Stats: 3,154,146 members, 7,821,906 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 09:24 PM

People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? - Culture (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? (18852 Views)

Welcome To The Village Where They Drink The Same Water With Goats (PHOTO) / Is It Compulsory To Do Ones Traditional Wedding At The Village? / Post your photos of Igbo village houses here (2) (3) (4)

Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by timpaker(m): 4:30pm On Mar 11, 2013
Like my grandpa would say... "whatever thing (house)you have in the city make sure you have it at home (village) so that when you come to the village you'd live comfortable like you were in the city"

Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by IleIfe2(m): 4:35pm On Mar 11, 2013
How did this thread become a Lagos and igbo thread? lmao
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by jerk: 4:49pm On Mar 11, 2013
Ile-Ife:
As regards the topic no other city in Nigeria has what d igbos had in terms of houses than Lagos, so Lagos is like a referral point.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by joinnow: 4:53pm On Mar 11, 2013
its not a good investment.

Let me compress this real life story.
A biz man ( an Igbo) trading at owerri Town the capital of Imo State.
Did so well in his biz line.
Built a four story building at his home vilage.
He did not build any house at owerri.
He was converted to DEEPER Life.
He left his line of biz because his initial biz line involve relabelling motocycle part to (made in Japan) and selling same at original price despite that the part is made in Nigeria.
No money to feed his family at a point he gave out his 4 children as house maid.
He relocated to village and nobdy is willing to rent his house at the village, nobody is willing to buy his house at the village.
Advise build in town first even if you want to go home finally you will get a quick buyer.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Afam4eva(m): 4:53pm On Mar 11, 2013
coogar:

it's almost a lack of common sense......
why build such an expensive house in the village where the properties won't appreciate as much as the ones built in the cities. the funniest thing is these people spend an equivalent of 20 days in those houses in one calendar year - such a waste of money and illogical reasoning.
Why must everything be about profit. I'm not building a house in the village because I want it to appreciate. I'm not a real estate agent. I just want my country home to be the best.

Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Nobody: 4:57pm On Mar 11, 2013
@op,there r many reasons why one build in the village even though most of d time its empty. 1.develpment.wen u hv a big house,u start thinkn of wiring it,den d water project and of course good road to ur house.2.big cure for HBP.nobody knows d future dear,so u ought to b prepared.if situatns become too bad,at least I hv a place cald my own in d village.3.u will one day want to retire in d village.4. There r some ocasions dat r suitabl only in ur villa like traditional marriage and d likes. Were will u do it if not in ur compd.5.nothin is wrong in buildin a good house for ur pple in d village cos its not everybody dat will live in town. 5. U will hv a place among ur kingsmen if u can understand wat I mean.6.for ur children.no matter wat,d house u hv in ur village is d most valuable and cherised of all ur houses.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by JahMan1: 4:59pm On Mar 11, 2013
I can imagine how untrained you are.
What do you know about management?
So you that finished grammar school could only see one question of all the questions I asked? So ridiculous!
And look who is talking of investments here. How many of the so-called houses in the city are for rent? Are they not owner-occupied? The same show-off of I am a landlord in Lagos?
Some even build in places that warrant them to die instalmentally while shutling between Ikorodu,Mowe,Sango Otta to VI everyday for work. Why should I pass through that kinda suffering when I can save the money,rent a flat in a nearby mainland and use the balance to build for my hometown?
And thou rookie if you know the latest in real estate you can't be talking of rent as a reasonable reason for building in the city because the pay back period is discouraging with all the risk of tenants that cannot pay or destroying your praoperty.
My dad has like 3 of such buildings - one in the east which returns peanuts after we engaged a lwayer who takes part of the peanut to make the tenants to pay.Another in the north whose rent is so poor he decided to give one of the flats to members of the church at a ridiculous price and part for church activities. The one in Lagos was almost taken over by fraudsters when he relocated until a relation had to step in to safeguard it.
Real estate just like any other investment is subject to risk and is not a sure return.

Finally learn to talk like someone that know what is home training even if you have to pretend. Stop insulting people in here.
Why is it difficult to answer any of those questions? I am sure they are hitting your conscience like boko bomb.

Sleep well!
coogar:

can you imagine? living in the ghetto in the city and having a mansion in the village - misplacement of priorities. i think africans especially nigerians are guilty of this because of their showmanship! they want to show villagers they have "arrived".

arrant nonsense!

i do not see the relevance of these questions to the topic of discussion. what has the name of my village gotta do with management or lack of management? how did most of you lots even complete secondary school education?

that you have completed your house means nothing - look at the intelligence of a graduate. is it about completion or who would get returns from his house if he decides to sell at anytime? you should take one or two courses in management!!! you have completed a house in the village - congratulations, you have done something similar to putting a man on the moon.

people should mind their business?
i can bet those are the exact words of the proponents of gay marriage. if we all mind our business the world would be chaotic. let's allow pröstitutes to roam freely then after all they use their bodies not yours. fathers who räpe their daughters should also be spared after all na him own pikin him räpe. now you see how your idea of live and let live sounds?

Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Costa2000(m): 5:17pm On Mar 11, 2013
Aku ruo uno.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by coogar: 5:24pm On Mar 11, 2013
Jah Man: I can imagine how untrained you are.
What do you know about management?
So you that finished grammar school could only see one question of all the questions I asked? So ridiculous!
And look who is talking of investments here. How many of the so-called houses in the city are for rent? Are they not owner-occupied? The same show-off of I am a landlord in Lagos?

your IQ is lower than your shoe-size, what's with the epistle?

Some even build in places that warrant them to die instalmentally while shutling between Ikorodu,Mowe,Sango Otta to VI everyday for work. Why should I pass through that kinda suffering when I can save the money,rent a flat in a nearby mainland and use the balance to build for my hometown?

how does the above affect the price of fish? the discourse is about people who build expensive homes in the village while living in squalor in the city? if you cannot cope with the pace of the discourse, why don't you lie down for a while?

And thou rookie if you know the latest in real estate you can't be talking of rent as a reasonable reason for building in the city because the pay back period is discouraging with all the risk of tenants that cannot pay or destroying your praoperty.
My dad has like 3 of such buildings - one in the east which returns peanuts after we engaged a lwayer who takes part of the peanut to make the tenants to pay.Another in the north whose rent is so poor he decided to give one of the flats to members of the church at a ridiculous price and part for church activities. The one in Lagos was almost taken over by fraudsters when he relocated until a relation had to step in to safeguard it.
Real estate just like any other investment is subject to risk and is not a sure return.

sorry about the fact that your dad's tenants are unrepentant fraudsters and criminals who damage his properties. by the same token, there are upstanding nigerian citizens out there who would take care of the landlord's properties like it's theirs. they make prompt payments and clean the environment.

Finally learn to talk like someone that know what is home training even if you have to pretend. Stop insulting people in here.
Why is it difficult to answer any of those questions? I am sure they are hitting your conscience like boko bomb.
Sleep well!

there he goes again with the reply of a goat undergoing manual castration. boko bomb? are you sure you passed through the 4 walls of any school? you should learn how to articulate your points while focused on the topic of discourse - not crossing from pillar to post to confuse others. you have not advanced your points one jot in your epistle - all i see is the bellyaching of an appendicitis patient!
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Sweetapple007(f): 5:26pm On Mar 11, 2013
Because is their permanent home
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Godogwu: 5:28pm On Mar 11, 2013
Well i don't know if its an ibo thing. Alot of people do it for different reasons;
Self-fulfillment: some people believe that you haven't really succeded if you haven't built a befitting home for yourself in the village/town.

Cost: You can probably build a massive house in the village you're from with about N50m but that would barely get you a plot of land in lekki, ikoyi, wuse, maitama or GRA in portharcourt.

Just cause they can: well just cause people can, people do... Like where I'm from its almost like a competition, everyone's building massive massive beautiful homes and no one is taking any chances cause they want people to talk about it. You know that sorta thing.

My parents are probably guilty of this too, not like the ph house is crap though but the villa home beats the lag and the ph houses by a margin. Makes it very cool going to the villa.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Xtana: 5:29pm On Mar 11, 2013
WHY ARE PEOPLE DISPLAYING STUPIDITY AND CALL CALL IT WISDOM?
THE PLACE YOU ARE CALLING CITY TODAY WAS ONCE A VILLAGE AND IS SOMEBODY'S VILLAGE TODAY. SO CAN YOU TELL ME WHAT A VILLAGE IS?
DO WE NOW LEAVE IN BUSHES AND BUILD MANSION IN THE CITY (SOMEBODY'S VILLAGE)? THE ANSWER IS NO. BUILDING A HOUSE IN THE VILLAGE NO MATTER HOW BIG OR SMALL IS BY FAR A GOOD IDEA.

Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Nobody: 5:29pm On Mar 11, 2013
bigfat06: [size=15pt]BECAUSE THE VILLAGE IS UNDERDEVELOPED AND NEEDS TO BE DEVELOPED...[/size]
Hahahahahahahahahahaha. Dat is even the least of reasons. Very funny chap.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Xtana: 5:29pm On Mar 11, 2013
WHY ARE PEOPLE DISPLAYING STUPIDITY AND CALL IT WISDOM?
THE PLACE YOU ARE CALLING CITY TODAY WAS ONCE A VILLAGE AND IS SOMEBODY'S VILLAGE TODAY. SO CAN YOU TELL ME WHAT A VILLAGE IS?
DO WE NOW LEAVE IN BUSHES AND BUILD MANSION IN THE CITY (SOMEBODY'S VILLAGE)? THE ANSWER IS NO. BUILDING A HOUSE IN THE VILLAGE NO MATTER HOW BIG OR SMALL IS BY FAR A GOOD IDEA.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by hardbody: 5:38pm On Mar 11, 2013
POLICE CAP: I've observed that most persons prefer to build well furnished mansions in their villages which latter begins to look like an abandoned project because you only find people in them during festive periods. And the funny thing here is that most of these persons live in rented apartment in the city (where they spend most of their time)

In my own opinion, I would suggest they build just a simple house with simple furnishing in the village.... Then own even if its a hut to call their own in the city.

I stil wish for reasons why they do this.....

This is Nigera where anything can happen. We are not forgetting in a hurry the abandoned property saga in the wake of the Biafran brouhaha. No student of history with his eyes wide open will spend a fortune in no man's land without doing something double in his home town. My approach was simple, i built a bungalow in lagos because i live here and make my money here. But the real mansion is going on in my father's land, that is where i will end up when the Yoobas decide to chase me away, and before that happens, i would have gotten the benefit of this structure over time. Besides, even the one here in Lag has been built under a company name so that if push comes to shove, the company (and not me) will remain a citizen to claim its rights. Some of us don dey wizen up.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by hardbody: 5:40pm On Mar 11, 2013
joinnow: its not a good investment.

Let me compress this real life story.
A biz man ( an Igbo) trading at owerri Town the capital of Imo State.
Did so well in his biz line.
Built a four story building at his home vilage.
He did not build any house at owerri.
He was converted to DEEPER Life.
He left his line of biz because his initial biz line involve relabelling motocycle part to (made in Japan) and selling same at original price despite that the part is made in Nigeria.
No money to feed his family at a point he gave out his 4 children as house maid.
He relocated to village and nobdy is willing to rent his house at the village, nobody is willing to buy his house at the village.
Advise build in town first even if you want to go home finally you will get a quick buyer.

He has a simple solution. Mortgage the house in the village and utilize the money to start a new lease of life, it is that simple.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by manny4life(m): 5:40pm On Mar 11, 2013
@OP, speak all the English you wanna speak, I can build ALL my mansion in my Nnewi village and rent in Lagos. Given the way laws are now in the city, why invest such huge amount for nothing?
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by EzePromoe: 5:46pm On Mar 11, 2013
coogar:

and if war breaks out in the village? i hope you are aware there were nice houses in odi village too when obsanjo's troops razed it down.......

home is where you make it - all these village things are nonsense. how many times do the present generation even visit their villages? do they even know their way there?
You can only do that to the minorities and get away with it. Doing that to any of the majority is just like call for war. Remember, the population of each of the Nigerian majority ethnic groups are two times bigger than some of the well-noted countries in the world.
SO THINK WELL BEFORE YOU POST!
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Nobody: 5:50pm On Mar 11, 2013
Ile-Ife:
First, igbos are the most populous people in a place after the indigenes. Most travelled ppl in Nigeria. So, they work in those places and bring back some of the earnings home(to build houses,etc). And Lagos is a very typical example, others include kano, kaduna, Jos, ABJ, Etc.
BUT The opposite side of this topic is that they still have considerable number of 'good/fine' houses in other regions which unfortunately are prone to destruction from wars, bokoharam, tribalism,etc.
I dont know whether i answered ur question but these are true
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by hardbody: 5:53pm On Mar 11, 2013
Jah Man: Please can you gracefully answer these questions for me sir;
1. What is the name of your village?
2. When last did you visit your village?
3. Do your dad or yourself have a small house where you can pass the night there?
4. Do you travel often for festivities to your village?
5. We do not have decent hotels in my town for me to lodge whenever I have reason to travel there. Do you please know of any real estate coy that provides adhoc/make-shift houses for hire in a matter of days?
6. Please can you remind me the true meaning of mismanagement and also confirm if it can also be applicable for an asset in the city?
7. Do you/or your dad have a house in the city or are you working towards completing one?

Why are you so bitter about how another person wants to spend his money? The same money some spend every year visiting foreign countries is what another used to build a house in one part of Nigeria and you turn around and call him a fool?
A colleague once told me how foolish I was in erecting a nice house in my place. But he was yet to complete his own in Lagos. I might even come back and build alongside with him there if I tarry in Lagos.

Please people should mind their business. Money is money, if you cannot insult the one that uses his own on parties, women,'janding', changing cars; then stop blaming the 'Aku lue unos'.
Thank you.

I am proudly an Aro Okeigbo son. I will answer your questions seriatim. Secondly, i was in my homewtoen from December 24th till January 22nd 2013, and planning on going again by Easter. 3) Yes my dad has a house, i stay there while i am putting finishing touches to mine, it is house, he has achieved, mine is mine, i must achieve. 4)We as well do not have a lot of hotels as most people build decent houses, enough to accommodate family, friends and visitors. In all I align myself with your thought process. I restricted foreign trips in the interim and it is surprising how much moneu i have saved up and put into my constructions. A lot of guys in my office are still paying huge rents but will jump at the earliest opportunity of a foreign holiday. It is all about priorities. Interestingly, most of the transient things are being done on an on-going basis, i travel when it is comfortable (but not before i have finished the immediate project), i maintain a decent fleet of vehicles. Please help me tell them ooo

Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by runz(m): 6:12pm On Mar 11, 2013
euromilion:

Totally agreed,I've wanted to sell my house in d village,but no reasonable offer yet.wat a regret am I in,only if I can turn d hand of d time.
u built d house in a wrong village,if it were to be in my village osumenyi nnewi-south were a plot of land goes 4 5million and above u would be an instant millionaire.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Nobody: 6:15pm On Mar 11, 2013
Demain_man: Most Igbo villages are under developed and they look like forest if you ever watch Nollywood movies. I really hate that look when i see them on those movies being an igbo myself.

My people, please build in the villages so as to bring these places up to the 21st century standard. Our generation unborn will thank us for it. while at it, proper maintenance culture on those properties are needed so that houses built can last a very long time. Regular painting, nice landscapping readily comes to mind.

For any Local Government Chairman/State Governor reading this, please embark on proper village/town planning so as to give our villages a modern organisation rather than allow the people to put up structures in an unorganised manner.
So, u are using nollywood to judge? Sorry for u. If u watch nollywood movies well, u will find out dat dey actually use a particular setting for over 25 other movies. Am serious.
Still, Igbo non -capital communities have d highest number of majestic buildings. Onitsha, nnewi, Aba,Ekwuluobia; awka, owerri and enugu (outside dier actual metropolis) are peoples' villages o.
Leave nollywood out of this or what is even ur basis for development?
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Nobody: 6:16pm On Mar 11, 2013
Demain_man: Most Igbo villages are under developed and they look like forest if you ever watch Nollywood movies. I really hate that look when i see them on those movies being an igbo myself.

My people, please build in the villages so as to bring these places up to the 21st century standard. Our generation unborn will thank us for it. while at it, proper maintenance culture on those properties are needed so that houses built can last a very long time. Regular painting, nice landscapping readily comes to mind.

For any Local Government Chairman/State Governor reading this, please embark on proper village/town planning so as to give our villages a modern organisation rather than allow the people to put up structures in an unorganised manner.
So, u are using nollywood to judge? Sorry for u. If u watch nollywood movies well, u will find out dat dey actually use a particular setting for over 25 other movies. Am serious.
Still, Igbo non -capital communities have d highest number of majestic buildings. Onitsha, nnewi, Aba,Ekwuluobia; awka, owerri and enugu (outside dier actual metropolis) are peoples' villages o.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Eziachi: 6:22pm On Mar 11, 2013
NRI PRIEST:

No,I don't think so because you have never been to Nnewi,Amichi,Ozubulu,Umuoji,Oraukwu,Awka-etiti,Osumenyi,Alor-London and every other Anambra town with heavy wealth.
You need to check out Amaifeke and Nkwerre, Isunjaba or Aronsizuogu and witness how mansions normally found in Florida are competing with each other for space. They make mine look something from the stone age, I had to knock it down and start again. grin grin grin
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Demainman1: 6:31pm On Mar 11, 2013
ngozievergreen:

If you read my post well you will see that i am all for putting up nice homes in the village however i will like the elected/selected LGA chairmen to do more in the area of village/town planning in order to bring out the beauty of such country homes. I am from a village in Igboland where beautiful homes are springing up without proper planning on the part of the leaders. I wish it was not the case. Town planning is no rocket science. If you happen to become your town LGA Chairman in the future please do remember that little things like proper planning will make all the difference sir!
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by coogar: 6:39pm On Mar 11, 2013
Eze Promoe:
You can only do that to the minorities and get away with it. Doing that to any of the majority is just like call for war. Remember, the population of each of the Nigerian majority ethnic groups are two times bigger than some of the well-noted countries in the world.
SO THINK WELL BEFORE YOU POST!

nonsense......
kill the first lady in the biggest city in the east and fail to produce the perpetrators and let's see if soldiers won't tear the city apart. majority my foot!
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by crackhouse(m): 6:39pm On Mar 11, 2013
If after working and making ur money in the town and u grow old, where will u retire if u don't have a home in the village? Is it in my own house? Mba nụ nụ, you will retire in ur own house and if u don't have any, then your second name is sorry.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Arcard(m): 7:07pm On Mar 11, 2013
Am proudly an anambarian aka awka etiti >Wat some pipz ar sayin is true sha,buh fo me we live in a rented house in enugu fo my villa na duplex we get o. Fo d pipz sayin da building house fo villa no fget say wan day pple go cm to ur villa either fo ur weddin or ceremonial party nd c ur face me i face u house dm go say u no get brain so al ds shakara u dy do fo city na ranty house u get fo ur home town, Build house in any place u want da wan na fo ur akpa.

Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by IFEDILIEZE(m): 7:31pm On Mar 11, 2013
NRI PRIEST:

No,I don't think so because you have never been to Nnewi,Amichi,Ozubulu,Umuoji,Oraukwu,Awka-etiti,Osumenyi,Alor-London and every other Anambra town with heavy wealth.
oraukwu.....pure.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by EzePromoe: 8:04pm On Mar 11, 2013
coogar:

nonsense......
kill the first lady in the biggest city in the east and fail to produce the perpetrators and let's see if soldiers won't tear the city apart. majority my foot!
Bigger nonsence.
What happened after the death of the Police Commissioner. Imagine going to Onitsha and shooting sporadically because a polithiefian was killed there. Sorry, you'll experience war for the first time in your lifetime. Lagos to start with, depending on where the offender is from.
Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by Nobody: 8:37pm On Mar 11, 2013
The answer is simple. It would cost an arm and leg to build such mansions in the city for most people. The total cost of building some mansions in d villa may not b enough to even buy land in some cities

Re: People Build Better Houses In The Village: Why? by odumchi: 8:45pm On Mar 11, 2013
NRI PRIEST:

Nwonyeke m, ńaa nti ńazie nti: Hapu m aka, I nula ya? Ebe dum m gara I buru osuaghara gi sota m azi. Ekuo ihe nke a ngen? Ihe gi a agwula m ike. Agamu mmekpo azi nke a avutee m nza.

Eze Chukwuemeka Eri, Nnia Nwodo Arrive USA For World Igbo Festival / Monarchs Slam Gani Adams For Opposing Coronation Of Yoruba Traditional Rulers / Pictures Of The Bauchi 2022 Eid-el-fitr Durbar (Hawan Daushe).

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 90