Stats: 3,155,333 members, 7,826,330 topics. Date: Monday, 13 May 2024 at 12:44 PM

Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language - Culture (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language (25702 Views)

Igbo Priest Teaching Americans How To Sing In Igbo Language / Video Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language / Yoruba Facial Features Is Similar To Asians (2) (3) (4)

Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Od1n: 9:33pm On Sep 14, 2019
imitateMe:
Dem no see better language learn? Lol

I thought they were grownup Europeans. Thank God, cos I know no reasonable adult would invest time in learning that language. I could see a white woman at the back pressing her phone in disgust. grin

All the Igbo ladies I dated even denied speaking Igbo.

Your parents would be ashamed, the joke they raised.

Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by SpartanJ: 9:41pm On Sep 14, 2019
To me.....

Guys they are learning igbo to battle an "emerging threat" of not being able to interpret or decode igbo language during undercover or special operations

The best will be assigned/recruited as Igbo language experts by the various agencies in the future.

Days of using your mother tongue to carry out crimes are almost over. They already have Yoruba language experts.

Gracias!!

Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Obiohai: 9:42pm On Sep 14, 2019
imitateMe:

I thought they were grownup Europeans. Thank God, cos I know no reasonable adult would invest time in learning that language. I could see a white woman at the back pressing her phone in disgust. grin

Your level of bad belle still dey fine mate. Just chill. Maybe they may learn to say hello after learning Igbo. Igbo amaka grin grin grin
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Nobody: 9:45pm On Sep 14, 2019
Teaching my wife to be igbo in far away USA and she loves it. Told her I am Yoruba and Igbo in one body. Asked her to pick one she picked Igbo and I am doing my best to teach her and she loves it, she even got a book for it. Lol.

Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Afonja007: 9:54pm On Sep 14, 2019
ipobarethieves:
wic side u dey in Vienna
may chukwu okike abima seal that your nkita ara mouth for asking my side in vienna angry

Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by RealGOAT: 9:54pm On Sep 14, 2019
SpartanJ:
To me.....

Guys they are learning igbo to battle an "emerging threat" of not being able to interpret or decode igbo language during undercover or special operations

The best will be assigned/recruited as Igbo language experts by the various agencies in the future.

Days of using your mother tongue to carry out crimes are almost over. They already have Yoruba language experts.

Gracias!!
You are intelligent,see as Igbo folks here are rejoicing that whites are learning their language without knowing that your native language is a great asset you have over them.

Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by goodnessme1(f): 9:55pm On Sep 14, 2019
Otunbascotty:
Teaching my wife to be igbo in far away USA and she loves it. Told her I am Yoruba and Igbo in one body. Asked her to pick one she picked Igbo and I am doing my best to teach her and she loves it, she even got a book for it. Lol.
You can not be igbo and yoruba at the same time.
The two doesn't go together.
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Donrev0147: 9:56pm On Sep 14, 2019
Originality007:
This is not d issue now, Norwich is beating Mancity, and I put 70k on top Mancity..

Ntoooo
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by ipobarethieves: 10:14pm On Sep 14, 2019
smiley wink cheesy grin wink cheesy grin wink cheesy grin smiley
Afonja007:
may chukwu okike abima seal that your nkita ara mouth for asking my side in vienna angry
grin.I dey Wien.May Sango seal ur yansh hole and dry the liquid in ur balls sac..lokili tell ur nkita to com catch me as dey dragged Ekweremadu
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by bigfrancis21: 10:26pm On Sep 14, 2019
Igbo language is facing similar modern issues that even some more spoken languages are facing. For example, many French-Canadians born (about 70%) and raised outside Quebec (Quebec is the only French-speaking province in Canada where French is the official language), speak mostly English and little French. Celine Dion's children (who are French people) are more fluent in English than French. I've seen some Hispanic households here where the children speak only English but understand Spanish. 90% of Jews born in America speak only English and the Jews you'll come across that speak Hebrew are usually those born and raised in Israel.

The issue can be corrected but it will involve having proactive laws to ensure that it is effective, especially taking a cue from Israel on how it totally revived a formerly dead language, Hebrew, to a living language of over 7 million speakers.

The strength of a language is determined by how it is being transmitted to the next generation, because language transmission keeps a language alive. In this regard, the Igbo language has not been doing well and over the decades the number of Igbo children who speak only English as children have been on a gradual increase. It seemed to explode between the 80s to the late 90s. The idea of parents then was that the children catch up with Igbo later as they did not want an 'Igbotic' influence on their childrens' spoken English. Now these children are now adults and about half of them still cannot speak Igbo fluently. Some children do later grow up speaking fluent Igbo but I would say nowadays they are in the minority. It is more common to see an ajebo Yoruba who speaks fluent Yoruba vs an ajebo Igbo from an educated rich family who speaks Igbo. We are raising a generation and section of English-speaking Igbos and it is not impressive. This is exactly what happened in Scotland and Wales in the 1700s when educated Scot and Welsh parents began to value English over their own language and began raising their children in English only, as English was seen as a language of class and education, relegating their own languages to the background and after some generations, English language became the sole native language of over 90% of the Welsh and Scottish people. Igbo land is fast attaining this status as our attraction to speaking English is overwhelming.

The solution to this is simple. Institute laws in place that mandate every Nigerian child to speak their native language by age 5 or any other age deemed fit, as well as English, and deny entry into primary schools nationwide if a child fails to demonstrate fluency in their native language regardless of the state they were born and raised in. The primary emphasis would be on the child's native language as English would always be learned in school. This would ensure that parents raise their children primarily in their native languages and also in English (while not forgetting the importance of English as well) and we could achieve near 100% Igbo speaking among the newer generations. Children can pick up as many as 6 languages if they are exposed to all of them as children. The language problem might be hard to correct with those born before this policy but planting the seeds in newer generations will put an immediate halt to this problem and ensure that in about 50 years from now, most Igbos of then (who would have become parents and grandparents) would be 99% Igbo speaking. We can expect this to be successful within Nigeria/Igbo land, similar to Israel, but it may not make much difference in the Igbo diaspora population.

Most of the beautiful trees that we see on our roads today were planted several decades ago. The vision was formed and the seeds were planted decades ago and the fruits yielded several decades after.

Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Cvomovers: 10:30pm On Sep 14, 2019
kayfra:
You are not Yoruba

The rest of your opinion is ok to have

Full blooded yoruba. Egba man to the core. Fact is fact, i speak yoruba and i am a businessman, and as a businessman who wants to thrive, you would do pretty better if you can speak languages. French is for the fun, igbo and mandarin is for money purposes.

Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Mercy2006(f): 10:38pm On Sep 14, 2019
Otunbascotty:
pray tell sir,how are you Igbo and Yoruba in one body?

Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by bigfrancis21: 10:39pm On Sep 14, 2019
Mercy2006:
pray tell sir,how are you Igbo and Yoruba in one body?

He's probably mixed Yoruba-Igbo.

Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by kayalla(f): 10:51pm On Sep 14, 2019
zeromeridian:
Oyinbo Almajiri

cheesy cheesy cheesy
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Nobody: 10:53pm On Sep 14, 2019
ZombieTAMER:

Taaaa....

Go to the streets in the East

Igbo language is the only language

Even visitors complain
Similar thing in the west
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Nobody: 10:54pm On Sep 14, 2019
ZombieTAMER:

Taaaa....

Go to the streets in the East

Igbo language is the only language

Even visitors complain
Similar thing in the west
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Mercy2006(f): 10:55pm On Sep 14, 2019
bigfrancis21:

He's probably mixed Yoruba-Igbo.
ohh,I guessed as much.
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by kiddkash(m): 10:57pm On Sep 14, 2019
this is bad for business
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by marvin906(m): 11:16pm On Sep 14, 2019
heendrix:

lol idiot you don come with this pictures......anyway I miss u sha

dude you gay..
aw far

Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by francisisking: 11:36pm On Sep 14, 2019
imitateMe:

if e pain u go find strong rope u know d rest na..
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by francisisking: 11:37pm On Sep 14, 2019
masterP042:
I don't understand why two or more igbos can't speak the language to themselves in an informal setting. It's not even like they're good at speaking the nonsense English they vomit. I'm sorry but igbo language is a dying language take it or leave it. Most igbos can't read nor write igbo.
kill your self na.
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by okeniti: 11:52pm On Sep 14, 2019
I hope this same vim is applied to igbo children.
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by francisisking: 11:53pm On Sep 14, 2019
bigfrancis21:
Igbo language is facing similar modern issues that even some more spoken languages are facing. For example, many French-Canadians born (about 70%) and raised outside Quebec (Quebec is the only French-speaking province in Canada where French is the official language), speak mostly English and little French. Celine Dion's children (who are French people) are more fluent in English than French. I've seen some Hispanic households here where the children speak only English but understand Spanish. 90% of Jewish Americans speak only English and majority of the Jews that speak Hebrew are those born and raised in Israel.

The issue can be corrected but it will involve having proactive laws to ensure that it is effective, especially taking a cue from Israel on how it totally revived a formerly dead language, Hebrew, to a living language of over 7 million speakers.

The strength of a language is determined by how it is being transmitted to the next generation, because language transmission keeps a language alive. In this regard, the Igbo language has not been doing well and over the decades the number of Igbo children who speak only English as children have been on a gradual increase. It seemed to explode between the 80s to the late 90s. The idea of parents then was that the children catch up with Igbo later as they did not want an 'Igbotic' influence on their childrens' spoken English. Now these children are now adults and about half of them still cannot speak Igbo fluently. Some children do later grow up speaking fluent Igbo but I would say nowadays they are in the minority. It is more common to see an ajebo Yoruba who speaks fluent Yoruba vs an ajebo Igbo from an educated rich family who speaks Igbo. We are raising a generation and section of English-speaking Igbos and it is not impressive. This is exactly what happened in Scotland and Wales in the 1700s when educated Scot and Welsh parents began to value English over their own language and began raising their children in English only, as English was seen as a language of class and education, relegating their own languages to the background and after some generations, English language became the sole native language of over 80% of the Welsh and Scottish people. Igbo land is fast attaining this status as our attraction to speak English is overwhelming.

The solution to this is simple. Institute laws in place that mandate every Nigerian child to speak their native language by age 5 or any other age deemed fit, as well as English, and deny entry into primary schools nationwide if a child fails to demonstrate fluency in their native language regardless of the state they were born and raised in. The primary emphasis would be on the child's native language as English would always be learned in school. This would ensure that parents raise their primarily in their native languages and also in English (while not forgetting the importance of English as well) and we could achieve near 100% Igbo speaking among the newer generations. Children can pick up as many as 6 languages if they are exposed to all of them as children. The language problem might be hard to correct with those born before this policy but planting the seeds in newer generations will put an immediate halt to this problem and ensure that in about 50 years from now, most Igbos of then (who would have become parents and grandparents) would be 99% Igbo speaking. We can expect this to be successful within Nigeria/Igbo land, similar to Israel, but it may not make much difference in the Igbo diaspora population.

Most of the beautiful trees that we see on our roads today were planted several decades ago. The vision was formed and planted decades ago and they yielded fruits several decades after.
oga Ade send ur children go east go school.... leave propaganda.... Igbo language ain't dying as long as human race exists.... it didn't die during the civil war is it now that its going to die?
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by InvertedHammer: 12:31am On Sep 15, 2019
ursullalinda:
When some of our people here can't speak... if only pple know the power of languages.
/
Self-hatred and denigration are two attributes you can't take away from Nigerians.

/
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Lawmak: 4:52am On Sep 15, 2019
horsepower101:
While we have so many igbos born in Nigeria that cannot speak Igbo.

Unfortunately igbo is now a dying language and may become extinct within the next 3 generations if current trends continue.

Igbo parents need to stop this whole mentality of speaking Igbo at home is backwards.

I remember when I was growing up, I visited so many friends home where the only language they spoke at home was English. This is sad.

We need a conscious revival of Igbo language including proper vocabulary and writings.

We can even revive our nsibidi writing scripts.

Cc:lalasticlala

Igbo is not a dying language, stop talking trash. The language have challenges though but it's not dying
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Coolgent(m): 6:19am On Sep 15, 2019
Nice one, they can now protect themselves from scammers
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by PerfectlyPerfect(m): 7:21am On Sep 15, 2019
MelesZenawi:

The language is not dying anything.

He's actually right. Most people nowadays don't teach their children the language. Sad, but it's the truth
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Nobody: 7:24am On Sep 15, 2019
PerfectlyPerfect:

He's actually right. Most people nowadays don't teach their children the language. Sad, but it's the truth

Is not true...pure lie.

Teachers teach in school while at home parents communicate in home language.
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by Cousin9999: 8:15am On Sep 15, 2019
They're learning the language as part of their OPPRESSOR training. Their devil parents want to make sure their offspring will grow up and carry the torch of oppression and racism.
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by PerfectlyPerfect(m): 8:25am On Sep 15, 2019
MelesZenawi:

Is not true...pure lie.

Teachers teach in school while at home parents communicate in home language.
It's not. I'm Igbo too, and I live in Owerri. All my neighbors who have kids talk to their kids in English. They don't teach them Igbo so I try to teach the kids some Igbo words. They make it seem like their kids are better because they speak English but I keep telling them that we who grew up speaking Igbo still speak excellent English

Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by nairagenius: 9:14am On Sep 15, 2019
ursullalinda:
When some of our people here can't speak... if only pple know the power of languages.
please enlightening me! while u ar at it--relate it to the Americans that speak only English..
Re: Europeans And Asians Learning Igbo Language by ursullalinda(f): 10:46am On Sep 15, 2019
nairagenius:

please enlightening me! while u ar at it--relate it to the Americans that speak only English..

Language connects people, it makes them feel @ home, it gives them business contacts, it saves them from danger. If I could speak Chinese I for don hammer but the translator prolongs the matter and more ova I don't know if he translates it as I say it. Learn as much languages as you can and while you can, it's a powerful tool forget about US they are not struggling like we Africans who trying to break even

Photos From The Port Harcourt Carnival(carniriv) 2013 Edition / Iwo Community Receives Oba Abdul Rasheed Adewale Akanbi, Oluwo Of Iwo In Style / Photos From The 90th Birthday Of Sòun Of Ogbomosho

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 63