Stats: 3,163,505 members, 7,854,152 topics. Date: Saturday, 08 June 2024 at 11:40 AM

Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War - Politics (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War (28739 Views)

My Husband Suffered PTSD For Many Years After Fighting Civil War - Aisha Buhari / Why We Have No Regrets Fighting Civil War –Gowon / Throwback Photo Of Gowon And Ojukwu Reconciling 40 Years After End Of Civil War (2) (3) (4)

Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by GGirll: 9:50pm On Jan 18, 2020
Me I'm just watching in 3D....all Igbo haters can now see what we have been saying...militants neutralized n granted fake amnesty, Igbos are terrorist but kwankwasiya, bandits,herdsmen n bokos are good n should be given amnesty right? Igbos get your own amotekun n be not deceived....this country has a sinister plan lol.

Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by kikake: 9:52pm On Jan 18, 2020
Gowon, you not only supervised the World's second greatest genocide after the Nazi Holocaust, you hid it from History books.
6 million Jews were killed during the Nazi genocide.

3 million Eastern Nigerians were killed during the Nigeria/Biafra war.

Nazi genocide was not hidden from history books.
If you had shown any remorse...

Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by Emyogalanya: 9:53pm On Jan 18, 2020
Even Biafrans have no Regrets too

Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by gidgiddy: 9:54pm On Jan 18, 2020
fk002:

Ojukwu should have given it a thought if he had the love of his people at heart before he led them to massacre

Equally, Gowon should have complied with the Aburi agreement he signed rather than breaking it and causing war

Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by gidgiddy: 9:55pm On Jan 18, 2020
Bluffly:

Tell that to the inventor of wars. Countries have fought civil war to maintain sovereignty and Nigeria isn't the first

Its unfortunate that in the case of Nigeria, it proved to be a worthless effort 50 years down the road
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by Baselm: 9:58pm On Jan 18, 2020
We have a pathetic set of coward youths, who only hide behind keypad to abuse people. Gowon was already ruling the country in his late 20s, he did what he had to do then and he is still owning up to it 50 years after. Most of those typing rubbish here don't even know the history of the Nigerian Civil war, SHAME ON THIS GENERATION

Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by itsme01: 10:03pm On Jan 18, 2020
franchasng:
My little advice to you, this is new year, spend more time improving your financial life, you are struggling with your life and your only joy is hating on successful Igbos that you cannot measure up to....if you like take my counsel or not, but something in me tells me you are struggling badly to survive and if you don't change your ways, your destiny helper who will be an Igbo man/woman will pass you by, watch and see!

Your likes have made me to stop rendering help to any Yoruba, God forgive me, but you guys are annoying, so annoying and foolish, hating people that contribute to the growth of your region while hailing those that kill and destroy your people all out of envy, you guys are pathetic angry

Ibos and over pride, who cares who you help or not? why bring finace in to political matter, who is begging you for money look here i argue with matured intelligent people not people who see money as all there is and worship it

I dont need Ibo helper thank you if stating the fact means no Ibo help i am quite comfortable and internationaly we have british helper Arab helper even American helper.. have never being to ibo land and i dont plan going for anything what so ever so keep the noise

Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by kikake: 10:03pm On Jan 18, 2020
Gowon, if not for the crude oil and gas in the Niger delta, Nigeria would not have remained one country today.

In your war, you expended 3 million lives to make a few persons grab oil blocks to become extremely rich, but majority of Nigerians to become the largest most impoverished people on earth.
What's your IQ as you still praise yourself?

Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by Advocate500: 10:06pm On Jan 18, 2020
naijaguy123456:
Nigeria doesn’t need that civil war but greedy Ojukwu mislead his people into a war they can never win .
just d one tinubu is going to cause, amotekun don come .foolishness is not when u don't have sense but when u fails to make use of ur sense u becomes a useless man.
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by franchasng: 10:07pm On Jan 18, 2020
itsme01:

Ibos and over pride, who cares who you help or not? why bring finace in to political matter, who is begging you for money look here i argue with matured intelligent people not people who see money as all there is and worship it

I dont need Ibo helper thank you if stating the fact means no Ibo help i am quite comfortable and internationaly we have british helper Arab helper even American helper.. have never being to ibo land and i dont plan going for anything what so ever so keep the noise
Just thank your stars Nairaland is anonymous, if not, sighs

Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by FX(m): 10:09pm On Jan 18, 2020
Gowon should be tried and executed for war crimes. He is a useless man. More than 3 million people died because you want unity. Nonsense.
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by itsme01: 10:10pm On Jan 18, 2020
Advocate500:
u know nothing about history so u suppose to keep stop disgracing yourself, the man ask u a simple question, y did the government honour nzogwu since his the architect of the whole problems?everything has turned to politics to you,no conscious efforts to learn again, we suppose to learn from history, look at a man who supervised the killing of over 3million people is telling the world that he has no regrets in a bid to maintain one Nigeria, my question is how has one Nigeria help us as people that gowon is proud of?the yurobas are battling with amotekun today.?

here we go again he never killed 3 million people most civillian casualties died of hunger and disease largely caused by Ojukwu stoborness,

both sides suffered casualties as both sides used rockets on each others, calabar people even reported killings in their village by biafrans because they refuse to fight for ojuckwu this things are in the libraries and archives you people should read
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by itsme01: 10:12pm On Jan 18, 2020
franchasng:
Just thank your stars Nairaland is anonymous, if not, sighs

what exactly would happen? i have replied many and given my Instagram through my PM showing countries have lived with who have being with so all this silly talks dont pull me .. no bragging so long APC is here i should be the won issuing out the bullying lol
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by kikake: 10:14pm On Jan 18, 2020
hammerF:

GOWON MAKES NO SENSE.

PEOPLE LIKE GOWON DESERVE TO BE TIED UP AND SHOT DEAD.

U HAVE TO GO TO WAR TO FORCE A NON-EXISTENT UNITY AT THE COST OF 3 MILLION LIVES.

WITH THE STATE OF NIGERIA TODAY, IS IT JUSTIFIED?

The man has had no senses of his own, right from when he made a u-turn to fight Biafra after core north was told by the colonial masters to go back to one Nigeria.
After the 1966 coup, northern leaders rightly said the north was leaving Nigeria.
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by Enemyofpeace: 10:17pm On Jan 18, 2020
vincentjk:
Pay respect to the dead

[s]Meanwhile a Yoruba man told me this evening that they're just pulling their master's legs by all these amotekun stunts to gain their freedom back, please is this true[/s]
very dry joke
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by hammerF: 10:18pm On Jan 18, 2020
kikake:

The man has had no senses of his own, right from when he made a u-turn to fight Biafra after core north was told by the colonial masters to go back to one Nigeria.
After the 1966 coup, northern leaders rightly said the north was leaving Nigeria.

BETWEEN ME AND U, TILL THIS DAY, I AM NOT SURE THE NORTH AND SOUTH WERE SUPPOSE TO BE ONE COUNTRY.

ASIDE FOR BRITISH DIVIDE AND RULE STRATEGY TO GET OIL AND GAS FROM NIGERIA, AS THEY DO IN MIDDLE EAST TODAY BY WAR.
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by vr0xen: 10:18pm On Jan 18, 2020
Emyogalanya:
Even Biafrans have no Regrets too

Thank you and God bless u we regret nothing and am sure he is regretting just look at his middle belt
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by franchasng: 10:19pm On Jan 18, 2020
itsme01:

what exactly would happen? i have replied many and given my Instagram through my PM showing countries have lived with who have being with so all this silly talks dont pull me .. no bragging so long APC is here i should be the won issuing out the bullying lol
I am trying so hard to be a new person, don't push me to the wall, honestly, I can mud you silently, be careful and don't quote me again in your life angry angry
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by itsme01: 10:21pm On Jan 18, 2020
franchasng:
I am trying so hard to be a new person, don't push me to the wall, honestly, I can mud you silently, be careful and don't quote me again in your life angry angry

empty chest beating is cool sound to my hears.. please brag
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by Myhusband(m): 10:23pm On Jan 18, 2020
these two clowns wasted the lives of million people and still reconcile?

thunder fire the dead one and double thunder shut down Gowon so quick.

useless leaders
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by Johans1991: 10:25pm On Jan 18, 2020
richmanrichard:
Now i know that there are fools even at 80. Gr8 men like obj,danjuma whom really fought the war unlike u that never graced the battle field wud neva glory the war . Posterity has already started dealing with u even in ur lifetime. Jos,benue whom were the major stakeholders during naija civil war is now a hunting ground for fulani herdsmen&terrorists. The herdsmen are jst doing promo in south and whole south is making all the noise. Do u know what the indigenes of plateau,benue& other middle beltans in the north central&north east go thru. If that war had suceeded, we wouldn't be here. One nigeria kill u there.
your grand fathers tried that rubbish and 3million of them were fed to d vultures,if your generation try nonsense we will wipe the whole tribe from the surface of the earth. if any of you want to meet ojukwu in hell fire he should just try rubbish.
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by dboss12(m): 10:35pm On Jan 18, 2020
I can see a good numbers of Igbo are busy abusing general Gowon forgetting that it was their greedy foolish ojukuw who started what they couldn't finished.
God bless you general Gowon for help us get rid of nauseant people of the earth.

political silly people always crying fouls forgetting what they did to the minority then.

spit .
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by CharlotteFlair: 10:41pm On Jan 18, 2020
vincentjk:
Pay respect to the dead

Meanwhile a Yoruba man told me this evening that they're just pulling their master's legs by all these amotekun stunts to gain their freedom back, please is this true
It's also possible. ACF said there were political undertones. But can you help me connect the dots? I'm lost here.
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by Brugo(m): 10:45pm On Jan 18, 2020
The ancestors of Igbos planted the seeds of war by planning and carrying out the assassination of the Leaders of Nigeria while sparing the life of their brother Zik.

They should blame themselves for the war that decimated them.

Gowon, despite having the upper hand, gave them the opportunity to avoid bloodshed, but ojukwu, being a typical Igbo, overestimated his strength and started a war that consumed his people. You don’t go to war armed with stories and poems told by poets who have lost touch with reality. You fight with real weapons.

Now they want the world to pity them for fighting a superior army with better trained, better equipped soldiers who were prepared to fight on multiple fronts to choke the rag tag biafran fighters.

It appears their descendants have not learned from the foolishness of their forefathers.

Nnamdi Kanu is on a mission to depopulate you people. The mumu gene is dominant in you people cos you are giving your attention to a man who is asking you to commit political, ideological and physical harakiri.
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by dboss12(m): 10:50pm On Jan 18, 2020
I can see a good numbers of Igbo are busy abusing general Gowon forgetting that it was their greedy foolish ojukuw who started what they couldn't finished.
God bless you general Gowon for help us get rid of nauseant people of the earth.

political silly people always crying fouls forgetting what they did to the minority then.

spit .

A practical Christian, a man of God,
YAKUBU GOWON, a Nigerian saviour.
Gowon emerged a minute to time,
To save Nigeria from disintegration,
He cleared the mist of uncertainty,
And established hope to the waiting nation.
He proved his valour beyond doubt,
He showed kindness without delay
He showed kindness to everyone,
Political prisoners were released to go.
Awo and Eyo were promptly released.
Enahoro and others were free again,
Nigerian citizens received the news,
With jubilation everywhere.
Gowon dug into nation task,
He promised to keep Nigeria one,
He appealed to the nation for full support,
He prayed all to forget the past,
And come together for our country's sake.
Other tribes in the federation,
Gave the appeal an immediate support,
but lbo tribe did not cooperate,
because the leader was not lboman.
Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu,
The then Military Governor of Eastern Region,
Took the lead for lbo people,
Proved his wisdom beyond bounds,
He did his best to cause confusion,
To disintegrate the Federal Nigeria.
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by suremanpatriot: 10:56pm On Jan 18, 2020
a war of two ego maniacs that wasted ignorant lives undecided. Your eternal punishment is waitin for you both b4 Almighty creator. Ndi ala o jor

None of these two ppl lost their own kids to the so called war. Yet they only push poor man pikin to kpai jst lik tht with stupid and evil ideology.
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by dboss12(m): 10:57pm On Jan 18, 2020
Sunday 10th September 1967, A remarkable day in our state history, During Ojukwu reign of terror, For since the year 1846 That Christian religion was brought to us, Such incident had never occurred.
The day Ojukwu soldiers guarded Calabar streets, To prevent people from going to Church, Disobedient ones were beaten to death, Some soldiers Marched to Churches that held, Drove the worshipper and tore the Bible, The day of grief for men of God, The day I will never forget in this my life.
Yet Ojukwu said he was for us, Yet Ojukwu asked for our support, Yet Ibo race deceived the world, That they are more Christian than any race, Yet they trampled upon God and man, All was there for God to judge.
Ojukwu soldiers were wild as beasts, They were thugs in the Army coats, At gun-points they robbed our goods, At Oron Beach Market many a time, The women returned with wailing tears, Their fishes and grayfish at gun-point were seized.
Many Ibibio market suffered indeed, Obubra markets share the fate, At gun-point they abandoned their goods, Ojukwu soldiers cleared the market, And carried the goods to Iboland, The mighty God was there to see.
They consolidated their positions everywhere, All over our native lands, Calabar water was filled with mines, To break war-ships if they should come.
Calabar air-port was out of use, Mines were buried everywhere, Irons were used the block the way, To prevent planes from landing there.
But 18th October that fateful day, saw all Ibo efforts thwarted and foiled, Calabar was liberated with Ibos fleeing for their life, Gone are they and free are we, From the oppression of lbo race.
Gowon men are wonderful men, Such gallantry l have never seen, Their professional training has placed them on top, They are superb in weapon's control, They are intelligent and swift in the fighting field, Their morale can be measured with exact To the other civilised troops of the world.
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by Rawtruth1: 11:01pm On Jan 18, 2020
Millions of innocent people's blood are in your hands crying for justice
Re: Gowon: No Regrets Fighting Civil War by Chibuking1402(m): 11:37pm On Jan 18, 2020
naijaguy123456:
Nigeria doesn’t need that civil war but greedy Ojukwu mislead his people into a war they can neveir win .
... how old are you, please I advise you to go read books relating to the civil war to avoid embarrassing your self further in social media or even in public

Maduka's Guber Bid Gets Massive Boast, As Ex Anambra PDP Chair Collapses All Po / Jude Agbaso - Imo State Deputy-Governor - Impeached For Taking Bribe / Governor Bagudu With Car-Maker, Muzzamil Umar (Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 54