Stats: 3,153,989 members, 7,821,446 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 01:05 PM

Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? - Religion (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? (17322 Views)

Man Arrested For Stealing Money From Church Offering Box In Osun State / Is It Bad To Drop An Empty Offering Envelope In Church? / Man Put Paper In Offering Envelope In Church With This Write Up (2) (3) (4)

Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Nobody: 5:23pm On Nov 12, 2017
Seun:

The envelope is used to encourage people to give higher amounts. Putting 20 naira in an envelope just doesn't feel right. It demands more.

The dancing-to-the-front-of-the-pastor culture, which is a different thing, is meant to prevent people from skipping any of the offerings.

Using these tricks to raise more money for the church is justified in the minds of the people involved because the money is "for Gods work".
Pls come to the pregnancy thread and ban the people who have been exchanging words for more than 3days. Pls it's tiring. Thanks.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by GavelSlam: 5:32pm On Nov 12, 2017
uboma:

And you are supposedly a Christian.

Read the account of Jesus Christ as a Man on earth.

Never did he scold his disciples for asking silly questions as the case may be. instead he was patient with and always ready to teach them again and again.

I wonder how you will succeed in winning souls for God if you continue to be arrogant and impatient with others.

Don't you lot see the question is at the top of dumbest ever asked?

So God as the unenviable task of monitoring what you do with envelopes given in churches so as to use it against you on judgement day.

You guys have actually reduced God to an evil being looking for who to torment and punish.

Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Seun(m): 5:32pm On Nov 12, 2017
mamuzoOMAH:
In my church we give via Envelope and the reason we do this is for people who don't have. If u don't have, just simply drop the envelop back, and God understands perfectly. Men are men, they will mock u if u don't have to give. They will mock u if ur offering is less than theirs so the need of an envelop came, so that the amount u put into it will be concealed. You committed no sin. I'm sure if u have, u will put money into it.
Do people have to dance to the front of your church when they give? If so, then your church is clearly not motivated by privacy concerns.

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Youngs247(m): 5:36pm On Nov 12, 2017
Can u deceive God?
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by mamuzoOMAH(m): 5:36pm On Nov 12, 2017
Seun:

Do people have to dance to the front of your church when they give? If so, then your church is clearly not motivated by privacy concerns.
no they don't.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Ari3040: 5:39pm On Nov 12, 2017
It's a sin, Always be prepared before you go to church.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Afam4eva(m): 5:43pm On Nov 12, 2017
If it's a sin then i have sinned a million times. One redeemed church that i used to go to always insist that i dance to the front with an envelope even when i don't want to. Madam, pls keep your envelope. Is it by force? Are you mad? Why are you harassing me? Are you mad? Are you okay? I don't have offering, abeg free me.

Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Noblewhiz(m): 5:45pm On Nov 12, 2017
XXXwhistleblowe:
I have been puzzled for a while, I remember the time I refused to collect the envelope because I didnt have money but I ended up feeling embarrased because everyone kept staring, when it passed and I didnt put any money. So I wanna know is it a sin to collect the envelope and put it there empty to avoid public embarrassment. Because I don't genuinely have. I'll like thoughtful opinion on this.

You knew u didn't have and u collected because of people....
in this condition I see it as a son coz u won't have collected knowing ur broke condition
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Nobody: 5:45pm On Nov 12, 2017
It's not a sin depending on your motive.Your soul is more precious to God. However it shouldn't be a precedent for you and others to follow. When next you have give to God cheerfully, with good heart because God loves a cheerful giver. Don't forget he sees everything you do so you can't deceive him but yourself
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by OtemSapien: 5:47pm On Nov 12, 2017
ElsonMorali:

You are ignorant.

People call the Almighty different names in their different tongues. How come you don't know something so basic?
sorry, people haven't really known the God Almighty. Those guys they have been calling God Almighty are mere local gods of their lands. As in, how can you correlate Yahweh that sent Yeshua with Olorun that sent Oduduwa and Allah that sent Mohammed? Will you say that they are the same?
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Codedrock(m): 5:50pm On Nov 12, 2017
Seun:

The envelope is used to encourage people to give higher amounts. Putting 20 naira in an envelope just doesn't feel right. It demands more.

The dancing-to-the-front-of-the-pastor culture, which is a different thing, is meant to prevent people from skipping any of the offerings.

Using clever tricks to raise more money for the church is justified in the minds of the people involved because the money is "for God".

LOL. You can't generalize for all pastors though. I Mean some pastors intentions may not be your plot twist.
But I can agree most pastors fall under your theory
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Charly68: 6:08pm On Nov 12, 2017
We go to Church to worship God not man,therefore looking at people's face during offering time shouldn't be your concern..God sees all things and knows all thing..in everything we do before him,he judge our motives in life..
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by raymondFirstborn(m): 6:21pm On Nov 12, 2017
adepeter2027:

Chaiiii

You think your Christian god is powerful?

Okay. if your sure of yourself lets meet in the spiritual realm then I would show you the power of God.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by WORLDPEACE(m): 6:24pm On Nov 12, 2017
Seun:

In the congregations of Jehovah's Witnesses there is no offering time. There are contribution boxes where a person who wants to contribute money to the advancement of the work of the organization can drop his contribution. And that is never done during service. You can walk to drop your money before or after service. No body announces special time to do that. They are careful not to embarrass anyone into donating. Of course, there is no tithing and when anyone donates under no condition is it ever announced. In fact, if that were to happen it would attract punishment. And for the thirty years I was a member, I never saw it happen. Nigerian Pentecostals can't imagine this but this is done in many churches abroad. The commercialism in Pentecostalism is irritating. The people need to realise that they are blind and their pastors love them that way.

Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by XXXwhistleblowe(m): 6:46pm On Nov 12, 2017
Willie2015:

I pay my tight and offering once in a month via e channel after deciding on what to give monthly. I dont worry myself when going to church on offering issues, no be everyday person dey get money for hand.

Anyone that want to stare should feel free to do so.

Very thoughtful advice, I'll consider doing this. So the burden on my heart will reduce.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by XXXwhistleblowe(m): 6:48pm On Nov 12, 2017
adegeye38:
If u are really a Christian, you shouldnt be asking this dumb question

you should be able to differentiate between whats a sin and whats not

NO, it is not a sin

Read what you wrote again and see by yourself that you haven't made any sense.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by XXXwhistleblowe(m): 6:50pm On Nov 12, 2017
Talibanis:

This is by far one of the dumbest question ever asked! undecided
aren't you more dumb for not having an answer
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by XXXwhistleblowe(m): 6:55pm On Nov 12, 2017
israelmao:
How will you feel if someone hands you an envelope intended and expected to be a gift and as you open you now find out that's empty?Don't be deceived God can't be mocked.

I won't feel bad if there are several other envelopes filled with cash
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by XXXwhistleblowe(m): 6:57pm On Nov 12, 2017
GavelSlam:
And people wonder why Nigeria is a third world country blighted by third world problems.

Don't you lot see the question is at the top of dumbest ever asked?

So God as the unenviable task of monitoring what you do with envelopes given in churches so as to use it against you on judgement day.

You guys have actually reduced God to an evil being looking for who to torment and punish.

Daft lot.

You think you are wise with your mundane sense of reasoning. Only a fool never ask questions.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by XXXwhistleblowe(m): 7:02pm On Nov 12, 2017
WORLDPEACE:

In the congregations of Jehovah's Witnesses there is no offering time. There are contribution boxes where a person who wants to contribute money to the advancement of the work of the organization can drop his contribution. And that is never done during service. You can walk to drop your money before or after service. No body announces special time to do that. They are careful not to embarrass anyone into donating. Of course, there is no tithing and when anyone donates under no condition is it ever announced. In fact, if that were to happen it would attract punishment. And for the thirty years I was a member, I never saw it happen. Nigerian Pentecostals can't imagine this but this is done in many churches abroad. The commercialism in Pentecostalism is irritating. The people need to realise that they are blind and their pastors love them that way.
are you no longer a member?
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by GavelSlam: 7:03pm On Nov 12, 2017
XXXwhistleblowe:

You think you are wise with your mundane sense of reasoning. Only a fool never ask questions.

I insist some questions are too silly especially as most contributors continue to exercise their tomfoolery in the sense of religious knowledge.

Doesn't common sense tell you that God cannot be that wicked senior in secondary school that gives you 10 Naira to buy a packet of cornflakes, a bag of Garri and a carton of milk?

People asking stupid questions yet your like encourage it.

Any God that punishes you on the basis of your "Poverty" doesn't deserve your worship.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Seun(m): 7:08pm On Nov 12, 2017
mamuzoOMAH:
no they don't.
Do they pass around the normal offering bags? If so, then it's quite easy to drop your money in the bag without letting anybody see it.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by WORLDPEACE(m): 7:09pm On Nov 12, 2017
XXXwhistleblowe:
are you no longer a member?
For over four years I have left.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Toybreezy: 7:13pm On Nov 12, 2017
WORLDPEACE:

For over four years I have left.

I'm rather curious to know why you left. If you don't mind.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Seun(m): 7:16pm On Nov 12, 2017
israelmao:
How will you feel if someone hands you an envelope intended and expected to be a gift and as you open you now find out that's empty?Don't be deceived God can't be mocked.
If God exists, He wouldn't be disappointed. Before you were born, he knew that there would be no money in the envelope, and He knew why.

19 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Toybreezy: 7:22pm On Nov 12, 2017
Seun:
If God exists, He wouldn't be disappointed. Before you were born, he knew that there would be no money in the envelope, and He knew why.

I see sarcasm in this comment.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Toybreezy: 7:23pm On Nov 12, 2017
Seun:

I see sarcasm in this comment. We have free will remember, we are the one who decides our faith
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by WORLDPEACE(m): 7:25pm On Nov 12, 2017
Toybreezy:

I'm rather curious to know why you left. If you don't mind.
If you study every religion well you'll know it is all based on lies. Witnesses keep changing their teachings and call it enlightenment but it is manipulation. Prophesies are always being reexplained before or after they fail. Books that said things that were proven wrong eventually go out of print. They call it progress but it is fraud. If you are a witness you may not see it this way. This because you love other things about the organization. But just imagine that all the prophecy interpretation changes came from someone like TB Joshua it would be clear to you that he is playing tricks on you. That is what Jehovah's witnesses have done for over a century. I figured it out eventually. Some people do, Some don't
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Desyner: 7:39pm On Nov 12, 2017
Seun:

Using clever tricks to raise more money for the church is justified in the minds of the people involved because the money is "for God".

Maybe in some churches. In the church I worship, Winners, the pastor will even go as far as saying "you can keep your offering to yourselves and see whether God's work will stop or not".
I don't see how putting money in envelope will make people to want to put in more. To me it makes me put in just what I intended freely. I wonder where you guys get these concept from.
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by aamstih: 7:59pm On Nov 12, 2017
You would garner likes and you would think you really did spoke well.

OtemSapien:
Na wetin me do last time I go church be that o grin They gave me empty and I returned it empty. grin
If they want me to put money inside, then they should also fill it up with cash before they give it to me grin
Whatsoever a church sows, that shall it also reap grin
Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by OtemSapien: 8:04pm On Nov 12, 2017
aamstih:
You would garner likes and you would think you really did spoke well.

It's what I did the last time I went to church, so should I lie that I put money in the envelope when I didn't? I will even show you the envelope sef.

Re: Is It A Sin To Drop Empty Envelope In Offering Box? by Nobody: 8:07pm On Nov 12, 2017
Seun:

Very apt statement, and that is exactly what God will say only if you believe he existed.

Funny how an atheist has a very good knowledge of God than one who isn't.

Another Gospel: The Benny Hinn Experience / Joshua Iginla Gives 40 Disables Including Muslims N150k Each To Mark Birthday / Greatest Atheist Quotes

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 62