Stats: 3,158,725 members, 7,837,634 topics. Date: Thursday, 23 May 2024 at 08:39 AM

How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo - Travel (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo (19700 Views)

Should I Relocate To JOS Or OSHOGBO??? / Lagos And Abuja Named Among The Worst Cities To Live In Africa, 2018 / 5 Best Places To Live In Lagos (2) (3) (4)

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by raph7(m): 12:24pm On May 06, 2022
Owootori:

Thank you so much. Do you think 100k monthly will be enough for feeding and other basic stuffs?. I have my own car and housing is not too be included because it is taken care of already.
Very well... enough
Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Ajiswaggs(m): 12:24pm On May 06, 2022
Living condition is cheap and affordable, very peaceful and good electricity... Even with 50k monthly you are good to go. Things are affordable and a lot of fun places.

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Nosayer: 12:25pm On May 06, 2022
Yimmicks:
While things might be a bit more expensive now, living costs will still most likely be way lower than many other towns and cities.
I grew up there and I must say that its a lovely town, I heard transport is no longer as cheap relative to past years. Houses are not expensive too.

I was there last year for a project and I spent a week there. I love the coolness and calmness of the city. The roads are on average, electricity wasn't that bad etc. But when I asked my host about the cost of living, I was aghast. Oshogbo is no longer as cheap as it used to be.

My host told me that houses are now becoming so expensive and you can only enjoy Oshogbo if you're a fraudster, a top tier banker or a CEO in some good companies. I'd have really prefer that place over Ibadan. At least, traffic wahala is not too much there.

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by MrUchenna1(m): 12:26pm On May 06, 2022
it depends on the kind of life you want to live there.
Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Sammy07: 12:26pm On May 06, 2022
Owootori:

Thank you so much. Do you think 100k monthly will be enough for feeding and other basic stuffs?. I have my own car and housing is not too be included because it is taken care of already.

Sureeeeee. Over enough

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by NoMansLand1: 12:27pm On May 06, 2022
I will advice you never to relocate to any Yoruba state, there's no money there, unless you want to invest. Don't say i did not warn you.

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Vyolet(f): 12:30pm On May 06, 2022
I heard they have good power supply over there..

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by LZAA: 12:34pm On May 06, 2022
I don't know
But all the afonjas are from lagos so they might tell us grin grin grin grin grin
Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by MDEWOLE: 12:34pm On May 06, 2022

I stay in Osogbo I also left Kaduna to stay in Osogbo.
The town is not too expensive at all am sure that you will not be able to spend up to 100k monthly at all for three of you.
Pls do come you will enjoy your self.

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Funkybabee(f): 12:35pm On May 06, 2022
Osogbo is cool

But things ain't cheap again especially house rent, it's better to use that money to rent a room in lag where u are secure to get a better job than where there's not factory or much job to do unless restaurant and filling station attendant.

Food price are going low these days due to the recent frequent rain, Osogbo is peaceful

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Ola4lead(m): 12:35pm On May 06, 2022
Are you employ? And are you lazy?
Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Nobody: 12:38pm On May 06, 2022
After living in the north you will realise it will be difficult for you to survive in any other part of Nigeria

My advice don't settle in the north first

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by MDEWOLE: 12:40pm On May 06, 2022
100k is too much to spend monthly for 3 of you. Osogbo is not too expensive to stay like Kd.
I left Kd to Osogbo in 2017 and it has been enjoyable all along.
Am very sure you will be adequately okay since housing is not a problems for you.
Things are relatively okay here I can assure you it is my home town.
You will be highly welcome because Osogbo is highly accommodating to all different type of people.

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by DSC7: 12:45pm On May 06, 2022
Very very affordable...

Just avoid yahoo boys and you are good to live peacefully..

12-18hrs power daily

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by DSC7: 12:50pm On May 06, 2022
ezenwajosh:
After living in the north you will realise it will be difficult for you to survive in any other part of Nigeria

It is not so Brodaman...

I stayed in Maiduguri and kaduna before moving to other states and i must confess that with my experience in Kaduna state i have been surviving in other states..

If you can survive in the north, you can adapt anywhere in Nigeria.

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Honeybadger7: 12:50pm On May 06, 2022
Osogbo is not as cheap as they paint it on social media again o. I am also planning to relocate to Osogbo from Ado Ekiti, One of the reason for relocating is the expensive life in Ado Ekiti despite the fact that state is relatively small. Then, i keep hearing Osogbo is cheaper to stay bla bla bla.... Throughout last week i was in Osogbo to scan through the environment and also to scout for 2 bedroom apartment. I was stunned to realized that there is no much difference with Osogbo and where i am coming from.

Starting from the house agents, those idiots are vampire, i met a lot of them that will demand 2k for inspection and still take you to a rubbish house, worst of them is the one i met on Jiji, he demanded for 2k form fee, 1k inspection fee, 500 for the person bringing key to the apartment and also the person's transport fee and the apartment itself is 300k total package is 380k, due to my desperation to secure the apartment in order to plan another thing, i nodded in agreement. Lo and behold, we got to the said 300k apartment i nearly vomited, myself and my wife didnt spent 5 secs before we left the building. then he started asking for the nonsense transport and money for bringing key and i refused, i told him i can never pay after seeing where he took us, it almost caused a scene. the idiot was swearing as he left.

After all my experience with these vampires, i decided to search by myself, i spent a lot on bike and still cannot find any decent one until last Saturday when i saw one around Ilesha garage, it is the first available one that is close to what we want, i paid 300k for the house rent and 50k for caution and agreement ish. I will be moving from Ado to Osogbo probably next weekend because the house is a new one and it remain painting and then general cleaning.... the bottom line remains that even house rent is not cheap in Osogbo, you can never find a decent 2 bedroom for less than 300k, anything below that will be a old house in a very rough area with old facilities.

These experience already send signal that it is not as cheap as what i knew Osogbo to be.... 3 years ago you will board korope for N50 now any drop is N100..... etc

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Limassol(m): 12:55pm On May 06, 2022
ezenwajosh:

Why did you say such?
Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Ayoolamax: 12:56pm On May 06, 2022
Owootori:
Hi all,

Please I need pointers on how expensive it is to live comfortably in Oshogbo for a family of 3 (Man, woman and a 10 yrs old child).

Planning relocating from Kaduna to Oshogo but I want to know how expensive the city is so I can make adequate preparations.

Thank for the anticipated responses.
Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by seanwilliam(m): 12:57pm On May 06, 2022
Coolhaywhy:
Cost of living in Oshogbo is very cheap. One of the cheapest state capital to live in.

Although, I left Oshogbo in 2015 after my NYSC but I must say, I was living fine and well with my N19,800.
Rented a decent room with it and cost of feeding too was very cheap. I heard transport is a bit expensive now cuz then, with just N50, you would tour the entire Oshogbo (one-way) unlike what we have here in Lagos.

Coming from Kaduna won't make much difference with your forecast. Whatever your income is in Kaduna would be enough to take care of you and your family in Oshogbo. Use that as a guide.

Let me also add that Oshogbo has steady power supply! Dem too dey get light, abegi!
I left osogbo in 2014/15..

I can attest to all you said .

And mind you , I did make stew of 300 back then ( efo riro) lol.

Osogbo is very cheap and accommodating with ZERO night life.

I lived around Ayé toro

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by almujeebe(m): 12:57pm On May 06, 2022
Owootori:

100k will be enough for you for feeding and transportation for a month. I am residing in osogbo presently with my wife and a son. I’m on 50k monthly salary and I live comfortably.
But house Rent is somehow on increments these days, but with 250k per annum.(3bedroom apartment). Depending on the area.

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Musicologist: 12:58pm On May 06, 2022
Owootori:
Hi all,

Please I need pointers on how expensive it is to live comfortably in Oshogbo for a family of 3 (Man, woman and a 10 yrs old child).

Planning relocating from Kaduna to Oshogo but I want to know how expensive the city is so I can make adequate preparations.

Living in Osogbo is cool. Taking the mini shuttle buses costs between 100-150 Naira (depending on how short or long you're journeying. For shorter movements, you can in fact plead with the driver to collect 50 Naira). Taking bike depends on how far you're going, as something around 150-400 Naira would suffice. A decent 2-bedroom flat apartment should be between 200-350k ( also depending on the location of the area. For areas like Dada Estate, Agunbelewo, and some other areas densely populated by Yahoo guys, you may not get a decent 2-bedroom apartment for 200k though). Also, light is pretty fairly stable, compared to other states like Oyo (also depending on the area you decide to settle in)

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Limassol(m): 12:59pm On May 06, 2022
MDEWOLE:
100k is too much to spend monthly for 3 of you. Osogbo is not too expensive to stay like Kd.
I left Kd to Osogbo in 2017 and it has been enjoyable all along.
Am very sure you will be adequately okay since housing is not a problems for you.
Things are relatively okay here I can assure you it is my home town.
You will be highly welcome because Osogbo is highly accommodating to all different type of people.
Are you sure Oshogbo is cheaper than Kd? I live in kd and things are very cheap( though to some extent, it depend on the part of the city), even i relatively cheaper than kano, this i found out to my suprise. By the way, enjoy your time there.
Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by Drelux(m): 1:09pm On May 06, 2022
planetE:
Osogbo nah cool state

Osogbo na state?

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by ojotobiloba1: 1:10pm On May 06, 2022
Honeybadger7:
Osogbo is not as cheap as they paint it on social media again o. I am also planning to relocate to Osogbo from Ado Ekiti, One of the reason for relocating is the expensive life in Ado Ekiti despite the fact that state is relatively small. Then, i keep hearing Osogbo is cheaper to stay bla bla bla.... Throughout last week i was in Osogbo to scan through the environment and also to scout for 2 bedroom apartment. I was stunned to realized that there is no much difference with Osogbo and where i am coming from.

Starting from the house agents, those idiots are vampire, i met a lot of them that will demand 2k for inspection and still take you to a rubbish house, worst of them is the one i met on Jiji, he demanded for 2k form fee, 1k inspection fee, 500 for the person bringing key to the apartment and also the person's transport fee and the apartment itself is 300k total package is 380k, due to my desperation to secure the apartment in order to plan another thing, i nodded in agreement. Lo and behold, we got to the said 300k apartment i nearly vomited, myself and my wife didnt spent 5 secs before we left the building. then he started asking for the nonsense transport and money for bringing key and i refused, i told him i can never pay after seeing where he took us, it almost caused a scene. the idiot was swearing as he left.

After all my experience with these vampires, i decided to search by myself, i spent a lot on bike and still cannot find any decent one until last Saturday when i saw one around Ilesha garage, it is the first available one that is close to what we want, i paid 300k for the house rent and 50k for caution and agreement ish. I will be moving from Ado to Osogbo probably next weekend because the house is a new one and it remain painting and then general cleaning.... the bottom line remains that even house rent is not cheap in Osogbo, you can never find a decent 2 bedroom for less than 300k, anything below that will be a old house in a very rough area with old facilities.

These experience already send signal that it is not as cheap as what i knew Osogbo to be.... 3 years ago you will board korope for N500, npow any drop is N100..... etc
If all varies thou.. The one i stays is three bedroom flat, compound all interlocked, barbed wire, running water, fence but the sitting room isn't that big and it's 170k per year (at ibikunle estate, after dada estate). It all depends on the availability of the cheap apartments and luck.. Hope you enjoy ur moment in osogbo.. God bless

Re: How Much Is Enough To Live In Oshogbo by AKWATGOLD1(m): 1:17pm On May 06, 2022
To lend my voice on this topic. With 100k house upkeeps in Oshogbo, you will be living like a King and i would have advise you to inform your spouse to patronize local market around when stocking foods in the house. Ire oooo
Owootori:
Hi all,

FRSC List Of Approved Centers For Number Plates Across Nigeria / Cost Of Living At Ghana? Students / Uber Officially Launches In Benin City

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 55