Stats: 3,162,309 members, 7,850,122 topics. Date: Tuesday, 04 June 2024 at 02:39 PM

I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? - Religion (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? (13848 Views)

Boy Suspended From School For Reading Bible During Recess / How Many Here Have Read The Bible From Cover To Cover. / Muslim Murders Wife For Reading Bible (2) (3) (4)

Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Image123(m): 7:45am On Apr 12, 2012
You don't need six versions of the Bible in church. That in itself is a distraction. Little wonder many get so little from the Word. It's not by power nor by might. All you need is the Spirit of God, and the version frequently used in your church.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Nobody: 3:53pm On Apr 12, 2012
Image123: You don't need six versions of the Bible in church. That in itself is a distraction. Little wonder many get so little from the Word. It's not by power nor by might. All you need is the Spirit of God, and the version frequently used in your church.

lets just settle with the fact that you've never read a bible from a (proper wide-screen)phone or an ipad.
You've never had the convenience of being able to read your bible from a device during a long bus drive or commute without carrying a bulky book-bible around.
Never had the ability of checking other versions of the bible to compare interpretation and enhance understanding (man do I love that amplified version) without carrying 2+ heavy book bibles around with you at all times.
The ability to easily bookmark and create your own notes without carrying pen and paper around, and have those notes easily accessible wherever you are.

It's okay. You do want this experience, but possibly haven't had the means to experience it yet.
What you should then do is Pray that you get the means, and leave it at that, instead of condemning it.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by lastpage: 6:20pm On Apr 12, 2012
2buff:

lets just settle with the fact that you've never read a bible from a (proper wide-screen)phone or an ipad.
You've never had the convenience of being able to read your bible from a device during a long bus drive or commute without carrying a bulky book-bible around.
Never had the ability of checking other versions of the bible to compare interpretation and enhance understanding (man do I love that amplified version) without carrying 2+ heavy book bibles around with you at all times.
The ability to easily bookmark and create your own notes without carrying pen and paper around, and have those notes easily accessible wherever you are.

It's okay. You do want this experience, but possibly haven't had the means to experience it yet.
What you should then do is Pray that you get the means, and leave it at that, instead of condemning it.
The highlighted above refers:
Man, l love your post so much!
If not anything, the above highlighted is enough reason for anyone who is serious about the word of God, to get one of those smart gadgets with a Bible App installed.
I looked at my "Book-Bible" a few minutes ago and realized that every available space (back and front) had been used at one time or the other, to make notes, bookmarks of verses worth remembering, make annotations and further explanations!

But all those are now easily achieved with my "Digital Bible" (Am lovin it!)and l can only pray l dont misplace it or get it stolen (that would be a nightmare though l've learnt to make a backup of my important data).
BTW, l've had the same Book Bible for over twenty five years now and have had to "re-upholster" the back cover a few times! grin
I guess am not the only one?

This is one of those occasions when Technology has added "real value" to our lives, positively!

Lastpage!
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Image123(m): 10:02pm On Apr 12, 2012
@2buff
You make me laugh. i'm not against having bibles on phone and co. i said you DO NOT need six versions of the Bible in church. It's a distraction on its own. All you need in church is the version frequently used and the Holy Spirit. It's not having many versions that gives you life and understanding of God's Word. i understand and employ the advantages of many versions BTW, don't be too sure of yourself.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Nobody: 11:37pm On Apr 12, 2012
Image123: @2buff
You make me laugh. i'm not against having bibles on phone and co. i said you DO NOT need six versions of the Bible in church. It's a distraction on its own. All you need in church is the version frequently used and the Holy Spirit. It's not having many versions that gives you life and understanding of God's Word. i understand and employ the advantages of many versions BTW, don't be too sure of yourself.

And who told you that you must access all versions of the bible just because they are on your phone?
So if you visit another church within the same day that frequently uses a different version nko? cheesy
Like I said, it's okay. Stop trying to logically defend your stance on it, as you will not be successful with it.

Just summarize it as you don't feel comfortable with technology because you haven't been exposed as much to it. This is fine.
Not everyone knows how to use a computer in this day and age still. It doesn't make them horrible people.

However, if these same people start attacking people who CAN use computers just because they are ignorant, who are the disturbers here?
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by ProPastorChris(m): 9:50am On Apr 13, 2012
@ OP

reading bible from your phone is NOT wrong at all.

technological advancement has made the Word available to us anytime anywhere as long as you are with your phone.

you needed not to apologise at all but you did right by apologising in the midst of others to give her that respect.

but many christians today are abusing this privilege by allowing their phones to become a distraction to them even during service in church. i prefer you using your printed bible instead of phone during service or any meeting. the reason being that many brethren cannot even locate where some books are in the bible without searching. this electronic media thing is gradually eroding the discipline printed bible brought to us. i think many christians cannot state the books in the bible while some cannot even differentiate OT from NT.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Image123(m): 11:19am On Apr 13, 2012
2buff:

And who told you that you must access all versions of the bible just because they are on your phone?
So if you visit another church within the same day that frequently uses a different version nko? cheesy
Like I said, it's okay. Stop trying to logically defend your stance on it, as you will not be successful with it.

Just summarize it as you don't feel comfortable with technology because you haven't been exposed as much to it. This is fine.
Not everyone knows how to use a computer in this day and age still. It doesn't make them horrible people.

However, if these same people start attacking people who CAN use computers just because they are ignorant, who are the disturbers here?
Talking confidently like you know me does not make you know me at all. The line of argument about 6versions was that one person needed to be flipping from version to version during a message. The Word of God is not studied that way, at least not during a message/sermon. And not every one hops from church to church like you. If that's your purpose for using phone bibles, no need to force it down our throats.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Image123(m): 11:28am On Apr 13, 2012
tchris jj: theres notin wrong wit dat,i v seen many preachers who used their phones 2 read d scriptures.
This must be what oyinbo people call BLATANT LIE. Except i'm misunderstanding you here. Many ke? Many preachers coming to the podium, and they'll say "today's text is taken from abc", and he'll bring out his phone and start to read. That sounds unserious and ridiculous.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Nobody: 2:23pm On Apr 13, 2012
Image123:
This must be what oyinbo people call BLATANT LIE. Except i'm misunderstanding you here. Many ke? Many preachers coming to the podium, and they'll say "today's text is taken from abc", and he'll bring out his phone and start to read. That sounds unserious and ridiculous.

Many do so from their laptop or iPad.
Welcome to the 22nd century
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by BABE3: 2:38pm On Apr 13, 2012
Image123:

I've been to three different churches in the period of three months. One is an RCCG church, and the other two are non-Nigerian churches.

All the preachers used Ipads "instead" of the "book", and it wasn't distracting, neither was it ridiculous.

. . . from stones to scrolls to papers to electronics.

Like 2buff said, welcome to the 22nd century.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by PastorKun(m): 9:56pm On Apr 13, 2012
Image123:

Olodo, why do you enjoy making a big fool out of your self?
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Image123(m): 10:47pm On Apr 13, 2012
tchris jj: theres notin wrong wit dat,i v seen many preachers who used their phones 2 read d scriptures.
2buff:

Many do so from their laptop or iPad.
Welcome to the 22nd century
it seems you are not following what the guy said and what the thread says. He said phone, pele
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Image123(m): 10:51pm On Apr 13, 2012
BABE!:

I've been to three different churches in the period of three months. One is an RCCG church, and the other two are non-Nigerian churches.

All the preachers used Ipads "instead" of the "book", and it wasn't distracting, neither was it ridiculous.

. . . from stones to scrolls to papers to electronics.

Like 2buff said, welcome to the 22nd century.
Follow follow, you should have followed the thread instead of following 2buff. Ipad, phone, no be same thing. Plus he said many, how many churches have you been to? how does three become many in three months. i mean, follow/read the thread and see the line i towed
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Nobody: 10:55pm On Apr 13, 2012
Image123:
it seems you are not following what the guy said and what the thread says. He said phone, pele

Does it matter? undecided
Bless your heart, but you can't stop progress.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by lastpage: 6:21am On Apr 14, 2012
@image123:
The latest Samsumg Notepad is like an amalgamation of an Ipad and a smart phone.
It does everything "The Pad" does (including size of screen) and everything a smart phone like the Galaxy Nexus or SII does!
It i now "integrated" as we say!

If l can lay my hands on the "link", l will post it for you to see and read-up yourself!

Be sure one Pastor will be using it as l type this.

The world (including how we perceive things) is constantly evolving, you know?

Lastpage!
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by freecocoa(f): 7:36am On Apr 14, 2012
larssonsamson: SUGAR MUMMIES ASSOCIATION IN NIGERIA,AND
AROUND THE WORLD AND AFRICA ARE HAVING
MEETINGS INDIFFERENT CLUBS,HOTELS,
JOINTS IN ALL THE CITIESIN NIGERIA
LAGOS,ABUJA,PORT HARCOURT,DELTA,JOS,
CALABAR,BENIN,ENUGU,IMO AND TOP COUNTRIES
LIKE USA UK SPAIN ITALY AND SOUTHAFRICA
AND OTHER COUNTRIES YOU WILL LIKE
GET THE CHANCE TO GET TO HOOKE UP WITH THEM
AND MAKE YOUR CHOICE AND EXHIBIT
YOUR TALENT SO YOU COULD BECOME HOT CAKE
AND GET REAL LOVE AND ASSISTANCE FROM THEM,
AM AGENT SAMSON AM HERE ON BEHALF ON MY AGENCY
THAT HAS A HOOK UP SHOP.SO YOU IF YOU INTERESTED
YOU CAN CONTACT ME ON MY PHONE ON +2347060541308
Sugar mummy people sef get association?my o my,what will i not read on NL,biko carry this 419 comot here before satan go punish you,you see where bible is being discussed you com dey post rubbish there,be kiaful o.angry
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Image123(m): 10:55am On Apr 14, 2012
2buff:

Does it matter? undecided
Bless your heart, but you can't stop progress.
What is progress? Using phone to read Bible? sorry o, you don't know what you're saying.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Image123(m): 11:06am On Apr 14, 2012
lastpage: @image123:
The latest Samsumg Notepad is like an amalgamation of an Ipad and a smart phone.
It does everything "The Pad" does (including size of screen) and everything a smart phone like the Galaxy Nexus or SII does!
It i now "integrated" as we say!

If l can lay my hands on the "link", l will post it for you to see and read-up yourself!

Be sure one Pastor will be using it as l type this.

The world (including how we perceive things) is constantly evolving, you know?

Lastpage!
i sincerely doubt that it is the latest samsung notepad that is been discussed here. i could almost bet that the OP's not referencing the latest samsung notepad but the everyday every people java phone. We're discussing general about the phones that average people on the street use, the china phones, techno, blackberry etc that the average nigerians use to make calls. It's improper in our setting here to leave home for church without the print Holy Bible and bring out your phone as Bible where the rest of the church brought bibles. i'm not saying and i've not said it's a sin, but it's wrong and improper, at least in the average nigeria setting. And it's ridiculous for a preacher. Preachers carry print Bibles, big ones most times. He can't just get to the podium and use his blackberry or stuff, why do you not understand my speech?
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Nobody: 5:25pm On Apr 14, 2012
Image123:
i sincerely doubt that it is the latest samsung notepad that is been discussed here. i could almost bet that the OP's not referencing the latest samsung notepad but the everyday every people java phone. We're discussing general about the phones that average people on the street use, the china phones, techno, blackberry etc that the average nigerians use to make calls. It's improper in our setting here to leave home for church without the print Holy Bible and bring out your phone as Bible where the rest of the church brought bibles. i'm not saying and i've not said it's a sin, but it's wrong and improper, at least in the average nigeria setting. And it's ridiculous for a preacher. Preachers carry print Bibles, big ones most times. He can't just get to the podium and use his blackberry or stuff, why do you not understand my speech?

You are stuck in a purely religion mindset. If it is not a sin, as you say, and does not lead to sin, then you have chosen to lock yourself in a cage that you should not impose on anyone else.
I hope a pastor goes up one day in your church and uses his phone so you guys can boo him off the pulpit.

From what I have studied of Jesus' character, If He was on earth today, I KNOW he would do that just to see who will want to beef him based on that. grin grin grin
Remember how he was always delibrately doing certain things just to tick off rigid people who were focused more on religion than the actual workings of God. grin grin grin
They neglect the core of it.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by BABE3: 5:44pm On Apr 14, 2012
Image123:
Follow follow, you should have followed the thread instead of following 2buff. Ipad, phone, no be same thing. Plus he said many, how many churches have you been to? how does three become many in three months. i mean, follow/read the thread and see the line i towed

Sharap, Azonto boy!!! angry Same difference. I've read the thread through, and you need to come out of your zone. Who cares where the passages are being read from?

again.. from stones, to scrolls, to papers, to electronics. Deal with it.

Sorry to burst your primitive bubble, many preachers now use electronics to preach.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Acelifted: 6:46pm On Apr 14, 2012
fubbyy: Yesterday on a bible study,I was pointed 2 read the bible and the sister conducting the study embarassed me because I brought out my phone to read from,I felt so embarrassed and appologised,but I remember watching a pastor on tv reading from his laptop while preaching, nairalanders what's your opinion on this?

That depends on the kind of church you attend. You surely would not be embarrased if you attend churches like daystar, Winners, Christ Embassy etc. but if you attend churches like the Lord's Chosen and the likes....you should expect things like that. It has nothing to do with the doctrine. The overseer may not have a problem with that...but you know the followers may not be that enlightened.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Image123(m): 8:35pm On Apr 14, 2012
2buff:

You are stuck in a purely religion mindset. If it is not a sin, as you say, and does not lead to sin, then you have chosen to lock yourself in a cage that you should not impose on anyone else.
I hope a pastor goes up one day in your church and uses his phone so you guys can boo him off the pulpit.

From what I have studied of Jesus' character, If He was on earth today, I KNOW he would do that just to see who will want to beef him based on that. grin grin grin
Remember how he was always delibrately doing certain things just to tick off rigid people who were focused more on religion than the actual workings of God. grin grin grin
They neglect the core of it.

It's not religion, why are simple things so difficult? It's common sense, discerning your environment, 'behaving as they behave in Rome' as it were. Stop putting words in my mouth, i didn't say it cannot lead to sin, anything can. If you used your memory, you'd recall that i earlier made a distinction on this thread about a preacher using a laptop to preach and a member using one.
Jesus was not going about looking for how to offend people.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Image123(m): 8:52pm On Apr 14, 2012
BABE!:

Sharap, Azonto boy!!! angry Same difference. I've read the thread through, and you need to come out of your zone. Who cares where the passages are being read from?

again.. from stones, to scrolls, to papers, to electronics. Deal with it.

Sorry to burst your primitive bubble, many preachers now use electronics to preach.
So you resorted to insults and rudeness, typical. Who just mentioned 'primitive'. It's unfortunate only 'the religious' are so accused on nl. Talk about imperfect people demanding perfection from others. Oh, you also managed to read thread, thank God for your life. You got the horse at last.
You may not care where passages are been read from, but there are people care, and whose views should equally be respected, especially when they are your Bible study leaders and church/fellowship members. I don't bloody care what others think about me when i'm right is not a good attitude, especially in church.
Many preachers do not use phones to preach, eat the humble kuli abeg.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by LordReed(m): 6:52pm On Apr 19, 2012
Image123:
Ali, i have not said it is wrong to use phone. I made that clear in a similar thread last month ithink. He the OP is a member, a follower. His pastor is a shepherd, a leader. There is a difference.

Utter Rubbish! The Lord makes no such distinction if anything Pastors are called to higher standard not the other way around.

Being embarrassed for reading from his phone just goes to show the lack of love.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by Image123(m): 7:09pm On Apr 19, 2012
Lord_Reed:

Utter Rubbish! The Lord makes no such distinction if anything Pastors are called to higher standard not the other way around.

Being embarrassed for reading from his phone just goes to show the lack of love.
You mean lord reed right?
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by LordReed(m): 11:01pm On Apr 19, 2012
Image123:
You mean lord reed right?
Don't be obtuse, I wrote The Lord.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by LordReed(m): 11:13pm On Apr 19, 2012
Image123:
It's not religion, why are simple things so difficult? It's common sense, discerning your environment, 'behaving as they behave in Rome' as it were. Stop putting words in my mouth, i didn't say it cannot lead to sin, anything can. If you used your memory, you'd recall that i earlier made a distinction on this thread about a preacher using a laptop to preach and a member using one.
Jesus was not going about looking for how to offend people.

So reading bible from a phone is going around looking to offend? Please!

Besides you make it sound like if Jesus was some kinda conformist when he did what he did regardless of whose ox was gored. His disciples harvested on the sabbath day and Jesus defended them. Yet here you are asking that a legitimate action be stopped because it doesn't conform. Smh.
Re: I Was Embarassed 4 Reading Bible From My Phone,whats Wrong With That? by DavidEsq(m): 12:50pm On Jul 19, 2015
You were embarrassed because the sister belongs to the age of dinosaurs.

Daily Manna Feeding On His Word Daily 2015 / Bible Message On Divorce / What Is The Origin Of Life? (Atheists)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 77