Stats: 3,161,948 members, 7,848,841 topics. Date: Monday, 03 June 2024 at 10:59 AM

Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? - Religion (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? (11645 Views)

The Church Is Made For Sinner's And Not For The Righteous / If you love GOD, keep HIS Commandments (john 14:15) / A Christian Is Not A Sinner And A Sinner Is Not A Christian (2) (3) (4)

Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by Pilot007: 2:17pm On Jun 28, 2020
I don't absolutely think it is love for God. Jesus himself said that if you love me, you will keep my commandments. So you cant love God and hope to repent one day. Rather you love the world but have the feelings to repent one day which might never come resulting to a man dieing in his sins. You cant love someone yet keep hurting that person. The bible says he that is born of God does not sin, but if we sin, there is an advocate in heaven, Jesus Christ the righteous.

Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by Lawsimon(m): 2:20pm On Jun 28, 2020
OP, becareful o
Why are you twisting and confusing yourself?

How can you love God and you are a sinner.

Mbano,,, impossible.

Why are we so daft such that we easily forget the word of God.

The love for God is devoid of emotion and affection.
It simply has to do with having the knowledge of God and follow all what it says.

The word of God says, "if you love me keep my commandments."
In order words, loving God means obeying the commandments of God.
And what are the commandments of God, I guess you know.

So why trying to paint the word of God to suit your spiritual state.

Continue in sin, wake up every morning to profess how you love Him with Psalms and worship, when you die and cross to the other side, e go clear for your eyes.

Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by Kobojunkie: 2:31pm On Jun 28, 2020
DenreleDave:
Can a man be a sinner and still fears, love and believe God?

Yes he fornicates, he lies but he fears God.. He believes there is a God that lives in heaven, he believes that there is judgement. He hopes to repent one day.

For example; a man that start stealing because he is poor and has family to feed.. He has tried many things but not working for him and he result to stealing.. In his mind, he loves God but situation won't make him stop stealing... He fears the repercussions of sin but he can't stop but he hopes to stop it one day and be forgiven..

He is not happy seeing himself steal and disobeying God command but he has no alternative bcox he has to feed his family... Lets just say he is sinner of circumstances (if he had money, he wud nt have stole to eat. )

Question is: Can a man love God , fear God, believes in God but still sin?

If anyone can answer this too;

Question 2; Can a man life be precious to God more than the ministry?

E.g: God told Mr Ifeanyi that the ministerial work that he has been appointed for have been given to Mr kunle because Mr Ifeanyi life is more precious to Him (God) than the Ministry.

Can a man life be precious than the ministry??

What does it mean to love God? Jesus Christ said if you love me, you will obey my commandments.

John the apostle said that anyone who proclaims to love Jesus Christ but does not obey His commandments is a liar and the Truth, i.e. Jesus Christ does not live inside of such a person.

What does this then mean? It means it is not possible to love sin and love God at the same time. You cannot serve two masters.
Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by KennedicalEnergy(m): 3:11pm On Jun 28, 2020
If you love me keep my commandments. A sinner is not a love of God.
Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by luckyz4rea(m): 3:34pm On Jun 28, 2020
DenreleDave:

Yes he fornicates, he lies but he fears God.. He believes there is a God that lives in heaven, he believes that there is judgement. He hopes to repent one day.

For example; a man that start stealing because he is poor and has family to feed.. He has tried many things but not working for him and he result to stealing.. In his mind, he loves God but situation won't make him stop stealing... He fears the repercussions of sin but he can't stop but he hopes to stop it one day and be forgiven..

He is not happy seeing himself steal and disobeying God command but he has no alternative bcox he has to feed his family... Lets just say he is sinner of circumstances (if he had money, he wud nt have stole to eat. )

E.g: God told Mr Ifeanyi that the ministerial work that he has been appointed for have been given to Mr kunle because Mr Ifeanyi life is more precious to Him (God) than the Ministry.

Loving God means hating sin. The two can't coexist

Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by Emma1Oj(m): 3:37pm On Jun 28, 2020
Absolutely Yes..!! some pple really love God but found themselves doing what they are not supposed to do or committing sins out of frustration of hardship..just as Paul said "tins I don't want to do I c myself doing it, tins I want to do I c myself not doing it"

Just that make God pity hear man prayer bcus pple they suffer o..
Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by lawrykings(m): 4:06pm On Jun 28, 2020
it's funny how everyone on this thread has become holy and they are all good christians by their deeds to God. � Nigeria suppose don better be that o.

you can't keep to the commands of God, and if you're doing that please feel free to quote me (I'm not encouraging you to sin; sin has it's pay, sinning makes you an inferior version of yourself)

you need a blood spilled (Jesus Christ) and belief (faith) in this sacrifice that is made by God for you to be put right with God.

this is nothing but the Gospel and this is the era we're living in.

if the criteria for righteousness is Man's deed, then a good number of Nigerians (almost all) are in hell already. God can't be that mean to what he created to love and for fellowship.

PS. this post is no license to sin, Sin has it's detrimental consequences on you.
sin shouldn't be the identity of the believer, the believer should strive to the goal of being Christlike, even though he has no righteousness of his own but he's of the righteousness of God through faith in his Sacrifice for the world (Jesus Christ).

Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by Yankee101: 4:41pm On Jun 28, 2020
Choose one
Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by louiziana(m): 4:41pm On Jun 28, 2020
I am a sinner and I do love God. David was a man after God's heart as described in the bible but still committed adultery and murder. As for the second part of your question, our God is not a respecter of persons so that does not apply here. A minister might lose his calling or ministerial assignment if he is being ignorant, lazy, or negligent about the work. It is not about one's life being more precious in the sight of God as you stated.
Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by Soldier4christ(m): 7:28pm On Jun 28, 2020
DenreleDave:

The truth is you cannot love God and still commit sin . Romans 8:8 - so then they that are in the flesh cannot please God.
If you love God , you won’t do what he doesn’t want you to do no matter what situations you’re going through
Vs 14 say as many as are led by the spirit of God, they are the son of God.
You can’t have the fear of God and led by the spirit of God which makes you a son of God and make your FATHER sad cos of your needs and wants.

Answer 2
God is not a respecter of anybody (acts 10:24)
If you don’t save souls that God has predestined you to save, God will raise another person to do the job.
Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by Akiika: 8:02pm On Jun 28, 2020
Free your mind from all this ancient stories passed down.
Do your best to be a good person, make amends if you do something immoral or unethical, apologize if your hurt anyone.
Do good, be positive, make actionable effort towards your goals.
Stop enslaving your mind with all this cock and bull story nobody is sure of.
Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by piyoo91: 8:43pm On Jun 28, 2020
Kriss216:

Allow her. Everybody get wetin dey worry am.
She's attending to her worries while you're attending to yours.
hahaha lol...wahala dey ooh
Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by Kfed4ril(m): 11:15pm On Jun 28, 2020
DenreleDave:

Your answer is in 1 John 5:3.

Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by petra1(m): 2:00pm On Jun 29, 2020
DenreleDave:

It’s true . Firstly it’s only a christian what can sin against God . An unbeliever cannot sin . Every sin is. Forgivesbke but willful sin has consequences . It’s better to bag than to steal . There is no justification . He only use poverty as excuse for his lust . He has not allowed the word of God to dominate . He should report himself to his pastor and get help
Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by rabzy: 2:28pm On Jun 29, 2020
You can not love God and be living a life of sin. Everyone is a sinner but not everyone has made sinning a way of life.
David, Moses and Peter were sinners, they made mistakes and sinned against God, but you cant compare them to thief or prostitute whose daily existence is for sin and makes no genuine or concerted efforts to stop the sin.

While God's people can sin against God, they feel genuine remorse and beg for forgiveness knowing they cant be forgiven if they keep repeating their error, they try to live a life without sin by adhering to Gods laws and principles on righteousness.
Re: Can One Be A Sinner And Still Love God?? by Nobody: 7:32am On Aug 14, 2020
The ten commandment is divided into two.
1. Love for God
2. Love for your neighbor.

If you love God, you will keep his commandment. Ignorance is not an excuse before God. And also you cannot be cold and hot the same time.

You can't live in sin and claim to love God. That you FEAR God does not mean you LOVE God

Presidency: Primate Ayodele Warns PDP Against Zoning / Picture Of Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor's Wife Limousine / It's Christmas Eve! Share Your Experience So Far

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 41