Stats: 3,158,970 members, 7,838,459 topics. Date: Thursday, 23 May 2024 at 10:25 PM

Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) - Satellite TV Technology (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / TV/Movies / Satellite TV Technology / Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) (249545 Views)

Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 5 - The Final Part) / Official Thread of Free-to- Air Satellite TV [part 3] / Official Thread of Free-To-Air Satellite TV (Part 1) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (170) (Go Down)

Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by osef(m): 5:19pm On Oct 08, 2009
@ all
welcome to the new season may the good lord see us through,my regards to the big guns in the house especially those that were of grest help,Goerge D,jujukemist, Gangsta 101,pito,emeritus,dejsam,blackstar,olason, and the rest too numereous to mention, God bless you all.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by lovala(m): 7:00pm On Oct 08, 2009
From strong-technologies.com
SRT 4663X
Middle East and Africa users
1. Please download the two following files in a new directory of your hard disk drive:

Uploaders
SRTLOADER_Software_Uploaders_ Middle East & Africa.exe and save it as SRT4663X.exe

Softwares
SRT4663X_Software_Softwares_Middle East & Africa.stb and save it as SRT4663X.stb

2. Prepare the RS232 Cable (9 pin DIN Crossed Way) and connect it between PC and the receiver
3. Open the SRT4663X.exe file and choose the Firmware option to download the main software
4. Browse the file SRT4663X.stb and click Connect
5. Switch On the receiver. Download will start showing on the display =001, =002 ---- = 100
6. When it is finished, the display shows 0000
@all:
These are the instructions on how to go about downloading the required firmware for any given Strong box on the strong-technologies.com website.
I had already downloaded the uploader and software for Strong SRT 4663x unto my PC. I bought a DB9 Null Modem Cable with two female heads and used .t for the process. But I didn’t cut and crossed the cable as indicated in step 2. When I clicked and powered the power button on the stb after clicking the connect button on the uploader for the download process to begin, the COM1 pop up box started showing the percentage of the download process increasing from 1% to 100%. Concurrently on the stb the viewing panel figures started flashing from 1 up to 100. this surely shows that the cable is okay, right?
The problem which I have now is that when the download reaches 100%, an Erasing process begins from 1 to 100 followed by a writing process also from 1 to 100 and then it stops with the Cancel button active. The decoder doesn’t reboot and remains black as if it has been clicked off. When I click off and click on, it flashes the four green bars and dies off like what happened when I used the USB flash memory to carryout the upgrade. Does this still mean that the cable was not the right cable or is there something I am still missing? If the cable was not crossed would there have still been a downloading process given that I saw figures being displayed by the decoder while this was going on? If the software I used was the problem then why is it that when I changed the software to SRT4663x conax DVR the same problem persisted? I was given a site from which I downloaded a fix for this problem which I was to load unto the decoder to resolve the problem after downloading the software given that the Cancel button persistently stays on, but this didn’t help. What could have caused the downloading process to revert to an erasing process?
My best regards to all while I go look for some one who’ll help me make up an RS232 cross over cable. If this still doesn’t work then I guess I’ll send the box to my dealer to take it to Alaba for repairs, if that is even possible. That was where the srt4653x (which got hit by a power surge or lightening) was repaired.

Lovala.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by maddoxoj(m): 2:33am On Oct 09, 2009
Season 4!!!? shocked Goodness gracious!!!!!!!! I must have been in Mars or Jupiter!!!!! Big ups to one and all.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by phizz: 6:37am On Oct 09, 2009
Hello awse, saw this 1metre dis that is almost parallel 2 d sky, can u pls tell me d name n if possible the channels on that satelite
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by borderline(m): 6:47am On Oct 09, 2009
@all here is wat i found out frm my time out , a friend of mine used his 1.8m dish 2 track nile signal wit a fuji lnb & most channels came up includin d aljazeera sports chanel ,mbc action.though it was quite difficult &d signal quality tweakles btw 50-58%
@george-d
well done man, i'm stil getin things set here b4 i give u dat call
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by pitodenz(m): 7:44am On Oct 09, 2009
Can someone confirm this frequency with daar box 3816H/4213. The symbol rate i gave out for the etv africa previously was wrong. Someone should please confirm and get back to the house asap.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by obijack: 9:33am On Oct 09, 2009
@All

It's been too long away from this great forum. My posting priviledges have just been restored. 

Thanks to the wonderful moderator.

@Enitan, Please ignore my post on the newbie thread as Twins T have sorted me out.

Thanks all.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by jayron(m): 9:43am On Oct 09, 2009
@ Solo1ng1

Thank u, am about setting my dish.You know this office work of a thing made me keep postponing it.

Well, hopefully upper saturday i would do that, by his grace.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by alancruise(m): 9:59am On Oct 09, 2009
@all,pls can someone confirm if ajazeera english news and future tv are stil on sirus 4? I check lygnsat and i found out they r still there. But av blind scan my decoder and could nt get it. Pls i need ur help.

Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by obijack: 10:07am On Oct 09, 2009
@Enitan, Pito, Emexi and all who can.

Pls I want to track Sirius4  2morrow I need the etv freq.  Oga Twins T couldn't help.

My email add is Petokonji@yahoo.co.uk.

Hope to get ur mail soon.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by GeorgeD1(m): 10:20am On Oct 09, 2009
@obijack,
You don't need etv frequency to track sirius 4. What you need is globecast: 12605V, 29950 SR.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by GeorgeD1(m): 10:28am On Oct 09, 2009
bing:

Hi George, pls i want to know like how much it will cost me to have a 1.8m & 2.4m dish also if i have to motorised it what will be the additional cost, any idea?

bing from Lagos

@bing,
You can get a 1.8m dish (pan) for around 12K. And 2.4m STRONG pan for around 17K. Since you want to motorize the dish, then you will also need a regular 24 inches jack (3k to 4K) and a positioner (3k). Then of course 1 roll of RG6 satellite cable (900 naira or 1k).
These prices are approximate and may vary slightly from actual prices on ground. Since you're in lagos, you can take a trip to Alaba market and see things for yourself.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by GeorgeD1(m): 10:30am On Oct 09, 2009
jayron:

@ George_D

Thank u for all your contributions.I would have loved to chat with u but my yahoo messanger is bad. I will flash u with my number. Can we both talk during the nite, or we chat in united nigeria.com

@jayron,
Just drop your number here and I will call you.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by GeorgeD1(m): 10:34am On Oct 09, 2009
phizz:

Hello awse, saw this 1metre dis that is almost parallel 2 d sky, can u pls tell me d name n if possible the channels on that satelite

@phizz,
That 1m dish is most probably pointing at sirius 4 or w3a. Use this link to get an idea of the channels:

http://www.lyngsat.com/sirius4.html

http://www.lyngsat.com/ew3a.html
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by olofofo(m): 10:51am On Oct 09, 2009
@all

ART to close Irdeto boxes on June 1

27-09-2009

ART, the largest Middle East pay-TV platform, will begin the switch-out of its Irdeto encryption on June 1 next year, just days ahead of the important 2010 FIFA World Cup soccer tournament. ART is in the process of switching from Irdeto to Viaccess conditional access in an attempt to curb local piracy.

Viewers who want to see the soccer games will have to have bought a new ART-endorsed Viaccess-suitable set-top box. ART has exclusive rights to all of the World Cup games.

Despite this plan ART’s subscriber services company (MultiChoice Middle East) says it will continue to simulcrypt Irdeto conditional access for the foreseeable future, and the initial target is to see 95% of its audience to have new Viaccess boxes before any final Irdeto switch-off is concerned.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by jayron(m): 11:00am On Oct 09, 2009
@ Gerorge_D

pls, can u tell me more on using Universal LNB (the one that has both C and KU band)
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by Adeexy: 11:12am On Oct 09, 2009
@ borderline where is ur friend located[color=][/color]
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by Adeexy: 11:45am On Oct 09, 2009
@ Olason How u dey, long time tried ur mobile not reachable. @ Enitan Hope say ur fish dem no dey disturb hunting[color=][/color][color=][/color][color=][/color][color=][/color][color=][/color][color=][/color][color=][/color][color=][/color]
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by borderline(m): 12:07pm On Oct 09, 2009
@adeezy
of course,here in lagos, isolo 2 b precise
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by obijack: 1:46pm On Oct 09, 2009
@Georgr_D
Yes I know that there are other freq I can use to do the tracking but I still need to get that feed for e africa. I know It has been agreed to keep it silent for obvious reasons but I need it now.

I understand that it is not easy to let it out but if u look at my profile and my number of post u will understand that I am not here to fish for information to be used against the forum.

I have been posting since April 2008 until late last year when I had to go away for personal reasons. I was able to chat with twins T (moderator) because we exchanged Yahoo ID since last year when he was helping me out with my first installation on PAS 7/10ku.

PLEASE MY EMAIL AGAIN IS petokonji@yahoo.co.uk.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by microgiant: 4:19pm On Oct 09, 2009
@obijack

Track Sirius4 with this freq 12605V29950 and do a blindscan

How to Watch Satellite TV Free in Nigeria
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by GeorgeD1(m): 4:39pm On Oct 09, 2009
@jayron,
The term "universal" is used to describe an LNB that has "dual band" tuning capability.
That means the LNBs can receive both vertical and horizontal polarizations and the full range of frequencies in both the Ku and C satellite band.

E.G:

Local Oscillator (LO): 9.75 GHz /10.6 GHz
Frequency: 10.7 GHz-12.75 GHz
Noise Figure (NF): 0.7 dB
Polarization: Linear

However only KU band unversal lnbs are most common these days.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by jayron(m): 4:53pm On Oct 09, 2009
@ George_ D

Am grateful for the reply.

Before u go, which LNB would u advise me to use for my 2.6 pan dish, am about installing it. And i would like to use it to track all birds in any dirction (for research).

Give me the name of the best quality n amount.

thank you.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by GeorgeD1(m): 5:14pm On Oct 09, 2009
@jayron,
From my experience, I can tell you that different knbs work best for different type of dishes-especially talking of KU universal lnbs. This becomes most apparent when trying to track out-of-footprint birds.

For your pan dish, use premium lazer lnb or digisat 0.2db. Best still you can use echosat 0.1db lnb.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by GeorgeD1(m): 5:17pm On Oct 09, 2009
@obijack,
Just use the globecast tp to track sirius 4 and then wait for when you're sure they're transmitting a live match. As microgiant said, you can then blindscan to bring out the etv feed.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by olatufu(m): 5:30pm On Oct 09, 2009
@ moderator,pls i would like to know the difference between between a fibre dish and pan.thanks
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by bing(m): 6:11pm On Oct 09, 2009
@George Thanks 4 ur quick response, pls i want to know if there is a special receiver(decoder) for motorised dish? also want ur advise, should i go by the way of "do it urself" with 1.8m/2.4m. like i did with the sirius ,astrab, w3a,
thanks once again,
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by okenze2003(m): 6:23pm On Oct 09, 2009
pls which of this bird can i track with 60 m dish w3a,sirus 4 or w6
thanks 4 ur anticipacted reply
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by phizz: 6:41pm On Oct 09, 2009
@ George

Thanks 4 d info on sirius 4 n ew3a, would try it out 2morow
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by bing(m): 6:44pm On Oct 09, 2009
@okenze u did not state ur location, i,m using 60cm for my sirius 4 here in lagos while my w3a is 1m, enjoy
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by GeorgeD1(m): 6:49pm On Oct 09, 2009
@bing,
There is great joy in actually doing the installations yourself-as you have discovered from your experience with the smaller dishes. However, you must understand that a 1.8m or 2.4m dish is so heavy that only one man cannot lift it alone. To avoid damaging it, you will need at least an extra hand. And for added advantage, you can get someone with a littke knowledge of motorized systems. Just get him to assist you while you give the directions.

And no. There are no special decoders for motorized systems. Any regular STRONG decoder will work. E.g, SRT 4653X, 4663X, 4669X.
Re: Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) by shotoblaze: 6:54pm On Oct 09, 2009
please can anyone help me unscramble scrambled channels on my strong srt 3650 receiver?
i would be very grateful.
thank u in advance,

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (170)

All About Nilesat Installations / Official Thread of Free-to- Air Satellite TV [part 3] / Strong Receivers Thread

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 46