Stats: 3,155,237 members, 7,825,920 topics. Date: Monday, 13 May 2024 at 06:29 AM

Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov (4426 Views)

Why I Didn’t Call GEJ After Chibok Girls Were Abducted By Boko Haram — Borno Gov / Borno Gov To Buhari: Give N/east 13% Oil Derivation / Police Arrest Boko Haram Suspect In Borno Gov’s Lodge (2) (3) (4)

Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by victorazy(m): 6:00am On Feb 17, 2012
By KINGSLEY OMONOBI & Abdallah el-Kurebe with agency reports
Abuja— Sultan of Sokoto, Alhaji Sa’ad Abubakar 111 and Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno State, yesterday, declared that the era of insecurity caused by the spate of bombings and shootings by the Boko Haram sect in Borno State is over.

Sultan assures of end of security challenges

The Sultan, who spoke when the Chief of Army Staff, Lt. Gen. Onyeabo Azubike Ihejirika paid him courtesy visit in his palace assured that the current security challenges facing the country will soon be over with the concerted efforts by all stakeholders to tame insecurity.

Alhaji Sa’ad Abubakar 111 and Governor Kashim Shettima of Borno State

According to the News Agency of Nigeria, the Sultan said:  “We will not rest until all security challenges in this country are put behind us. These challenges will soon be a thing of the past and Nigeria will be the better country it used to be.”

Assuring the support of the Sultanate, he added that Nigerians have to put their heads together in order to face the prevalent challenges in the country. “We have to put heads together in order to face the challenges we have. On our part, we assure you of our continued support for peace and stability in Nigeria,” the Sultan said.

He expressed the need for all Military formations to be secured in view of their porous nature.

Earlier, the Chief of Army Staff said that he was in Sokoto to inspect formations and units as well as have interactive sessions with officers and men of the Nigerian Army. Ihejirika also reiterated Army’s continued loyalty to the Constitution of Nigeria.

On his part, Governor Shettima who acknowledged the security challenges in the state, however boasted that the worst was over as operatives of the State Security Service (SSS) were clamping down on the sect.

Speaking when he visited the Minister of Youth Development, Bolaji Abdulahi, in his office, to discuss NYSC’s directive stopping the posting of corps members to states considered volatile Governor Shettima said. “We are passing through some security challenges in the North-East of the country, due to the insurgency that is currently going on – I am talking about the Boko haram. I want to assure the minister that the worst is over; it was a temporary eclipse; we will start rising again.

“We survived the criminal occupation of Borno for seven years, seven months and seven days in the late 1890s; I believe this time around the worst is over.

“Not a single corps member was hit in Borno throughout the crisis, but as for parents I understand their affection about posting their ward to the north east and Borno, Yobe in particular.

“But I want to assure the minister that we are on top of the situation. The government is equal to the task, we are all Nigerians and we will leave no stone unturned to safeguard the lives and properties of all of them.”

Shettima, who said that Boko Haram was borne out of endemic poverty and hunger, called on government to engage the sect in dialogue to understand their grievances.

He allayed the fears of most parents whose wards have been posted to his state, promising that the government would safeguard their lives and property.

Responding, Abdullahi expressed the hope that the state government would provide adequate and sustained security for the corps members that would be posted to the state.

The minister said that the recent breakthrough made by SSS operatives in relations to Boko Haram, might encourage NYSC to review its decision for corps members to steer clear of troubled states.

“We are glad to note that the situation is getting better by the day; we know the progress that the security agencies have made in the last couple of days and weeks to bring this situation under control.

“And as you know government is very dynamic, government policies and decisions will continue to respond to situations as they progress.

“It is in this light that I can assure your excellency that we will continue to revise our positions, in light of the most current challenges and the most current situations that we have.

“The National Youth Service Corps is principally created to promote national integration; it’s a vehicle for national integration after the civil war as a way of healing the wounds of the war.

“Thirty eight years after, the NYSC is still very valid; it’s still one of the most potent vehicles for national integration.”

Abdullahi said the objective of the insurgents was to create fear and disunity among Nigerians.

Army authorities stop wanted soldier’s pension

Meanwhile, indications emerged yesterday that following the SSS declaration of an ex-soldier, Habibu Bama, wanted in connection with the Christmas Day Bombing of a Church last year, authorities of the Nigeria Army may have ordered that further payment of his pension benefits be put on hold pending investigation.

Vanguard was informed that the wanted ex-soldier, Habibu Bama, who is also known as Shuaibu Bama collects his pension benefits through a bank which is the procedure for pensioners but that since he has been declared wanted in connection with Boko Haram, he would have to face investigation before any such benefit can be extended to him.

Security source told Vanguard that “the fact that an ex-soldier was declared wanted in connection with the dastardly act of bombing a church and killing about 47 people is of great embarrassment to the military authorities but we have to wait and see the outcome of the investigation if he is arrested by the SSS hence the immediate action the army can take was to order the stoppage of his pensions”.

It was also gathered that the Army authorities on their own, have commenced investigations to ascertain how Bama who allegedly bears three names including Habib Mamman, left the Army; and whether he retired voluntarily or was compulsory retired.

In addition, the authorities will investigate and verify the actual name he bore while he was in the Army and the year he retired and how many years he served.

The Army authorities are also worried about the consequences of such a military personnel who knows much about the system, could be involved in the nefarious activities of the Boko Haram sect.

It will be recalled that Department of State Security (SSS), on Wednesday declared Habibu Bama wanted as he was believed to be the prime suspect in the Christmas Day bombing of a church in Madalla , Niger State, in which 47 worshippers at St. Theresa’s Catholic Church were killed.
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by WebSurfer(m): 6:15am On Feb 17, 2012
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by austinsmat(m): 6:33am On Feb 17, 2012
what is going on this nation boko haram are fighting to islamize the north and some elite northerners have turn it to poverty problem from lamido sanusi now to shittma if it is poverty cause as there are saying is't not money there use to sponsor it why can't them use the money for betterment of the northerners
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by hakanai(m): 9:13am On Feb 17, 2012
^^^ Don't forget clinton said same thing and US ambassdor.Alot of other African political and social Analyst.Anyway as much as it is could be true,It is not a worthy excuse.I am from the North and working fine.If only education in the fields of science(ICT,medicine and technology was cultivated in the large populace we could move on.)
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by phreakabit(m): 10:48am On Feb 17, 2012
[size=18pt]This, coming from the true number one and number two men of Boko haram is quite commendable.[/size]
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by chuks49(m): 11:30am On Feb 17, 2012
Its up to the sultan and his imams. They know more than they re telling us.
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by babaowo: 12:10pm On Feb 17, 2012
When they are the one who originated the group in the 1st place.
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by Nobody: 12:14pm On Feb 17, 2012
Translation-we will soon call our boys to order
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by Attention(f): 12:45pm On Feb 17, 2012
e be like say the thing get time table.
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by LloydAchi(m): 1:01pm On Feb 17, 2012
moroh:

Translation-we will soon call our boys to order

Thank you. This is the summary.
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by jspac(m): 1:13pm On Feb 17, 2012
Akụkọ ịfo grin
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by jspac(m): 1:26pm On Feb 17, 2012
Attention:

Mon:bombing Threats from BH
tues:IGP shuns BH threat
wed:BH strikes
thurs:Nigerians curse GEJ/all northerners
fri:GEJ sympathises with the families of the victims
sat:100 BH members arrested
sun:BH members escape grin grin grin
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by ranlaen: 1:29pm On Feb 17, 2012
boko haram is a product of poverty brought about from years of corruption.
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by Raxxye(m): 1:43pm On Feb 17, 2012
Attention:

My sister, na true u talk. Na so I see am too.
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by oiseworld: 1:55pm On Feb 17, 2012
ranlaen:

boko haram is a product of poverty brought about from years of corruption.

so na only them they suffer, come to the south and see people suffering,hustling ang smiling

@ post .the sponsors have spoken.
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by flexdee(m): 1:57pm On Feb 17, 2012
Northern leaders and their pranks grin grin grin

we'll know who's who when the time comes.
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by duke4ever: 2:05pm On Feb 17, 2012
js_pac:

Akụkọ ịfo grin
do u use Igbo keyboard? How did u come about the vowel dots?
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by jspac(m): 5:38pm On Feb 17, 2012
duke4ever:

do u use Igbo keyboard? How did u come about the vowel dots?
If you are posting with a nokia phone change your writing language to Igbo.
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by billyG(m): 8:11pm On Feb 17, 2012
Surely the sultan,emirs,& imams knows how to call their MAD-RAMS to order,they feed them d OPIUM in the 1st place,did I hear the sultan say 7-7-7? grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by Kinkinatus(m): 9:35pm On Feb 17, 2012
Really If the Sultan and State Governor can predict accurately the ending of this thuggery and mindless violence being perpetrated, then surely they must know something the rest of us Nigerians do not know. Perhaps they may wish to share how they know and what they know?
Re: Terror Attacks ‘ll End Soon – Sultan, Borno Gov by igboboy1(m): 6:16am On Feb 18, 2012
o soso akuko , biko ga noda ana

Senators To Revisit Ceding Of Bakassi This Week / Buhari's Failed Suicide Mission. APC Is Losing Popularity On Nairaland / World Fattest Man,Aged 38 Dies(pictured)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 34