Stats: 3,151,107 members, 7,811,118 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 12:08 AM

Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours (9929 Views)

Lagos Bans Sponsorship Of Pilgrimages To Mecca, Jerusalem / Jonathan Teaches Children During Sunday Service In Abuja (Photos) / Lagos Bans Hawking Of Drugs (2) (3) (4)

Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by fyneboi(m): 5:22pm On Nov 22, 2008
@Seun,

They said hawking during school hours. Children can go hawking after school from 3pm - 7pm. And all Children under 16 should be in doors by 7pm.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by steven5: 5:25pm On Nov 22, 2008
Why not all the time? Hawking should be banned for all children of school age. Period. And all state govs should take cue from Lagos.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by SamMilla1(m): 5:47pm On Nov 22, 2008
You cant ban all children of school age, They pay school fees from there.

I think its good to stop them from doing that during school hours
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Gamine(f): 5:51pm On Nov 22, 2008
Some people can be so unrealistic undecided

we need to define somethings sef

Who is a Child, in this context?

What is Child abuse?

What is Hawking?
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Nobody: 5:54pm On Nov 22, 2008
Google it!
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Kobojunkie: 5:54pm On Nov 22, 2008
Saw this documentary some time ago on a 7 year old kid who had to hawk to feed her family. Her father walked away from his duties and the mother was too ill to fend for her kids. The kid had to hawk at least  hours each day before heading out to school. I know there are many families out there in similar situation and I hope the good Lord provide for them all (seems the Nigerian prayer for those who get trampled along the way) grin

BAN! BAN !! BAN !!! BAN!!! BAN-ITY . . . BAN-ITY . . . BAN-ITY  ooooo hh sad grin
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by kellygirl(f): 6:03pm On Nov 22, 2008
nice move
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by otokx(m): 6:34pm On Nov 22, 2008
can they enforce it?
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Chrisbenogor(m): 6:57pm On Nov 22, 2008
This is a brave move and I applaud it. It is going to pinch on some families no doubt but hawking by kids is just not right.
I think what we should look at is the big picture, surely these people would find other means to make up the money and that is where the government comes in.
Brave move, this is our New york we are talking about!
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by DeepZone: 7:13pm On Nov 22, 2008
Seun:

I'm not arguing, I'm just alluding to the law of conservation of income.
If money is no longer coming in from hawking, it must come from somewhere else.
Let me put it this way: banning Garri will not lead to a balanced diet unless free meat is provided.

Parents should step up the plate and take care of their business. hawking by children is child labor and should be banned in its entirety. If not for the fact that Nigeria has no welfare structure, the banning should not be limited to school hours alone. Children should not be allowed to be vendors period.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by DeepZone: 7:20pm On Nov 22, 2008
Gamine:

Some people can be so unrealistic undecided

we need to define somethings sef

Who is a Child, in this context?

What is Child abuse?

What is Hawking?

A child is any human being under 15. The Nigerian constitution allows marriage from 12 and above but you and I know they are still children.

A lot of things constitute to child abuse ranging from hawking to physical abuse. Do you know how many little girls that are abused sexually by agberos because they hawk oranges?. Do you know how many that have been raped by these sons of Cain?. And when they complain to their mothers, they do nothing about it because they want extra pay from the vending business. It's not hawking alone that should be banned. mothers that use their under aged daughters to facilitate their beer parlor business should go to jail. I hope the likes of Gbenga Daniel should emulate this instead of wasting his energy on harassing Iyabo Obasanjo. Go Fashola!.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Nobody: 7:33pm On Nov 22, 2008
The Nigerian constitution allows marriage from 12

Jesus wept. shocked shocked shocked
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by DeepZone: 7:34pm On Nov 22, 2008
Jesus wept.

It's true and that is why you cannot arrest those mallams that do it.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by emmydee(m): 7:35pm On Nov 22, 2008
Seun,
I tot it's free education.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Gamine(f): 7:39pm On Nov 22, 2008
Jesus wept.

John 11:35

So hawking is the only wahala shey,

Because i wont stop my children from working.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Nobody: 7:52pm On Nov 22, 2008
John 11:35

So hawking is the only wahala shey,

Because i wont stop my children from working.

Your sarcasm on this topic will surely make some mumu on nairaland pee on their pants. But if you are for real, then i guess you are one of those from those wicked rich families that derive joy in sending their under aged house helps hawking. cool

These female and child slavery have to stop immediately.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Gamine(f): 8:05pm On Nov 22, 2008
eh

Nuzo, na now you know say i get Sarc cheesy

When i was 7-10, i worked

not for money, but ya know grin
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Nobody: 8:27pm On Nov 22, 2008
Gamine:

eh

Nuzo, na now you know say i get Sarc cheesy

When i was 7-10, i worked

not for money, but ya know grin

Oh my gawd. . . . i cant imagine a 7 year old girl hawking orange under the nigerian scorching sun and at the same time taking in several sizes of "joe" from these agberos. shocked
Is that be the reason why you are so disturbed as an adult?
Anything i can do to help even though the case is apparently unredeemable? tongue
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by thehomer: 8:29pm On Nov 22, 2008
It's a good move. But I don't think children should be hawking at all.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Nobody: 8:34pm On Nov 22, 2008
Gamine
I actually witnessed an incident like yours at the back of my friend's office in Opebi last year; we caught it on camera. The young security man cornered this Agege bread girl and grind the hell out of the girl as if Jesus was going to come that afternoon. It was fun watching the show.
Good thing was that the girl seemed to be above 20.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Gamine(f): 8:48pm On Nov 22, 2008

But i wasnt hawking orange abeg o

im creamer than that,

And the peeps were no Agberos cheesy
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Nobody: 9:00pm On Nov 22, 2008
And what were u hawking if its not oranges, agege bread or ice water? To whom were u hawking these to, uncles and daddy's friends? Enough cash for u as a kid. grin
One case was shown on the scanty and boring NTA sometime ago; two 7 years old girls got obsessed with licking up (bj) the "joe" of a man that sells water to them. It got to people's notice when the younger kid was crying to have her turn. The kids must have mistaken the "joe" for a live lolly pop. grin grin
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by basking4me: 9:04pm On Nov 22, 2008
@Deepzone

thank you for your contributions.

What you just informed us here has again rattled me, 12yrs old girls getting married as entrenched in the same constitution that guides me as a nigerian?.

We that are lagosians and residents of lagos generally know we have the most elite and educated amongst us in Nigeria,  reason why we paceset.

It is an abhorance to have a child hawk in Lagos.

I know the state government has it in mind that the kids have to help make money for the household and school fees blah bla  blah, Reason they pegged it to after closing hrs just like okada-riding was pegged sometime back.

however, I beg to inform the State that as laudable as the idea is, it needs to go a step further to totally  BAN Hawking by kids, this kids are molested everyday. Some of them have been dealt with even more than the number of times their mothers have had it.

This is Real painful and awful,

If the government 'can go some length,  then they can go the full length,  ' I assure you that the parents or the kids wont die of hunger for not hawking!.

infact the name, HAWKING,   itself is an aberration,   HAWKER, HOOKER, terrible!

Let 'hawking' be punishment for SSCE grads (past 16) who don't pass their exams at 1st seating,  shocked

, The12yrs old married woman,

Abeg Seun we need to get this on the main Page first thing tomorrow, in hope that a Nairaland Rep in the house (Abuja 'house) will start a discuss on it for immediate review by the house of assembly or for the president to veto,

So, 12yr old kids are getting married while some people are setting up committees to protect their 'rights for people not to push them'.

This is arrant rubbish,  where r the women lawmakers,  GUUD!!
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Gamine(f): 9:06pm On Nov 22, 2008
Live lolly pop, EEEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWW  embarassed lipsrsealed

I wasnt Hawking anything cheesy

i said i WORKED grin
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by basking4me: 9:11pm On Nov 22, 2008
Gamine,

You are hilarious,

Abeg, what kid don't work, ?
Whats that!!?@#$

Haba
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Nobody: 9:13pm On Nov 22, 2008
Gamine:

Live lolly pop, EEEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWW  embarassed lipsrsealed

I wasnt Hawking anything cheesy

i said i WORKED grin

Worked as what, for who and with who?

And whats so eeeeeewwww about live lolly pops? Something most girls pour acid on fellow girls to get. undecided
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by basking4me: 9:24pm On Nov 22, 2008
lollypop or no lollypop, Hawking is wrong, when the time is right to have lollypops noone is gonna stop them,

Now all they are getting is forced lollies,

Please speak against boy and girl child slavery , in the name of assisting the home, fending for the family, Hawking, lollypops, or whatever name its called,

Lets make Nigeria a better place to live, starting from the kids up!

Goodnite and see you all tmrw,
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Sauron1: 9:45pm On Nov 22, 2008
basking4me:

lollypop or no lollypop, Hawking is wrong, when the time is right to have lollypops noone is going to stop them,

Now all they are getting is forced lollies,

Please speak against boy and girl child slavery , in the name of assisting the home, fending for the family, Hawking, lollypops, or whatever name its called,

Lets make Nigeria a better place to live, starting from the kids up!

Goodnite and see you all tmrw,

I agree 100%.

Parents should be brought to book for sending kids to hawk during school hours.
It's just pathetic. . . . . .Why should any parent send their kids to the streets and expose em to various vices.
Sexual assault, drugs, rape, violence and all kinds of ugly shiznit await em there.
Parents should take care of their own business. . . . .No one forced em to produce kids in the first place.
If they cannot pay their bills, they should use their condoms more effectively.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Nobody: 9:49pm On Nov 22, 2008
Before we begin to act as if we can go all the way against this horrible situation, we should know that its not going away right about now or sometime soon. Children can only be free in this part of the world if you and your greedy leaders can do something on physical and social infrastructures, education, unemployment, poverty and enforcement that can keep child's laws in motion.

Sincerely speaking, fashola's recent orders (media frenzy) in lagos is like a hunter stopping to throw stones at birds when there's an elephant in sight.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by isiegonwa: 10:45pm On Nov 22, 2008
is there free education in lagos state, ? might be, what of free feeding, ?
cos mtn no fit tell suscriber wee no get balance for phone, not available,
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by Ilelobola: 10:47pm On Nov 22, 2008
Good move by the government, perhaps they could go one step further like providing breakfast and lunch for all children of school age (in school of course), free school uniforms and books. I think most parents will make their child go to school even if only for the free meals and this should help reduce the burden on the parents. Some may say don't have more children than you can care for but I know loads of people in Nigeria that used to be comfortable but just can't afford a lot of the basic things of life.
Re: Lagos Bans Hawking By Children During School Hours by RedHotChic(f): 10:48pm On Nov 22, 2008

I agree 100%.

Parents should be brought to book for sending kids to hawk during school hours.
It's just pathetic. . . . . .Why should any parent send their kids to the streets and expose em to various vices.
Sexual assault, drugs, rape, violence and all kinds of ugly shiznit await em there.
Parents should take care of their own business. . . . .No one forced em to produce kids in the first place.
If they cannot pay their bills, they should use their condoms more effectively.
Thank you.

Justice Ministry Syndicate Sells Recovered FG Properties, Pockets Proceeds / Lai Mohammed’s Faction Kicks As Abdulrazaq Begins Re-Election Bid / Insecurity: Wike Asks CP To Establish Additional Police Divisions In Gwagwalada

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 48