be arrested or shot without any reservation.

2. I expect nigerians to storm the street/protest on corruption, institutional decay, security, poor leadership and intergrity of office holders, but in this case it's none of the above.

3. We are protesting for the wrong reason(s) or better put 'foolish activism'.

4. The caption "occupynigeria" is a copywrite, we can do better if we define our own form of aggitation/uprising.

I'm glad this government has been the most critised and perceived as the most controversial, such government always make progress and pushes changes through.

We should all consider the fact that this government is taking the bull by the horn to rectify the nonsense done by past governments that wasted money on subsidising consumption because they were afraid of changes.

The time for awuf run bele is over else Nigeria will remain backward economically and that will spur aggitation for disintegration.

Do u all know that diesel vehicle are more economical and durable than petrol?, there are more diesel vehicles on european roads than petrol too.

True.

in addition, international opinion is broadly in agreement with the removal so public cant rely on sympathy there.

as for point 2, that will come in time. In fact, the way forward for those hungry for revolution may have come from the protests.

once, the idea of revolution in Nigeria floundered on the fact of our diversity but now we can see that Labour Union could be used to represent everyone. So just as Nigeria may be a project which distracts us sufficiently from disintegrating into all out ethnic wars without end so Labour if it is built upon could provide an umbrella project which the common man  could  belive in. One day we may have a Labour party.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by UyiIredia(m): 5:08pm On Jan 18, 2012
@ OP >>> Read this
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by omanzo02: 9:24pm On Jan 18, 2012
Calamama:

once, the idea of revolution in Nigeria floundered on the fact of our diversity but now we can see that Labour Union could be used to represent everyone. So just as Nigeria may be a project which distracts us sufficiently from disintegrating into all out ethnic wars without end so Labour if it is built upon could provide an umbrella project which the common man could belive in. One day we may have a Labour party.
The idea of using labour to represent everyone won't work at all, labour can only fight for their members and its a non political organization. If nigerians had stormed the street in a coordinated protest on corruption and good governance and dare the government for a whole week, its would have been a different ball game by now, its could have expand and yield result.
Re: Reasons "occupynigeria" Will Fail. by Calamama: 10:31pm On Jan 18, 2012
There's no reason why the Unions cant be political. All unions could fall under the auspices  of the Labour party (their political arm) . Of course there's the difficulty that because of nepotism most unions might be one tribe heavy. Anyway the whole thing is a different argument for another time

Oil Palaver: FG Looks To Political Solution For Anambra, Kogi, Enugu States / Sir Richard Branson, Willing To Invest Again In Nigeria / How Investors Stall Govt’s Drive For Private Refineries

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 81