Stats: 3,153,763 members, 7,820,664 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 07:02 PM

Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python - Culture (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python (50474 Views)

African-americans Trace Roots To Igbo Land / Americans/Canadians Of Igbo Ancestry Storm Anambra, Get Igbo Names, Land / The Economics Of Igbo Marriage Explained (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by GP15: 9:53am On Sep 16, 2019
Your story is fake. Python don't bite and and it and it has no venom. It only swallowing prey.

ote author=AngryNijerian post=82263405]I know one woman that python mistakenly bit in her farm. She said to the python; why will you bite me, don't you know that i'm daughter of the soil and besides i didn't intentionally march you. Immediately the python's venom started dripping off her leg. You will think its a story but it actually happened.

You don't kill python here, some see python entering their room at night but won't bat an eyelid and will probably sleep in that same room with the python. If you don't like its presence take a stick and take it out of your house while you throw the stick away because if you don't it will trace that stick back to your house.[/quote]
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Nobody: 9:56am On Sep 16, 2019
MPESA:

One Ihiala guy go mistakenly eat snake for PH na so his lips turn White, no be joke o but na longer throat make him eat the food because the other don dey suspect the meat when It was brought to them.
Yea Right! Did you witness him eat the snake? Chinese people eat snake All the time with no problems.

Even if your guy ate snake and ended up with a white lip, perpharps he didn't cook it properly.

Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Nobody: 9:56am On Sep 16, 2019
MPESA:

Nah i no be Martin sha
M pesa and Okija? Could b coincidence Sha.
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Ooye12: 9:57am On Sep 16, 2019
Cos the snake never kill one of dem ....stupid thinking angry
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by wiloy2k8(m): 9:57am On Sep 16, 2019
Zikora1000:
Many parts of Anambra state like ihiala, okija, ekwulobia, some parts of awka south and dunukofia don't kill python. some parts of imo state like Njaba don't kill it too. they call it Eke Njaba in Njaba imo state

that Njaba own ... i know that very well because my school was located in awommama ....the villagers dont even kill pyton , i head you would have to bury them with coffin .... i still remember there is a river not far from my school back then .. Mmiri Njaba ...

Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Geesaintagape: 9:57am On Sep 16, 2019
Even ezionum in Delta don't harm Python.
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Nobody: 9:57am On Sep 16, 2019
gypsey:
Yea Right! Did you witness him eat the snake? Chinese people eat snake All the time with no problems.

Even if your guy ate snake and ended up with a white lip, perpharps he didn't cook it properly.
Guy it's simply a cultural something. Just like Chinese don't eat cows.
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Nobody: 9:58am On Sep 16, 2019
gypsey:
Idemili? Mmmm.... I should invite you for python dinner in My house at Nkpor. tongue

What does born Again and Jesus even mean?
No thanks
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Nobody: 9:59am On Sep 16, 2019
AngryNijerian:
I know one woman that python mistakenly bit in her farm. She said to the python; why will you bite me, don't you know that i'm daughter of the soil and besides i didn't intentionally march you. Immediately the python's venom started dripping off her leg. You will think its a story but it actually happened.

You don't kill python here, some see python entering their room at night but won't bat an eyelid and will probably sleep in that same room with the python. If you don't like its presence take a stick and take it out of your house while you throw the stick away because if you don't it will trace that stick back to your house.

Pythons don't have venom
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by OILOFGLADNESS: 9:59am On Sep 16, 2019
igbodefender:
Pythons may be considered dangerous the world over, but in Idemili area of Anambra State, Igbo Land, Nigeria, people honour pythons so much that it is a taboo to harm or kill one. Pythons are called Eke Idemili, which literarily means ‘python of Idemili’.

Idemili people are known to gently entreat a Python that has entered their house to come out, rather than try to kill it.

What happens if you decide to kill one to see what will happen? The community where the python was killed will force you to accord the snake a befitting burial like that of human being.

You will have to buy coffin, bags of rice, cow/goat, rent canopies and chairs, pay for local canon to be shot and other expenses.

So, while in Idemili, don’t kill pythons.
Source:https://www.igbodefender.com/2019/09/15/the-part-of-igbo-land-where-you-mustnt-kill-a-python/

C

CULTURALLY MOST PLACES IN ANAMBRA STATE

ITS OUR FOREFATHERS CULTURE NOTE TO HARM THEM COS THEY ARE HARMLESS, THEY ONLY CRAWL INTO YOUR COMPOUND SEEKING FOR A COLD PLACE RELAX!!!!
YOU CAN SCARE IT AWAY BY NOICE OF SONG, CARRY IT AWAY WITH STICK OR USE KEROSENE, MEANWHILE THE SPECIE IN MY PLACE ARE VERY SMALL, INFACT 8 OF IT IS NOT UPTO 1 OF WHAT I SEE ON THIS NL............

BUT INTERESTINGLY , CIVIKISATION HAVE SET IN IN MY HOME TOWN , NAME WITHHELD, MOST OF THESE FETISH CULTURES HAVE BEEN OVERCAME BY CHRISTIANITY,

AFTER THE DEATH AND BURIAL OF MY GRANDPARENTS, MY DAD SAID , OLD THINGS HAVE PASSED AWAY!
HE WAS FASTING THE WHOLE WEEK OF THAT BURIAL
THEN THERE WAS A YORUBA BOY LIVING WITH MY GRANDMOTHER,

ONE OF THE DAYS WE WERE DOING HOUSE KEEPING AFTER THE BURIAL, W E SAY A SNAKE, INFACT IT WS THE YORUBA GUY, MY DAD ASKED HIM TO KILL IT!!!

MY DAD YOUNGER BROTHERS EVERYONE WAS SCARED, BUT HIS IMMEDIATE YOUNGER SISTER WHO HAPPENED TO BE A MISSIONARY IN A YORUBA LAND SUPPORTED.

NASO THE YORUBA GUY KILLED THE SNAKE, ROASTED IT AND USED IT FOR PEPPER SOUP FOR MY DADDY, ONLY HIM ALONE AND THE YORUBA BOY, ATE IT AS NO ONE AGREED TO EAT WITH THEM, HE ENJOYED IT,INFACT HE USED IT TO BREAK HIS FAST, AT THE END HE SAID OLD THINGS HAV PASSED AWAY.

THE BOMB!!!

SINCE THAT TIME, 2005 TO BE PRECISE, THAT SNAKE NEVER ENTERS OUR COMPOUND IN THE VILLAGE, THE TENANTS WONDERS WHY, AND WE NEVER RESPONDED TO THEM,,,

IT WAS A GREAT DELIVERANCE FOR US!!!!

Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Nobody: 9:59am On Sep 16, 2019
AwkaetitiBabe:
Guy it's simply a cultural something. Just like Chinese don't eat cows.
Okay, but where did you get the idea that chinese people do not eat cows? grin
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by mexzony: 10:00am On Sep 16, 2019
AngryNijerian:
I know one woman that python mistakenly bit in her farm. She said to the python; why will you bite me, don't you know that i'm daughter of the soil and besides i didn't intentionally march you. Immediately the python's venom started dripping off her leg. You will think its a story but it actually happened.

You don't kill python here, some see python entering their room at night but won't bat an eyelid and will probably sleep in that same room with the python. If you don't like its presence take a stick and take it out of your house while you throw the stick away because if you don't it will trace that stick back to your house.
This Python does not bite nor does it have venom. So you must be mistaken with the snake you talking about.
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Nobody: 10:00am On Sep 16, 2019
AwkaetitiBabe:
No thanks
Okay,

So what does Born again and Jesus means? pardon my curiosity.
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by explosiveskull(m): 10:00am On Sep 16, 2019
GP15:
Your story is fake. Python don't bite and and it and it has no venom. It only swallowing prey.

ote author=AngryNijerian post=82263405]I know one woman that python mistakenly bit in her farm. She said to the python; why will you bite me, don't you know that i'm daughter of the soil and besides i didn't intentionally march you. Immediately the python's venom started dripping off her leg. You will think its a story but it actually happened.

A python can bite in self defense but they don't have venom.
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Nobody: 10:03am On Sep 16, 2019
ikezuora4689:
I thought about this yesterday when I was bathing.....I laugh out loud when people say there is nothing like jazz in Africa....I remembered when I was young when things are not moving well for my parents in lagos....my parents decided to move me down to the village to stay with my moms brother in Anambra State ozubulu precisely.......it's well known that ozubulu people don't kill Python...I remember having my bath together with Python in our bathroom....it won't even attack me...it will jst wrap itself one side....I also remembered cooking in our kitchen several times.... Python will jst pass through my legs without attacking me.... that's when I know that Snake body is always cool...that's why they like staying in a cool place....i also remembered waking up some times seeing Python by my side...it really baffle me anytime I think about it nw....I spent more than 3 years there...for once I never heard or see where Python attack anybody....I swear there is power in this world....nw if I see small tiny snake I go run like tomorrow no dey

Most communities like that are dedicated to marine spirits.

Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by armstrongkevwe: 10:03am On Sep 16, 2019
SamOyovwi:
Deltans kill it. I'm an Urhobo and they kill it too. But there's a part of Urhobo that don't kill alligator. The Orogun people of Urhobo

Oniovo me,
Orogun kills alligators,but the iguanas are sacred..
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by MPESA(m): 10:05am On Sep 16, 2019
AwkaetitiBabe:
M pesa and Okija? Could b coincidence Sha.

cheesy you wan just carry me join Martin and Okija grin
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by naijadrivablog: 10:07am On Sep 16, 2019
Atigba:

You will do 7 days burial for the python and mourn her for 21 days or be banished forever kiss

In Umuchu, Nkpologu, Achina, or where exactly?
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by MPESA(m): 10:08am On Sep 16, 2019
gypsey:

Sir make serious enquiry regarding the subject
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by sotall(m): 10:09am On Sep 16, 2019
AngryNijerian:

Are python venomous snakes?

Do they bite?
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by armstrongkevwe: 10:10am On Sep 16, 2019
OruExpress:

When I said delta I meant Ika/Anioma etc.
I know the crocodile is sacred to Ijaw and Urhobo people.

Crocodiles are nice delicacies when prepared with banga soup , urhobos does not hold Crocs sacred
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Nobody: 10:13am On Sep 16, 2019
MPESA:

Sir make serious enquiry regarding the subject
I asked you a simple question, did you witness it? You Avoided that question carefully.

I lived with A chinese family for Nearly 3 years they ate snake always, i don't remember them ending up with swollen whit lip.

Again, if truely your guy ate a snake and ended up with a white lip, can you confirm that it was as a result of consuming a snake? Even in Nigeria, some people have eaten snakes and they are fine.
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Bbbwings: 10:13am On Sep 16, 2019
alimaa:
The earth is the Lord's and the fullness thereof. Every part if this world belongs to God Almighty and not to any Python.
Hehe
Is it the Jewish or cave dwelling lord you're talking about?
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Nobody: 10:14am On Sep 16, 2019
MelesZenawi:

Don't bring unnecessary English here.
No be only you go school.

Your father's wasn't aware of all these grammars on snake and as such you don't know more than them..

Ndi jere akwukwo hapu uche....

The person you are quoting is actually correct. All these python sacred stuff doesn't really apply to the African rock python which can grow up to 6 metres in length and swallow a live crocodile.

I don't doubt the spiritual stuffs, but that's a fact. African rock pythons are aggressive beasts that can kill a man if really hungry.

Secondly, no python has venom.

Anyways about the spiritual side,most communities that revere snakes (especially pythons) are usually worshipping a marine spirit or diety. I'm not surprised because anambra people are known as successful business people and in spiritual parlance, the demonic entities that give wealth and power usually abide in the waters (read the book of Nahum and the prophecies against Tyre in the Bible) for those that are willing to pay the price.

So let's all be guided

Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by tofolo(m): 10:14am On Sep 16, 2019
Zikora1000:
Many parts of Anambra state like ihiala, okija, ekwulobia, some parts of awka south and dunukofia don't kill python. some parts of imo state like Njaba don't kill it too. they call it Eke Njaba in Njaba imo state
what if you now kill and eat? shocked

Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by seedorfy134(m): 10:15am On Sep 16, 2019
Python is sweet meat... Special in egusi soup. If u don't eat python u dey miss cheesy
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Nobody: 10:15am On Sep 16, 2019
MPESA:

cheesy you wn just carry me join Martin and Okija grin
Yes. He's a long lost frd.
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by bigcasava1(m): 10:16am On Sep 16, 2019
Njaba in imo state and Nembe in bayelsa they kill snake
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by ejimatic: 10:16am On Sep 16, 2019
igbodefender:
Pythons may be considered dangerous the world over, but in Idemili area of Anambra State, Igbo Land, Nigeria, people honour pythons so much that it is a taboo to harm or kill one. Pythons are called Eke Idemili, which literarily means ‘python of Idemili’.

Idemili people are known to gently entreat a Python that has entered their house to come out, rather than try to kill it.

What happens if you decide to kill one to see what will happen? The community where the python was killed will force you to accord the snake a befitting burial like that of human being.

You will have to buy coffin, bags of rice, cow/goat, rent canopies and chairs, pay for local canon to be shot and other expenses.

So, while in Idemili, don’t kill pythons.
Source:https://www.igbodefender.com/2019/09/15/the-part-of-igbo-land-where-you-mustnt-kill-a-python/

C
. Do pythons kill people in those places?
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Bbbwings: 10:17am On Sep 16, 2019
GidiWoodsMan:

Do people actually believe fairytales like this? grin
Well you do believe that a donkey talked?
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by bigcasava1(m): 10:17am On Sep 16, 2019
seedorfy134:
Python is sweet meat... Special in egusi soup. If u don't eat python u dey miss cheesy
how I wish my prayers go work for head.
Re: Part Of Igbo Land Where You Mustn’t Kill A Python by Bbbwings: 10:18am On Sep 16, 2019
gypsey:
Okay, but where did you get the idea that chinese people do not eat cows? grin
Maybe she meant Hindus.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply)

"Why Woman Cannot Be An Oba In Benin Kingdom" - Man Reveals With Photos / Traditional Regalia Of The Oba Of Lagos Destroyed In Fire - NEMA / Ooni Ogunwusi Launches Nigerian-Made Buses For Mass Transit - Pictured

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 53