Stats: 3,162,038 members, 7,849,184 topics. Date: Monday, 03 June 2024 at 03:54 PM

Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? - Religion (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? (3029 Views)

Michael McIntyre: Millionaire Who Hated God Gets Saved, Now Helping Christians / Hitler Was Never A Christian And He Hated Christianity / Did God Command Genocide In The Bible ? This Will Shock You ! (2) (3) (4)

Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by simplex2: 10:44am On Jan 30, 2017
Chinua Achebe's Things Fall Apart was well written, better than that crap of a story.
Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by jimmyjenseng(m): 11:19am On Jan 30, 2017
GoodMuyis:

Did you asked question? NO

Are you a Bible Student? NO
Are you seeking knowledge? NO
Are you a Joker? O yea, YES

Yes he did ask questions. You were just too blind to read the questions he asked. Below are the question:

How does God respond to this act of love and mercy? The Bible tells us that God hated Esau (Romans 9:13) but loved Jacob. Why is this?
Asin....i am not understanding.
Why hate the goood guy and love the theif?

So, can you respond to the questions now?
Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by Nobody: 11:36am On Jan 30, 2017
You need to understand that the God of the old testament isn't the one Christians claim to serve today. That guy was a serious badass who didn't give a f**k. He didn't pretend to love anyone. He treated the world like he owned it. Did whatever he wanted (and even regretted many of his actions). Jacob's story is just another example of he being himself.

You can imagine my smirk when an enthusiastic choir singer proclaims: "from the beginning of time, you never change!"

Yeah right.

Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by Jozzy4: 11:58am On Jan 30, 2017
Simply because he didnt appreaciate Spiritual things by giving up his birthright for one meal . So Jacob was rightly entitled to the blessings meant for him Since he has contracted it for a meal . He serves as warning for today's Christians

Hebrews 12:16
and watch that among you there is no one who is sexually immoral* nor anyone who does not appreciate sacred things, like Eʹsau, who gave up his rights as firstborn in exchange for one meal.

Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by randomperson: 1:17pm On Jan 30, 2017
Jozzy4:
Simply because he didnt appreaciate Spiritual things by giving up his birthright for one meal . So Jacob was rightly entitled to the blessings meant for him Since he has contracted it for a meal . He serves as warning for today's Christians

Hebrews 12:16
and watch that among you there is no one who is sexually immoral* nor anyone who does not appreciate sacred things, like Eʹsau, who gave up his rights as firstborn in exchange for one meal.
That's not why... The bible says before they were born, god already loved one and hated the other
Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by fizzy(f): 2:07pm On Jan 30, 2017
Do You Want To raise your Financial Status.Join
Help-4-All Donation Group Today
Its *Real* and *Genuine*

Follow this link to join WhatsApp group: https:///1cKAItWjPHc49pSzQRodYV
Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by Jozzy4: 3:42pm On Jan 30, 2017
randomperson:

That's not why... The bible says before they were born, god already loved one and hated the other
Kindly Show me where the bible said this before they were born ?

Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by GoodMuyis(m): 4:47pm On Jan 30, 2017
jimmyjenseng:

Yes he did ask questions. You were just too blind to read the questions he asked. Below are the question:

So, can you respond to the questions now?

Sorry to disappointment I DONT GIVE ANSWERS TO STUPID QUESTION.
BUT BUT BUT

No such thing as a stupid question

But Stupid Questions are:

=> Those questions that have already been answered, but the asker wasn't listening or paying attention.
=> Questions that can be answered with a scant amount of research and less than a minute of time.
=> Questions of which the answer should be painfully obvious to any person with a pulse who has lived on this earth for more than a decade.
Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by jimmyjenseng(m): 6:25pm On Jan 30, 2017
GoodMuyis:

Sorry to disappointment I DONT GIVE ANSWERS TO STUPID QUESTION.
BUT BUT BUT

No such thing as a stupid question

But Stupid Questions are:

=> Those questions that have already been answered, but the asker wasn't listening or paying attention.
=> Questions that can be answered with a scant amount of research and less than a minute of time.
=> Questions of which the answer should be painfully obvious to any person with a pulse who has lived on this earth for more than a decade.

I see!!! Dear, I'd suggest you pretend like you never saw or post a comment on this thread. You've just made a big fool of yourself.
Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by xxxtedyxxx(m): 7:49pm On Jan 30, 2017
GoodMuyis:

Did you asked question? NO
Are you a Bible Student? NO
Are you seeking knowledge? NO
Are you a Joker? O yea, YES

Did i ask any question?

Blind man...lol.. what did u even click to get here?

oga swerve and stop playing hide and seek if u have nothing to contribute to the topic at hand.
Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by GoodMuyis(m): 9:04am On Jan 31, 2017
xxxtedyxxx:

Did i ask any question?
Blind man...lol.. what did u even click to get here?
oga swerve and stop playing hide and seek if u have nothing to contribute to the topic at hand.

jimmyjenseng:

I see!!! Dear, I'd suggest you pretend like you never saw or post a comment on this thread. You've just made a big fool of yourself.

Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by randomperson: 2:51pm On Jan 31, 2017
Jozzy4:

Kindly Show me where the bible said this before they were born ?
Happily
God said to her, “The older will serve the younger.” He said this before they were born, before they had done anything either good or bad; so God's choice was based on his call, and not on anything they had done. 13 As the scripture says, “I loved Jacob, but I hated Esau.”
Romans 9
Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by Kagawa10: 4:03pm On Jan 31, 2017
Elnino4ladies:

Is God impartial?

Why love one and hate the other?

Who told you God hated him? As far I'm concerned Esau was blessed because at the time Jacob returned with lot of things to give to Esau, Esau told him God had blessed him enough.

The only thing I can see here is that Jacob was chosen over Esau to continue the promise made to Abraham. It doesn't mean Esau wasn't blessed by God. If Haggai's son could be blessed by God, how much more do you think Esau would be?

BTW, God already chose Jacob right from the womb because He knew them even before they were formed in the womb.
Jer 1:5 "Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, And before you were born I consecrated you.."
Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by jimmyjenseng(m): 5:03pm On Jan 31, 2017
randomperson:

Happily
God said to her, “The older will serve the younger.” He said this before they were born, before they had done anything either good or bad; so God's choice was based on his call, and not on anything they had done. 13 As the scripture says, “I loved Jacob, but I hated Esau.”
Romans 9

Malachi chap 1 vs 2-3 also has this to say:
I have loved you," says the LORD. But you ask: "How have You loved us?"" Wasn't Esau Jacob's brother?" This is the LORD's declaration. "Even so, I loved Jacob, but I hated Esau. I turned his mountains into a wasteland, and gave his inheritance to the desert jackals."

Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by malvisguy212: 11:36am On Feb 02, 2017
xxxtedyxxx:
I still don't know why God loved Jacob and hated Esau.

CC lalasticlala ishilove

Background story.

God loving jacob and hating Esau has NOTHING to do with human emotion or feeling,it was due to the fact that God chose jacob ahead of Esau, GOD could have say He hate ishmael and love isaac, tell me , why did God bless Esau later ? Why will God bless someone He hate ? The next verse say the old shall serve the younger﹑ did esau serve jacob ? No , but what does it mean that the younger shall serve the older ? The verse was talking about nation and NOT human emotion﹑esau is from the Edomite.
Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by malvisguy212: 11:39am On Feb 02, 2017
Teempakguy:
You need to understand that the God of the old testament isn't the one Christians claim to serve today. That guy was a serious badass who didn't give a f**k. He didn't pretend to love anyone. He treated the world like he owned it. Did whatever he wanted (and even regretted many of his actions). Jacob's story is just another example of he being himself.

You can imagine my smirk when an enthusiastic choir singer proclaims: "from the beginning of time, you never change!"

Yeah right.
lost atheist. It is esier to scatter than to arrange﹑it is esier to lost your self than to know the way.
Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by johnydon22(m): 12:12pm On Feb 02, 2017
it's obvious that the story is filled with unmatched bias from the jewish scribes seeking to make up a story that promotes their tribe in all ramifications.

the story is not only unfair but shows up Jacob as a conniving sinister mastermind that would have been portrayed as a villain if it's a plot in today's movies.

- it's obvious that Jacob was not only envious but jealous of his brother who bore no ill in his mind for Jacob
- Used your own blood brother's vulnerable moment to steal his right as the first born [ which was in fact nonsensical, the first born is the one that came out first not determined by word of mouth]
-then went ahead and stole his brother's blessings by pretending to be him [WTF!!! that's like simply idiotic -n apparently even God's favour can be stolen]

LOL and then after the whole saga, God went ahead and liked the bad one and chastised the innocent esau who even forgave Jacob after all the treatments he got from him for no just cause.

the fabricators of the tale didnt think it through at all..

i would rather be Esau in the story who had no ill thought against his brother, just going about his haunting business while Jacob was busy plotting on how to steal everything that was rightfully his - that people even revere the character Jacob is mind bugling.

9 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by hahn(m): 12:26pm On Feb 02, 2017
xxxtedyxxx:

How does God respond to this act of love and
mercy? The Bible tells us that God hated Esau
(Romans 9:13) but loved Jacob. Why is this?

Asin....i am not understanding.

Why hate the goood guy and love the theif?

God is a criminal. It is only right it would love evil

Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by orunto27: 12:59pm On Feb 02, 2017
They are the two sides of God's Coin to thebb Hebrew.. God is holding Coin to the Hebrew Nation, telling them about Righteousness on the one side and Selfishness on the other side.
Re: Why Did God Say He Hated Esau? by Jozzy4: 6:32pm On Feb 05, 2017
randomperson:

Happily
Romans 9

so how does the bolded statement made before their birth relate with your earlier assertion ??

randomperson
The bible says before they were born, god already loved one and hated the other

Are Christians Really Commanded To Love Everybody In This World? / Pastor Odumeje Walking On Human Beings In Indonesia / This Scripture Shows That God Recognizes Masturbation

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 47